E.L.F. • Studio Lock & Seal • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.1(26 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 NaturalBeautyLovr on 9/18/2013 6:19:00 PM more reviews by NaturalBeautyLovr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is a must have if you love to foil eyeshadows or if you own a lot of baked/mineral shadows. Before purchasing this, I was just using water to apply my mineral shadows, which worked ok, but had a tendency to cake up a bit. With this, I put a drop on a clean flat surface, dip a synthetic brush into it, wipe the excess off on my hand then go straight into the shadow. Applies the shadows with minimal fallout and really packs on the color! And, unlike with just water, truly "locks" them on - no glittery specks dropping onto your cheekbones all day. I still use a primer (I do with all shadows), so I don't experience creasing. I highly recommend this for everyone to have in their stash!
Edit: Still loving this. I've also found if you have a shimmery shadow that you don't want to ruin by dipping a wet brush into the pan, you can apply the shadow first (I like to press it on with a clean finger) then dampen a brush with this and press over shadow.

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Law1747 on 9/16/2013 4:06:00 PM more reviews by Law1747

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought this product on a whim and I'm so glad I did! I've used it to set eye liner and lip gloss and both have worked phenomenally! I was super surprised by the way it worked with the lip gloss. It never caked or looked gross and stayed glossy! Highly recommended!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsPsylocke on 8/15/2013 5:25:00 PM more reviews by MsPsylocke

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

One of the first products I had ever bought from ELF. Well glad I did because this product is amazing to me. I use a setting spray but even so with eye primer UDPP or TheBalm as of late my eyes tear and my makeup will get ruined. Since I found this little gem I can now use all of my palettes again:) I use whatever brush that works good for my face. Like for my eyes I use a MAC brush that is long,flat, and dense. I use 1-2 drops. Let it absorb and gently pat my lid. I do not use too much because then it's to stiff. Using just a moist brush over my shadow and liner works! It will not budge until I remove it! Seriously this is an excellent product to make you makeup stay put.

I personally wouldn't use this for foiling because it does feel super stiff. I use Missha mixing medium it has hyluronic acid and a lot of good stuff and is super reasonable. So I would use a mixing medium not this for my eye looks. For me it works better when I pat it on after my eye look is done. I can cry,get allergies, whatever and this will not let my look be ruined. I will be buying more for the price you cannot go wrong, it works and a little goes a long way! Love!
Highly Recommended!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jennifckerrr on 8/15/2013 10:47:00 AM more reviews by Jennifckerrr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

Definitely a great product to help keep makeup in place. I am visiting Asia for the summer and I've used this product every day to beat the extreme heat and humidity. The solution is clear and has no added fragrances, which I like because I use this product around sensitive eye areas.
The box instructed to add your powder makeup to the given container and mix a few drops of the Lock and Seal, but I try to be fast and efficient while on vacation so I would add about 3-4 drops into the small given container, use the brush(included in box) and swipe/dab with eyeshadow, and apply. This way I don't have to rinse the container and fill the solution every time i change a shadow. I use neutrals/bronze/brown colors so it's ok when a little bit get mixed up with other shadow during application. If you are using a vibrant color, definitely rinse the container before changing eyeshadow.
The only thing I'm a little disappointed in is that the lower-outer edge of my eyes would still have runny eyeliner/shadow after in a few hours. But to be fair, I was under very humid and hot climate.
This product keeps my eyeshadow in place(mostly) but didn't exactly seal my eyeliner(not waterproof) on my lower lids.
I would still recommend using this, it still keeps my makeup in place nicely and I don't have to worry about my eyeshadow melting off my face. I am definitely purchasing this for my friends and family in Asia to use.
I only use this product around my eye area but I think it would work pretty well with powder blushes as well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jspnx on 6/19/2013 2:25:00 PM more reviews by jspnx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Years ago, I had Ben Nye Liquiset. This product seems just like it: turns powder eyeshadow into eyeliner and costs only $3. Plus I can find it at Target instead of detouring to a costume-supply shop. I use it with a synthetic angled eyeshadow brush. (Lock & Seal comes with a brush that is useless for eyeshadow, but is decent for applying cream concealer under the eyes.) There's a handy little pot for dispensing the Lock & Seal. You put two drops into the pot, dip your angled brush into it, and then run the brush across your eyeshadow. Voila, no-smudge eyeliner in any color. It lasts all day, even on my rather oily hooded eyelids.

