Maybelline • The Rocket Volum' Express • Mascara

rated 3.6(723 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MollieRT on 11/3/2014 4:46:00 PM more reviews by MollieRT

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I bought this mascara based solely on the online reviews here on makeupalley.com. I know it advertises to add volume to lashes, but all I got was minimal length. No volume at all, actually it made my lashes look defined in an odd way. Like a bunch of skinny black toothpicks or something. The tips of my lashes also stuck together even after I tried using my lash comb. I think the formula is too wet for my liking, it also smelled strongly and stung my eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Alicecarrie on 11/3/2014 4:09:00 AM more reviews by Alicecarrie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The brush is difficult to use and it keeps clumping.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 elitegymnasticsxo on 11/1/2014 7:36:00 PM more reviews by elitegymnasticsxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

h8 h8 h8 this mascara. I bought the blackest shade there is. Love the packaging, it is very cute. Onto the actual mascara, I hate it. The formula is thick and dry. It weighs down my lashes, even if I on a thin layer. I am Asian, and I don't have thin, sparse lashes. I have thick lashes and most mascaras tend to work on me, but this one didn't.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 babyyrebel on 11/1/2014 11:08:00 AM more reviews by babyyrebel

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I like this mascara because my lashes looks longer and also long lasting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 karliemoore17 on 10/31/2014 4:55:00 PM more reviews by karliemoore17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is by far the best mascara I've ever used! I can not rave about it enough! I've been using it for about a year now, gone through 3-4 tubes, and keep repurchasing. It applies wonderfully, the brush seperates my lashes and never leaves me clumpy, its nice and thick, and doesn't run or flake on me. Maybelline has a lifetime customer in me for this mascara for sure!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xoslshopaholic on 10/31/2014 2:37:00 PM more reviews by xoslshopaholic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I really enjoy using this mascara. It's really black, long lasting, and easy to apply with the plastic bristles. The volume is pretty good, it's not crazy dramatic but the volume is there, my only problem with this product is how hard it is to remove! It takes a few products to take off my lashes, and even the morning after removing, I'll find residue. It's a product worth using if you don't mind taking some extra time to remove it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jvdb on 10/29/2014 11:09:00 AM more reviews by jvdb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Normally buy Maybelline "falsies" masscara and bought this for a change. I found the brush very difficult to work with, combined with how wet the formula is I get nothing but clumps. Impossible to build extra coats since they just clump even more. Don't even bother trying to put on your bottom lashes with this brush... it will go everywhere. The forumula is almost a cross between regular and waterpoof even though this is not technically the waterproof version. Definitely does not smudge but difficult to remove completely even with makeup remover. Honestly I could see the forumula working well but I hate the brush so much I went out and bought new mascara about three weeks after even though I was determined not to waste this tube. I will attempt to finish this stuff off using a different brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 10/24/2014 3:17:00 AM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

PROS:
Amazing volume gives you lashes you didn't know you had
Holds curl for a while

CONS:
Takes a lot of time and work to get right
No length
Clumps lashes together
Flakes under the eyes
Holds a curl briefly but flops after a few hours on my fine lashes
Hard to remove, have to use oil-based remover or oil
Sharp plastic bristles scratch my eyes which is a potential entry point for infection

WAY TOO EXPENSIVE IN MY COUNTRY, here in New Zealand we pay 4 times you US gals pay and we don't get discounts. For just a little more I might as well buy high end

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 huiyuwu99 on 10/20/2014 10:57:00 AM more reviews by huiyuwu99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have one of the most oiliest lids on Earth and no mascara can withstand them, and alas, tada! This mascara really wins out of all the waterproof mascaras I've tried and the cheapest one. This really lasts through out the night, at least for me around 10 hours or so. Alot of reviews say it's one of the hardest mascaras to remove but I find if you use a cleansing oil it's really easy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jillyjazz on 10/19/2014 7:19:00 PM more reviews by jillyjazz

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

A very good product for the price, I saw this recommended by Gossmakeupartist otherwise I may have not discovered it. The packaging is funky and juvenile and marketed at the youth. I have to look beyond that and at the product itself.Its one of the best mascara's I have ever used.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products