Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.1(5269 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 danceintherain55 on 9/1/2014 11:35:00 PM more reviews by danceintherain55

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Never in a million year would I buy this product again. Absolute least favorite mascara I've ever bought. I HATE wand shape. Hate the product. Nope, nope, nope. Cute colors on the packaging. That's about it. Don't recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CharcuterieQueen on 8/23/2014 2:28:00 PM more reviews by CharcuterieQueen

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Say what you will but it's a tried and true. It is a classic wet formula that lengthens. It takes a second longer to dry than most, which, IMO, is perfect for avoiding flakes when layering (layering over dry mascara will flake any formula). A woman can never have too many mascaras. This one is one of the many I choose to keep around. You should, too.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aimeerose on 8/19/2014 4:47:00 AM more reviews by Aimeerose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

I used to swear by this mascara. It was my trusty go to for great lashes. What happened it does absolutely nothing. I don't know what changed :-(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 PSS07 on 8/17/2014 4:30:00 PM more reviews by PSS07

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I remember the first time I tried this, there was a big hype when it came to the UK. I can honestly say I don't know what all the fuss is about its flaky not long lasting & the worst mascara I have ever used. The build up to it didn't help I guess. I read lots of reviews & it seems you either loves this or hate this & unfortunately for me this just didn't work!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hannahbeautyxoxo on 8/15/2014 12:18:00 PM more reviews by hannahbeautyxoxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

sorry maybelline- but this is beyond the worst mascara I have ever tried.

ever.

I was pretty keen to pick this up because I had a few friends who raved about it, so I picked it up in blackest black. Probably the biggest disappointment is actually opening it. I don't know about anyone else, but the tube was so big and I'm like oooh it's probably a really big volumising wand.... The wand is smaller then my pinky nail. legit, it's pathetically tiny. I was so disappointed. The formula is also terrible, it felt so slick and gross when applying it and it did absolutely nothing for my lashes; just a coat of colour and microscopic volume. Plus, it irritated my eyes and it broke me out because it ran all over my face when I tried to remove it. Also, this formula gets REALLY brittle after a while. I can't really say much else, I was really disappointed because I had such high hopes for this mascara. I definetly won't be repurchasing it and I strongly don't recommend it. A waste of $8. Sorry maybelline but this mascara is just absolutely terrible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Englishvik on 8/15/2014 11:51:00 AM more reviews by Englishvik

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This product is o-kay, figured i'd try it as it has all the history and hyper in its favour, it didn't really add any volume or length and it didn't last that long (had those smudges under my eyes) so it was quickly relegated to being a "bottom lash mascara". I appreciate the cult following as it's been around for decades but i'd spend my money on something else

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shazhud on 8/15/2014 5:56:00 AM more reviews by shazhud

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara was ok not the best but for the price it was alright

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beth on 8/14/2014 12:55:00 PM more reviews by Beth

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Would you believe, in over 40 years of wearing makeup, that until this year I had never tried Great Lash? It's in the Allure Hall of Fame, yet I never had occasion to use the iconic pink and green tube. (As an adolescent, I did use the Blooming Colors mascara in navy blue, because that was what the fashion magazines told girls with brown eyes to use in the '70's. I don't know what I was thinking.)(But I digress.) What tempted me late last year was a limited-edition line of colors which included a garnet-red color called So Very Berry. It's not a tubing mascara, but for the price, I figured eh, what the heck. I've been toting this one around the country as my everyday mascara.

Pros:
**Great color! This shade of red, or burgundy or however you want to characterize it, is hard to find in a mascara. I seek out these colors to bring out the green in my eyes, which has become more prominent as I age and the brown pigment in my irises dissipates.
**You can't beat the price. I think I paid $4.99 for this tube.

Cons:
**It doesn't come off when I wash my face.
**Despite multiple coats, I don't seem to be able to build the coverage.

So, it doesn't thicken or lengthen, just darken, which is okay, but it doesn't come off completely, with product still remaining in the morning even after I wash my face with DHC Deep Cleansing Oil the night before AND use a makeup remover or some kind of oil, such as olive oil or Johnson's Baby Oil, to remove residue. Any mascara that doesn't come off completely the first time is a FAIL for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SlightlyKristina on 8/14/2014 12:22:00 PM more reviews by SlightlyKristina

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Worst mascara I've ever used!

Pros:

-Price is alright.

Cons:

-No added length or volume.
-Clumps up
-Irritated my sensitive eyes.
-Flakes off

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cbarber018 on 8/10/2014 1:49:00 PM more reviews by cbarber018

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I use this product everytime with the lash blast this product doesn't do much though I have went through 2 bottles of this

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products