Clinique • Brush-on cream liner in TRUE BLACK • Eyeliner

rated 4.3(201 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahmarie86 on 1/10/2013 11:09:00 PM more reviews by sarahmarie86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

When I say that I love this product, I mean I LOVE this baby... I love how creamy it is and that it takes a little longer to dry than other gel liners... like say, MAC Blacktrack. Because it takes longer to dry, you have more time to work with it before it sets. Now if you have hooded eyes or monolids, this may be a problem. It is very black and dries matte... I can't say how long the pot will last because I've only had it for a month. I will update my post when I know. It's been said before, but the brush it comes with it total crap... I like to use the MAC 209. The staying power is very good, but not amazing. I would say that Blacktrack wins this battle. Over all a great product, would definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DaisyLC on 1/7/2013 7:03:00 PM more reviews by DaisyLC

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really awesome eyeliner.
It applies easily and smoothly.
The brush it comes with is useless and short, toss it.
It doesn't leave that transfer line on your eyelids like most cheap eyeliners. I probably shouldn't be using it anymore for safety/ bacterial reasons, but I've the same pot for a a couple of years now and it still hasn't dried or cake up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nlvpcohjmis on 1/1/2013 1:14:00 PM more reviews by nlvpcohjmis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This has become my go-to cream liner. Goes on extremely smoothly (when using a decent brush of course) and lasts forever. What I especially like about Clinique that I haven't found with other liquid or cream liners is that in addition to smooth application, the pigment is wonderful -- deep, matte, and lasts all day without smudging off or dulling.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hancid on 12/1/2012 4:03:00 PM more reviews by hancid

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Pros:
Lasts all day
NEVER dries out (even left the pot open by accident overnight)
Nice colour
Creamy, doesn't tug skin with application
Price
Can achieve really subtle liner look.

Cons:
Very creamy/slick which makes applying it a bit more difficult than thicker, stiffer liners like fluidline. Gotta use a more steady hand.
Not the blackest black, but still nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bjet on 10/10/2012 11:48:00 PM more reviews by Bjet

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My first gel liner and I don't know why I bought others. Although it is not MY perfect eyeliner it is the best gel liner I've tried and I have tried Bobbi Brown(which sucked so bad I returned it!), MAC (it was OK), wet and wild (Dried up so quickly I hardly got any use out of it), Maybelline (also dried up really quickly). Clinique one does not dry out for a long time. I recently threw it out because it got to the point that it was dried up but that was after 3 years (Uh i know I should have thrown eyeliners out earlier...>_<) It does smudge on me but only after about 4 hours while Bobbi Brown smudged on me in 10 mins..(so disappointed I heard that it was supposed to be the best long wearing gel liner but not true). I'll still go out and buy this because I don't think it's safe to use liquid liner on the waterline and pencil liners are out of the question since they smudge in 30 seconds. So far the bestest (i know it's not a word) eyeliner I own has to be the physicians formula lash booster but it says specifically on the package not to use it on the waterline so I have to use Clinique on my waterline.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jessadores on 10/6/2012 2:14:00 AM more reviews by jessadores

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was really hoping that this would end my search for the perfect gel eyeliner but I was wrong. It wasn't horrible, but I will not be repurchasing. I liked that it lasted all day, it even hung on through a nap. It also didn't transfer on my eyelids or under-eyes. It is very creamy and did not seem to dry up in the pot (the reason why I don't stick to mac's blacktrack, it gets drier and drier in the pot and eventually tugs when I apply it). I did not like that because it was so creamy it would kind of streak when I applied it, so I would have to put on one "coat" then another to fill in the streaks. The main reason why I don't like it is because it looks more like a muted or washed out black and I like my eyeliner to be really black. As for the brush, its okay in a pinch. I used it just to try it out and it worked, but it made a thicker line and I prefer my own brushes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xtina000 on 10/3/2012 6:37:00 AM more reviews by xtina000

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I looove this eyeliner. I ran out a few years ago and being the curious makeup addict that I am (and most of us here seem to be!) I tried other raved-about brands - BB, MUFE, MAC - and they didn't compare. This was darker, smoother, and longer-lasting. I remember once I was crying to my friend and she interrupted her consoling of me to comment on how amazing my eyeliner was that it hadn't budged at all! Lol. I need to repurchase this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ochaxoxo on 9/22/2012 12:56:00 AM more reviews by ochaxoxo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It didn't last as long as Mac gel eyeliner. I needed an eyeliner that would last for about 8-10 hours since I usually work for that long and do not have any time to reapply my make up or fix any smudges. This gel liner definitely smudge in the inner corner of my eyes and down below my lash line even though I only line on top. The brush it came with is useless. I guess it doesn't work on oily lids. I've tried it with 3 different eye primer and it still smudges (nars, too faced shadow insurance, and urban decay. Guess I'm going back to Mac or possibly try out Bobbi Brown next.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maliciousdelicious on 8/20/2012 6:02:00 AM more reviews by maliciousdelicious

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is not a bad eyeliner. The SA told me that it wouldn't fade off - she tried it on my hand and that baby wouldn't budge! She also said it could be used on the waterline. I'm not sure about that though. Anyway, here are my observations:

- It's a bit clumpy and dries easily which can make it difficult to apply. I actually prefer more liquid liners such as the Laura Mercier one which is a powder cake that you have to wet, though that one has other problems. I've reviewed that as well.

- The brush is useless, don't even bother. For one thing, it's too short.

- Now, as far as lasting effect is concerned, it didn't last as long as it did on my hand, probably because my eyelids are super greasy. And when it starts smudging, it looks horrific because it's quite heavily pigmented.

If you don't have oily lids and can keep your fingers off your eyes, it's not a bad product and will last forever. It's good for thick lines and dramatic looks. I now use it to intensify my pencil eyeliner for a deeper and longer-lasting line.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Magpie13 on 8/18/2012 5:47:00 PM more reviews by Magpie13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I love this eyeliner but the little flat brush it comes with is pointless. I apply it using an angled eyeliner brush and it glides on easily. If you are inexperienced at applying liquid eyeliner you may find this a little easier to apply due to the slightly thicker consistency.

It dries quickly, lasts all day, and is easy to remove with waterbased eye make-up remover. A little goes a long way and there is a decent amount in the pot. One of the best value for money products clinique offer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Eyeliner products