E.L.F. Studio Cool Bronzer


65 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $


Mica, Talk, Magnesium Myristate, Zinc Stearate, Titanium Dioxide, Octyldodecanol, Dimethicone, Silica, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Boron Nitride. MAY CONTAIN: Iron Oxides (CI 77491 CI 77492 CI 77499), D&C Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), FD&C Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Red No.40 Lake (CI 16035).

on 9/29/2013 11:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Great red-based bronzer. Doesn't make me look orange!! Which is exactly what I was looking for. So affordable. Love how you can use the colours separately too for contouring, blush, highlight etc and then swirl all together and it gives a nice deep bronze. Great for using over my neck and decolletage as well because you only need a tiny amount, you do have to use a very light hand with this or it could be very VERY dark and overkill for fairer skin types. Nothing will beat my NARS Laguna - but this is so awesome for the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 8/30/2013 6:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This truly is a wonderful product. Everything about this bronzer is perfect. I have tried many bronzers from top brands like chanel and nars and this one out performs them all and for $3 dollars you can not go wrong. I use the darkest shade to contour my cheek bones. Then I use the large e.l.f complexion brush(another amazing e.l.f product) and blend all shades all over my face. What I love most about this bronzer is how Matte it is. No shimmer just perfect color. You can use the white shade for your T-zone to highlight and it even goes on nicely as an eyeshadow. I use the light brown shade to contour my nose for a perfect flawless look.
I use it thoughout the day and it takes away the shine. I finish it off with Chanel's poudre douce in 40 lilas for a silky bronzing look. This is definetly an everyday product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 8/29/2013 10:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is the best bronzer/blush I have ever found for fair skin (I am very fair and yellow undertoned). This is a red based bronze with no orange and the best thing is I can use this is a full face palette - the darker brown on the eyes, the bronzer to blend out with some eyeliner and mascara is the perfect daytime eye on me, the white as a brow bone/cheek bone highlight, the bronze and the white swirled together makes the perfect contour on me and then the pale rosy peach pink blush on the cheeks. I love that the deep brown and pink blush in this is identical to the blush/bronzer duo in 'turks and caicos' except they are matte and don't have the horrible golden glitter that that one had. I am very impressed by this product and it will be come a go-to for me I just know I should buy a back-up now!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Well hallelujah, I've FINALLY found a great contour powder for my pale skin *squeal!!*
For reference, I'm almost 31y/o with fair and mostly neutral (slightly warm) undertones (around N/NC10-13ish ATM) My skin is also oily and acne/clog-prone. I have brown hair & eyes and my "season" I *think* is considered a Clear Winter.

I've always felt like contouring can really add something special to a full face of makeup, but never could find my *perfect* one. Before finding this $3 ELF gem I'd previously been using L'Oreal True Match pressed powder in C7/Nut Brown (which I never would have thought to purchase on my own but saw several youtubers using it successfully) - and while that worked ok, it was a *tad* too dark for me so therefore required a lot of blending into my pale skin.
Everything else I tried either didn't look right (too warm, too cool) OR, broke me out. (NYX Taupe, Chanel Notorious, & NYC Sunny are a few of these examples)

Not long ago I was placing a drugstore.com order and needed to add something for $2 and some change to get free shipping. I placed this bronzer in my cart (on a total whim without reading reviews!) for $3, got it home and it's perfection. I think I've used it everyday since lol

I typically use a large/fluffy blush brush for applying contour powders or bronzers but this specific one I've been applying a little differently, using ELF's Studio Blush Brush. It's not big and fluffy like you'd expect a blush brush to be, it's actually a little thin and tapered(but very soft!).
So I've been lightly swirling that brush through the middle of this powder (making sure to catch all 4 shades) dab it on to the areas of my face that I want to contour, then go back with a kabuki brush and blend those "dabbed" areas out (if that makes sense? lol ;D) -It works like a charm!

As you can see in the photos others have posted above, this bronzer is one that contains 4 shades that are all completely, 100% matte. (not easy to find in a drugstore bronzer) There's a stark white, a medium rosy pink, a light bronzer shade (almost like a light brown) and a darker bronzer shade (like a med-dark brown).
The packaging is sleek (as all ELF Studio products are) - In the medium size black compact similar to NARS.

