Yves Saint Laurent Teint Touche Eclat Foundation

4.0

302 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Dimethicone, PEG-10, Dimethicone, Sorbitol, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Dimethicone/Polglycerin-3 Crosspolymer, Sodium Chloride,, Phenoxyethanol, Caprytyl Glycol, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Ethylhexylgycerin, Fragrance, Aluminum Hydroxide, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Dipropylene Glycol, Isotridecyl Isononanoate. May contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Bismuth Oxychloride.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

It's almost unbelievable how many foundations I own. This is one I repurchase every time I hit the bottom of the bottle. My skin simply glows when I apply this with my beauty blender sponge with a mist of makeup setting spray. It's sheer to medium coverage is perfect for a natural finish that doesn't melt off my face by the end of the day if I use a good setting powder (I prefer MAC mineralize). My skin is definitely clear and normal, not too oily, but many foundations make me shiny after a few hours. Not this YSL gem! It's a splurge item for sure, but fully worth the price for the quality and performance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/17/2015 12:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

OMG. In my life I've used so many foundations. Probably somewhere around 50, just a guess. However, never used a foundation compared to this one.. It's amazing. Not comparable to any I've used before. My face looks 10 years younger! It's such a pretty soft finish. When I looked at my face in the mirror after first apication, I was shocked! In a good way. No one will take this gem from me; no way! I can't speak for other peoe, but I'm in my early forties, skin's good but slightly dry and I've got quite a few freckles. Coverage is good, blends wonderfully, BD40 is a perfect match for my NC25 skin tone. Most recent purchases were Bourjois Serum foundation, Chanel Perfection Lumière Velvet and Diorskin Star. If I had to choose, I'd throw them all away to keep just this one.. I think I've said all I had to say, except for: TRY IT!! You won't regret it, specially when you've got slightly dry skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2015 12:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I love this foundation, and I would repurchase again if there was a perfect color match for me, but BD10 is as close as I can get. I'm very fair but with strong yellow undertones. BD10 is a bit too dark for me, but I make it with because I love the finish of it so much. I'll finish the bottle I have, but sadly won't bring myself to repurchase.

It's medium coverage and has a satin finish that truly mimics skin. I find it hydrating feeling, yet it lasts all day on me. It glides right over my dry patches, and just looks great no matter how I apt it, fingers, sponge, or brush.


on 1/12/2015 5:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Reference: MAC NC45/NC50
Product Shade: B70

Another product I received from a discount sale, I had heard good things about this foundation so I decided to give it a try.

The product had a radiant/dewy finish, which cuts into how long wear it is. I found myself getting shiny in my T-zone after a few hours. However, the finish is quite lovely.

There is a scent to this foundation - it isn't over bearing but it is still there. Doesn't really bother me and dissapates after a while but if you are sensitive to scents, you may want to get a sample before you splurge on the bottle.

Would I re-purchase? No, not due to any fault of the foundation but I find I can get the same finish in a cheaper foundation. Nothing really outstanding and it is not my HG.


on 1/10/2015 7:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

If you have normal or dry skin, this is an awesome foundation. Pros: - Gives the most dewy, glowy finish to the skin. - Very natural looking. - Does not stick to dry patches (rather, it glides over them). - Wonderful texture - Gorgeous packaging with a good punp Cons: - Not good for oily skin (try fusion ink instead). - Staying power could be better, and this foundation tends to transfer if you touch your face. I will continue to repurchase this foundation because it makes my skin look healthy and radiant. But for days when my skin is oilier, I prefer the ysl fusion ink.


