Joico • Moisture Recovery • Shampoo

rated 4.1(75 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 jenblondet on 7/26/2013 11:38:00 AM more reviews by jenblondet

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

OMG! This shampoo/conditioner is the best I've tried so far. I was using Mane & Tail which was also very good. But I just dyed my hair so I wanted to get something that was used at salons. My hairdresser recommended me this and I just love how my hair feels. Really restores your dry hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 NeonBiitch on 7/12/2013 11:22:00 PM more reviews by NeonBiitch

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

These liters were on sale this week at Ulta and the boards were all CRAZY about it, so I gave in... this shampoo is not much different thant any other I've tried. I don't feel like my bleached hair is any better condition or more moisturized than before. It contains sodium laureth sulfate like most others so I'm not sure what all the hoopla was about. MEH.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 6/27/2013 12:35:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I think the name of this shampoo is misleading because it's not very moisturizing. After shampooing, my hair definitely needs conditioner, and 24 hours later, my hair feels a bit dry, which might be a good thing because my ends typically get greasy, so on this shampoo I could likely go two days without washing my hair and spruce it up with a little dry shampoo. This has what I think could be a unisex scent, almost bordering on men's cologne, so I could see this shampoo working for both sexes. I'm currently using samples but I don't think I'd buy this when I run out. For moisturizing shampoos, I prefer Costco/Kirkland's Pureology knockoff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Snosand on 6/14/2013 12:33:00 PM more reviews by Snosand

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have about 7 inches of hair ruined by a chemical straightening treatment a few months ago with 6 inches of my normal hair with no damage. Those ends snap easily, are dry and frizzy.

My normal hair can be a bit frizzy due to my slight wave. On it's own it is pretty normal with nice shine and very soft. The damaged part is just horrible and after using so many wrong products my hair that didn't have layers now has what looks like faded layers. :(

I do have an oily scalp and this does not cause any problems for me.

This shampoo leaves my hair feeling clean but soft.

After trying tons of natural products I took the advice of the hair board and tried Joico Moisture recovery. OH MY!!! After just one wash I felt a difference. My hair continues to look better with each use. I had purchased the 8 oz and have maybe 2 more uses left so I bought the liter sizes which I've NEVER done with any shampoo and conditioner.

Smell: A nice light clean scent with a little citrus smell but not strong at all. I have a very sensitive nose.

I use this with the matching conditioner. No build up issues but I do clarify twice a month.

My hair now feels soft, looks smooth and with each use the breakage becomes less. I usually see tons of hair breakage after blow drying (I blow dry about 70% before using my Wen boar round brush) but now with the brush and this S&C no issues at all. My last blow dry I had just about 5 broken hairs around the sink instead of like 25. That's really good for just under a month of usage.

I also started using Redken Anti-snap which was a favorite of mine years ago. I know this helps but the S&C is what gets the job done in the moisture area to make the after products work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lyrics on 3/31/2013 1:16:00 PM more reviews by Lyrics

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have this and it's conditioner in the litre-sized bottles. For a sulphate shampoo it's actually not as drying as I expected. I used Elasta QP moisturising shampoo for a while but started to feel that it wasn't really getting my hair as clean as I'd like. I wanted something that would cleanse my hair without drying out, and the Joico Moisture Recovery shampoo provides a happy medium for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cathy1954 on 3/28/2013 10:25:00 PM more reviews by Cathy1954

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Great shampoo! I noticed when shampooing my hair did not tangle or feel dry while rinsing. This shampoo as well as the conditioner appear to rinse clean! Also use the leave in detangler, it doesn't take much a little goes a long way. Great products!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 But002 on 1/17/2013 3:23:00 PM more reviews by But002

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My sister and I both had Brazilians done, she asked for a Sulphate free shampoo and was given the Moisture Recovery, we have been told that it is not a Sulphate free shampoo. I called the Salon today and was told by the owner that the company they get their products from told them that it is Sulphate free, according the her the other product (Yellow Bottle) sorry cant think of name now, left the clients hair hard and they have stopped using it and have been giving their Brazilian treated clients the Moisture Recovery and have had no complaints....My sister, who has fine oily hair was most upset with the product, she said it left her hair limp and oily....she had many surprised looks from people when she told them she had just had a brazilian done??? I mentioned this to the Owner of the salon and questioned why she had given someone with oily hair a shampoo for dry hair, said the shampoo worked different to others??? very confused, my sister who has gone back to Geneva, has left the shampoo with me, im afraid to use it as i would not like the treatment to be stripped from my hair.....any ideas??

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mayscild on 1/4/2013 7:06:00 PM more reviews by Mayscild

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is the oddest shampoo. My first application produced no lather to speak of. The second was more normal, and reassured me I wasn't using conditioner instead of shampoo. My second surprise was that my hair didn't seem very moisturized. Clean, yes, and I was able to comb it easily, but I really did need to use a separate conditioner. Third , my scalp felt so clean afterward, it was almost uncomfortable. Kind of dry and tight. I have never experienced that with a shampoo before.

Subsequent uses reveal that the "moisture recovery" effect is cumulative. After a few times, I began to feel I was really using a moisturizing shampoo, and my hair needs less extra conditioner now. Using leave-in products like Sebastian's Potion 9, or Joico's K-Pak Color Therapy Restorative Oil took care of the weird scalp thing. Scrubbing less probably helps too.

The flip cap is hard to open with soapy hands.

I am undecided whether I might buy in future. I keep changing my answer to the above question from No to Yes and back again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bellona on 1/3/2013 11:46:00 PM more reviews by Bellona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This shampoo is ok. I used to work for the company that distributed this in my city so I'm very familiar with Joico and what their products are. This shampoo smells good, and does a decent job of cleaning, but that's about it. Overall, I find that I need 2 shampoos to get a lather, and then it doesn't really moisturize as much as I need it to. The biggest CON for me is that it isn't safe for colored hair. Which I have. So I'll be moving on when this bottle is done.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lls4f on 12/13/2012 6:47:00 PM more reviews by lls4f

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is worth every penny! My hair is wavy and dry and fuzzy/frizzy on its own when I use drugstore shampoos on it. This product makes my hair shiny, silky, and bouncy. It smells divine (I often skip perfume because I love the way my hair smells so much that I don't want to cover it up!), lathers well for a sulfate free product, and feels wonderful when you rinse out. After shampooing, my hair feels soft and silky. I follow it up with the Moisture Recovery conditioner or the K Pak Intense Hydrator (use that one about once a week)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Joico products

More Shampoo products