LUSH Ocean Salt

4.0

711 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Fine Sea Salt (Sodium Chloride), Fresh Grapefruit Infusion (Citrus grandis), Coarse Sea Salt (Sodium Chloride), Stearic Acid, Fresh Lime Extracted in Vodka (Citrus aurantifolia), Sodium Cocoamphoacetate, Glycol Cetearate, Triethanolamine, Fresh Avocado Butter (Persea gratissima), Coconut Fat (Cocos nucifera), Lime Oil (Citrus aurantifolia), Seaweed Absolute (Fucus vesiculosus), Violet Leaf Absolute (Viola odorata), Glycerine, Lanolin, Cetearyl Alcohol, *Limonene, *Linalool, Perfume, FD&C Blue No. 1, Methylparaben, Propylparaben.


on 5/29/2015 11:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I absolutely love this scrub. It smells amazing, and can last a while if you use it sparingly. As a body scrub, it is fantastic. Not so much as a face scrub, as I have sensitive skin. When I do use it on my face, I feel almost TOO clean and I get that squeaky clean feeling.

The price is too expensive for just a body scrub, as I dont use it that often. (Frank is my holy grail)
Wouldn't repurchase again unless it was cheaper.



on 5/18/2015 6:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I wanted to try Ocean salt so much for the reviews were so positive! I have acne prone skin and I was told this scrub would be my holy grail skin care product. I purchased the self preserving version, when I applied it to my face it really felt like deep exfoliating my skin but after a couple of seconds the salt dilutes and you don't really get that much exfoliation. I was ok with that cause it wasn't as hard as everyone said (at least my pot). The problem for me and my oily skin with this product was that after I washed it off, my skin was feeling greasy and stiky!!!!! (Literally, my worst nightmare), some ingredients are meant to moisturize the skin after but they clogged my pores and sometimes left some soft of 'butter' around my face that was really hard to get off :( so after trying it 6 or 7 times I gave up on it, I didn't want it to break me out. I think for my dry legs tho it works fine, so if you have combination or dry skin you could give it a shot! But it's a sure NO NO for acne prone!


on 5/13/2015 9:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

On my second tub, addicted to the smell and feel! Feel so fresh after using it!


on 5/8/2015 2:46:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have very dry and EXTREMELY sensitive skin on my face. This hurt so bad. The sales girl said this is fine for sensitive skin, but let me tell you it is not! It took my face a week to recover from this. I gave it 2 stars because it is nice on the body though.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My most favorite product from lush! Been using it for more than 4-5yrs :)) i mainly use it on my body. (I apply it without water, i love it that way) It always makes my skin look vibrant, healthy and squeaky clean, ive tried on so many body scrubs none of them even compares to ocean salt. On my face i only use it once or twice a week But with small amount of water since its very abrasive for me, i have a very sensitive face (i only use chanel douceur milk cleanser for everyday use). I will purchase this forever. Its a must have :))


on 5/6/2015 1:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Though I have switched over to an otherwise entirely natural skincare routine, I cannot seem to give this product up - it's the only store-bought skincare product I use.

Since changing to natural skincare, my skin has become normal and balanced. My acne, which used to be severe, is now mostly gone. I get a hormonal breakout here and there and tend to get some small bumps/dry spots when my mild rosacea flares up, but it's nothing like it was in the past. I am happy with my skin for the first time in 10 years.

Ocean Salt helps me to maintain and improve my skin's condition when I use it one or two nights a week. I find that removing some of the dead skin from the surface helps to further prevent my breakouts, makes my makeup apply better, and keeps the small bumps from forming. While I have tried home-made scrubs, they just don't do for my skin what Ocean Salt does.

To use Ocean Salt, I apply it to my face and rub it in VERY gently. It's got quite large salt granules in it but they don't irritate my face unless I use too much pressure. I make sure to avoid any cracked or open skin. I feel the need to stress that if your skin is dry to the point of being chapped or if you have a lot of open/popped blemishes, I would avoid this product until things heal a bit. On open skin the combination of salt, citrus, and alcohol is not a good time. The smell is tropical and fresh and, even though there is some alcohol in it, my skin feels hydrated and looks bright after use. I follow with an alcohol free toner and some oil to moisturize and my skin is left smooth and soft. If it have any blemishes, they are reduced when I wake up in the morning. The redness in my cheeks seems to even out a little as well.

I know that this is a lengthy review, but I felt the need to go into so much detail with the history and current state of my skin because of the amazing changes. Ocean Salt has been a staple and has really helped me in the process of getting rid of my acne, balancing my oil levels and smoothing my texture. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND giving it a try. It's well worth the price and, since I only use it on my face 1-2 times a week, it lasts quite a long time. Also, if you end up not liking it as a face scrub, you can always use it on your body! It's awesome to use before sunless tanners.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/3/2015 11:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love a sea salt scrub, the scent makes you feel like you're at the beach! However, the salt chunks in this are huge! I think I prefer smaller grains of salt, so I'm not sure if I'll repurchase this. My skin sometimes gets red from the large chunks of salt, so I only use this at night and not often. Probably wouldn't recommend for sensitive skin.


on 4/26/2015 5:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have sensitive and dry skin, and this scrub causes HUGE discomfort and overall irritated skin. Do not recommend.


on 4/24/2015 10:12:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

splurge


on 4/18/2015 5:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I'm pretty particular about my skincare. I use my Clarisonic religiously with Purity cleanser by Philosophy and moisturize with a homeade serum of 100% pure, organic Argan Oil mixed with Elemi essential oil, lanvender essential oil, and lemon essential oil.(highest grade oil you can find, young living brand). When I read what all was in the ocean salt I was impressed. I went to my local Lush store and snatched it up, went home and scrubbed my face. *LADIES- do not use this with your Clarisonic, use after you have cleansed your face!* I was impressed with the results of the Ocean Salt. Left my skin glowing, moisturized, and smooth. Oh, so so smooth. I was in love. I have used this product for a year now. It is my HG exfoliater.


Back to Top