Almay Brow Defining Pencil

3.9

34 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/6/2013 11:55:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Love this, perfect shade for my dark blonde brows and it comes with the best spoolie i've ever used. I find most brow pencils to be really dry and difficult to apply, powder seems to be a better alternative, but the only powder that does a good dark blonde is smashbox and that is far, far more expensive. this goes on really easily, using feathery strokes is really easy with this product, giving us fair girls a far more natural finish.



Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Grey, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have been unable to find this for over a year now! It is/was the best drugstore eyebrow pencil out there! Yes, you do not get alot of product for the money, but it was a fine point & perfect texture & shade (dark blonde). It was not too soft or too thick. I also liked the spoolie end. I have been using Maybelline Define-a-Brow, but it is too soft, not hard enough & yes, not enough product for what you pay.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/3/2012 6:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have blonde sparse eyebrows so I have to do a lot of filling in, especially at the ends. I'm not sure if I bought an old pencil, but it really doesn't apply directly on skin. Kinda seemed waxy/dried out. It fills in really nice where I actually have eyebrows, though. I really like the brush it comes with. I bought the lighter colour, and I found it a liiittle too warm for my cool skin/hair and blue eyes. Probably won't buy again!


on 7/7/2012 6:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

If I had to choose only one makeup product to use for the rest of my life it would be this. Seriously. I overplucked my brows REALLY BAD when I was thirteen or fourteen so I was in need of an excellent brow pencil. I've been using this ever since. The shade brunette matches my brows perfectly, looks incredibly realistic, and applying it is so easy. Also it has a built in sharpener so you don't have to mess around with sharpeners and it lasts forever. Best brow product ever I would never, ever be caught dead using anything else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/26/2012 4:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Black

This is THE BEST DRUGSTORE product for eye brows! the only thing I can compare this to is the TARTE brow pencil in terms of texture and lasting power. its awesome! its fine tip allows u to create natural looking brows, lasts all day, and twists up, one end is a wonderful brow brush. I use mine everysingle day so typically i have to get one every month or so.
its easy to carry around so u can take it with u or have it in ur purse for touch ups but i dont find that i need it unless i'm working out after work.


on 4/10/2012 12:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I used to use It cosmetics brow power. I would get 2 for $34 and I got so sick of spending that kind of money. I decided to try this and I'm glad I did! My eyebrows stop at the arch so the super tiny point makes it so easy to fill in the rest. The small tip allows you to use as much or as little as you want. The formula is pretty creamy so it smudges kinda easily but I'm not really touching my eyebrows ever. Even if it smudges it's easy to go back over the line once or twice to make it darker. Overall, it's a good product for a good price. It makes my eyebrows look natural since there is a spool at the end and the color is perfect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Crap crap crap when compared to the Maybelline Define-A-Brow, where there are a variety of pigments and the formula is waxy to last most of the day yet not too hard where you have to dig onto your skin. This only cOmes in two shades, excuse me? Thank goodness I am Asian with my dark hair, as the dark brown is for people with dark hair/brown hair. But the formula is WAY too creamy and starts to fade within 2 hours. This is a let down since my Maybelline can last a good 5 hours before the fading starts to look SLIGHTLY significant, combined with my slightly oily forehead and bangs that are drawing oils to my brows. Do yourself a favour and go buy the Maybelline one, you will nit be disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2012 9:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I used to like this but the last few I've bought have crumbled when I've tried to use them. I buy them at my local Priceline which has a high turnover so doubt they've been on the shelf for too long. Thing that really annoys me is that I've emailed Almay/Revlon about this and they've ignored me.

UPDATE 5th Feb 2012. I ended up having a whine on Twitter and Revlon got back to me and someone in their Australian office got in contact. I'll let you know what happens after I speak to them this week.

UPDATE 15th Feb 2012. So I spoke to Revlon and they apologised profusely and then asked for my address and sent me not only 2 replacement Almay eyebrow pencils but also a heap of other Revlon and Almay stuff. I think they sent at least 15 or so products which was very generous of them. Also, I was able to retry the brow pencil and loved it so have changed my review to 4 lipsticks. I do recommend this product and not because Revlon sent me loads of gear but because it's actually is a good product. If you get one that's not right make sure you call Revlon and let them know about it and I'm sure they'll make good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/13/2011 11:50:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

one of the worst brow pencils i've ever used.. it gets used up WAY too quickly and the colours are either too light or too dark. the tip is too narrow to allow you to shade in any real shape or definition to your eyebrows. i do not recommend this.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

There are a lot of things I like about this product: I like that it has a very fine precision tip. I love that it's automatic; I hate any pencil that requires a separate sharpener. I use dark blonde & it's the perfect color for me. Now for the things I don't like. It's very difficult to find. I have the best luck finding it at Ulta. It does not last long. I always buy 2 so I'm not stranded. There's no way to tell when you're getting close to the end. As others have noted it tends to break easily; it does help if you do not extend it too far, but I still break it from time to time. Even with the con's this pencil gives me the best brows at a decent price. I'm still on the lookout for a better product because of the cons I've mentioned, but it's a staple in my bag till something better comes along.


Popular Brows Products


Castor Oil
371 Reviews
Gimme brow
171 Reviews
Brow Wiz
338 Reviews
Eyebrow Kit
609 Reviews
Back to Top