Clinique • Brush-on cream liner in TRUE BLACK • Eyeliner

rated 4.4(204 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vwzen81 on 5/8/2013 11:01:00 AM more reviews by vwzen81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I honestly didnít know gel or cream liner could be this magnificent. I wear winged liner every day and have always just bought the gel/cream liner from the drugstore because I thought why pay more for basically the same thing. Iíve tried LíOrealís, Maybelline, Wet n Wild, Elf, Physicianís Formula and a few other drugstore liners in the little pots. Some have been horrible and others were good and I assumed they were as good as it gets. I thought it was normal for a cream liner to work great for about a month before it would start to dry out and become difficult to apply and flake all over my face throughout the day. Iíve never been able to hit ďpanĒ or completely use up any of my drugstore liners because they just become far too hard to work with. Then a few months ago I was at my local Clinique counter and decided to try their cream liner for the heck of it. Let me tell you, this stuff applies like nothing I have ever used; it is so soft and smooth, like butter. This liner applies so easily that itís saving me time in the morning because I donít have to struggle with applying dry, pasty liner. The best part is that the consistency of this liner is exactly the same as it was the day I opened it; it is showing absolutely no signs of drying out. I have the black color and it is a true deep black; dries to a matte finish and I only need to go over the line once to get a solid black line. This liner cost me $16 which is only about $5 more than the drugstore brand I was using and in the long run the Clinique liner will be cheaper since itís not drying out and becoming unusable. I will definitely be getting my moneyís worth on this liner.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ammyyyy on 4/24/2013 2:51:00 PM more reviews by ammyyyy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Without a primer, the eyeliner is dark and glides on very smoothly without tugging but after a few hours, it starts to smudge and after half a day I end up looking quite raccoon like. With primer, it tends to stay pretty much all day with minimal smudging. The eyeliner also comes with a mini brush, which is decent considering brushes that come with makeup are usually pretty terrible and it's perfect for applying eyeshadow or eyeliner for the lower lash line.
Overall, I would prefer this eyeliner over the Bobbi Brown gel eyeliner (which also smudged on me), just because it's cheaper and you get more product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Amberbock363 on 2/25/2013 12:36:00 AM more reviews by Amberbock363

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

It was not at all what I expected from an "eyeliner" I'd compare it to a mac paint pot it would make a better base. It's easy to get too much I started with a full container and once I built up non patchy color and put a couple swatches on my hand there was a significant dent in my container which I'm also going to post a photo of. The dry down time is sllllllow and it's not waterproof I smudged it 2 min after I applied it with my med shader brush. First swatch was the residue left over from my horrible attempt at my eye the second is layered and the third is one 2. And I also compared it to a paintpot which is not supposed to be opaque in one swipe. Overall patchy thick goopy slow drying easily transferred, it takes a lot of product I put a significant dent in one use. The color is nice though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahmarie86 on 1/10/2013 11:09:00 PM more reviews by sarahmarie86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

When I say that I love this product, I mean I LOVE this baby... I love how creamy it is and that it takes a little longer to dry than other gel liners... like say, MAC Blacktrack. Because it takes longer to dry, you have more time to work with it before it sets. Now if you have hooded eyes or monolids, this may be a problem. It is very black and dries matte... I can't say how long the pot will last because I've only had it for a month. I will update my post when I know. It's been said before, but the brush it comes with it total crap... I like to use the MAC 209. The staying power is very good, but not amazing. I would say that Blacktrack wins this battle. Over all a great product, would definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DaisyLC on 1/7/2013 7:03:00 PM more reviews by DaisyLC

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really awesome eyeliner.
It applies easily and smoothly.
The brush it comes with is useless and short, toss it.
It doesn't leave that transfer line on your eyelids like most cheap eyeliners. I probably shouldn't be using it anymore for safety/ bacterial reasons, but I've the same pot for a a couple of years now and it still hasn't dried or cake up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nlvpcohjmis on 1/1/2013 1:14:00 PM more reviews by nlvpcohjmis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This has become my go-to cream liner. Goes on extremely smoothly (when using a decent brush of course) and lasts forever. What I especially like about Clinique that I haven't found with other liquid or cream liners is that in addition to smooth application, the pigment is wonderful -- deep, matte, and lasts all day without smudging off or dulling.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hancid on 12/1/2012 4:03:00 PM more reviews by hancid

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Pros:
Lasts all day
NEVER dries out (even left the pot open by accident overnight)
Nice colour
Creamy, doesn't tug skin with application
Price
Can achieve really subtle liner look.

Cons:
Very creamy/slick which makes applying it a bit more difficult than thicker, stiffer liners like fluidline. Gotta use a more steady hand.
Not the blackest black, but still nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bjet on 10/10/2012 11:48:00 PM more reviews by Bjet

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My first gel liner and I don't know why I bought others. Although it is not MY perfect eyeliner it is the best gel liner I've tried and I have tried Bobbi Brown(which sucked so bad I returned it!), MAC (it was OK), wet and wild (Dried up so quickly I hardly got any use out of it), Maybelline (also dried up really quickly). Clinique one does not dry out for a long time. I recently threw it out because it got to the point that it was dried up but that was after 3 years (Uh i know I should have thrown eyeliners out earlier...>_<) It does smudge on me but only after about 4 hours while Bobbi Brown smudged on me in 10 mins..(so disappointed I heard that it was supposed to be the best long wearing gel liner but not true). I'll still go out and buy this because I don't think it's safe to use liquid liner on the waterline and pencil liners are out of the question since they smudge in 30 seconds. So far the bestest (i know it's not a word) eyeliner I own has to be the physicians formula lash booster but it says specifically on the package not to use it on the waterline so I have to use Clinique on my waterline.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jessadores on 10/6/2012 2:14:00 AM more reviews by jessadores

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was really hoping that this would end my search for the perfect gel eyeliner but I was wrong. It wasn't horrible, but I will not be repurchasing. I liked that it lasted all day, it even hung on through a nap. It also didn't transfer on my eyelids or under-eyes. It is very creamy and did not seem to dry up in the pot (the reason why I don't stick to mac's blacktrack, it gets drier and drier in the pot and eventually tugs when I apply it). I did not like that because it was so creamy it would kind of streak when I applied it, so I would have to put on one "coat" then another to fill in the streaks. The main reason why I don't like it is because it looks more like a muted or washed out black and I like my eyeliner to be really black. As for the brush, its okay in a pinch. I used it just to try it out and it worked, but it made a thicker line and I prefer my own brushes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xtina000 on 10/3/2012 6:37:00 AM more reviews by xtina000

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I looove this eyeliner. I ran out a few years ago and being the curious makeup addict that I am (and most of us here seem to be!) I tried other raved-about brands - BB, MUFE, MAC - and they didn't compare. This was darker, smoother, and longer-lasting. I remember once I was crying to my friend and she interrupted her consoling of me to comment on how amazing my eyeliner was that it hadn't budged at all! Lol. I need to repurchase this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Eyeliner products