Queen Helene Mint Julep Natural Facial Scrub

4.3

261 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), juglans regia (walnut) shell powder, sodium lauryl sulfate, stearic acid, stearyl alcohol, glyceryl stearate, glycerin, cocamidoproply betaine, kaolin, isopropyl myristate, dimethicone, triethanolamine, fragrance (parfum), phenoxyethanol, carbomer 940, diazolidinyl urea, methylparaben.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Great stuff! Its great to get off stubborn eyeliner or mascara. It smells great and doesn't dry my skin out. I use it everyday and leaves my skin clean.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/4/2014 1:26:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

HG face scrub for sure! I've been using the mint julep mask for a while now, at least a couple of months, and had been exfoliating prior to it using the Neutrogena Acne Stress Controll scrub (or something like that). I think it breaks me out, so a few weeks ago i picked this up from Sally's after seeing all the good reviews here on makeupalley. I have to say, I'm so impressed with this! It's really gentle, but when used with my clarisonic mia (or even alone for that matter) I still feel like my skin is being throughly exfoliated. I havent broken out from it and my blackheads have decreased a bit. I cant speak to wheather or not this will help with acne as i rarely break out anymore, but i dont think it will aggravate acne or make it worse. Overall, I really reccommend everyone try this out. I think it was around five bucks, and the only place ive seen it is Sally's Beauty Supply.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/4/2013 4:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I really liked this! My skin felt super soft and clean after using this and overall, I just love how my skin felt. This says it's gentle enough for everyday use which I appreciated however, I just used it every 2-3 days. I love how this isn't as abrasive as the St. Ives scrub but at the same time it wasn't something too gentle where I felt like it wasn't scrubbing away my dead skin cells. It's a good balance between the two.


on 8/28/2013 3:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this stuff!! I use it almost everyday during my morning routine. It smells great and makes my skin look so clean and fresh after washing it off. I definitely recommend it.


on 8/14/2013 7:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This stuff smells so good and feels so fresh, it could be $20 and I might still repurchase. Not sure if it "makes a difference" but it refreshes me and washes/exfoliates my face. Definitely gentle enough to use every day. Then again, my skin is pretty tough, it's been through way too many acne treatments. I would definitely recommend this if you ever need to feel refreshed or relaxed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2013 3:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I think this has completely replaced St Ives apricot scrub for me. I like this more because the granules are much smaller. I love St Ives, but I started thinking the grains could be irritating because they're large and not consistent beads. I also had trouble finding something thick enough with a lot of scrub to it. This is a thick consistency and the scrubbys are very fine so I don't feel like I'm scratching my skin. I like the smell. I wish they had an option containing salicylic acid or benzoyl peroxide so I could replace my BP face wash. This does a great job keeping my skin smooth by sloughing the surface ( I'm on a retin-a and 5%BP regimen)


on 5/25/2013 8:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

LOVE! LOVE! LOVE!
I love this! I use this for 1 year already as my facial wash. Err, when I use make up or sunscreen, i use another makeup remover, then use this scrub.
What I love:
cleans my pores,
reduce my tiny clogged pores (I used to have loads of them popping every week, but since starting this, the amount of clogged pores popping out have reduces 90%),
remove dead skin (as I use glycolic toner daily, low percentage though, not more than 5%)
minty smell, fresh, I just love mint-related
1 tube last me 6 months,
cheap for big tube! got it from iherb below $4! (use YOF209 coupon to get discount there)

What I dislike:
erm,,perhaps the availability, becoz I need to order online (not available locally in my hometown--not singapore---so yeah, but hey 1 tube lasts for 6 months, just need to stock up 2 tubes for 1 year usage, 2x daily)

good product for the price!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/14/2013 10:07:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love the scent of this!

This scrub makes my skin feel sooooo smooth! I use a small amount of this on my face (a little goes a long way) and after gently using itfor about a minute and ten rinsing off my skin feels so refreshed and smooth. I've noticed too that it realy tightens up my pores and don't need to use a toner or astringent.

I don't find it irritating or harsh at all but I do only use it 1-2x a week.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

While this gets a lot of good reviews here, it did nothing for me. This scrub did not clean my pores and actually clogged them. It does smell good and feels tingly, but it's just not for me.


on 5/1/2013 12:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Try Aztec Healing Clay (AHC) instead. This is not bad, but it does have some synthetic ingredients in it which I don't like. My skin is, in my opinion, horrible. That means I have large pores, scarring on T zone areas and around eyes (which makes me look tired all the time). Queen Helen is okay, but AHC is stronger and feels like it is working. Its only a mask, so it can only do but so much. If you have problem skin, I would use it 2-3 times a week ( I may start using it almost everyday). The box says use once a week, but phuck that, that wont do anything for my skin, so im gonna use it maybe 3-5 times a week. Tooodles!


Popular Scrubs


Ocean Salt
703 Reviews
Apricot Scrub
2617 Reviews
Green Tea Scrub
332 Reviews
Back to Top