Dermalogica • Gentle Cream Exfoliant • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.1(184 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 swmbo on 1/23/2014 4:21:00 PM more reviews by swmbo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Misleading name!

My skin tends to be on the sensitive side, but this masque took it to the extreme - I used it only for 10 minutes and it brutalized my skin - bright red, flaky and sore (like the most extreme form of windburn in the world) - even a couple of days later, it still hurts. Definitely not recommended for anybody with sensitive skin, despite the name of the product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Caish on 1/6/2014 2:13:00 AM more reviews by Caish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing! Ive been using dermalogica exfoliants for a while now and swear by them. This is a good one that is a cream not a scrub and is gentle and does the job well. You only need to use it once maybe twice a week for maintenance. I remember this to be a skin savior one time i got really really sunburnt on my face and had the worst peeling and had to go to work the next day, but i exfoliated using this and the dead skin just came off without any scrubbing pain or irritation and no one could even tell how bad my skin looked the day before! I have dry skin normally and this helps remove any dry patches and also helps smooth my skin so my moisturiser can penetrate deeply and work its magic! Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* garstrieper on 1/5/2014 9:04:00 PM more reviews by garstrieper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

To be fair, I've only used this twice...but I already love it. The first time I used it, before I applied it, I had small bumps all under my nose and on my forehead. After using this, they went away! I used it again tonight and it just really cleaned out my pores. It doesn't burn or sting me at all...and I have very sensitive skin. I have high hopes that this is the product I've been searching for.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 betteefelon on 11/18/2013 8:17:00 PM more reviews by betteefelon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a great product. So many face masks are a waste of money; they feel good but do very little. With this one I feel like I am really getting an effective skin treatment. Some blocked pores cleared up pretty quickly after I started using this. But don't overdo it! The first time I used it, because it felt like it had "stopped" I just left it on for a while and my face was red for days. But I knew that was my own fault, lol, so I waited a while and gave it another shot. When I follow the directions, it leaves my skin smooth and fresh, feeling deeply cleaned. It's a keeper.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 letseat on 11/5/2013 1:12:00 AM more reviews by letseat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favourite exfoliant along with the REN gycolic mask. I have extremely sensitive skin and this cream/ mask gentle exfoliates the top and under layers of my skin without leaving my skin red. This exfoliant has lactic acid which comes from milk so it is very gentle - some may not see a difference the first couple times you use it.

I use this once a week along with the REN once a week for only 5 mins and my skin is glowing afterwards. My blocked pores are also easily unclogged by gently squeezing following the use of this mask. I make sure I use a hydrating mask after this so my skin isn't too dry.

I recommend you give this a good month before you give it up and you won't regret it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nocturnem on 10/28/2013 2:23:00 AM more reviews by nocturnem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this product after Lisa Eldridge recommended it in one of her videos. I suppose that this type of exfoliant might work wonders for certain people, but it didn't for me at all. I have combination skin with very mild rosacea and very mild seborrheic dermatitis, which means I get occasional breakouts, redness, and flaky skin. I usually exfoliate around 1-2 times a week with a Clinique scrub, but I decided to give this a try since it's a chemical exfoliant and it's supposed to do less damage to the skin on the long run. Now, my aim when exfoliating is to get brighter, cleaner looking skin, to reduce scars over time, and to remove the bits of flaky skin (which are a pain when applying foundation otherwise). This Dermalogica product works well for the first two, but it won't remove any flaky skin. If you have flaky skin due to dryness, this scrub might still work for you, but if it's because of a skin condition and your skin is also oily, you're better off with a physical scrub for deep exfoliation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GrRoxxy on 9/9/2013 12:24:00 PM more reviews by GrRoxxy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

My skin is dehydrated, clogged pores, sensitive... The scrubs and clarisonic always left me with irritated or over-exfoliated skin.
I got my sample tube in 'very dry skin' kit after Lisa Eldridge's recommendation.

The consistency is thick, it doesnt sink into the skin but sits on top of it and dries, easy to remove the masque with warm water.

