Essie • Neo-Whimsical • Polishes

rated 3.3(23 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Sharkzilla on 12/17/2011 2:49:00 PM more reviews by Sharkzilla

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Usually I don't go for Essie polishes because they tend to be streaky and watery, they usually take a lot of work to get them looking nice.

I have been admiring Neo-Whimsical since it was released but New Zealand never got the collection in. It was only when I saw it in person I saw how pretty it was. A light lilac creme.

I put it on for the first time last night. 3 coats and it could have used a fourth because it still had bald patches and minor streaks. Sometimes just applying top coat can get rid of those, and it did but only a little bit.

I am determined to get this polish to work better. I suggest layering it over ridgefiller or you could apply one coat of a sheer polish first. This would help to build the colour up quicker and hopefully give it something more to 'grab' on to and not give you bald patches.

I absolutely adore the colour. Other lilacs I have tried tended to be too blue or too yellow, Neo-Whimsical is just right and what I have been looking for all these years.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CocoPinkXO on 7/25/2011 9:18:00 AM more reviews by CocoPinkXO

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love this shade. It's a pastel pinky lilac and is so pretty. It's one of my fav shades to wear. I haven't seen many photo's online of it that capture how pretty it is, def give it a try. I chose it over Lilacism since the pink tone looked more appealing to me and I'm very happy I got it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 PrincesadeHielo on 5/18/2011 5:12:00 PM more reviews by PrincesadeHielo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

If a nail polish manages to survive more than 3 days on my short nails with some flakes near the new growth,it's a wonderful polish which is worth re-buying. This one is definitely not.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bananna1113 on 4/9/2011 11:39:00 PM more reviews by bananna1113

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Are all Essie polishes thin, runny, and sheer? I have Neo-Whimsical and Really Red by Essie and they're both the same consistency requiring a minimum of three coats to achieve any opaqueness and uniformity! :( I think I will give another of Essie's colors a shot, but I definitely will not be repurchasing this. I absolutely love the milky, violet pink color this polish is in the bottle, but the formula is a nightmare to work with.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 4/4/2011 9:11:00 AM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A little chalky, a little streaky and IMO, not bottle worthy.
Even having a pro apply it it only looked "ok". Very hard to apply this cool-toned purpley-pinkish whitish color.


Not a fave. Not a HG.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 absolia on 3/2/2011 2:55:00 PM more reviews by absolia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like this color a lot but it's just SO streaky and the formula is so.. watery. It gets everywhere if you have just a bit too much on the brush, but then if you don't have enough the streakiness is out of control. Kind of a miss but I make it work. Also, don't buy Essie anywhere but from a cheap Amazon shop; $8 is overpriced for such an overrated brand.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mittengirl on 9/27/2010 12:53:00 PM more reviews by Mittengirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The perfect color!

Not too pink with just a hint of lilac.

Gorgeous for anyone with cool-toned skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* asaksa on 8/14/2010 9:12:00 PM more reviews by asaksa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Love this baby pink matte color. But I agree, it streaks and stool 3coats before it dried at the salon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cutiebunny on 6/19/2010 1:58:00 PM more reviews by cutiebunny

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The formula on this is not user friendly at all. Very thick yet it is also very streaky. It took 2 thick coats for it to be decent and opaque but I can still see streaks. Color looks pretty though. Unfortunately, this is going back to the store.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MaryEllen on 4/19/2010 12:02:00 AM more reviews by MaryEllen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Ditto what the other reviewers said--beautiful color, extremely difficult to apply. Three thick coats plus Seche Vite top coat finally got me a decent-looking manicure, but it was a time consuming effort. Every now and then, Essie puts out a polish like this, and I am invariably drawn to the color but put off by the application. This polish is very thin, which obviously contributes to the problem. I will enjoy this manicure, but will not repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products