Murad • Acne Spot Treatment • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.1(242 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 balancedbeauty on 11/20/2013 10:05:00 AM more reviews by balancedbeauty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

A miracle product i should say. I used this previously, about a few years back, when my skin was still a kid i guess. Not too much breakouts, just the occasional pimple.
Now, however, my teenaged skin just... Ugh. I was attacked with tiny, red pimples, clogged pores, a cyst or two, etc.
So anyways i dont really have all over the face acne anymore and probably just a few blemishes on my face a day, sometimes even one. This really helps new forming pimples, ESPECIALLY CYSTS if you catch it early though, it will usually dissolve overnight.
If its a big cyst, or whitehead, or clogged pore turning into a bump, it'll take a few applications before completely healing it and drying it up, but it does work. At least on me.
How to use it is pretty straight forward... although, i have found that people dot it on pimples right from the tube opening. DO NOT DO THAT IT WILL JUST SPREAD BACTERIA AND CONTAMINATE THE PRODUCT. I take a little of it on my finger and dot it where i need it. I put it as my last step, to avoid spreading the product on unnecessary areas, AND causing the product to lose its potency and become less effective.

It is a little pricey but worth it. The only spot treatment i would use. The packaging is really user friendly, looks neat and pretty :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sweetheart7 on 10/4/2013 6:45:00 PM more reviews by Sweetheart7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I actually really enjoy this product. One time I experienced a terrible cystic pimple and the first thing I did was put this stuff on it over night. I had a good layer on top of it. The first day or two nothing really happened then the third day it scabbed up and by the 5th or 6th day it was barely there. I was shocked!
No spot treatment has worked that well for me on cystic acne before. As of right now I do not have any but it works really good for when I extract a pimple or feel one coming on to help it out and not worry about it getting infected as much.
I definitely want to get a full size tube soon of this product. Now it does not help with any scarring but it does help with forthcoming acne or active acne. When I have a small pimple I coat the outside with the spot treatment and it is gone within a couple days.
I wish that it would help with scarring or at least take the red out of the pimple but I find it to be pretty good. I recommend this if you have acne of any type. This won't really work for you guys if you just have white heads and blackheads since it is meant for active acne.
I forgot I had this for a while and I have no idea how I lived with out it now. It has really helped me out that much when I am in need of help.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CordulaM on 9/12/2013 9:09:00 AM more reviews by CordulaM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a gift from a friend who recommended it for my acne spots. I currently use EradiKate and I'm happy with it. So a few things.

This has less sulfur in it than the Eradikate, but having said that, it actually is not bad in effectiveness.

I would not be one to complain about the color, consistency, or smell of this at all. Eradikate smells wayyyy worse and is pink. This sort of absorbs more than stays on, the Eradikate does not absorb at all. So in ways I like that about this because I can put it on and not have it be visible, but I do like that I can use the Eradikate as sort of a barrier between my pimple and makeup. You WILL see it through, (at least I do, I'm olive but fair, not pink toned) but that's better than getting re-infected by makeup.

All in all, I do like this. But idk if I would pay full price for it again. I think it will last a while anyway since I do use both and hopefully not too often since I want to stop getting break outs to begin with.

Another thing is that this is stored upside down, meaning the product rests on the cap instead of the bottom, so when you open it, you have to be crazy careful not to get a ton and waste it. It is expensive. I get that it helps to have this option for when it's low to empty, but you should be able to turn it both ways (ideally).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 allieseven on 7/31/2013 7:08:00 PM more reviews by allieseven

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

well, unfortunately after being pretty clear the past year and a half, i started getting my chin acne back, and they just kept on coming.
i got into this manic attack, searching how i could stop them from coming out every day, and this was the first thing i ordered online. i can't even remember how or why but i was desperate.
at that moment i would have been willing to spray some pesticide on my face, as long as it will work.
anyway, this stuff is pretty good, i don't know why all these bad reviews.
the smell issue? i didn't noticed it had any until i read a review saying it has a horrible smell.
it does'nt work for large cystic acne, but it works really well on little whiteheads and preventing a pimple from raising its ugly head when you catch it on time.
all in all, i give it an 8 out of 10. it's great.