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Layni1006 on 5/28/2013 8:17:00 PM more reviews by Layni1006

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am using this as a mixing medium with my Fyrrinae and other brands of loose shadows. I can foil them with this and apply them over my whole eyelid with the included brush, or make eyeliner and apply with a smaller brush. Once it dries, this stuff doesn't budge! On some of the more glittery shadows, the large particles will rub loose if I rub at it, but otherwise, the shadow stays put. I have only ever used saline solution and the Lorac lustre drops as mixing mediums, and this stuff works better than both of those products. I would say the only negatives would be it has kind of a chemical smell, and it will burn if it gets in your eyes. But I am careful with it, and it is great. I will definitely buy again.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* judy46970 on 4/19/2013 8:37:00 AM more reviews by judy46970

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I use this with my loose powder eyeshadows and it really works! It takes me some rubbing to remove it. The little mixing pot and brush are very useful. I was in doubt about the brush but it works wonderfully for what I use it for. Will buy again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dddoxie on 2/28/2013 12:38:00 PM more reviews by dddoxie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

So...I've been using this for a few weeks now and it works OK to 'set' loose/mineral eyeshadows. It's not as great as it could be, but it works in a pinch.

I purchased this a while ago and just got around to using it, but I should've rechecked the ingredients before doing so because this has propylene glycol and a few others that cause allergic reactions. I'm really trying to weed out nasty ingredients in my cosmetics and this product will be heading in the trash as soon as I get home.

My eyes have been very itchy, red and water for the last couple weeks and I'm just now putting 2 and 2 together...I think this bad boy has something to do with it.

As a cleaner alternative, I will go back to using my Pumpkin & Poppy Foiled Again mixing medium.

Ingredients:

Aqua(Water), Acrylates/Octylacrylamide Copolymer, Propylene Glycol, Benzyl Alcohol, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* annachristina on 1/17/2013 8:58:00 PM more reviews by annachristina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't use this on my eye shadow. I use it on my LIPS.

1. Exfoliate and moisturize lips.
2. Line lips, apply a layer of lipstick and blot. Apply second layer of lipstick.
3. Apply thin layer of Lock & Seal. I use an old lipstick brush. Wait for it to dry.

Yes, I have to keep my lips apart for a bit. That doesn't bother me because my lipstick stays on. Red lipstick. Pink lipstick. Orange lipstick. Brown lipstick. All the lipsticks stay on my lips and I just have to take my lip gloss with me and reapply that as needed.

This works way better than the Lancome stuff that I bought (which doesn't work, by the way) and is far cheaper (only $3).

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 saluthia on 11/27/2012 2:26:00 AM more reviews by saluthia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Let me start by saying I have already purchased another container even though I haven't used my first one up. I used this first for Halloween. I used it as a mixing medium for loose pigment for a fully painted face with tons of different colors and have been using it to create eyeliner in many different shades.

Loose pigment (even scraping out from a pressed shadow works well) + Lock and Seal = budge/smudge and water proof color. This stuff isn't kidding. I don't use it to cover my normal daily eye shadow looks because I don't experience much fading throughout the day so I can't attest to that aspect. I have used it to set my lipstick a few times and it does help it from transferring but I don't use it that way very often.

So instead of using water to use shadows 'wet' I use this! Works great with some of the chalky or sheer eye shadows I have from e.l.f. and other high end brands. I recommend trying it out!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Misc Beauty Tools products