E.L.F. Studio Lock & Seal

4.2

31 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua(Water), Acrylates/Octylacrylamide Copolymer, Propylene Glycol, Benzyl Alcohol, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone


on 5/2/2014 8:40:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This product has been an absolute godsend for my eyebrows!

My brows have been slowly thinning from age and are now so sparse in areas that I have had to apply eyebrow product directly on bare skin, therefore Ihave been in need of a product that will stay in place throughout the day and to withstand any accidental eyebrow touching. Even the products I've tried that are touted as being "long wearing" or waterproof would only last in the areas that had sufficient brow hairs engulfing it, but would fade quickly throughout the day in the more bare areas or, as with some products, get wiped away immediately if I accidentally touched the area.

So....I have been on the hunt for a waterproof, smudgeproof, unbudging eyebrow product (pencil, gel, powder-- I didn't care) and was willing to pay any amount for it. My next products in line to test was to be Anastasia Dipbrow.

Enter E.L.F. Lock & Seal--I stumbled across this product here on MUA and thought, what-the-heck, it was worth a measly $3 to try it out.

Bingo! I finally have indestructible eyebrows!

After some experimenting, here's what I found works best:

1) Create brow (I have been using powder with this product but imagine pencil would work just as well.)
2) Put one drop of Lock & Seal liquid in the small containor supplied and dip the end of the brush that is included with the kit into the liquid.
3) Dab/stipple lightly the end of the bristles into all areas where there is eyebrow product that you want to stay put.
4) Repeat steps 2 & 3 until all eyebrow product has been covered in Lock & Seal. (I find one drop per eyebrow is all I need to cover everything)
5) It sets, it dries---IT DOES NOT MOVE.

My eyebrows survives scratches, accidental rubbings, and they even stayed in tact after taking a shower and washing my hair (I purposely but my face directly under the highest pressure setting on the shower nozzle and they merely faded just a slight bit). Only eyemakeup remover directly applied removes them.

I haven't tried mixing shadows or creams with the Lock & Seal as per instructions but I do know that I wouldn't advise dipping a brush in the Lock & Seal first and then dipping that same brush immediately afterwards into an eyeshadow or brow powder that is still in its original pan because the Lock & Seal liquid will transfer to the pan and cause an unusable area in the powder.

I am so glad I don't have to spend $20 on the Anastasia DipBrow or any other product.

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.



on 4/26/2014 11:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This product worked okay.

It foiled my pigments, but they didn't last that long on my eye. This foiled my pigments just the same as water and lasted just as long as water would. This product also stung my eyes.

It did the job that it was designed to do, but it didn't do it to my liking. I'm not going to purchase this again.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Awesome mixing medium! I always have two bottles on hand in case I lose one. If you love your cake eyeliner but not the pricey the so-called liquid activators or enhancers sold with them, you'll want to have a bottle or two of this on-hand. This is the same thing and at not even a quarter of the price. It makes quick work of tightlining and does not damage or dry out the cake. One drop in the middle of your liner is all you need. I use this with all my liners from Laura Mercier to Fran Wilson. It's yet to ruin one. Plus if you mess up, it doesn't sting your eyes. You can also use it to turn a shadow into liner or a long lasting paste. Just scrape some shadow off into the provided container or onto a palette and mix it up! Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/21/2014 11:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I use this product a bit differently than it's meant for. I buy several bottles at a time and pour them into an empty (E.L.F. mist and set) bottle. I have used many setting sprays, until I started doing this, I was using Urban Decay which I loved, but this just works better. I love not having to worry about touch ups when I'm out. HG product when used in a spray bottle.

