Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3361 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 bellamoma on 6/9/2014 5:46:00 PM more reviews by bellamoma

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Wow, surprised by the negative reviews here. I started using the original proactiv 3 step kit back in 2002 and it made my skin beautiful. I had struggled with moderate acne from age 18 and started using proactiv around age 31. My acne is hormone, stress, and too much touching my face related. Tried benzamycin, cleocin (prescriptions) and retin A, which I totally could NOT tolerate. Nothing worked as well for me as proactiv did. I generally skipped the toner step after a while bc I found the whole cotton swiping bit to be annoying. I stopped using it until 2007 because my face had cleared considerably. After my son was born I needed it again and re-ordered with good results.

Now I'm facing hormonal changes again in my 40s. I wanted to stop using proactiv bc of price and bc I hate that mail order nonsense. I tried many,many other products before coming back to proactiv, now using proactiv +. I am happy with the product as it does my very sensitive skin good. Hate the price and the mail order stuff but it works for me without any crazy reactions.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Ashleydefreitassssss on 6/6/2014 8:24:00 PM more reviews by Ashleydefreitassssss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

When I used it it worked very well for me however when I stopped using it my skin was worse than you could imagine, there wasn't a single cubic cm that didn't have at least 2-3 breakouts in it. My face resembles gravel and extremely painful :( your skin becomes dependent and you have to buy it forever

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jdubois02 on 6/4/2014 1:16:00 AM more reviews by jdubois02

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The product dried my skin out and made it look wrinkled. I would never buy again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CJenkins33 on 6/3/2014 9:59:00 AM more reviews by CJenkins33

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Don't give into the hype this is just a water based acid product for acne it over dries your skin which end up causing irritation and rashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 PolskaBlondynka on 6/2/2014 12:36:00 PM more reviews by PolskaBlondynka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Tried the products before and did not like them. The Acne.org Regimen works much better with more gentle products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Carybear on 6/1/2014 4:28:00 AM more reviews by Carybear

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm writing this review not because I use this now, but I did, in 2008-2009.
Yes, it gave me super clear skin. For exactly one year. Then, everything went south. My skin went from smooth and clear to a pimply mess. Then I stopped, and whoa man...things got stupid scary. I broke out in these deep, hard pimples that would not go away. I tried to go back on the Proactiv system and it didn't work anymore.
I'll never see that clear skin from proactiv again-that's fine because it's not worth the free radical damage all the BP causes and it does stop working.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Sun2shine on 6/1/2014 12:27:00 AM more reviews by Sun2shine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

If you are using this product, STOOOOPPP!!! I have struggled with acne all through high school, and I used Pro Activ for about a year. What a waste of money! What fights the acne is the benzoyl peroxide! The Pro Activ cleanser has 2.5% benzoyl peroxide... You can buy Clean and Clear at ANY big box store. The Clean and Clear continious control has 10% benzoyl peroxide, and acne clearing cleanser has 5%. Clean and clear is way cheaper, and it does a better job, Justin Bieber just doesn't hype it up, which I'm okay with :)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* larosedechanel on 5/29/2014 9:25:00 PM more reviews by larosedechanel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I tried Proactiv 3-Step kit three separate times (three separate kits, not three washes) & it did absolutely nothing for me. When I saw the infomercials, I was shocked by all the amazing results both celebrities & everyday people showed. I have oily black/islander skin & have had trouble with acne since I was 13 or 14 years old. I was so sure this acne treatment would be like the answer to my prayers. My acne was so bad I was teased about it & people would even make comments about it to my face. I tried everything - drug store, high end, & even professional/prescription medicine. Nothing helped with my acne. I was so desperate that when I saw their $19.99 + free shipping offer, I called right away. Proactiv 3-Step system is supposedly an excellent treatment for dry/normal skin - of course, I'm screwed because I've got oily. This includes their Renewing Cleanser (1), Revitalizing Toner (2) & Repairing Treatment (3).

Unfortunately, I had one of the worst experiences of my life using Proactiv. First of all, it didn't work. Secondly, "irritated my skin" is an understatement. I had some type of reaction & it left me with open sores on my face! No, I'm not being dramatic or exaggerating. My skin wasn't irritated or raw like what happens from over-exfoliation. I in all seriousness had wide, bloody, painful open sores. It was so bad my family joked that I looked like a meth addict. I admittedly didn't read the ingredients to make sure I'm are not allergic to them, but as I mentioned, I'd tried practically every acne treatment available & I've never in my life had anything like this happen before. I'm severely allergic to something in Proactive & am literally afraid to use it. I will never reuse, repurchase, or recommend this system to anyone I care about. You know that one ex who broke your heart into pieces & stole all your stuff? Tell him/her to use this. It's not an acne drug, it's a weapon.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashaleyyy101 on 5/12/2014 9:37:00 PM more reviews by ashaleyyy101

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

The only product that has ever cleared my acne.
I always go back to it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 iceberry97 on 4/17/2014 1:03:00 AM more reviews by iceberry97

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this sometime ago when I had kinda non-stoppable adult acne. It took about 3 months to clear it up, but this formula quite drying. The smell was okay, but for the refining mask, I can't really stand it. Probably the smell of the sulphur. But after few days I started get used to it. I stop using it when my skin in better control. But after sometime my skin getting worst and tried on this product but its not really helping anymore.

The main ingredient is benzoyl peroxide, which I can get easily and much much cheaper from the drugstore. I tried OXY 10, and yes, it cleared up my acne just like pro-active did.

No, I won't buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products