I really can not think of anything wrong with this bronzer. The price is right, the colors are pigmented yet not too pigmented or difficult to work with, it does not break out my finicky skin, and provides that "sculpted" look that I've been craving :)
The only person I wouldn't recommend this to would be someone looking for a bronzer that is going to "brighten" up their complexion. I don't have this issue as I'm a highlighter freak with oily skin-I'm always lookin "glowy" (lol ;D) But some others do want their bronzer to give a "glow" or "sunkissed look". Since this is matte, it will not give that kind of finish. I'd recommend the Golden or Warm bronzers from the ELF, NYC Coney Island Glow, or Physicians Formula Happy Booster Bronzers as these are my favorite NON-matte, inexpensive bronzers :)

I know a GREAT many of us struggle to find that perfect contour shade that can double as a bronzer and if you're someone out there who's still struggling to find it ya gotta give this a try, for $3 it's awesome. I do highly recommend and would certainly repurchase. 5 lippies well deserved ELF :)

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

on 2/18/2013 11:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Although this is a bronzer, I love using it as an eyeshadow. The colors area really matte which is great for contouring since it would look more natural than using a shimmery one.
Pigmented so be careful, start with a small amount only and buildup
It would take a long time to hit pan
You get a blush and a highlighter so really nice
Very, very cheap
Nice packaging, like NARS
Staying power is REALLY GOOD. I have oily skin but this doesn't come off or melt down. Also, it's not chalky on the face

The mirror of mine is loose. It's just taped using a double sided tape. How "nice" is that! :(
The blush has a brownish tone to it, so if you like a "fresh" pink blush, don't use it
You have to be very careful in applying this and buildup the color as you go. It would look muddy if you're not careful

If you're looking for a cheap contour powder, this one is really good. But as I said, always be careful when using it and buildup the color. Don't apply too much right away. It's blendable, but looks muddy when you apply too much at once.

I'm not sure if I would buy it again. Pricewise and considering how long it would take to empty a pan, it's a great buy. But I'm someone who is always on the look to try new products so maybe I won't buy it again. But it's definitely something I would recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 1/30/2013 12:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Overall: Good for contouring and correcting foundation that is too light for you.

I was looking for a product to contour my cheeks and jawline and this is perfect! Have to blend it really well so it does not look like a bruise, but it is pigmented and if you wear foundation it blends well. Love that it is matte, no shimmer in it so it is best for contouring. I love the fact that it has 4 colours, as this means you can pick which shades to pick up on your brush depending on how tanned your face is or how much your tan has faded. For example I do not mix the white and pink when my tan is really dark but I mix in the white when my skin is lighter. I mix in the pink when I want to look more rosy than edgy.

It is so cheap and good and has lasted me more more than a year. I bought both the Cool and Warm and honestly have not touched the Warm one.

Also, I am Chinese from SEA living in UK so need to deal with being really warm tanned Malay like colour skin to pale grey Chinese skin (and all the shades in between) regularly since my skin tans quickly and fades quickly. Fed up with having to buy a different shade of foundation all the time, I just apply the lighter foundation closest to my skin tone, and use this product to lightly dust all over my face (applying more thickly where I contour). It really helps and is a trick to use in case you buy foundation that is too light for your skin as well!

P.s. If you really like the bottom left section of the bronzer and find that you are only using that colour, you might want to check out Hoola by Benefit. I have recently bought it since my E. L. F. was finishing and love it! Hoola is good for me now, as my skin is currently pale, but I will go back to E. L. F. when my tan returns as the top right corner is good for darker skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 1/15/2013 11:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

this is a really nice and pigmented bronzer but has to be applied with a light hand because when you put too much it can look muddy.....but either way i love the colors as matte eyeshadows as well

on 1/11/2013 4:02:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

LOVE all the ELF studio bronzers! Amazing value for great products with no orangy tones. The other bronzers (golden and warm) are shimmery and fun. This one - in cool - is my go to for contouring and highlighting as its matte and blendable. Plus, case is much higher end than its price would suggest. (Bought it online as E.L.F. always has coupons for under $3. Amazing deal!)

It can be used for a super natural daily look (all the colors swirled to contour and white to highlight along with mascara and gloss), as well as a more dramatic look (darker color to contour, along with a shimmer highlight, strong blush, strong eye, muted lip).

For reference, am an NW20, dark hair and eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 1/4/2013 5:35:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

When I swirl all the colours together (which is the easiest way to apply it), it's a bit dark for my skin, but makes a great contour colour. It's difficult to apply the colours separately. I'm not sure what the white shade is supposed to be for- it doesn't show up on me. Great product though, and I adore the sleek packaging.

on 8/18/2012 9:04:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I just hated it at the first sight when it arrived in my mailbox,after I had high expectations on it. the white shade reminds me of real chalks, and the word 'chalky' isn't enough to describe that texture anymore. as for the rest three colors, they are just colored chalk powders.... though cheap, still a waste of money.

Back to Top