Alpha Hydrox 10% AHA Gel

4.0

217 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycolic Acid, Ammonium Hydroxide, Sodium Lactate, Green Tea Extract, Sea Kelp Extract, Panthenol, Propylene Glycol, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, PVM/MA Decadiene Crosspolymer


on 3/9/2013 6:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is either too mild for me or it just doesn't work. They also seem to have changed the packaging because I got a clear tube of the gel, which I don't like because light can reduce the efficacy of the product. Would not buy again.



Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

wake up clearer, smaller pores, no redness. Love it. I see results immediately. for real.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2012 6:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I didn't see any results from this. It also felt uncomfortable on my skin, which tends toward the oily side.


on 6/7/2012 5:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Horrible horrible product..was trying to make it work for a minor breakout I had because of using a Wrong shampoo but this only made things worse!I never NEVER get clogged pores but this made my skin so sticky and the most horrible breakout of mylife.I discontinued using it 4 weeks back but still I breakout!Need help to undo the damage!!Steer clear if u think this is for acne!


on 5/25/2012 10:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff burned my face really bad. I had a red, itchy, and flaky patch for months after using this for about a week or two. At first I wasn't sure this was the cause of the red flaky patch, so I tried it on my forehead a couple of weeks ago. It started itching, so I washed it off after an hour. My forehead is still a bit dry and flaky right now, just not severely since I didn't leave it on for very long. I no longer get acne where the flaky patch used to be, so it kind of worked to improve my skin. However, I don't think it was worth the months of flakiness. I would recommend testing it out on a small patch of skin several times before putting it all over your face. Also, 10% might be too strong for some people. Even though I don't have sensitive skin and was only using this product once every few days, my skin reacted really badly.


on 3/28/2012 11:48:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I currently use this product once a day usually at night but will eventually use it under my sunscreen when my clinique resurfacing stuff runs out. It did sting a little when i put it on after my toner but it went away quickly. I have nice smooth skin every morning when i wake up so i am very satisfied with the product and price

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/28/2012 10:47:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I liked this product for a while until I realized it wasn't strong enough for me, but I really do like the Alpha Hydrox line of products but because I have severe skin isssues I need more intense stuff. But this is great it does what it say and there are no cons.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/20/2012 8:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

i have problematic skin: sensitive, easily irritated and red, oily t-zone, dry chapped cheeks, prone to cystic acne. a few months ago i probably wouldve given this product a 5. i saw the difference the next morning after i put it on for the first time. my skin was brighter and my pimples were less red and a lot smaller. but then my skin started to peel and i had random rough patches of dry dead skin on my face. to top it off i started to break out again and this time with a vengeance. after a while it stung my skin so i stopped using it just as the bottle was almost depleted. i would like to give this product another go once my face is balanced out.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

For reference I have oily, acne-prone, sensitive skin.
I have been using this for about 6 months now once a day along with their foaming face wash. Definitely worth the money I paid for it. It has made my skin a lot smoother and has eliminated my old acne and prevented almost all new acne other than an occasional pimple here and there. It did not dry my skin either. It did tingle a bit the first week or so that I used it but it was minor and it I don't feel a thing now. Definitely wear a sunscreen if you put this on in the morning because this does make your skin a bit more sensitive. Will definitely buy again!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/14/2011 11:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This gel in combination with the foaming face wash had eliminated flesh colored bumps (clogged pores) within a week - week and a half. I have been using it for two weeks (applied at night) and EltaMD sunscreen in the morning, and I am not experiencing breakouts, whiteheads or flesh-colored bumps (gross, I know! The result of washing my face with handsoap and too much sun while on vacation). In addition, I've been in the midst of moving (read: long hours of cleaning, sweating, not really paying attention to my skin), and my skin has been behaving. I am keeping my fingers crossed.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
528 Reviews
Nerium AD
69 Reviews
Sudocrem
136 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Back to Top