Calvin Klein Sheer Obsession EDP

4.2

59 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/28/2006 5:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Oy oy oy! I so was delighted to find Sheer Obsession at Marshalls today. The box was open already and when nobody looked I gave it a little spritz. (I never know if I am allowed to do that there). MISTAKE! The bigger my expectations were -- the bigger the disappointment was! I could not believe how it turned so terribly on my skin.
It smelled so bad on me, I could not wait to wash it off. It might have been an old bottle, or one that was not stored properly and has gone bad, I don't know. It was so horrid that I could not detect ANY of the notes like vanilla, spices, amber, musk.
To me it smelled very dry, like thick powder with a scent quality of Raid spray. Sorry.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Personally I cannot compare this to the original - I have never worn it... But I can say, that this fragrance can very well stand on its own! In my opinion it is not a light fragrance as I've seen it described. I see it as both soft yet powerful; sexy and passionate! There is something quite inviting about it :) I love the way it opens up and caresses your skin with its soft feathered wings - reminds me of a dove in flight :) And then it sharpens up just ever so slightly and it starts to uncoil and unfurl in a most wonderful transformation of musk, and amber.... The incense mentioned is not a headache inducing type of experience either, it just mellowly comes for the ride on the doves wings and carries with it wonderful adventures :) EDIT: 06/22/2006 Ooops did I speak too soon? Hmm I wonder what it is then that's making me nauseous whenever I wear this these days? Last time I sprayed some on was about 2 months ago and now again same thing... Maybe this is just a winter/cold weather scent for me... (taking one lippie off...)


on 12/16/2005 10:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a lovely, sexy scent and it's light enough to wear anytime. It is exactly what the name implies - a sheer version of the classic fragrance.


on 12/1/2005 4:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown


I love this! Great everyday scent for Spring/Summer. It gets rave reviews and you like smelling yourself. I'm stocking up now, since I've just read it's going to be discontinued. Don't know why... I like this much better than the original or the new Obession Night.


on 9/25/2005 1:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Ahhh, Calvin Klein. In high school, I loved CK Be (the rumour was that it smelled like Gin and Tonic, but being 15, most of us were more familiar with the smell of Molson than G&T). A couple of years later, I moved on to Obsession, which I liked and was often complimented on, but I always felt like it was a bit too strong. So when the sheer version came out, I snapped it up and looooooved it. That was a couple of summers ago now, and I never used up the bottle. As far as I can tell, the fragrance hasn't turned... it smells the same as I remember... except now it seems boring. It just seems completely average: Average scent, average packaging, average price for what it is. PLUS, there's nothing unique about this... it seems to smell the same on everybody. Once at a bar, I was dancing with a guy and he asked if I was wearing Obsession. I said yeah (sheer or not, Obsession is Obsession is Obsession...) and asked how he knew. His response? "Every girl I know wears Obsession." STRIKE! It's kind of unfortunate, because I used to love this one... but now it's just blah.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/17/2005 9:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I, too, am disappointed that Sheer Obsession will soon be discontinued. Why is this trend continuing? It bugs me.
Sheer Obsession is a gorgeous scent although the lasting power is not great on me. I do find it very similar to SuLang Cashmere (which I adore) but there is a slightly chemical/perfumy quality in Sheer Obsession that Casmere lacks. Still, I love it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/16/2005 8:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Hi all, I am part of the brand team for Sheer Obsession -- thanks to all those who have taken the time to try and review it! Esp. those who liked it :) I just wanted to give you a heads-up that unfortunately Sheer Obsession is going to be discontinued in the next year, so if you like it, stock up now! However we now have a new flanker called Obsession Night that is a fantastic scent as well. Night is a gourmand floriental with a touch of chypre -- very modern, sexy, and signature. Give it a try!


on 9/8/2005 10:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Not necessarily one of my top 10, but definitely a considerable improvement compared to the original.


on 7/5/2005 1:45:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Thankyou calvin klein for making a lighter version of this classic. It really is lovley. Anybody he found that they loved obsession but got too cloying...this one will be your answer. :)


on 6/29/2005 8:44:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got this as a present and i didn't like it. Not something I would buy again.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Angel
Angel
1829 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1886 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
140 Reviews


Back to Top