Dermalogica Gentle Cream Exfoliant

4.1

186 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water/Aqua/Eau, Diatomaceous Earth, Butylene Glycol, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Papain, Bromelain, Steareth-21, Steareth-2, Cetearyl Alcohol, Salicylic Acid, Sodium Magnesium Silicate, Lactic Acid, Sulfur, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Centaurea Cyanus Flower Extract, Citrus Medica Limonium (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Flower Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Polysorbate 80, Disodium EDTA, Benzyl PCA, Phenoxyethanol, Linalool, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).


on 2/8/2014 4:28:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I used this once and it gave me rash that lasted for weeks ! :/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/3/2014 8:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I think this product is okay... It became extremely helpful when my skin really needed the exfoliation though it didn't seem effective when my skin condition was alright. My only mistake was putting too much of this, it worked better when applied thinly.


on 1/23/2014 4:21:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Misleading name!

My skin tends to be on the sensitive side, but this masque took it to the extreme - I used it only for 10 minutes and it brutalized my skin - bright red, flaky and sore (like the most extreme form of windburn in the world) - even a couple of days later, it still hurts. Definitely not recommended for anybody with sensitive skin, despite the name of the product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/6/2014 2:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Amazing! Ive been using dermalogica exfoliants for a while now and swear by them. This is a good one that is a cream not a scrub and is gentle and does the job well. You only need to use it once maybe twice a week for maintenance. I remember this to be a skin savior one time i got really really sunburnt on my face and had the worst peeling and had to go to work the next day, but i exfoliated using this and the dead skin just came off without any scrubbing pain or irritation and no one could even tell how bad my skin looked the day before! I have dry skin normally and this helps remove any dry patches and also helps smooth my skin so my moisturiser can penetrate deeply and work its magic! Highly recommend


on 1/5/2014 9:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

To be fair, I've only used this twice...but I already love it. The first time I used it, before I applied it, I had small bumps all under my nose and on my forehead. After using this, they went away! I used it again tonight and it just really cleaned out my pores. It doesn't burn or sting me at all...and I have very sensitive skin. I have high hopes that this is the product I've been searching for.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/18/2013 8:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a great product. So many face masks are a waste of money; they feel good but do very little. With this one I feel like I am really getting an effective skin treatment. Some blocked pores cleared up pretty quickly after I started using this. But don't overdo it! The first time I used it, because it felt like it had "stopped" I just left it on for a while and my face was red for days. But I knew that was my own fault, lol, so I waited a while and gave it another shot. When I follow the directions, it leaves my skin smooth and fresh, feeling deeply cleaned. It's a keeper.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/5/2013 1:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my favourite exfoliant along with the REN gycolic mask. I have extremely sensitive skin and this cream/ mask gentle exfoliates the top and under layers of my skin without leaving my skin red. This exfoliant has lactic acid which comes from milk so it is very gentle - some may not see a difference the first couple times you use it.

I use this once a week along with the REN once a week for only 5 mins and my skin is glowing afterwards. My blocked pores are also easily unclogged by gently squeezing following the use of this mask. I make sure I use a hydrating mask after this so my skin isn't too dry.

I recommend you give this a good month before you give it up and you won't regret it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/28/2013 2:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this product after Lisa Eldridge recommended it in one of her videos. I suppose that this type of exfoliant might work wonders for certain people, but it didn't for me at all. I have combination skin with very mild rosacea and very mild seborrheic dermatitis, which means I get occasional breakouts, redness, and flaky skin. I usually exfoliate around 1-2 times a week with a Clinique scrub, but I decided to give this a try since it's a chemical exfoliant and it's supposed to do less damage to the skin on the long run. Now, my aim when exfoliating is to get brighter, cleaner looking skin, to reduce scars over time, and to remove the bits of flaky skin (which are a pain when applying foundation otherwise). This Dermalogica product works well for the first two, but it won't remove any flaky skin. If you have flaky skin due to dryness, this scrub might still work for you, but if it's because of a skin condition and your skin is also oily, you're better off with a physical scrub for deep exfoliation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/9/2013 12:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

My skin is dehydrated, clogged pores, sensitive... The scrubs and clarisonic always left me with irritated or over-exfoliated skin.
I got my sample tube in 'very dry skin' kit after Lisa Eldridge's recommendation.

The consistency is thick, it doesnt sink into the skin but sits on top of it and dries, easy to remove the masque with warm water.

First time i used it I left it for 15 minutes which seems to be too long for me, although it worked well it left me with red skin.
10 minutes is enough for me.

My skin was smoother, dry flakes were gone, after longer use I notice my pores are less clogged, my skin is glowing! Even the most siliconey and patch-clinging foundations look amazing right now.

Its twice the US price here in France, its not in fancy packaging and Im not able to get it in shop but its really worth it!


on 8/19/2013 2:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

I received this product as part of a Dry Skin skincare system and thought "Great! A gentle exfoliator for my dry, sensitive skin".

Boy was I wrong.

As per the application instructions, I left it on for the recommended 10-15 minutes (I opted for 10 minutes, just to be safe) and then rinsed it off with warm water. It took this product less than 30 seconds for my face to break out into a hideous red, angry looking allergic rash and also gave me a burning sensation.

I would not recommend this product to anyone with sensitive skin as I think that a lot of the ingredients are rather harsh and abrasive, although it states that they aren't.

I seem to be one of many who have experienced this result after application and rinse-off of this "Gentle" Cream Exfoliant. I think a visit to a dermatologist will be in order very soon! :(

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
528 Reviews
Nerium AD
70 Reviews
Sudocrem
136 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Back to Top