Oxy • Sensitive Skin Acne Treatment • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.8(22 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Zebrafish76 on 5/29/2007 2:12:00 AM more reviews by Zebrafish76

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Used to swear by Oxy 5 Sensitive Skin Vanishing Lotion religiously when it was in the white bottle. Would apply it all over before bed, and it took care of all my zits.

Now, this new black bottle formula doesn't seem to be doing as good a job. As other reviewers mentioned, it stinks, and I'm getting less consistent results.

Sigh! Time for a new solution.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thriftygirl on 12/22/2006 10:41:00 AM more reviews by thriftygirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This used to be my HG in my battle against acne. I got it to replace Neutrogena On-the-Spot which wasn't strong enough, and was too drying. Oxy got my acne down to a minimum, but Oxy has since reformulated this product. I'm not sure what exactly they changed (besides the packaging), but it doesn't seem to work as well anymore. There is also a new distinct odor to it. My friend even asked me why I smelled like cheese, and it does have a cheesy smell to it now. I'll probably keep buying this until I find something else. (Also this is now called Standard, instead of Sensitive Skin, but they're the same.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* teddy_toilet on 7/1/2006 8:45:00 PM more reviews by teddy_toilet

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Best blemish tretment I've used. I have by no means acne-prone skin, my skin is combination and sensitive. Plus, my skin rarly, if ever, breaks out. Unfourtunatly, when the weather changes my skin changes too, in a bad way. When the weather gets cold my skin has absolutly no moisture in it whatsoever and is incredibly flakey and itchy. However, when the weather gets warmer, my skin gets blotchy, oily in the T-zone and it breaks out a bit in odd places. I got this weird patch of milia (similar to whiteheads) on my forehead and nothing would make them go away. Then, I tried this stuff and Voilą! They're gone in under a week! I use the Clean & Clear Daily Pore Cleanser morning and night and this stuff on any rare blemishes I get. Now, my skin is back to it's perfect self:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SunriseSunset on 7/22/2005 6:44:00 AM more reviews by SunriseSunset

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My holy grail acne killer, and it's so cheap. You can slather it on and not worry about dryness or redness because it's designed for sensitive skin. 5% BP so it will get rid of the zit in record time without being harsh like 10% treatments, or too weak, like the 2.5% treatments. They had better not discontinue this! UPDATE: they reformulated and it's not working as well for me. I hate the black bottle, it looks masculine! Won't be buying this anymore, sadly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emdashem on 5/27/2005 11:40:00 AM more reviews by emdashem

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I use this regularly and am pretty satisfied. It's especially helpful if you find the maximum strength stuff (10% BP) too drying, as I do. For some reason, most of the drugstores in my area ONLY stock 10% solutions, so finding Oxy for sensitive skin is a little more of an effort. But when I see that turquoise packaging, all is well!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 briemac on 9/3/2004 4:46:00 AM more reviews by briemac

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Great product. Correction, amazing product. After trying virtually every antibiotic out there, this seems to be the only thing that keeps me acne free. I use it with cetaphil moisturizing lotion to prevent excessive dryness. Works like a charm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hoku on 7/14/2004 10:34:00 PM more reviews by hoku

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I think it would be better if the product was more in a "tube" format, than the little bottle it's currently in. you could get practically everything out, if it were in tube format.

This Benzoyl Peroxide lotion is 2.5%, just like Neutrogena's On the Spot acne treatment. However, I like Oxy's BP more than neutrogena's, because I felt it doesn't sting as much as neutrogena's (despite the same BP percentage) and it spreads more evenly.

I use this bp lotion everyday as part of an acne regimen I discovered on the net (www.acne.org) which has the same general idea of Proactiv, but at a much cheaper cost. It can be a teeny tiny bit drying, but if you use an oil-free moisturizer over top, you'll be fine. Personally, I use an oil-free sunscreen over top of the Bp during the day because over time, the bp will make your skin sensitive to direct sunlight. (which can make you burn easily and get red skin). At night, I wear the lotion with an oil-free lotion (Biore).

The point of this bp lotion is to be used over the whole face, not just spots. In fact, spot treating doesn't work; you need to prevent the acne from surfacing altogether! That's why, even when i don't have pimples, I continue to use this bp lotion.

Each bottle lasts me about 3-5 weeks, and is about $6.50 Canadian. I think that's a pretty good price, when compared to Neutrogena's On-The-Spot at $9.50.

I will continue purchasing! I've been using this for about 3 months

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 NascarFan123 on 3/12/2004 2:11:00 AM more reviews by NascarFan123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I used it once and then put it in my drawer to keep in case i ran out of my good stuff... a couple weeks later used it and dried my skin up horribly then i am using it right now becuase i ran out of my good stuff from Origins... but im hoping it doesnt make my skin to dry! this stuff really doest get rid of my zits either just makes them red. thank god its the weekend in case all goes wrong

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sunshine19019 on 12/1/2003 7:07:00 PM more reviews by sunshine19019

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

it makes my skin sooooooooo dry!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 calchick on 10/7/2003 5:44:00 PM more reviews by calchick

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My face started to break out in small pimples all over my forehead and on my cheeks. I didn't know what was going on with my skin. I usually only have one or two little pimples. I tried the Oxy treatment and within a few days the pimples were less red and seemed to dry up. It's now been 10 days and I've also started to use Paula's Choice 2% BHA and my face is totally clearing up. No new pimples. The only thing is that the Oxy Treatment is a tad drying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Oxy products

More Treatments (Face) products