Murad • Acne Spot Treatment • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.1(246 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Keyra89 on 2/5/2014 10:50:00 AM more reviews by Keyra89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this spot treatment.
I use it when I get a big pimple. The size reduces a lot overnight. This tiny bottle has lasted me 7 months. It very worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 wandaana on 1/4/2014 6:08:00 PM more reviews by wandaana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I had high hopes for this product because I'm always hearing great things about Murad and sulfur was one of the things I had yet to try for my acne. After a week of applying this day and night to my pimples, there was no difference. It didn't dry out my skin (my skin is super oily) and it was pretty inconvenient because it dries white and basically peels off after an hour. It did nothing for my blackheads, whiteheads, cystic-type pimples, etc.

The one thing I did notice was when I applied it on a pimple that I had just popped (bad habit, I know), it would sting a little and form a scab right away. This might be helpful to some people but scabs always leave marks on my skin and I don't want to add to my hyperpigmentation.

I ended up bringing this back to Sephora because, all in all, it wasn't strong enough for my stubborn skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 12/22/2013 1:42:00 PM more reviews by alina08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This works pretty decently as an acne spot reducer. It does not completely eliminate blemishes overnight, but it does help to shrink them and make them less noticeable. As a former sufferer of adult acne, I would not recommend this product for someone who has a chronic condition of breakouts. This is better used to treat hormonal acne around your period or occasional spots. I found that my acne cleared up within 2-3 days when using this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Elena1981 on 11/26/2013 10:39:00 AM more reviews by Elena1981

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This cream works more like post-blemish treatment rather than blemish treatment for me. It doesn't reduce inflammation or minimize a breakout but accelerates the process of cell renewal. So when I apply it on the blemish instead of soothing the inflammation it speeds the development of a breakout and obviously in such a way it passes quicker. But this is definitely not the way I would like to heal a blemish.
So how do I use it? First I apply Murad Clarifying Mask (clay-based) that works perfect to heal blemishes and it calms also the skin. And after the inflammation is reduced but the spot is still there I apply Blemish spot treatment to get rid of this spot. And for this purpose it works really well as it exfoliates the skin making it clear quicker.
I won't repurchase this product again as it is not an anti-inflammatory treatment and I find the description of the product is very misleading.
P.S. I've noticed that there are two "Murad" spot treatments on the market - Blemish Control and Acne Control. I don't know if they have the same ingredients or not, but they look absolutely the same just except the word blemish/acne. Mine is blemish control.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 balancedbeauty on 11/20/2013 10:05:00 AM more reviews by balancedbeauty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

A miracle product i should say. I used this previously, about a few years back, when my skin was still a kid i guess. Not too much breakouts, just the occasional pimple.
Now, however, my teenaged skin just... Ugh. I was attacked with tiny, red pimples, clogged pores, a cyst or two, etc.
So anyways i dont really have all over the face acne anymore and probably just a few blemishes on my face a day, sometimes even one. This really helps new forming pimples, ESPECIALLY CYSTS if you catch it early though, it will usually dissolve overnight.
If its a big cyst, or whitehead, or clogged pore turning into a bump, it'll take a few applications before completely healing it and drying it up, but it does work. At least on me.
How to use it is pretty straight forward... although, i have found that people dot it on pimples right from the tube opening. DO NOT DO THAT IT WILL JUST SPREAD BACTERIA AND CONTAMINATE THE PRODUCT. I take a little of it on my finger and dot it where i need it. I put it as my last step, to avoid spreading the product on unnecessary areas, AND causing the product to lose its potency and become less effective.

It is a little pricey but worth it. The only spot treatment i would use. The packaging is really user friendly, looks neat and pretty :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sweetheart7 on 10/4/2013 6:45:00 PM more reviews by Sweetheart7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I actually really enjoy this product. One time I experienced a terrible cystic pimple and the first thing I did was put this stuff on it over night. I had a good layer on top of it. The first day or two nothing really happened then the third day it scabbed up and by the 5th or 6th day it was barely there. I was shocked!
No spot treatment has worked that well for me on cystic acne before. As of right now I do not have any but it works really good for when I extract a pimple or feel one coming on to help it out and not worry about it getting infected as much.
I definitely want to get a full size tube soon of this product. Now it does not help with any scarring but it does help with forthcoming acne or active acne. When I have a small pimple I coat the outside with the spot treatment and it is gone within a couple days.
I wish that it would help with scarring or at least take the red out of the pimple but I find it to be pretty good. I recommend this if you have acne of any type. This won't really work for you guys if you just have white heads and blackheads since it is meant for active acne.
I forgot I had this for a while and I have no idea how I lived with out it now. It has really helped me out that much when I am in need of help.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CordulaM on 9/12/2013 9:09:00 AM more reviews by CordulaM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a gift from a friend who recommended it for my acne spots. I currently use EradiKate and I'm happy with it. So a few things.

This has less sulfur in it than the Eradikate, but having said that, it actually is not bad in effectiveness.

I would not be one to complain about the color, consistency, or smell of this at all. Eradikate smells wayyyy worse and is pink. This sort of absorbs more than stays on, the Eradikate does not absorb at all. So in ways I like that about this because I can put it on and not have it be visible, but I do like that I can use the Eradikate as sort of a barrier between my pimple and makeup. You WILL see it through, (at least I do, I'm olive but fair, not pink toned) but that's better than getting re-infected by makeup.

All in all, I do like this. But idk if I would pay full price for it again. I think it will last a while anyway since I do use both and hopefully not too often since I want to stop getting break outs to begin with.

Another thing is that this is stored upside down, meaning the product rests on the cap instead of the bottom, so when you open it, you have to be crazy careful not to get a ton and waste it. It is expensive. I get that it helps to have this option for when it's low to empty, but you should be able to turn it both ways (ideally).

In the end I just stopped using this. Idk the consistancy was weird and it just didn't help enough. I continued with sulfur treatments but eventually let those go too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 allieseven on 7/31/2013 7:08:00 PM more reviews by allieseven

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

well, unfortunately after being pretty clear the past year and a half, i started getting my chin acne back, and they just kept on coming.
i got into this manic attack, searching how i could stop them from coming out every day, and this was the first thing i ordered online. i can't even remember how or why but i was desperate.
at that moment i would have been willing to spray some pesticide on my face, as long as it will work.
anyway, this stuff is pretty good, i don't know why all these bad reviews.
the smell issue? i didn't noticed it had any until i read a review saying it has a horrible smell.
it does'nt work for large cystic acne, but it works really well on little whiteheads and preventing a pimple from raising its ugly head when you catch it on time.
all in all, i give it an 8 out of 10. it's great.

as for me,
im still searching how to stop them from showing up. tomorrow im seeing a dermatologist at last.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Helloneighbor on 7/28/2013 9:10:00 PM more reviews by Helloneighbor

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for something different to battle a few pimples that popped up randomly other than the salicylic acid or benz. peroxide based products that I already have but didn't seem like they were working. I went to sephora and saw that this was sulfur based and thought it may do the trick. Honestly, i don't think this does anything at all. the texture was very strange - almost a gritty feeling and felt that it was too watery and not effect as a spot treatment at all. would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mijal10 on 6/27/2013 12:23:00 AM more reviews by mijal10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This product has worked wonders for me. It's been SUCH a life saver! The only issue I have with it is that's it looks disgusting on my face instead of being a transparent gel like other products are, so I can't wear it unless I'm home!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Treatments (Face) products