Bulgari • Black • Fragrances

rated 4.1(177 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* danai on 11/2/2012 4:00:00 PM more reviews by danai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This delivers most of the things I look for in a fragrance. It's warm and inviting but unusual and kind of strange. It somehow draws you in and weirds you out a little at the same time. I can't put my finger on what it is that makes it this unique and intriguing exactly, but I have smelled nothing like it. I can see how it could be worn both by guys and girls, as it's neither entirely masculine nor feminine, however it does still manage to smell very sexy.
And also, surprisingly, it's not as expensive as you'd expect it to be.
I think it's best saved for winter as it's also pretty incense-y and heady.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 10/23/2012 4:16:00 PM more reviews by stls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I don't know how to rate this one. Of course it's very unique: extra potent rubber and vanilla, who would imagine? Very longlasting too. But there is no way in earth I can wear this one. Interesting, yes, creative, yes, wearable (for me) no.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yankeerose on 10/23/2012 4:00:00 PM more reviews by yankeerose

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I have more perfume/cologne/body sprays from the highest end to WM...but this one fragrance is the most unique. It is actually formulated for men, but I believe the vanilla makes it one hellava sexy woman's scent. It is definitely a autumn/winter fragrance, and MUST be used sparingly. When I wear this, not only do I receive compliments from strangers...but I feel sexy wearing it. Now I will say, that I wear most scents to please others, since we don't really smell our scent after a short while, but this one makes me want to strut my stuff. I do not feel pretty when I wear it, I feel biker chick sexy to the bone. (yes, I am a biker chick, but spend most of my days wearing a lab coat) . I don't know if its the rubber smell or what, but its amazing, dangerous and not for the timid. It is the only fragrance that smells the same from the time I put it on, til it wears completely away. I love it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kittyc on 9/8/2012 3:22:00 AM more reviews by kittyc

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this for my teenage son to set him on the right path. As a bonus, he no longer bothers with Lynx body sprays, and I get to steal a spritz or two of Black myself when he is not around. To me the rubber note exists in a 'push-me-pull-you' balance with the vanilla. They need each other. That is the glory of contrasts. I find Black's sillage only moderate, but the longevity pretty good, and it lasts forever on clothes. On the discontinuation issue, I had heard that Black was to be d/c, but it is on Bvlgari's websites at the time of writing this review. Still, if you love it, stock up. Just in case.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beauty4Ashes on 7/27/2012 8:17:00 PM more reviews by Beauty4Ashes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I sampled this in Sephora after I read favorable reviews about the fragrance. I enjoy unique scents and this is definitely a unique scent. I like everything about it except the rubber note which is what the scent as unique as it is. Not for me, but I can appreciate its beauty.

Sexy. Dark. Urban. Modern.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* apparently on 7/23/2012 3:37:00 PM more reviews by apparently

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Tires on wet pavement, followed by smoky vanilla tea. Absolutely stunning. I could wear this every day. Maybe I need a job in a bike store next to a Teavana.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* girlndocs on 6/27/2012 6:35:00 PM more reviews by girlndocs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Bulgari Black does smell like rubber. But not at all like burning tires! To be exact, it starts with fairly strong and slightly sweet vanilla, which the rubber catches up on until it's the dominant note. I guess if you really wanted to you could call it leather. I say it's rubber, that's my story and I'm stickin' to it.


The thing I love about Black is that the rubber's not just weird and interesting, it's pretty. Black manages to fold it in as something that utterly belongs even while it's hogging the limelight. It simmers down a little as some warmer and well blended possibly-woody things come out, and some gentle musk, and the vanilla gets powdery. The rubber is definitely there the whole time, and it takes what would probably be an utterly boring scent and makes it fascinating. I was head over heels in 5 minutes.


I wouldn't describe this as a sweet scent -- the vanilla and the rubber and woods balance out well to a sort of neutral on the scale, and because of the rubber/leather ambiguity it maybe leans slightly salty. It's warm but not fiery or heavy. It stays close to the skin, and because of the rubber and skinlike musk it's kind of naughty-sexy, but not overwhelming sex in a bottle. It reads gender-neutral to me.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mricci on 6/12/2012 11:56:00 AM more reviews by mricci

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Props for uniqueness, I like that...BUT, it smells like burnt rubber. There's a reason such a fragrance is one-of-a-kind (becauseeeee most people don't want to smell like a blown-off tire).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DrDorothy on 12/1/2011 10:57:00 PM more reviews by DrDorothy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Stop panicking--it's not being discontinued. Unless "discontinued" means "still being sold at Sephora, Off 5th, Bulgari's own website, and who knows where else."

On to the good stuff. Black is a masterpiece, and it's truly unisex. It doesn't depend on your naughty bits, it depends on your personality, and it's definitely not for everyone. Yes, it opens with burned rubber and ends with vanilla. I also find it spicy and very warm. Black dares me to wear it with a cute floral dress and pearls, just for the sake of contrast, but somehow I always put it on when I don a business suit instead. It's assertive.

It's not like anything else I've ever tried, and there are days when nothing else will do. Highly recommended.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ellizam on 10/13/2011 10:38:00 AM more reviews by ellizam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love love love LOVE Bvlgari Black. When it came out, BB was one of the first (if not THE first) "rubber" leather perfumes. Rubber, leather, incense, spice, smoke... wild, wierd, and daring. And utterly gorgeous.


It opens and holds, foremost, a spicy/smoky scent, probably the lapsang souchong tea note. The opening also has a slightly rubbery leather (not a little remiscent of condoms, in a good way), and a smoky incense vibe. As BB dries down, sometimes it picks up vanilla from its base, sometimes not so much. It can end, on some skins and on some days, as a vanilla fragrance with smoky/spicy top notes, but on other days/skins, it stays leather, spice, and smokey incense all day.


If indeed BB has been discontinued, it's tragic -- this fragrance was and still is widly original and beautiful, one of the most fragrant and well-composed scents in the world. In winter, the appeal is obvious (smoky, spicy, warm) but in summer, used with a light hand it manages to smoulder in an aromatic, spicy haze that's as refreshing as iced chai tea. In fall the smoke is perfect, and in spring the spice feels like an invitation to life. The packaging reflects the aesthetic -- sexy, a little wicked, odd. I love the on/off nozzle, and the wide base with rubber is very stable. This is one fragrance that never tips over. It's also one of the few bottles I've burned through -- twice. Large bottles. When in doubt, this fragrance always works, and it's one of the fragrances I never want to be out of, a sort of LBD of a fragrance. Night or day, winter or summer, it works. There are no good dupes out there, by the way, not a single one. They all miss the mark completely, falling into citrus over leather, and bad leather at that.


As a public service, with possible discontinuation I'll give some smellalikes: Speziali Fiorentini's Te Nero (BB - rubber/leather), VIP room, Alan Cumming's Cumming (plus a lot more rubber/leather). but maybe if we all cry out in sorrow, they'll keep this one on?

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bulgari products

More Fragrances products