Neutrogena Neutrogena Naturals Purifying Pore Scrub

4.2

38 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Purified Water, Vegetable Glycerin, Cocamidopropyl Betaine (Coconut Derived), Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Cocamidopropyl Hydroxysultaine (Cocunut/Palm Kernel Derived), Xanthan Gum (Fermented Plant Matter), Salix Alba (Willow Bark) Extract (White Willow Bark), Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride (Guar Bean Derived), Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil (Jojoba Oil), Glycol Distearate (Vegetable Derived), Sodium Benzoate (*), Fragrance (*)


on 5/26/2014 11:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to like this, so I hate to give a bland rating, but unfortunately, there are a few things I really don't like.

I picked this up from good reviews and I used it for a bit and I really loved how soft and smooth my skin looked, but I seriously question whether I can use salicylic acid. That's my own issue. It's weird, because when I use SA products, my skin breaks out but the area where I don't have break outs is nice and smooth and less red, and this specifically made my tone look really nice. I still got a few breakouts (and still do) but it wasn't horrific for me like most things are. But I really am almost convinced I can't use SA and after going back and forth with that theory a few bajillion times, I really think I have to cut it out. I called Neutrogena and asked how much was in this, and they didn't know, so it's possible that it worked somewhat because the level isn't high or super strong.

But while we're on ingredients, it really bugs me how they list it. While they show how natural the ingredients are, all things are derived from some natural source initially, but by not saying WHAT the chemical name is, it's extremely misleading and hard to find out if there is something in there that is problematic. I suppose if someone has say, a coconut allergy, they won't use it regardless of how it's listed or derived, but so many things are made from coconut product including many soap products so it really bothers me how underhanded that is. I feel they are trying to make it look more natural than it really is and for quality alone it's not like it's the best product.

I'll say the plus is that it smells nice, and it didn't tear my face up like some scrubs or even cleansers can. The beads were very minimal so it doesn't irritate. But estheticians have told me that scrubs should be dissolvable or they can irritate more than we realize. I used to harshly scrub and that has fallen wayyy out of my routine. One of my major long standing issues is bumps and I find scrubbing makes a whole massive ZERO difference. If not irritates it worse. And as I mentioned, SA is not for me, even though everyone swears it's the cure for it. I have had better luck with enzymes and other exfoliants.

I did end up returing this and then months later bought another one. I still didn't 'love' it, I was just desparate for something mildy not-horrific. But I couldn't use it too often and using it sparingly did nothing either so return #2 and I'm done with it. I'm sure someone with less sensitive skin could have luck with it, but generally I feel neutrogena is a pretty chemical-riden and over all not stellar company and I'm not loving the sneakyness of this advertizing.



on 5/11/2014 7:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really like this though I can't use it everday, even though it states you can. The reason for not using it everday is because any exfoliating face wash I've used gives me small skin colored bumps after a few weeks of continuous use. At first I thought my skin didn't like this but then I realized it is just that my skin can't handle so much exfoliating. So I only use this every now and then. I can use it for a few days without any reactions to it, I do this if I happen to be breaking out in small pimples and it'll get rid of them but of course I can only do this for a few days or I'll over exfoliate. I would definitely buy this again and it smells nice (like apples, though not natural apples).


on 3/14/2014 9:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Absolutely love this! I found that this product doesn't overly dry my skin out and I already have dry skin. Great for pimples, I now have clearer skin & it has been years since I have seen my skin looking smooth & less pimply. I'm recommending it to my friend who is also suffering acne.


on 1/25/2014 6:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I have dry skin and my dermatologist recommended that I start exfoliating my skin only ONCE a week, and recommended this product. I first tried it today and I am amazed. All that gross flaky skin has come off beautifully WITHOUT drying my skin out! It also didn't make my face turn red or itch or burn, but I didn't think it would, considering it is a gentle cleanser. I would recommend this as a weekly exfoliating cleanser to anyone with dry skin! :)


on 12/7/2013 11:55:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

THIS STUFF IS A MIRACLE. I have been using this for about two years now on and off of it because I am the queen of buying new products that I end up not liking. but I have always gone back to this product. I have VERY oily acne prone skin and I use this product day and night after I take off my make up. I wash it with a cheap facial brush I got from Sally's. this is ONLY product that clears me up fast and stays that way. I follow it with the neutrogena pore toner and in the morning, the wash with the toner and neutrogenas oil free moisturizer. definitely plan on using this for a while

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/8/2013 5:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My daily facial cleanser(: my sensitive, blemish prone skin had become smooth and soft with this.

I use Dove Unscented beauty bar in the morning, and this Neutrogena wash at night (for a deeper clean and makeup removal) followed by Olay Complete Sensitive moistuizer. My secret for smooth, flawless and healthy skin!


on 8/14/2013 2:14:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I use this twice a day,my skin is so silly and smooth and looks so glowing and healthy


on 7/30/2013 4:00:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a gentle but effective daily scrub. My skin doesn't like most cleansers. If at all emollient, it breaks out. If too strong, it gets irritated. I'm on my second tube and can't remember buying any facial cleanser more than once in years.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/6/2013 9:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Does what it says on the tin. It's not a harsh scrub at all, but your face comes out feeling soft. It isn't really a mask, so it wont really draw out black heads or impurities.

In fact, I like it for that - this really is a "one use" product, in that it is simply just a cleansing scrub. Won't go deeper than skin level.

So this is nice and gentle and you could use it frequently, without damaging your skin (like a lot of other grainy scrubs). But you will need to pair it with a mask that can draw out deeper dirt in the pores.

I like where Neutrogena is going with the 'natural' brand.

Overall, will keep using to say whether I would buy again or not. I probably would if it was on sale.


on 7/4/2013 3:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I am 30 years old and have unpredictable acne. It comes and goes as it pleases depending on my stress, food I eat, makeup I use or anything else that triggers those awful blemishes. I have been using this product along with the acne cream cleanser at least once a day in the shower for over a month. I have also been using the multi-vitamin nourishing moisturizer and the acne spot treatment at least once a day. I have noticed a huge decrease in the redness in my problem areas, the amount of blemishes I get and the length of time the blemishes last. I love this stuff. I am still not able to wear makeup the way I would like, but I am more confident with my skin. Also, my skin is not oily or dry; I just get acne.

This product has little micro beads that exfoliate just enough to allow the acne cleanser to really get in and do its job. The smell is pleasant to me. I can not describe it, but it is relaxing.


Popular Scrubs


Ocean Salt
701 Reviews
Apricot Scrub
2617 Reviews
Green Tea Scrub
332 Reviews
Back to Top