E.L.F. • Studio Lock & Seal • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.3(23 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jennifckerrr on 8/15/2013 10:47:00 AM more reviews by Jennifckerrr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

Definitely a great product to help keep makeup in place. I am visiting Asia for the summer and I've used this product every day to beat the extreme heat and humidity. The solution is clear and has no added fragrances, which I like because I use this product around sensitive eye areas.
The box instructed to add your powder makeup to the given container and mix a few drops of the Lock and Seal, but I try to be fast and efficient while on vacation so I would add about 3-4 drops into the small given container, use the brush(included in box) and swipe/dab with eyeshadow, and apply. This way I don't have to rinse the container and fill the solution every time i change a shadow. I use neutrals/bronze/brown colors so it's ok when a little bit get mixed up with other shadow during application. If you are using a vibrant color, definitely rinse the container before changing eyeshadow.
The only thing I'm a little disappointed in is that the lower-outer edge of my eyes would still have runny eyeliner/shadow after in a few hours. But to be fair, I was under very humid and hot climate.
This product keeps my eyeshadow in place(mostly) but didn't exactly seal my eyeliner(not waterproof) on my lower lids.
I would still recommend using this, it still keeps my makeup in place nicely and I don't have to worry about my eyeshadow melting off my face. I am definitely purchasing this for my friends and family in Asia to use.
I only use this product around my eye area but I think it would work pretty well with powder blushes as well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jspnx on 6/19/2013 2:25:00 PM more reviews by jspnx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Years ago, I had Ben Nye Liquiset. This product seems just like it: turns powder eyeshadow into eyeliner and costs only $3. Plus I can find it at Target instead of detouring to a costume-supply shop. I use it with a synthetic angled eyeshadow brush. (Lock & Seal comes with a brush that is useless for eyeshadow, but is decent for applying cream concealer under the eyes.) There's a handy little pot for dispensing the Lock & Seal. You put two drops into the pot, dip your angled brush into it, and then run the brush across your eyeshadow. Voila, no-smudge eyeliner in any color. It lasts all day, even on my rather oily hooded eyelids.

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Layni1006 on 5/28/2013 8:17:00 PM more reviews by Layni1006

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am using this as a mixing medium with my Fyrrinae and other brands of loose shadows. I can foil them with this and apply them over my whole eyelid with the included brush, or make eyeliner and apply with a smaller brush. Once it dries, this stuff doesn't budge! On some of the more glittery shadows, the large particles will rub loose if I rub at it, but otherwise, the shadow stays put. I have only ever used saline solution and the Lorac lustre drops as mixing mediums, and this stuff works better than both of those products. I would say the only negatives would be it has kind of a chemical smell, and it will burn if it gets in your eyes. But I am careful with it, and it is great. I will definitely buy again.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* judy46970 on 4/19/2013 8:37:00 AM more reviews by judy46970

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I use this with my loose powder eyeshadows and it really works! It takes me some rubbing to remove it. The little mixing pot and brush are very useful. I was in doubt about the brush but it works wonderfully for what I use it for. Will buy again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dddoxie on 2/28/2013 12:38:00 PM more reviews by dddoxie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

So...I've been using this for a few weeks now and it works OK to 'set' loose/mineral eyeshadows. It's not as great as it could be, but it works in a pinch.

I purchased this a while ago and just got around to using it, but I should've rechecked the ingredients before doing so because this has propylene glycol and a few others that cause allergic reactions. I'm really trying to weed out nasty ingredients in my cosmetics and this product will be heading in the trash as soon as I get home.

My eyes have been very itchy, red and water for the last couple weeks and I'm just now putting 2 and 2 together...I think this bad boy has something to do with it.

As a cleaner alternative, I will go back to using my Pumpkin & Poppy Foiled Again mixing medium.

Ingredients:

Aqua(Water), Acrylates/Octylacrylamide Copolymer, Propylene Glycol, Benzyl Alcohol, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* annachristina on 1/17/2013 8:58:00 PM more reviews by annachristina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't use this on my eye shadow. I use it on my LIPS.

1. Exfoliate and moisturize lips.
2. Line lips, apply a layer of lipstick and blot. Apply second layer of lipstick.
3. Apply thin layer of Lock & Seal. I use an old lipstick brush. Wait for it to dry.

Yes, I have to keep my lips apart for a bit. That doesn't bother me because my lipstick stays on. Red lipstick. Pink lipstick. Orange lipstick. Brown lipstick. All the lipsticks stay on my lips and I just have to take my lip gloss with me and reapply that as needed.

This works way better than the Lancome stuff that I bought (which doesn't work, by the way) and is far cheaper (only $3).

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 saluthia on 11/27/2012 2:26:00 AM more reviews by saluthia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Let me start by saying I have already purchased another container even though I haven't used my first one up. I used this first for Halloween. I used it as a mixing medium for loose pigment for a fully painted face with tons of different colors and have been using it to create eyeliner in many different shades.

Loose pigment (even scraping out from a pressed shadow works well) + Lock and Seal = budge/smudge and water proof color. This stuff isn't kidding. I don't use it to cover my normal daily eye shadow looks because I don't experience much fading throughout the day so I can't attest to that aspect. I have used it to set my lipstick a few times and it does help it from transferring but I don't use it that way very often.

So instead of using water to use shadows 'wet' I use this! Works great with some of the chalky or sheer eye shadows I have from e.l.f. and other high end brands. I recommend trying it out!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Hayxoh on 6/22/2012 5:33:00 PM more reviews by Hayxoh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Hate to ruin the perfect 5 lippies for this product, but I wasn't impressed with this. I don't really think it helps, elf eyelid primer does all the work.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DecoDolly on 6/3/2012 7:40:00 PM more reviews by DecoDolly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm reviewing this as a lipstick sealer. I haven't used it for anything else, but i will try to remember to update after I do. :)
I'm a bright red lipstick kind of girl, but I also quite enjoy kissin' my man. I usually use long-lasting lipsticks when I'm around him, but I find that the two-steps have glosses that are way too slimy, and the one-steps (like Revlon's, which I do like a lot) tend to flake/wear off in the middle of my mouth, and the colors are somewhat limited. I used to a buy a lipstick sealer from Sephora. I can't remember who made it, but it was awesome! Of course they stopped making it. Thought I'd see how this compared.
I have to say, it's pretty good! I line my lips, fill them in with liner, apply lipstick and blot twice. Then I brush this on over top. My lipstick does fade throughout the day, but it fades evenly! More importantly, there's no transfer! So I can kiss and drink with no problems!
Overall, it's not perfect, but it's cheap and it keeps my lipstick from smearing and tranferring all over everything, so I really can't ask for much more!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 5/26/2012 6:27:00 PM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

It works great for foiling one's eyeshadows with! I like using it with my mineral eyeshadows especially. It really makes the colors pop and it keeps the eyeshadows from creasing or fading at all.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Misc Beauty Tools products