on 1/3/2015 5:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

Although I am not sure it is deserving of the same cult status of its highlighter equivalent, this performs quite well. I personally don't see that it is 'that' good, but surprisingly, it is when I have this foundation on that I get the most compliments. I often go for matte-finish makeup for my oily skin, but I took a chance with this foundation anyway.
Likes:
- very natural finish
- dewy, but not overly luminous or shiny
- pump applicator
- photographs okay
Dislikes:
- you would need to put on a concealer to mask any redness or blemishes, as this offers light coverage
- you will need to blot with a blotting sheet or powder every few hours if you have oily skin (I am used to doing this, so for me this isn't too bad)
- long-lasting, but does not hold well on my t-zone
- no skin care benefits

In sum, it is not my HG makeup, but will consider buying another bottle if I happen to find it at a discounted price. It has its strengths, but there are simply many good foundations out there. I think this would work best for those with normal skin with no serious concerns with blemishes or redness.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/22/2014 8:55:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Wow, yea this foundation is good stuff. I'm loving it and using it daily a little about me. I have combo skin more dry than anything. I only get oily in the summer nothing bad though. Im an NW20,NARS Monte Blanc,Lancome Tient idol in Ivorie2(C). So I'm pretty pale, very cool undertones, and light blonde hair. Shade BR20 Beige Rose matches me perfectly. This formula is so light but it goes on so smooth! It just feels wonderful when I apply it. The smell is so good too melons. I use my fingers to apply and when I'm done I just buff it lightly with the RT buffing brush. I don't have much to cover mainly redness and the monthly hormonal spot. This covers very well for that purpose. It gives me my skin but better is how I see it. I love it because it still looks like my skin only way better!

The light catching properties are very good. I've tried really bad lighting and camera flashes and it photographs so well! It hasn't oxidized one bit and it lasts all day. I get 8 hours no problem I haven't tried for longer, but what I love is how it just melts into my skin! The finish is dewy which I like I'm not a fan of over matte foundation on me. I also like how light it is. It's like a liquidy gel that feels so good going on. For me I feel like I'm wearing nothing. It is my favorite foundation Lancome and my NARS are tied in second because they all have their purpose. This though is something special, it lasts, looks great, and hasn't broken me out at all. In the summer when I do get a little oily I'll just dust some powder on first. That will help control the oil and for me it does make my bases last longer. The packaging is beautiful but not travel friendly. The price wow but you really do not need a lot and it spreads really well. So easy to blend too. Recommend!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/19/2014 8:55:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

ok, do you see that bottle?isn't it to die for.....sooo beautiful,decent,luxurious....mmmmm,ysl you know your aesthetics:)))
this foundation is a bit runny,but it is amazing how well it covers....it smells beautiful, it is a pure joy using it on your face....I love it though it is very dewy in the finish,and doesn't stay a long time on my combination skin.the range of shades is amazing and one sngle shade would probaby suit many skin shades....meaning I could go for B40-to B60, but my true shade (I'm NC 35) is BD 50 (beige dore aka golden beige)...it is smooth,silky,like a silk veil over your face and I assume that younger girls with no serious imperfections would looove this foundation...it covers very well actually,and can be buildable to full coverage (if that's not a weird thing to say for a foundation with a really dewy finish)...this is a perfect foundation for people with normal and dry skins....Oily and combination types beware....I'm using it only during the winter time when my pores aren't that opened, cause the dewiness looks like a silicone film on my face in warmer seasons....overall-a perfect foundation, try it no matter what your skin needs are you may be surprised....worth the money for sure!!)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/27/2014 3:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I've been wanting to try this foundation for a quite a while and when i wished for it for my birthday, i finally got it.

Let me just start off by saying that this is particularly not for oily skin gals (which i suppose doesn't come as a surprise, it's said quite often about this foundation). I get a little oily after not a long time after wearing this (nothing that looks super greasy though and can't be fixed with a little powder) and i usually suffer from dry to very dry skin.

