NARS • Jungle Red • Lipstick

rated 4.6(59 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 sallyekong on 7/26/2012 3:48:00 AM more reviews by sallyekong

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I'm really liking this shade - I usually prefer bold reds like Mascate and Red Lizard because I'm pale, but thought I'd branch out a little and try something else in the spectrum.

I wanted to jump on that orange lipstick bandwagon, but wasn't sure whether a full orange would work with the warm undertone of my skin. I find this is a good compromise - it's definitely still red, but a lot closer to that orangey red shade of Heatwave.

As with all of the semi mattes, it wears very well and (in my opinion) better than the pure mattes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ahs767 on 7/19/2012 11:08:00 PM more reviews by ahs767

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been on the hunt for a red lipstick that's not too overpowering but still bright for a while now. I wanted something I could wear every day, and this is it! The lasting power of this lipstick is great. I ate and drank water with it on and it still remained, no touch up needed. Like other reviewers have said, it is a bit drying so you'll need a gloss or a balm. It's a beautiful and versatile red that I'll continue to repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Shannon72781 on 7/1/2012 5:32:00 PM more reviews by Shannon72781

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I'm always on the hunt for the perfect red lipstick for a redhead. I use MAC Dubonnet but it seems more winter appropriate than summer.
For reference, I am PPP with very pink undertones and red/auburn hair. I love how Heat Wave looks...but not on me. I saw Jungle Red next to it and gave it a try and loved it. It's definitely retro red and the perfect amount of matteness. It is a but drying though so I keep lip balm with me too. You can tone it down by blotting and it still look great. I will definitely buy again when needed.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tearupyourphotos on 5/20/2012 4:15:00 AM more reviews by tearupyourphotos

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my signature red. This is a retro red that I accidentally stumbled upon in Sephora while looking at Red Lizard, which looked off on me (NC 25 with strong yellow undertones, for reference). I don't know what it is, but putting this on instantly makes me feel better. It lasts a while since it's a semi-matte finish, but it will transfer and dry out your lips. NARS lipsticks have a strange scent to them, which makes me nauseous but it goes away rather quickly. NARS' semi-mattes are my favorite HE lipstick so I don't really mind this, but another possible con is the amount you get for the price you pay.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 alaras on 5/12/2012 7:43:00 PM more reviews by alaras

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a blue based pink-red which I do not like. It's also a bit drying. I do not find this lipstick any special. In fact there are many drugstore reds that are much better in colour and quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChristinaSaunders on 5/10/2012 2:43:00 PM more reviews by ChristinaSaunders

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

The longest lasting and the reddest lipstick I have ever worn. I ate a cheeseburger and my lips were still matte red. It's kind of pricey but I guess if you want long-lasting quality, you need to splurge a bit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 twocentsworth on 2/26/2012 5:33:00 AM more reviews by twocentsworth

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Really sets off my fair complexion without taking over or being too much. It's an easy way to look polished quickly with little effort too. It is a bit drying but a bit of lip balm could probably fix this. It is fairly long lasting but does come off while I'm eating & drinking.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TrishyB on 1/17/2012 5:51:00 AM more reviews by TrishyB

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've bought a few red lipsticks, but so far none compare to this! My preference for the perfect red lip is a red that's bright - but not overly bright; orange undertone (instead of blue) and matte. Jungle red ticks all the boxes! I think it makes a cute AND sexy red. The only 2 things I have to complain about is the amout of product that you get. To me, you don't get as much product as other lipsticks - the bullet is slightly shorter and it does dry out my lips even though I put a lip balm before I apply this, as well as on top after application. Other than that, staying power is good, it lasted a few hours after eating a meal (although I was being careful), and it fades evenly which is another plus. Will be buying this again!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maplecroix on 1/13/2012 12:39:00 PM more reviews by maplecroix

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I've been looking for a red lipstick that I can wear both for special occasions and for normal, every-day wear, and this is it. The color is an orange-ish scarlet and is not too bold but not too dull...it's just right, and it's lovely. It did not dry up my lips, and I could wear balm underneath it. It lasted about 6-8 hours with minimal fading, and I was able to eat a meal, have a snack, and even shower, and it was still mostly there, but it came off easily when I needed it to. I'm so glad I discovered this lipstick!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chabbycheeks on 12/31/2011 3:24:00 AM more reviews by chabbycheeks

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is my "office" red because it's not very bright or bold compared to blue-based reds. It looks a bid orange-y on me which is fine because it looks good with my warm yellow undertone. I love the texture of NARS lipsticks, it feels very luxurious.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products