Physicians Formula • Eye Booster 2-in-1 Lash Boosting Eyeliner + Serum • Eyeliner

rated 4.4(357 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 kkay123 on 7/16/2014 9:21:00 AM more reviews by kkay123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Oh boy I wanted to love this eyeliner so badly but unfortunately it was probably one of the worst eyeliners I have purchased in recent years. I would like to think the one I purchased was just from a 'bad batch' because the reviews on MUA were too different from my experience with this eyeliner. And because I bought this in Australia (at Priceline) maybe when it was shipped the eyeliner was ruined? I don't know but my experience (as I mentioned already) was way too different with majority of the reviews here. And also, this eyeliner isn't really cheap in Australia it's $22 when it's not on discount.

First of all, I read all the instructions and proceeded to shake the (living crap out of the) eyeliner, expecting a solid black line on my hand before I lined my eyes with this eyeliner. First stroke - watery, not pigmented (more like a dark grey). I thought 'whatever just use it' and so I did. I started lining my eyes and to my dismay it just didn't do the job. It was not pigmented at all and I had to go over the line many times. But as I was lining my eyes (in order to make it darker), the brush would just wipe off the eyeliner that is already on my eyelid. Ugh a nightmare as you can imagine. But I refuse to give up.

Second time using it. First stroke was a little more pigmented than the first time using it. However the same problem occurred after like 2 strokes of the eyeliner on my lids. Disappointed.

Ever since then I kept using it maybe about twice a week (because I refuse to believe this eyeliner is bad haha) and nope, just didn't work. Even more so, it started leaving tiny black particles on my eyelid after lining it.

I do have a pro though (YAAAY), despite my negative review. The brush is very soft and it glided smoothly over my eyelids which is something I can appreciate. But apart from that, longevity, pigmentation and performance were horrible.

I don't know should I buy this eyeliner again. Maybe the one I bought has been sitting on the shelf for a long long time already? I can try getting one when I visit the US in the future. But for now, I'll just use something I know will work at 8 in the morning when i rush for university.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Maeariecx on 7/11/2014 11:29:00 PM more reviews by Maeariecx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have asian/monolids and it tends to be really oily! Whatever eyeliner I use it would always smudge or fade away within a few hours. This does not, I went out for 6 hours in the sun and it stayed well on my eyelid and I was able to apply it easily. Although around the 5-6 hour I noticed a tad bit of smudging, it wasn't "super" noticeable so it was fine. It's cheaper than high-end eyeliners, I got mine for around $10 at London Drugs, I recommend shaking the product before using and to keep the pen standing upwards so that the product goes down to the tip!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* payjark on 7/7/2014 8:39:00 PM more reviews by payjark

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have gone through an unbelievable amount of these. I LOVE this liner. I will never buy any other black liquid liner. This liner glides on the eyes and really makes my eyes pop. Also, the felt tip is very thin and easy to apply to my hooded lids. It also stays on all day and then some! I have taken a nap with this liner on and no smudges or running. Amazing product!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 UHDPA on 6/21/2014 10:48:00 AM more reviews by UHDPA

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

Amazing eyeliner!!! So easy to use and lasts all day...Washes off easily too. I always get compliments when wearing it, I recommend it to all the ladies. The ultra black is the best, the regular black is not very dark...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UWMsGirl on 6/11/2014 7:17:00 PM more reviews by UWMsGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok, I guess I am the odd one out here because I really do not like this product at all. After reading all the raves about this product, thought I would try it and I guess it just didn't work for me. I bought the darkest black and IMO it's not even dark, not as black as I wanted it to be. When I apply it I find that it applies unevenly, even if I go over it again it just doesn't go on smoothly. The lasting power on this isn't good either, by mid-day my eyeliner is completely gone. I don't know if I got a "bad" one or what, but I will not be buying this again.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 DJCupcakes on 6/11/2014 12:53:00 AM more reviews by DJCupcakes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this after hearing months of raves for it. Mine is in the color "Deep Brown." Long story short: it'll do the job, but it's not life-changing.

