Chanel • Les Beiges - Healthy Glow Sheer Powder • Powder

rated 3.4(55 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 michiemichie on 8/21/2014 11:55:00 AM more reviews by michiemichie

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I discovered this powder while visiting a Chanel counter. The lady applied this on me and I was completely hooked. They say it is invisible on the skin and hey it is. No powder look which I hate. The packaging is great too, comes in a beautiful compact. Would defo buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Samdoll on 6/5/2014 5:10:00 AM more reviews by Samdoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this powder hoping it would be good "dewy" powder for my dry skin for setting foundation and concealer. I am nc25ish/nars ceylan/Punjab, and bought no. 20 as a setting powder. Upon application it looked lovely - sheer, slightly sheen to give a luminous finish and there were no sparkles on the face as there is in the pan, so I was a happy bunny. However, after half an hour my face looked orange! It oxidised on me and my face didn't match my body anymore and it was terrible. Was very disappointed as it is almost £40 and the little compact was pretty enough to show off - but it's sitting in my drawer doing nothing now. I tried sleeks luminous pressed powder and got faar better results at a fraction of the price!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* monchichi on 5/19/2014 11:31:00 AM more reviews by monchichi

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this product as a bronzer. For my moderately fair skin I doubted between 50 and 60. Eventually I took 60 because I think 50 is a bit muddy and therefore to contour. 60 is a dark brown, reddisch bronzer that works fantastic on my skin. The compact is very beautiful and the curved brush handy. I do not need to reapply it and it smells fantastic. I am not that into Chanel normally but the beautiful compact has won me over. It gives me a truly deep bronzed appearence which I love. Everyone thinks I have taken a holiday... Isn't that the best compliment a bronzer can give you? It contains extemely tiny golden speckles which can not be traced on the skin. It's the first bronzer that gives the skin a well treated surface... As a bronzer: A+++

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweet_like_honey on 5/17/2014 6:58:00 PM more reviews by sweet_like_honey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I just bought this today and I LOOOVE IT, but I don't want to jinx it by giving it 5 stars just yet ;) The sales rep at Saks told me that most people use it as a bronzer or contour color, but I'm tan so I'm using it as an all-over face powder. I was looking for a powder with sunscreen to help give me extra sun protection throughout the day. I have oily skin so I'm constantly reapplying powder anyway- might as well reapply sunscreen while I'm at it, since the liquid sunscreen I put on in the morning wears off after a couple hours.

Anyway, when I got home, I was excited to try it as a setting powder, so I washed off my makeup and reapplied, just so I could see how it looked over fresh makeup. It looks GORGEOUS! I am between an NC35-40 and I bought this in 40. Just like the name says, it's sheer- so it doesn't look cakey or heavy. It looks amazing- not too matte, not too shiny, I'm just glowing!

This is my first Chanel beauty product and I love that the compact is so chic and comes with it's own little brush and velvet case. I also love that it has a decent size mirror inside- now I'm going to be whipping this thing out all the time haha :P

I'll update my review after a few more weeks of use, but so far I think I've hit the jackpot. If it doesn't break me out, I'll give it 5 stars. This product kills two birds with one stone- a gorgeous complexion plus sun protection. YAY!!!

UPDATE 6/3/14: This ended up breaking me out on my chin and cheeks, probably from the Shea Butter. Sad because it looked great and made my skin feel really soft and smooth, but I guess it was just too occlusive for my skin. I'm putting it up for swap.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jaimiedollar on 5/17/2014 4:12:00 PM more reviews by Jaimiedollar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ladies are just not getting what this powder is actually all about! It is not a foundation nor a bronzer nor a setting powder. It is just to lightly dust over parts of your face to give a "healthy glow" i bought this & the kabuki to go with it & i love it! On my grey face days this perks me up & makes me look more human. I actually bought shade 40 & use it to contour my cheekbones & dust over areas the sun would hit naturally. Ended up buying 2 of the brushes as it is sooo soft but takes days to dry

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 darkangel13 on 5/16/2014 8:54:00 PM more reviews by darkangel13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

In a way Les Beiges is a very suitable name for this product because it is very blah, boring, unremarkable, nothing to write home about... in other words beige. I was looking for a powder to wear in conjunction with my new Vitalumiere Aqua foundation (gorgeous foundation for spring/summer and actually worth the price). The lady at the Chanel counter suggested I try the Les Beiges powder because apparently it's supposed to be the perfect pairing for Chanel's more dewy foundations to maintain a luminous finish. Yeah, um... no. I understand the concept behind it because there's no point of wearing a glowy foundation if you're just going to mattify the crap out of it with powder but this product is a fail. It's uncomfortably reminiscent of those $6 Covergirl pressed powders at Walmart. My complexion upon application looked dirty and clogged. Kinda like when you fall asleep in your makeup and wake up the next morning and say " Fuck it" and head out the door lol. The shade selection was a bit off too but then again Chanel isn't famous for their fabulous shade range. MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural is 50x better than this and half the price. Sorry, Chanel.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 brownclown on 5/9/2014 1:29:00 PM more reviews by brownclown

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Edit:
Dropping this to a 2 since it broke me out in a rash and oxidized on my fair oily skin. Bummer.