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.


on 9/24/2013 8:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Beware! Don't get this in your eyes! It burns. Overall it's good but be careful when using.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is a must have if you love to foil eyeshadows or if you own a lot of baked/mineral shadows. Before purchasing this, I was just using water to apply my mineral shadows, which worked ok, but had a tendency to cake up a bit. With this, I put a drop on a clean flat surface, dip a synthetic brush into it, wipe the excess off on my hand then go straight into the shadow. Applies the shadows with minimal fallout and really packs on the color! And, unlike with just water, truly "locks" them on - no glittery specks dropping onto your cheekbones all day. I still use a primer (I do with all shadows), so I don't experience creasing. I highly recommend this for everyone to have in their stash!
Edit: Still loving this. I've also found if you have a shimmery shadow that you don't want to ruin by dipping a wet brush into the pan, you can apply the shadow first (I like to press it on with a clean finger) then dampen a brush with this and press over shadow.

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.


on 9/16/2013 4:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this product on a whim and I'm so glad I did! I've used it to set eye liner and lip gloss and both have worked phenomenally! I was super surprised by the way it worked with the lip gloss. It never caked or looked gross and stayed glossy! Highly recommended!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 8/15/2013 5:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

One of the first products I had ever bought from ELF. Well glad I did because this product is amazing to me. I use a setting spray but even so with eye primer UDPP or TheBalm as of late my eyes tear and my makeup will get ruined. Since I found this little gem I can now use all of my palettes again:) I use whatever brush that works good for my face. Like for my eyes I use a MAC brush that is long,flat, and dense. I use 1-2 drops. Let it absorb and gently pat my lid. I do not use too much because then it's to stiff. Using just a moist brush over my shadow and liner works! It will not budge until I remove it! Seriously this is an excellent product to make you makeup stay put.

I personally wouldn't use this for foiling because it does feel super stiff. I use Missha mixing medium it has hyluronic acid and a lot of good stuff and is super reasonable. So I would use a mixing medium not this for my eye looks. For me it works better when I pat it on after my eye look is done. I can cry,get allergies, whatever and this will not let my look be ruined. I will be buying more for the price you cannot go wrong, it works and a little goes a long way! Love!
Highly Recommended!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 8/15/2013 10:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Definitely a great product to help keep makeup in place. I am visiting Asia for the summer and I've used this product every day to beat the extreme heat and humidity. The solution is clear and has no added fragrances, which I like because I use this product around sensitive eye areas.
The box instructed to add your powder makeup to the given container and mix a few drops of the Lock and Seal, but I try to be fast and efficient while on vacation so I would add about 3-4 drops into the small given container, use the brush(included in box) and swipe/dab with eyeshadow, and apply. This way I don't have to rinse the container and fill the solution every time i change a shadow. I use neutrals/bronze/brown colors so it's ok when a little bit get mixed up with other shadow during application. If you are using a vibrant color, definitely rinse the container before changing eyeshadow.
The only thing I'm a little disappointed in is that the lower-outer edge of my eyes would still have runny eyeliner/shadow after in a few hours. But to be fair, I was under very humid and hot climate.
This product keeps my eyeshadow in place(mostly) but didn't exactly seal my eyeliner(not waterproof) on my lower lids.
I would still recommend using this, it still keeps my makeup in place nicely and I don't have to worry about my eyeshadow melting off my face. I am definitely purchasing this for my friends and family in Asia to use.
I only use this product around my eye area but I think it would work pretty well with powder blushes as well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/19/2013 2:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Years ago, I had Ben Nye Liquiset. This product seems just like it: turns powder eyeshadow into eyeliner and costs only $3. Plus I can find it at Target instead of detouring to a costume-supply shop. I use it with a synthetic angled eyeshadow brush. (Lock & Seal comes with a brush that is useless for eyeshadow, but is decent for applying cream concealer under the eyes.) There's a handy little pot for dispensing the Lock & Seal. You put two drops into the pot, dip your angled brush into it, and then run the brush across your eyeshadow. Voila, no-smudge eyeliner in any color. It lasts all day, even on my rather oily hooded eyelids.

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.


Popular Misc Beauty Tools


Derma Roller
66 Reviews
the sponge
640 Reviews
Baby Foot
26 Reviews
Mia
1030 Reviews
Foreo - Luna
27 Reviews


Back to Top