Long story long:
First off, I like the packaging. The pen is sleek and classy-looking, the lid snaps securely, and I've had no issues with product leaking or the plastic cracking. Thumbs up there. (I do feel like the giant plastic box it comes in is a bit ridiculous, though; talk about excessive packaging...)
The felt tip is very soft and flexible, not hard at all. It draws smoothly with no tugging on the lids.
The liner wears very well throughout the day. It dries quickly on the skin and does not flake off or smudge.

My problems? Firstly, the pigment and consistency. The color goes on patchy, so while the product applies smoothly, I do usually have to go back over certain areas again (sometimes once more, sometimes twice) in order to get an even distribution of color. Furthermore, when the liner dries, it sheers out, so what looked like a nice, dark line when you were drawing it suddenly looks a few shades lighter by the time you finish your whole eye. It CAN be layered without issue, but I don't really like having to go over my eyeliner again.

The other problem I have with it is that while the soft, bendy felt tip makes it comfortable to use, I don't feel like I have much control over the line. The point on it is VERY fine; it's hard to describe exactly how fine it is. So there should be no trouble getting a thin line, right? Well, I can certainly do it on the back of my hand, but for some reason, I can't make it happen on my eye. The absolute lack of any stiffness at all makes it almost impossible to draw a very thin line on the eye unless I pull the skin completely tight, which is not something I want to do when putting on my eyeliner every day. My line ends up looking uneven and a bit squiggly, which results in it growing thicker and thicker as I try to even it out.

Also, the lash growth claims are silly and of course false, but I assume most reasonable people know that going in. I certainly didn't expect anything from it in that aspect.

Overall, I loved the convenience of the pen at first, but it was deceptively high maintenance. I won't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 outofherhead on 6/9/2014 9:11:00 PM more reviews by outofherhead

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this. I was using physicians formula's eye definer felt tip which I think is just fine, but I find this, for me to be far better. I've tried both the black, and the ultra black. The ultra black for me is better for nights out, because it's harsher, but really not too different from the black. It stays put, lasts me all day, makes nice sharp lines. It is my go to eyeliner. I've recommended it to two friends one being a teenager, and they both loved it too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 whiimsical on 6/6/2014 7:49:00 PM more reviews by whiimsical

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The product is fantastic. It stays on, has a great fine point tip. However, you get very little product, especially for the price you're paying. When I recently repurchased, I found that when I uncapped the pen, the ink cartridge would come out! This happened not once but twice, when I bought the black and brown on two different occasions. Seems like quality control may be slipping. This is also how I know you get very little product, because the cartridge is only half the length of the actual pen.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 christyk on 6/2/2014 3:49:00 PM more reviews by christyk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is pretty great... I am a cat-eye novice, and what usually takes me an hour to do took about 10 minutes. I bought ultra black, and I found I had to go over the line multiple times to get it dark enough, but the control with this pen is fantastic. I have always hated pen type liners (hate felt liners), but the brush on this is great. Dries super fast too. I still had a little trouble getting the line thin enough for my hooded eyes, but I think with practice this will work really well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pauliepocket on 6/1/2014 3:29:00 PM more reviews by pauliepocket

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I AM OBSESSED! I've never purchased a high end eyeliner before, and now I'll never need to! I am so mad that I'm only discovering this eyeliner now. I've only ever used felt tip eyeliners, and have never been really pleased with them. My eyelids usually get oily and after a couple of hours, its completely gone. I've tried the stilla eye liner which I got as a deluxe sample at sephora before, which wasn't HG, but did its job. I was about the purchase a whole size, when I stumbled upon this while watching youtube videos. I will never look back. The synthetic tip on this eyeliner is perfect for winged liner! Its super easy to use and is long lasting. I will never buy another eyeliner other than this one, this is my HG.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Physicians Formula products

More Eyeliner products