Bare Escentuals • Mineral Veil • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(1058 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Monseter on 5/22/2014 11:45:00 PM more reviews by Monseter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample of this in a bare minerals try-it kit from ulta. At first I was iffy about using bare minerals at all, but as soon as I put on the mineral veil I was hooked!!!


I've been using a tiny sample jar for over a month now and I can't wait to buy the full size. I have really bad skin with severe scarring and this definitely helps me hide my flaws a little better. I use it along with a bb cream and a pressed mineral powder and it helps me achieve a nice look.

The price point is right for how great this makes your skin look and feel. I love how weightless it is and how well it sets my makeup. I don't see myself switching to a different setting powder after FINALLY coming across my new HG.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valmont32677 on 5/7/2014 9:07:00 PM more reviews by valmont32677

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This is too expensive for what you get!! Mine got used up so quickly too, I had the full sized container purchased separately from the B/M foundation, but it lasts less than 2 mos. of wearing on a daily basis. I like to apply this w my elf kabuki rather than the B/M brush. This product goes well with the B/M foundation, I cannot imagine wearing this with any other foundations, I don't know if this would be useful without their brand foundation applied 1st.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Kemmae on 4/25/2014 7:47:00 PM more reviews by Kemmae

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am not a huge fan of this mineral veil. When I put it on over my foundation to set my face, I feel that it gives me a whiteish cast to my yellow undertoned skin. Not very flattering. And it's pretty pricey for what amount you get. However, I recently tried the Wayne Goss method of putting powder underneath my foundation and it works pretty well for that. Makes my foundation last much longer than it would over my foundation. I still can't justify the price to buy it again, not when there are other alternative such as Everyday Minerals that would do the job just as well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dee2014 on 4/14/2014 9:22:00 AM more reviews by Dee2014

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Been using Bare Mineral Veil for years!! I've tried the original, hydrating and SPF. They don't sell it in mya country so i have to stock them up evrytime go overseas. Pretty pricey but i'm happy with the product. It's talc en fragrance free, doesn't irritate skin or create blemishes. My doctor recommended for me years ago after i had a major breakout (first time in 30yrs of my life due to stress). I use it with brush, to give a very natural finished. Use them on top of my sunblock and voila, create a no shine layer but without the drying effect. I never use compact powder so this is definitely my HG. Bring it everywhere. Haven't found any better loose powder that can replace this so far.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 missmarr on 3/28/2014 3:48:00 AM more reviews by missmarr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Horrible! I had used it in the past and thought I'd give it another try but this second time was definitely not a charm!! I used it for a couple of days and started noticing very big cystic pimples forming onto my face, which I never get. This product broke me out ridiculously! I would not recommend it to anyone with acne prone skin or even sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sianxo on 3/26/2014 11:01:00 PM more reviews by Sianxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a fantastic powder to set your foundation with. I have this in the original version, which is meant to be translucent, but I think it adds the tiniest bit of extra colour to my face. The only major downside to this loose powder is the packaging. It has the worst packaging I have ever experienced with make up. The holes are too big and too much powder comes out everytime I tap the base lightly... which means I am wasting product as I don't want to overload my face with the excess product. A tiny positive for the packaging is that it locks quite well when you turn the lid so nothing will fall out if you were to travel around with it. I would re-buy this product as it is fairly cheap (being $25.95 in Australia) compared to other make up brands we have. I would love to give this product 5 stars but due to the packaging being a massive let down I have only given it 4.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 suzanneluc on 3/24/2014 8:09:00 PM more reviews by suzanneluc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Years ago I bought a Bare Minerals Starter Kit and was hooked on the stuff. I really believed it was good for my skin, but alas, I made the swtich to liquid foundation for better coverage, and my BM makeup was forgotten about.

Fast forward to a couple weeks ago, I was researching a new setting powder to try out, and I came across my old Mineral Veil in my makeup collection! Perfect, no need to buy a new setting powder. I've been using my clear Mineral Veil everyday for the past 2 weeks and realized why it was forgotten in the first place. I have a light complexion with some redness, and the mineral veil looks like cheap costume makeup on me. I DO NOT apply too much (light dusting over the face, always swirling in the cap and tapping off excess), but it leaves a white cast on my face that doesn't look natural at all.

As far as oil control, it leaves my face looking matte enough for the first hour, but more time than that, and my face is an oil slick again. I believe it's just my skin type, as most of you seem to really like the Mineral Veil, but it is just ok for me, and with this price point, I'll search for a better powder.

I will say that when applying this powder, it leaves a really refreshing "cool" feeling that I love, but that's not enough for me to repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jocox88 on 2/19/2014 4:35:00 PM more reviews by jocox88

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

The locking lid containers from BE usually have bottoms that can be removed when almost empty. I think when the last foundation I had with a sifter container was just about empty, I was able to unscrew the bottom to access the remainder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nikkii18 on 2/19/2014 3:55:00 PM more reviews by nikkii18

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I do love this product, but it is a little pricy. Their old packaging was much better. The lock lid not doesn't come off so when you are down to just a few applications left in the jar it's hard to get out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ShazboTastic on 1/5/2014 1:14:00 PM more reviews by ShazboTastic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is amazing but it's not the cheapest. A little does go a long long way. Feels silky and leaves skin looking radiant and glowy

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Loose Powders products