Fresh Supernova ] [DISCONTINUED]

image 1image 2

3.4

318 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Iron Oxides (Ci 77499), Glyceryl Stearate, Butylene Glycol, Polybutene, C18-36 Acid Triglyceride, Stearic Acid, Euphorbia Cerifera, (Candelilla) Wax, Cetyl Palmitate, Pvp, Steareth-21, Vp/Eicosene Copolymer, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Nylon-12, Panthenol Steareth-2, Tilia Tomentosa Bud Extract, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Glycerin, Aminomethyl Propanediol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Methylparaben, Propylparaben.


on 3/5/2012 1:11:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am currently in love with this mascara. It is not perfect, but have yet to find one that is. If I could give it a 4.5 I would. My only complaint is that it straightens my lashes a bit. I must compensate by curling them for an extra second or two. This mascara goes on beautifully, does not flake, and lasts a long time. It is everything I thought YSL would be but just isn't. Sometimes I like to use the brush straight from the container. Sometimes I wipe off the excess before application. Either way, I like the way it goes on and wears throughout the day. In addition, this mascara is very conditioning. That has been an unexpected benefit. I will purchase this again. I'm so over the drugstore mascaras that flake within 10 minutes of application.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I received a small size of this in a Fresh set that I purchased. This mascara seemed to go on okay. However the formula is so thick and goopy that application is quite tricky. Also, I have found that it smudges and leaves my lower lashline looking awful halfway through the day. I will definitely not be buying the full size.


on 2/20/2012 12:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have decently long eyelashes, and this just takes them higher and higher. I love to apply this just by blinking my lashes through the wand, the color is PHENOMENAL. What a beautiful, rich, jet black formula. It comes off easily with a makeup removing wipe, I use Neutrogena wipes. Don't rub your eyes while wearing this, it will smudge on your lower rims, but I don't care, this mascara is worth every penny. It is my HG mascara. Also, I have straight lashes and I curl them, then apply, and it does a pretty good job of holding them up. The Armani Eyes to Kill is comparable to this but it is just not as wonderful as the Supernova. The color is much more intense, the formula is less irritating, it conditions your lashes, and comes off easily.

LOVE.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/26/2011 2:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

Pros:
Thick rich formula
No alchohol
Great brush and tube

Cons:
ridiculously expensive $25!
smudges horribly for the price (yes even on experienced mascara users)

I liked that my eyelids/lashes weren't itchy when wearing this (very sensitive to alcohol). And the amount applied to my lashes was nice, I didn't need a comb, but it smudges awful.
I have very oily eyelids.


on 11/1/2011 10:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I'm torn. I love and hate this stuff. Bought the mini duo two years ago. Left it in my makeup bag and found it a year later. It was amazing. Loved the brush, didn't smudge or flake, great volume and if I used enough, amazing length too. When I used it all up I saved the money to buy a full sized tube. It's beautiful. But this stuff.. There's so much on the brush. And it's so goopy I can barely do anything with it. I scrape the brush almost ten times before trying to apply. And then I'm not guaranteed to get the same results every time. It smears and smudges and runs so easily. I'm heartbroken. Maybe I'll leave it alone for a year and it'll be what I want. But it's so expensive.. And beautiful. It leaves my lashes feeling soft when it actually applys nice and leaves them a little earthier it seems. It's killing me. I really want to like this new out the tube. Such a waste of money. Wish fresh would fix it.


on 10/29/2011 1:55:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This product was awful! It smudged under my eyes within a few hours of application. Luckily I purchased this mini in a Sugar Rose Party Favors set, so it wasn't entirely a waste. Will never purchase again. I would have given this a "zero" if I could.


on 10/14/2011 9:09:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

The brush was great and the pigment was a rich, sotty true black. I also liked that it didn't make my lashes feel crunchy however, I hate to say it but this stuff is terrible. I only applied a couple coats to the top lashes and mid day I had panda eyes. Luckily I purchased this in the mini set at Sephora for $10 along with Thunderbird. "High end" mascaras are never impressive to me, drugstore mascaras are just as good if not better for a fraction of the cost. Save your money!


on 10/9/2011 5:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was hesitant to try Fresh mascaras because of the mixed reviews. So I bought the mini duo instead of the full sized ones to save some money in case they don't work for me. However, I was pleasantly surprised by them. I've used numerous mascaras, from Dior, Lancome, Guerlain, YSL, Armani to L'oreal, Maybelline, and Rimmel. Fresh Supernova is definitely one of the better ones. The Fresh mascaras strongly remind me of Dior, with their large brushes. They perform similarly to Diorshow as well (better than Dior Blackout and Iconic IMO). They separate my lashes really well, and gave absolutely no clumping after a couple coats. Fresh Supernova lengthened my lashes very well, but did not give much volume. Overall, it is a good mascara for everyday use, but I would not use it if I want really dramatic lashes. Although I like it, I'm not sure if I would repurchase due to its high price. It's not bad, but I can get something even better with the money. I would recommend it to others, but it's not my favourite. It's very good, but not perfect.


on 9/22/2011 2:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

My first experience with Fresh's makeup line was the mini mascara duo, which explains why I've shunned the line as overpriced and poor quality ever since. Adorable packaging aside, the Fresh mascaras were two of the worst I've ever tried. Supernova was less offensive than its now-discontinued sister, Thunderbird, but that's not saying much. Supernova is a nice, rich black, but it clumps, runs, and generally doesn't look good on lashes. Save your money.


on 8/22/2011 1:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought the sample size Fresh duo at Sephora.

PROS
*Separates well
*Doesn't clump
*Lengthens great
*Curls wonderfully

CONS
*Does NOT volumize...even with 2 quotes
*Very expensive


Back to Top