Maybelline • The Rocket Volum' Express • Mascara

rated 3.6(750 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 crazyging on 12/30/2014 5:14:00 PM more reviews by crazyging

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Used this til it ran out because it came in waterproof. The hold was great but it was suuuper dark and unnatural looking, clumpy and flaky. Felt heavy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dterrob on 12/30/2014 1:43:00 PM more reviews by dterrob

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Picked it up on sale at Walgreens when I was needing a new mascara. It's okay. One good thing I can say is that it really surprised me with how lengthening it was for a mascara all about volume. I don't usually gravitate toward voluminous mascaras; this one reminded me why. Volume is cool and all but this one is pretty clumpy. It looks much better when I clean the brush off a bit with a tissue before applying it, but I hate to waste product like that. I don't see myself buying it again. It's nothing awful, and you can get really pretty and intense lashes with it, but I don't think it's worth running the risk of the dreaded lumpy/clumpy look that may result each time you use it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Laerkejensenc on 12/30/2014 5:48:00 AM more reviews by Laerkejensenc

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

When i first got this mascara i absolutely hated it! It clumped my lashes all together and it smugded under my eyes and it was just a disaster. But then i tried it again about six months after, surpringsly it wasn't dried out, and this time i really liked it. It didn't clump my lashes it just gave them lenght and some volume. I really like the look it gives, it's a great everyday mascara. I won't repurchase again though, because it only seemed to work after a few months

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 smootchick on 12/28/2014 11:20:00 AM more reviews by smootchick

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this mascara in a pinch when I forgot to take my makeup bag on a trip. I got a bogo deal on it, which influenced my purchase. The brush looked great in the package with lots of fine plastic bristles, similar to my fave CG Clump Crusher. But when I went to use it, huge disappointment. The product is very wet and made my lashes stick together. If you swipe through a few more times for definition, it just gets worse. I think the brush also adds to the issue by picking up too much product. If I wiped the brush down before applying, the distribution was much more even and less clumpy. That said, the Very Black color is dramatic and made my eyes pop. Lashes were lengthened to the point that I got black marks on my browbone (another problem with the wet formula). I just don't like having that obvious thick mascara look and prefer defined, separated lashes instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 calliethrutchley on 12/28/2014 12:05:00 AM more reviews by calliethrutchley

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Originally when I tried this, I had bad luck. I forgot about it for a while, and then just the other day I tried it again. I didn't hate it, but it certainly does not add volume. It lengthens and separates, but as I already have very long lashes, it's not what I'm looking for. I wouldn't buy it again, but that doesn't mean it won't work for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paine724 on 12/25/2014 11:56:00 PM more reviews by paine724

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This has to be the best drugstore mascara out there! Mascara is a very personal choice so no opinion on here is going to change your opinion of a mascara until you've tried it.

That said, I have long straight black lashes and this mascara is not only able to add length and volume but it's also able to hold a curl. The only bad thing is that the packaging is a little bulky and takes up a lot of space in a makeup bag.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashley54501 on 12/16/2014 4:46:00 AM more reviews by ashley54501

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this stuff because it's not like some other mascaras that require you to comb through your lashes for 5+ minutes to get length or volume. I do not have time for that when I'm getting ready for work in the morning! As soon as I start putting it on, my lashes start getting huge right away. One coat is enough to make them look really big, but you can always add more if you like super dramatic lashes. I can not stress how awesome this is when you're in a hurry in the morning. It doesn't flake or smudge during the day either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 smarlo on 12/14/2014 12:23:00 PM more reviews by smarlo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I'm with the people who say this stuff gets better with age. In the beginning I thought this mascara was too wet and did not hold a curl at all.

But, after having it awhile it's thickened up and works great! I took off one star because the waterproof version is hard to remove, but that also means it has great staying power.

I think I'll try the washable version next time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kylalala on 12/14/2014 4:28:00 AM more reviews by Kylalala

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have to say this mascara is my fave thing in the world , it makes my lashes stay perky all day long , even though i have extremely oily skin it doesnt smudge , it doesnt really clump and i find the price quite reasonable. I just lovee this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ayoocynthiagee on 12/13/2014 2:21:00 AM more reviews by ayoocynthiagee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I HATE this mascara. The formula is so wet and weighs your lashes down and doesn't give volume nor length! it's like putting black water on your lashes, so disappointed with this mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products