Essie Neo-Whimsical

3.2

24 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/26/2012 8:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is the first very pale pink/lilac that I really like. Excellent coverage with two coats and I didn't have any problems with streaking. It is a creme finish and I'm very pleased with it. Much easier to apply than something like Mod Pink for me. Highly recommended.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 12/17/2011 2:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Usually I don't go for Essie polishes because they tend to be streaky and watery, they usually take a lot of work to get them looking nice.

I have been admiring Neo-Whimsical since it was released but New Zealand never got the collection in. It was only when I saw it in person I saw how pretty it was. A light lilac creme.

I put it on for the first time last night. 3 coats and it could have used a fourth because it still had bald patches and minor streaks. Sometimes just applying top coat can get rid of those, and it did but only a little bit.

I am determined to get this polish to work better. I suggest layering it over ridgefiller or you could apply one coat of a sheer polish first. This would help to build the colour up quicker and hopefully give it something more to 'grab' on to and not give you bald patches.

I absolutely adore the colour. Other lilacs I have tried tended to be too blue or too yellow, Neo-Whimsical is just right and what I have been looking for all these years.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/25/2011 9:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this shade. It's a pastel pinky lilac and is so pretty. It's one of my fav shades to wear. I haven't seen many photo's online of it that capture how pretty it is, def give it a try. I chose it over Lilacism since the pink tone looked more appealing to me and I'm very happy I got it!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

If a nail polish manages to survive more than 3 days on my short nails with some flakes near the new growth,it's a wonderful polish which is worth re-buying. This one is definitely not.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/9/2011 11:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Are all Essie polishes thin, runny, and sheer? I have Neo-Whimsical and Really Red by Essie and they're both the same consistency requiring a minimum of three coats to achieve any opaqueness and uniformity! :( I think I will give another of Essie's colors a shot, but I definitely will not be repurchasing this. I absolutely love the milky, violet pink color this polish is in the bottle, but the formula is a nightmare to work with.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/4/2011 9:11:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

A little chalky, a little streaky and IMO, not bottle worthy.
Even having a pro apply it it only looked "ok". Very hard to apply this cool-toned purpley-pinkish whitish color.


Not a fave. Not a HG.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/2/2011 2:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I like this color a lot but it's just SO streaky and the formula is so.. watery. It gets everywhere if you have just a bit too much on the brush, but then if you don't have enough the streakiness is out of control. Kind of a miss but I make it work. Also, don't buy Essie anywhere but from a cheap Amazon shop; $8 is overpriced for such an overrated brand.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/27/2010 12:53:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The perfect color!

Not too pink with just a hint of lilac.

Gorgeous for anyone with cool-toned skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/14/2010 9:12:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

Love this baby pink matte color. But I agree, it streaks and stool 3coats before it dried at the salon.


on 6/19/2010 1:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The formula on this is not user friendly at all. Very thick yet it is also very streaky. It took 2 thick coats for it to be decent and opaque but I can still see streaks. Color looks pretty though. Unfortunately, this is going back to the store.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Essie Products

image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Watermelon

52 reviews
image

Chinchilly

135 reviews
image

Lady Like

65 reviews
Back to Top