as for me,
im still searching how to stop them from showing up. tomorrow im seeing a dermatologist at last.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Helloneighbor on 7/28/2013 9:10:00 PM more reviews by Helloneighbor

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for something different to battle a few pimples that popped up randomly other than the salicylic acid or benz. peroxide based products that I already have but didn't seem like they were working. I went to sephora and saw that this was sulfur based and thought it may do the trick. Honestly, i don't think this does anything at all. the texture was very strange - almost a gritty feeling and felt that it was too watery and not effect as a spot treatment at all. would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mijal10 on 6/27/2013 12:23:00 AM more reviews by mijal10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This product has worked wonders for me. It's been SUCH a life saver! The only issue I have with it is that's it looks disgusting on my face instead of being a transparent gel like other products are, so I can't wear it unless I'm home!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 beautifulthings on 6/22/2013 6:12:00 PM more reviews by beautifulthings

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm sorry to say this product has been a bit of a disappointment for me. I'd read good things about Murad but when it came down to it, this did nothing for my spots and I ended up buying a tube of Effaclar Duo, which had a much more immediate and impressive effect. Sorry Murad, you're a brand I really want to love, but not this time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kiracara on 5/23/2013 5:41:00 PM more reviews by kiracara

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I used to use this product when I didn't know much about acne care. The active ingredient in this product is sulfur, and it does have a medicinal smell, though the smell of sulfur isn't that strong for me. I actually liked it.

My problem is acne: While I was using it, I found that it worked best on pimples that were not too big, but have already come into a head (pus is visible). I would dab it morning and night until it was gone. It didn't work for the tiny ones at all and I disliked the thought of moving it around the big ones, since the tip was tiny.

I stopped using this product when I learned more about which ingredients to use because it was too expensive for its degree of effectivity. I'd actually rather use the Clinique Acne Solutions Spot Healing Gel than this, but I'd prefer this to the Mario Badescu Drying Lotion for the sake of convenience in application and coloration - this product tended to leave a yellow smear, so I had trouble hiding it.

To be honest, right now, the main draw of the product for me is it's packaging. It looks very neat and it's easy to use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 overtheavg on 2/20/2013 10:11:00 AM more reviews by overtheavg

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

The very first time I tried this product, I was fairly enthusiastic. Indeed, it seemed to improve the condition of some blemishes I had in my forehead (due to the hair), but the reality it has been opposite. This stuff, makes red bumps turn into whiteheads! It's terrible, also because all the skin around become red and flaky.
Maybe it's ok for milia, but I wouldn't suggest u for red bumps or blemishes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FacePaintLuva on 1/4/2013 11:50:00 AM more reviews by FacePaintLuva

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Wow! I was beginning to lose hope at 20, that my skin would ever be clear, until I took another leap of faith and bought this. I've been in my acne war for about seven years, prior my skin was amazing before I turned 13, and just recently I started getting some lovely cystic acne spots on my cheeks, that would NOT budge.... Until now. Seriously people I was about to lose my mind, Ive done so much acne research I could write a book. I recently changed my face wash and toner to Burts Bees sans any lanolin, used a basic moisturizer, and Burts Bees acne spot treatment with tea tree oil in it & it worked ok. Ive been drinking lots of water, taking multivitamins, fish oil and only using derm tested blush and Lancome Tient Mericle foundation. And was still getting horrible cysts under my skin.... Well, bought this on a whim of research and am proud to say that along with my routine mentioned, after only a week my skin is smoother than its been in as long as I can remember. Who knew sulpher was the secret? I dont find there to be a smell, but I will be repurchasing, and couldn't be happier that my acne is finally going away and I cant feel any cysts under my skin. Yay!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Treatments (Face) products