First of all, the lasting power is quite AMAZING. I was actually pretty surprised how well this lasts on my skin, considering the fact that it is quite illuminating and quite sheer in coverage! I wore it out for the first time for a night out with my girlfriends and when i came home, it was still looking perfect. No settling into fine lines (i used Benefit's Porefessional only around my mouth where those 2 lines are that foundations tends to looooove to settle into in my situation at least, even with a primer!), no going patchy and no sliding off my face. It just looks over all pretty amazing on the skin, even after a while. I only set it with a little powder, as my dry skin does not like too powder too much.

The coverage of this is to start off with, quite sheer. Applied with a beauty blender and stippling brush it's quite sheer and can be build up but it takes a little, though with a kabuki brush it provides much more coverage and pretty much medium coverage on the first layer, compared to the beauty blender and stippling brush it takes 2-3 layers to build up to a medium coverage. The finish is GORGEOUS - just how i like it - it's bright, illuminating (as it's supposed to be, so that's always good haha!) makes your skin look nice and healthy and it doesn't look like a mask. It's a dewy and natural finish without being too much at all. It doesn't feel particularly heavy on the skin either.

This has a slight fragrance which i can't really explain - the first thing that came to my mind when i thought about the scent was "fresh". It has a not too special, but pretty fresh and also somehow clean smell. Though fragrance isn't a plus in my book when it comes to cosmetics and foundations in particular, as fragrance irritates the skin. Therefore, the fragrance is definitely a minus in my world. It isn't overbearing though but i could ALWAYS be without fragrance in products and don't really care for my products smelling nice, other than the fact that it's just possibly going to irritate my skin which is always a bummer.


It also photographs beautifully - i haven't tried it on with flash, but i snatched this information up from an Lisa Eldrigde video - that even though it contains SPF (spf 19 im pretty sure) it doesn't give a flashback while being photographed with flash, which SPF usually tends to do. Though you'll have to try out yourself of course - all i can say is that it looks amazing, dewy and healthy and photographs and makes your skin look flawless and very nice and as said before, healthy. I love it the way it looks.

The texture is not heavy or thick, not super thin. I usually prefer to work with very thin foundations as i find them to be more easy to work with, lighter on the skin and overall better for dry skin. As said, this is not too heavy or thin, it's just about in between i would say, even though it's definitely more to the thin and runny side than thick side. It blends out easily, and i also actually find that it blends beautifully with the fingers using to apply as well.

The packaging is a glass bottle with a gold lid, looks very pretty and fancy as most YSL makeup, so that isn't surprising! It's quite heavy as well. I'm not particularly into the glass bottle as it probably means shattering and foundation wasted if you drop it, so i would suggest you being a bit careful with that (especially if you have a bit greasy or oily hands from moisturizier, facial or hair oil, serums etc). It is very pretty though.

I haven't had this for over 3 weeks, but this is what i've experienced so far and i am really loving it. Would definitely recommend to dry-very dry-normal skin. It is just beautiful. A bit pricey, yes, but i would say that it's worth the money.


on 11/21/2014 9:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this so much that although I have super duper oily skin I make it work. It's beautiful in photographs and makes my horrible skin look so youthful and bright it's amazing. I wear darker shade than my natural skin because I fake tan and this doesn't look orange just golden! Truly amazing. In my opinion it lasts better than a lot of other light formula foundations. Yes I have to often blot but anyone with normal or dry or even slightly oily t-zone skins will love this. When I want something longer lasting but just as amazing I use ysl fusion ink I've tried applying both to different halves of my face and they do look similarly amazing except this one is one is not matte like that one but it doesn't look shiny at all just gives more of a glow. I remember when I tried ysl perfect touch and was amazed well this is even better as it lasts better than that. No more Chanel for me. No foundation can give you that glow that brightness that lift that ysl foundations do. All the others are so dull in comparison.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat Foundation Review by Rocy Roque

Foundations, Powders, and Tinted Moisturizers: MAC, YSL, Bobbi Brown, Laura Mercier, ETC by Crystal DivaLevy

Foundation Review: Laura Mercier, Dior, YSL by Cathies Ensemble

Back to Top