E.L.F. • Studio Lock & Seal • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.2(19 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dddoxie on 2/28/2013 12:38:00 PM more reviews by dddoxie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

So...I've been using this for a few weeks now and it works OK to 'set' loose/mineral eyeshadows. It's not as great as it could be, but it works in a pinch.

I purchased this a while ago and just got around to using it, but I should've rechecked the ingredients before doing so because this has propylene glycol and a few others that cause allergic reactions. I'm really trying to weed out nasty ingredients in my cosmetics and this product will be heading in the trash as soon as I get home.

My eyes have been very itchy, red and water for the last couple weeks and I'm just now putting 2 and 2 together...I think this bad boy has something to do with it.

As a cleaner alternative, I will go back to using my Pumpkin & Poppy Foiled Again mixing medium.

Ingredients:

Aqua(Water), Acrylates/Octylacrylamide Copolymer, Propylene Glycol, Benzyl Alcohol, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* annachristina on 1/17/2013 8:58:00 PM more reviews by annachristina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't use this on my eye shadow. I use it on my LIPS.

1. Exfoliate and moisturize lips.
2. Line lips, apply a layer of lipstick and blot. Apply second layer of lipstick.
3. Apply thin layer of Lock & Seal. I use an old lipstick brush. Wait for it to dry.

Yes, I have to keep my lips apart for a bit. That doesn't bother me because my lipstick stays on. Red lipstick. Pink lipstick. Orange lipstick. Brown lipstick. All the lipsticks stay on my lips and I just have to take my lip gloss with me and reapply that as needed.

This works way better than the Lancome stuff that I bought (which doesn't work, by the way) and is far cheaper (only $3).

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 saluthia on 11/27/2012 2:26:00 AM more reviews by saluthia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Let me start by saying I have already purchased another container even though I haven't used my first one up. I used this first for Halloween. I used it as a mixing medium for loose pigment for a fully painted face with tons of different colors and have been using it to create eyeliner in many different shades.

Loose pigment (even scraping out from a pressed shadow works well) + Lock and Seal = budge/smudge and water proof color. This stuff isn't kidding. I don't use it to cover my normal daily eye shadow looks because I don't experience much fading throughout the day so I can't attest to that aspect. I have used it to set my lipstick a few times and it does help it from transferring but I don't use it that way very often.

So instead of using water to use shadows 'wet' I use this! Works great with some of the chalky or sheer eye shadows I have from e.l.f. and other high end brands. I recommend trying it out!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Hayxoh on 6/22/2012 5:33:00 PM more reviews by Hayxoh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Hate to ruin the perfect 5 lippies for this product, but I wasn't impressed with this. I don't really think it helps, elf eyelid primer does all the work.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DecoDolly on 6/3/2012 7:40:00 PM more reviews by DecoDolly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm reviewing this as a lipstick sealer. I haven't used it for anything else, but i will try to remember to update after I do. :)
I'm a bright red lipstick kind of girl, but I also quite enjoy kissin' my man. I usually use long-lasting lipsticks when I'm around him, but I find that the two-steps have glosses that are way too slimy, and the one-steps (like Revlon's, which I do like a lot) tend to flake/wear off in the middle of my mouth, and the colors are somewhat limited. I used to a buy a lipstick sealer from Sephora. I can't remember who made it, but it was awesome! Of course they stopped making it. Thought I'd see how this compared.
I have to say, it's pretty good! I line my lips, fill them in with liner, apply lipstick and blot twice. Then I brush this on over top. My lipstick does fade throughout the day, but it fades evenly! More importantly, there's no transfer! So I can kiss and drink with no problems!
Overall, it's not perfect, but it's cheap and it keeps my lipstick from smearing and tranferring all over everything, so I really can't ask for much more!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 5/26/2012 6:27:00 PM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

It works great for foiling one's eyeshadows with! I like using it with my mineral eyeshadows especially. It really makes the colors pop and it keeps the eyeshadows from creasing or fading at all.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Kc3558 on 5/26/2012 4:40:00 PM more reviews by Kc3558

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

OMG! HG! Great product! Makes ur shadow color pop. Use only a lilttle bit and build up. Great on loose shadow but be careful w/ur pots dont rub directly in one spot just swirl evenly on the surface because it will have a cement effect.

When applying, place color in exact location cause blending is a bit of a challange.
Once it dries which is almost instantly you will have to scrape it which is not flaterring or fun so place accordingly and blend quickly. :) luv it!

Update: i find myself not using this bc its so hard to blend. Changing lippies

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annixa on 3/31/2012 6:44:00 PM more reviews by annixa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Love this, when I blend an eyeshadow with this the color stays on forever. It really stays put, the staying power is almost too good :) with that I mean that if I use it with a dark color I most often need at waterproof makeup remover to get it off completely.
My favorite way to use this product is to mix what shadow I wanna use on my lower lash-line with this 'cause that has always been one of my problem areas, shadows, pencils etc never stays where they should under my eye but fades downwards and give me raccoon eyes. But this little baby have put an end to that <3

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* takemenow on 2/23/2012 1:41:00 AM more reviews by takemenow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have never tried a product quite like this before but it's like a miracle in a bottle. There are dozens of uses for it! My only complaint is the little "mixing" cup it comes with. I wish that it screwed on top of the bottle so it wouldn't be easy to lose, but oh well. On to the product...
I have been mixing this with my eyebrow powder to get it to last longer and it truly does. I have so much love for this product because it's also a money saver. I've added a drop into my drying up gel liners. It has completely restored them to new!
I hear you can use this to seal your eyeliner, shadow, lipsticks, blush, brow color and probably more...I mean the possibilities are endless and it's only $3.
I will repurchase without a doubt.

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Misc Beauty Tools products