Almay • Brow Defining Pencil • Brows

rated 3.9(32 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 WhackyAki on 9/3/2012 6:37:00 PM more reviews by WhackyAki

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have blonde sparse eyebrows so I have to do a lot of filling in, especially at the ends. I'm not sure if I bought an old pencil, but it really doesn't apply directly on skin. Kinda seemed waxy/dried out. It fills in really nice where I actually have eyebrows, though. I really like the brush it comes with. I bought the lighter colour, and I found it a liiittle too warm for my cool skin/hair and blue eyes. Probably won't buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rubie93 on 7/7/2012 6:37:00 AM more reviews by rubie93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

If I had to choose only one makeup product to use for the rest of my life it would be this. Seriously. I overplucked my brows REALLY BAD when I was thirteen or fourteen so I was in need of an excellent brow pencil. I've been using this ever since. The shade brunette matches my brows perfectly, looks incredibly realistic, and applying it is so easy. Also it has a built in sharpener so you don't have to mess around with sharpeners and it lasts forever. Best brow product ever I would never, ever be caught dead using anything else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nolachick86 on 6/26/2012 4:48:00 PM more reviews by nolachick86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This is THE BEST DRUGSTORE product for eye brows! the only thing I can compare this to is the TARTE brow pencil in terms of texture and lasting power. its awesome! its fine tip allows u to create natural looking brows, lasts all day, and twists up, one end is a wonderful brow brush. I use mine everysingle day so typically i have to get one every month or so.
its easy to carry around so u can take it with u or have it in ur purse for touch ups but i dont find that i need it unless i'm working out after work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bnm5077 on 4/10/2012 12:29:00 PM more reviews by bnm5077

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I used to use It cosmetics brow power. I would get 2 for $34 and I got so sick of spending that kind of money. I decided to try this and I'm glad I did! My eyebrows stop at the arch so the super tiny point makes it so easy to fill in the rest. The small tip allows you to use as much or as little as you want. The formula is pretty creamy so it smudges kinda easily but I'm not really touching my eyebrows ever. Even if it smudges it's easy to go back over the line once or twice to make it darker. Overall, it's a good product for a good price. It makes my eyebrows look natural since there is a spool at the end and the color is perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 whawhawhacawhaaawhaa on 4/1/2012 2:45:00 AM more reviews by whawhawhacawhaaawhaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Crap crap crap when compared to the Maybelline Define-A-Brow, where there are a variety of pigments and the formula is waxy to last most of the day yet not too hard where you have to dig onto your skin. This only cOmes in two shades, excuse me? Thank goodness I am Asian with my dark hair, as the dark brown is for people with dark hair/brown hair. But the formula is WAY too creamy and starts to fade within 2 hours. This is a let down since my Maybelline can last a good 5 hours before the fading starts to look SLIGHTLY significant, combined with my slightly oily forehead and bangs that are drawing oils to my brows. Do yourself a favour and go buy the Maybelline one, you will nit be disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SmillaGirl on 1/23/2012 9:29:00 PM more reviews by SmillaGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I used to like this but the last few I've bought have crumbled when I've tried to use them. I buy them at my local Priceline which has a high turnover so doubt they've been on the shelf for too long. Thing that really annoys me is that I've emailed Almay/Revlon about this and they've ignored me.

UPDATE 5th Feb 2012. I ended up having a whine on Twitter and Revlon got back to me and someone in their Australian office got in contact. I'll let you know what happens after I speak to them this week.

UPDATE 15th Feb 2012. So I spoke to Revlon and they apologised profusely and then asked for my address and sent me not only 2 replacement Almay eyebrow pencils but also a heap of other Revlon and Almay stuff. I think they sent at least 15 or so products which was very generous of them. Also, I was able to retry the brow pencil and loved it so have changed my review to 4 lipsticks. I do recommend this product and not because Revlon sent me loads of gear but because it's actually is a good product. If you get one that's not right make sure you call Revlon and let them know about it and I'm sure they'll make good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 achou94 on 9/13/2011 11:50:00 PM more reviews by achou94

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

one of the worst brow pencils i've ever used.. it gets used up WAY too quickly and the colours are either too light or too dark. the tip is too narrow to allow you to shade in any real shape or definition to your eyebrows. i do not recommend this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 misskittycity74 on 8/15/2011 2:30:00 AM more reviews by misskittycity74

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

There are a lot of things I like about this product: I like that it has a very fine precision tip. I love that it's automatic; I hate any pencil that requires a separate sharpener. I use dark blonde & it's the perfect color for me. Now for the things I don't like. It's very difficult to find. I have the best luck finding it at Ulta. It does not last long. I always buy 2 so I'm not stranded. There's no way to tell when you're getting close to the end. As others have noted it tends to break easily; it does help if you do not extend it too far, but I still break it from time to time. Even with the con's this pencil gives me the best brows at a decent price. I'm still on the lookout for a better product because of the cons I've mentioned, but it's a staple in my bag till something better comes along.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jija on 4/30/2011 3:43:00 PM more reviews by jija

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is the right color for me...dark brown and I like the small precise tip. However it does seem like it will run out pretty quick...we'll see how long it lasts. It does smudge onto my face too, which is not too much fun. Other than that, its okay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 poreblaster2000 on 3/20/2011 5:44:00 PM more reviews by poreblaster2000

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love everything about this pencil except for the actual product. I've tried two colors (dark blonde and brunette) and neither really match my eyebrows. The brunette was way too dark and the dark blonde is just slightly off in tone (a little too red). The product is soft, doesn't really stay put and comes off easily, so it doesn't last the whole day.
I do however love love love love the brush on the other end, how tiny the pencil is and that you just screw it up (no sharpening!). Maybeline makes a very similar eyebrow pencil, Define-A-Brow, which I like a lot better as far as product: color matches me perfectly, harder product, stays in place and lasts longer. The only thing it's missing is the brush on the end. So I keep the Almay around for the brush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Brows products