Murad Acne Spot Treatment

3.1

252 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Sulfur 3.0% Other Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Glycolic Acid, Sclerotium Gum, Dicaprylyl Maleate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Ceteareth-20, Glycerin, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract, Zinc Acetate, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Oil, Salicylic Acid, Lecithin, Tocopherol, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Palmitoyl Hydroxypropyltrimonium Amylopectin/Glycerin Crosspolymer, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Allantoin, Sodium Hydroxide, Disodium EDTA, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben


on 9/6/2014 11:34:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

NEVER AGAIN! I'm 16 and have acne-prone/oily skin. I'm always looking for a new face wash or acne treatment product to use on my face where I get bad breakouts- mostly on my chin. I literally have used so many things and NOTHING works. -_- So my cousin had gotten this as a sample from a Sephora purchase. She had used the brand before but had never tried this specific product. I started using it for a couple days, only using it at night. I had been waking up with much clearer skin. My acne started going away over night. I continued to use it for a little over a week. I started noticing that my acne was coming back but worse. I was honestly getting about 2 pimples a day. It was getting worse and whenever I would apply the product, the whole area would get red and swollen and it would start to burn. By the morning, it was still swollen and my skin was very dry and irritated. So one night I looked up reviews because it was really bad and my mom had said to stop using it. I was worried that I would keep breaking out and many people's reviews had the same experiences that I did. It cleared their skin and then made it worse. I guess this product warns that there might be a purging period? From the reviews I read, I didn't wait to see what would happen. I immediately stopped using it and the swelling went down and the breakout is getting better. I would never recommend this to anyone.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 6/11/2014 12:12:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Other

I have been having the worst case of huge pimples on my face lately. Desperate to help my skin clear up, I went to Sephora and asked for a spot treatment. The sales lady recommended this product, saying it's super popular.

So far, it has done nothing for me. :( I really wanted to like it and really really wanted the product to work. This was my first Murad product.

Some observations:

1. Dries white on skin, cannot apply under makeup as a result.
2. When it dries, it gives off a sulphuric plasticky smell. It's very distracting and not the most pleasant of smells.
3. Sephora, you disappointed me :(
4. May not work on oily skin - I have oily skin and this product did not dry up my pimples or reduce blemishes

I would recommend the spot treatment product by The Face Shop (it's a Korean brand) - I will post a separate review.

***June 28, 2014 UPDATE***
I am adding some additional lippies because this product is all about long term planning. It will not do much to even out skin tone or dry out pimples overnight BUT, this has really made a difference to my skin. There was almost zero scarring after my pimples healed themselves and my skin has softened. I can't stop touching my face. It could also be due to the Clinique moisturizer I have been using but I have to say the Murad has been pretty amazing with how my skin looks overall now.


on 5/21/2014 4:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I much preferred the formula when it was made with sulfur, they've reformulated it with benzoyl peroxide and it is not nearly as effective now. The product has a strange perfume smell that I can't stand either, I preferred the smell of the sulfur, honestly :/ Packing needs work too, as others have said, it tends to come out fast and get wasted. I will be returning it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/30/2014 6:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

The only downfall of this product is it can be a tad itchy but holy crap does it work!!! I put a very thin layer on my entire face before i go to sleep and it works absolute wonders on any blemishes i have!! Shrinks the big ones and burns out the small ones so theyre nothing but flakies in the morning that come off with my cleanser. Love this stuff!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/14/2014 11:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I used this everyday for a month and it works . But really only works on entire face as a night treatment. Only pitfall is the size of the tube. Its tiny and does'nt last using it (applying it too entire face) effectively.


on 2/13/2014 12:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This works great for me! It does exactly what it says, "spot treatment." It works great for acne after it's already appeared... I don't use it as a preventative treatment. I put it on in the morning under my makeup and at night when I wash makeup off. I see results the next morning, the spot gets smaller and depending on the kind of acne it will literally just flake right off. Definitely recommend this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pretty average spot treatment. It does help dry out pimples (slowly), but it's no miracle worker. On to the next!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/5/2014 10:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this spot treatment.
I use it when I get a big pimple. The size reduces a lot overnight. This tiny bottle has lasted me 7 months. It very worth it.


on 1/4/2014 6:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I had high hopes for this product because I'm always hearing great things about Murad and sulfur was one of the things I had yet to try for my acne. After a week of applying this day and night to my pimples, there was no difference. It didn't dry out my skin (my skin is super oily) and it was pretty inconvenient because it dries white and basically peels off after an hour. It did nothing for my blackheads, whiteheads, cystic-type pimples, etc.

The one thing I did notice was when I applied it on a pimple that I had just popped (bad habit, I know), it would sting a little and form a scab right away. This might be helpful to some people but scabs always leave marks on my skin and I don't want to add to my hyperpigmentation.

I ended up bringing this back to Sephora because, all in all, it wasn't strong enough for my stubborn skin.


on 12/22/2013 1:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This works pretty decently as an acne spot reducer. It does not completely eliminate blemishes overnight, but it does help to shrink them and make them less noticeable. As a former sufferer of adult acne, I would not recommend this product for someone who has a chronic condition of breakouts. This is better used to treat hormonal acne around your period or occasional spots. I found that my acne cleared up within 2-3 days when using this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
532 Reviews
Sudocrem
137 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Nerium AD
73 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

REVIEW 2SDAYS: Murad Acne Spot Treatment by skyandshoe



Top Rated Murad Products

Back to Top