L'Occitane 25% shea butter ultra rich body cream

3.8

81 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/17/2013 1:47:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

i got this in the rose petals scent which does not smell like rose petals..it is kind of a spicy scent with a rose afterthought. i loveee the packaging and i really like the feel of this but it seems to be way too expensive for regular use. thats not really the main problem though, which is that you need to use a lot of it compared to other lotions as its very thick, a little does not go a long way. although i feel it is very rich and does moisturize well. however it makes my legs and torso very itchy! i can only use it on my hands. oh well. dont buy this full price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 10/3/2013 12:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this as I am a fan of L'Occitane's Shea Butter Hand Cream - intensely moisturizing, non-greasy and absorbs quickly. However, this was absolutely rubbish! It is similar to The Body Shop Body Butters but with a much higher price tag. It is very greasy, doesn't absorb (feels like it just sits on your skin), and whatever hydration it provides disappears the next day.


on 4/18/2013 5:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I have this one in Rose Petals scent. I bought it because I need a body cream that I can bring with me every day, not too big but not too small either. This packaging is perfect for me, sleek light tin that gives a vintage feeling.

The cream itself absorbs quickly, no oily feeling. It smells nice, a light sugary rose petals scent, not overpowering but lingers for quite some time. The downside is I feel like this is not as rich as I imagined it to be, I have to use a lot of product to moisturize small area like my hand. It is still richer that The Body Shop Shea Body Butter, but the weird thing is The Body Shop Shea Body Butter keeps me moisturized longer, the L’occitane Shea Butter just sinks and disappears into my skin right away.

Overall I will use up this product, but will I purchase? No. It is expensive around USD $ 30 in my country. for that kind of price I expect something far superior than others. I will try other products after I finish it.


on 2/1/2013 7:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I like this product. It goes on smoothly, absorbs quickly, and the smell is light and clean. It is especially effective in the dry winter months, when my skin is super dry and very few products can keep it hydrated throughout the day. The only reason I would not repurchase this product is that it is so cost-prohibitive and there are quite a few other brands that can compete with the same level of quality for a significantly lower price. In addition, you need to use a decent amount of the product to cover yourself, so that the product gets used up very quickly. It's just too overpriced.


on 8/16/2012 7:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

It's clearly better than other shea butter products, but so pricey!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/19/2012 12:14:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I'm on the fence if I would buy this again, because of the hefty price. I would buy it for the scent alone because I love it so much. It smells comforting- like clean skin, just out if the bath. I also love Korres Body Butter in Guava, which is a similar, comforting scent. I keep the tub on my nightstand and use it on my feet and hands every night. The scent I think helps with sleep as well. The cream itself is nice and moisturizes the skin very well. It's a bit too heavy for summer, so it's best to use in winter.


on 6/17/2012 10:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got a deluxe sample of this and I fell in love with it. The moisturizing properties were exquisite; super moisturizing but not greasy in the least. I didn't find it to have a scent which I was disappointed with initially but then I grew to like better because then I can put perfume on! The moisture lasted the whole day, not most or part of the day. I have ridiculously dry, eczema covered legs and this was wonderful. If I could afford it I would buy this product only forever.


on 6/15/2012 12:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I swear by this stuff. This is how I get through my winters. I've gone through about 6 tubs of this stuff and use it only in the winter. Since I travel internationally a lot I get mine from the Duty Free and it also helps that I get an employee discount. Sorry ladies. I've tried lower end body butters to try to save money but it just doesn't work like this one. I go through 2 tubs per winter and I also use a regular body lotion I get from a drugstore in conjuction. It is just too expensive to use this alone. I will still keep buying this even though it is expensive because it works.


on 5/13/2012 10:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This cream is amazing! I bought it when I started taking an Isotretinoin drug and the skin on my hands became very thin and sensitive. I would go outside during cold weather (around 5° C) and put my hands into my jeans pockets a few times, and the next day my hands would be covered in scabs where my skin had rubbed against the fabric. It looked awful and nothing seemed to help. Also, the skin on my hands was very dry and old-looking to the point where I was ashamed to show my hands. Then I tried this cream and the problem was gone in three days tops! My skin is hydrated, glowing and smooth. With Isotretinoin any lesion is a huge problem because it takes such a long time to heal. This is truly a miracle product! I've already repurchased twice, because it's the only thing that helps. I will continue using as long as I need to take the drug, and will likely continue next winter because my hands are very sensitive to cold temperatures (red, chapped skin with brown bands forming from the base of my ring finger to the base of my thumb).


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I had three sample packets of this product, and I combined them into a half-ounce jar. It's a nice hand cream during the winter when my skin is constantly dry and cracking due to the mix of outdoor cold and indoor heating. It's very moisturizing, and I do not find it overly greasy. However, the scent is quite a turn-off for me. I rarely find myself reaching for the jar because I don't like the smell.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top