Simple smoothing cleansing scrub

2.9

31 reviews

41% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/22/2014 12:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

I bought this product to keep in the shower when I ran out of my Clean & Clear exfoliator. My review is full of positives but I'm not effusively thrilled about the product. I'd buy it again, but I'm a pretty fickle buyer and would more likely try something else first. (Which might work against me!)

This is a VERY non-irritating exfoliator. Great for daily or near-daily use in the shower on my face and chest. My skin is pretty sensitive, and I use a lot of products that can play poorly with exfoliators (glycolic acids, retinols). This didn't irritate me or break me out at all.

But it's also....not a very special experience. Maybe I'm looking for too much in a product, but the scentlessness makes it boring. Non-irritating but boring. It was also pretty cheap, about $6 at Publix. Packaging is a tube that stays closed - good. Also, the tube is translucent so you can tell when you're running out. I think Simple products are often on sale at CVS.



on 12/23/2013 12:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this along with a couple other things from this line (soothing toner and the replenishing rich moisturizer). I have to admit... the rice grain scrubs are a bit different and more gentle on my face than the St. Ives (apricot) one i was using prior to this. Unfortunately, i'm not a huge fan of this scrub. it does an OK job in exfoliating my skin, but i also felt it left a filmy residue on my skin (perhaps from the rice?). I kept rinsing my face, but still felt the film there. Too bad, my search for a good facial exfoliator continues!

Update - this scrub also made me break out. I'm guessing it's from the rice granules. They leave a filmy residue that i can't seem to get rid of. will be returning.


on 9/15/2013 10:38:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I was scared when I read all the negative reviews. But I went ahead and bought it because it promised to be a soft, gentle exfoliant with no chemicals. Since I have very sensitive, thin skin, I was looking for something that won't scrub or scrape like my current one by Ole Henriken. I used it once so far, but aside from the slightly plastic-ky smell, I really liked it! I just know that it left my face soft and it was not harsh.


on 8/26/2013 4:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

YUCK! I hate this stuff and I hate the simple skin care line! I was so excited when this finally came to the US, it was finally a drugstore product that wasn't harsh (or so it claimed). I tried the vital vitamins lotion and at first I loved it. Well a few days after I started it, my skin was breaking out like it never does. Horrible cystic acne everywhere...it was a nightmare. Then, I removed it from my skincare and tada! Acne went away. Now I thought it was just that product, and I decided to give it another go. I bought this and used it twice a week. At first, no reaction (a good thing), but then I started breaking out and I wasn't sure if this was the cause. So one night I decided to use ONLY this product on my nose.. and lo and behold.. the next morning I had a huge zit on my nose. So disappointing, and this stuff smells awful. And I won't even mention how not simple this skincare line is....some nasty ingredients. stay away!


on 6/21/2013 8:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

works good, cleans your skin gently if use a couple times a week, granules not big and not hard


on 12/17/2012 10:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely love exfoliating. The problem I've had with many (and boy, do I mean many) companies, is that there are chemicals that are too harsh for my combination, but sensitive, skin.

Well... lo and behold... Simple finally makes its appearance to the US!

Simple has made an exfoliating scrub that works wonders for me. I do understand that this product may not work for everyone (it really depends on your skin!), however, I genuinely love this scrub. There is a scent (slightly citrusy) and the exfoliating particles are slightly on the large side (they're rice grains).

I say, give this scrub a chance!! You are able to purchase it at most drugstores/major supermarkets, and this company goes on sale frequently and it is already very affordable even without a sale!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/9/2012 10:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love the other Simple products I've tried, so when I had a really good coupon, I picked up a tube of this exfoliating scrub. The scrub doesn't have as many of those "beads" or whatever is in it that makes it rough on your skin as a lot of other brands I've tried, so you don't really feel it when you're washing your face. To top it off, it absolutely STINKS. The smell is so bad that I end up having to wash my face with something else just to get the smell off of me after I use this product. I would definitely not buy this again.


on 9/27/2012 1:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I'm surprised to see so many negative reviews. As someone with very dry, acne-prone skin, it's good for me to find an exfoliating scrub that is gentle yet powerful enough to remove any "buildup" that I have left on my skin. This stuff works wonderfully. No perfumes that sting my skin, no huge granules of random scrubby-material, just a great, gentle scrub that polishes my skin and makes me look so great. LOVE IT.


******EDIT 1/28/2013 ********

Sadly, this stuff smells like chemicals.. and the ingredients really *aren't* that simple. I am taking off 3 lippies for this. I have swapped this out for a good ol' clarisonic.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/9/2012 2:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This leaves my skin smooth and soft. I also use a glycolic toner so I don't want a harsh mechanical scrub, and this is perfect.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like this product. I purchased it because I wanted a gentle scrub to use after I got home from the gym. I think it cleanses well and makes my skin feel nice. If you're looking for a very rough exfoliant, this is not it. The particles are not very densely packed. But if you are looking for something gentle and non irritating that mildly exfoliates I think this works well. I would purchase it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top