The scent is way over the top and the price is a reflection of the hype, but regardless I enjoy this product. I would not consider this a foundation, it's just a powder with a bit more coverage than average. This is more of a handbag item for me, although I do dust it lightly over my sunscreen, concealer and silica "HD" powder a few times a week when I need to look more polished - my "lipstick days".
My skin is normally oily but I am using a retinol product (Verso) and have had to switch from my normal moisturizer to a heavier mineral only sunscreen with a very slight tint to protect my skin and help eliminate the mild dryness caused by the retinol. Any sort of foundation is just too heavy over sunscreen for me - normally I use all facial products lightly and prefer a more natural look - so far I do not have any fine lines or wrinkles and seldom have blemishes, so I get by with it most days.
The lightest color works well for my fair skin, and I do like my slight glow when used as an all-over setting powder. I can't imagine this would cover much unless you used a lot, which would be silly considering the fragrance, price and texture. There are so many compact powders out there with good coverage that diffuse light (LM, Dior, Hourglass, Guerlain, BB, Chantecaille, Kevyn Aucoin, Koh Gen Do, etc.),but this is not one of them and I'm not sure it's supposed to be...
As usual, if your expectations are realistic and you have the ability to test the product first, there are really no surprises. It's a powder in a pretty case. Although I answered "yes" to a repurchase, I would probably prefer Poudre Universelle.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SelenaSerena on 4/27/2014 10:42:00 AM more reviews by SelenaSerena

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have sensitive dry skin with mild rosacea. This powder cause irritation due to very strong lingering frangrance and who knows what else. Besides the effect is far from the claims. It does not fit my dry skin and makes the overall makeup look dirtier and too layered like a cake. I tried to use in right on moisturizer, on tinted moisturizer and on foundation. Neither worked out to be at least decent. Applied with an included brush, sponge, very soft brush, kabuki. Complete fail for me and very unimpressive. Case is lovely though but too heavy for a handbag. Sensitive skin ladies beware and try before buy.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leavingthingsbehind on 4/16/2014 9:21:00 AM more reviews by leavingthingsbehind

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Well, I was expecting to turn into Gisele upon application but of course nothing like this happened lol

This is one of the most hyped products in Chanel's range. I own several items of Chanel makeup (cream blush, eyeshadows in singles and palettes, lipstick, lip glosses and my beloved Vitalumiere Aqua foundation which is my HG foundation < for reference I am B20 in that) which I genuinely love and use every day because they WORK. All Chanel mu is expensive but it works so I do not mind paying a bit more for something that I will be opening with pleasure every single day.

I have definitely paid a lot for this product but do I use it with pleasure? Hmmm…. Every time I open the beige and black packaging and sniff the pleasant flowery aroma I think about how nicely it is designed and about… the price of this. Then I swirl my MAC 187 brush, apply no. 30 on my cheekbones, temples and top of my forehead and… do not see much difference in the overall look of my face. I decided to go with no. 30 as it was the yellowest of the bunch but it still verges on being orange on my face. No. 20 and no. 40 wet both way too pink and anything darker was just too dark for me.

I wish I was able to return it like MUAers in US are able to do and get my £39 back but unfortunately it is not possible in Scotland. All in all it is an expensive, glorified bronzer, not a Gisele in powder. I can see it might work for some people but my fair, yellowy complexion is not benefiting from it much, at least it is not powdery looking, hence 2 stars.

EDIT: After several applications this got a crispy layer over the top of the powder which I had to finally scrape off to be able to get to any product at all - not a pretty look. Seriously disappointed.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 burgundyangel on 3/10/2014 5:16:00 AM more reviews by burgundyangel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I got it in 30 because I wanted a very subtle glow. It is perfumed like the other usual Chanel products. I applied it in a contour manner and love how the colour built up slowly, giving off a warm glow. Chanel could look into having a better storage in the compact for the brush, but I suppose with that "extra" storage, you would probably have to pay a higher price for it. I do enjoyed using the "crimson" shaped brush for my application. I paid SGD80 (USD61.50) for it.
Will repurchase unless some other healthy glow product wow me.

Asian
NC20-25
Chanel Perfection Lumiere in B20, Chanel Loose Powder in Claire 20.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Powder products