First time i used it I left it for 15 minutes which seems to be too long for me, although it worked well it left me with red skin.
10 minutes is enough for me.

My skin was smoother, dry flakes were gone, after longer use I notice my pores are less clogged, my skin is glowing! Even the most siliconey and patch-clinging foundations look amazing right now.

Its twice the US price here in France, its not in fancy packaging and Im not able to get it in shop but its really worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 NPxox on 8/19/2013 2:03:00 PM more reviews by NPxox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I received this product as part of a Dry Skin skincare system and thought "Great! A gentle exfoliator for my dry, sensitive skin".

Boy was I wrong.

As per the application instructions, I left it on for the recommended 10-15 minutes (I opted for 10 minutes, just to be safe) and then rinsed it off with warm water. It took this product less than 30 seconds for my face to break out into a hideous red, angry looking allergic rash and also gave me a burning sensation.

I would not recommend this product to anyone with sensitive skin as I think that a lot of the ingredients are rather harsh and abrasive, although it states that they aren't.

I seem to be one of many who have experienced this result after application and rinse-off of this "Gentle" Cream Exfoliant. I think a visit to a dermatologist will be in order very soon! :(

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PinkMademoiselle on 7/26/2013 8:29:00 AM more reviews by PinkMademoiselle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is probably my favorite product by Dermalogica. Having worked with the line as an esthetician, I have tried a number of their products, but I find most of them too harsh and irritating for my skin type. I also find physcial scrubs to be not only useless, but way too traumatizing to the skin. I find chemical exfoliants to be much more effective, as they actually penetrate the pores and exfoliate them from inside out. This is a very gentle, yet effective exfoliant in my opinion. It contains some enzymes, AHAs and BHAs, which work together to clear away dead skin. I use this 2-3 times a week at night time and definitely notice a smoother and healthier complexion when I wake up in the morning. When I first apply this, it feels a bit tingy, which is prefectly normal. My skin is dry and even though I'm always trying different products, I always have this little gem on stand-by. For those with dryer skin, make sure to apply a heavier moisturizer afterwards it will not only help to replenish the skin, but you will find that your moisturzier will be so much more effective because it can penetrate deeper without all that dead skin on top. I have recommended this product to my clients with sensitive skin and have seen good results with it.

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cerieb on 6/22/2013 5:11:00 PM more reviews by cerieb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This chemical exfoliant works by breaking down excess sebum and dead or flaky skin with a combination of lactic acid and fruit-derived AHAs (alpha hydroxy acids, commonly found in citrus fruits and grapes, to name a few). The benefit is an incredibly thorough but surprisingly gentle exfoliating action which also stimulates the production of collagen deep within the skin.

It comes in a squeezy tube which is made from an unspecified recyclable plastic. The cap, however, is not recyclable. The smell is is mild and fairly pleasant - somewhere between soft and fruity, and mildly chemical (which is unsurprising since it is a chemical exfoliant - the clue's in the name). You are advised apply it thinly for 10-15 minutes once to twice per week.

I have been using this twice weekly for 15 minutes for about 6 weeks, and I absolutely love it. The first thing I noticed after my very first application was how I had far fewer blackheads - it was like they had just vanished. My partner then tried it and found the same thing. Over the next 5 or so days my skin did purge a little - I suppose it must have dissolved some plugs and the rest of the backlog was released - so I had a small breakout. But it cleared up quickly, and afterwards my skin was clearer than it had been prior to the breakout.

This exfoliant doesn't just leave your pores unclogged if you use it regularly. It also improves the texture and elasticity. I'm 27 and have been extremely lucky with my skin - there are barely no signs of ageing at all, but after using this exfoliant my skin still somehow looks younger. If I get a spot, they clear up within 24 hours of application and I have found overall that since using this I actually get far, far less spots than ever before. My partner has also found this exfoliant particularly helpful with stubble irritation and he's noticed fewer ingrown hairs.

Excellent product, will forever repurchase. The only thing wrong with it is the ridiculously extortionate price tag.

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermalogica products

More Treatments (Face) products