Calvin Klein Sheer Obsession EDP

4.2

59 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/28/2006 5:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Oy oy oy! I so was delighted to find Sheer Obsession at Marshalls today. The box was open already and when nobody looked I gave it a little spritz. (I never know if I am allowed to do that there). MISTAKE! The bigger my expectations were -- the bigger the disappointment was! I could not believe how it turned so terribly on my skin.
It smelled so bad on me, I could not wait to wash it off. It might have been an old bottle, or one that was not stored properly and has gone bad, I don't know. It was so horrid that I could not detect ANY of the notes like vanilla, spices, amber, musk.
To me it smelled very dry, like thick powder with a scent quality of Raid spray. Sorry.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Personally I cannot compare this to the original - I have never worn it... But I can say, that this fragrance can very well stand on its own! In my opinion it is not a light fragrance as I've seen it described. I see it as both soft yet powerful; sexy and passionate! There is something quite inviting about it :) I love the way it opens up and caresses your skin with its soft feathered wings - reminds me of a dove in flight :) And then it sharpens up just ever so slightly and it starts to uncoil and unfurl in a most wonderful transformation of musk, and amber.... The incense mentioned is not a headache inducing type of experience either, it just mellowly comes for the ride on the doves wings and carries with it wonderful adventures :) EDIT: 06/22/2006 Ooops did I speak too soon? Hmm I wonder what it is then that's making me nauseous whenever I wear this these days? Last time I sprayed some on was about 2 months ago and now again same thing... Maybe this is just a winter/cold weather scent for me... (taking one lippie off...)


on 12/16/2005 10:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a lovely, sexy scent and it's light enough to wear anytime. It is exactly what the name implies - a sheer version of the classic fragrance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/1/2005 4:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown


I love this! Great everyday scent for Spring/Summer. It gets rave reviews and you like smelling yourself. I'm stocking up now, since I've just read it's going to be discontinued. Don't know why... I like this much better than the original or the new Obession Night.


on 9/25/2005 1:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Ahhh, Calvin Klein. In high school, I loved CK Be (the rumour was that it smelled like Gin and Tonic, but being 15, most of us were more familiar with the smell of Molson than G&T). A couple of years later, I moved on to Obsession, which I liked and was often complimented on, but I always felt like it was a bit too strong. So when the sheer version came out, I snapped it up and looooooved it. That was a couple of summers ago now, and I never used up the bottle. As far as I can tell, the fragrance hasn't turned... it smells the same as I remember... except now it seems boring. It just seems completely average: Average scent, average packaging, average price for what it is. PLUS, there's nothing unique about this... it seems to smell the same on everybody. Once at a bar, I was dancing with a guy and he asked if I was wearing Obsession. I said yeah (sheer or not, Obsession is Obsession is Obsession...) and asked how he knew. His response? "Every girl I know wears Obsession." STRIKE! It's kind of unfortunate, because I used to love this one... but now it's just blah.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/17/2005 9:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I, too, am disappointed that Sheer Obsession will soon be discontinued. Why is this trend continuing? It bugs me.
Sheer Obsession is a gorgeous scent although the lasting power is not great on me. I do find it very similar to SuLang Cashmere (which I adore) but there is a slightly chemical/perfumy quality in Sheer Obsession that Casmere lacks. Still, I love it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/16/2005 8:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Hi all, I am part of the brand team for Sheer Obsession -- thanks to all those who have taken the time to try and review it! Esp. those who liked it :) I just wanted to give you a heads-up that unfortunately Sheer Obsession is going to be discontinued in the next year, so if you like it, stock up now! However we now have a new flanker called Obsession Night that is a fantastic scent as well. Night is a gourmand floriental with a touch of chypre -- very modern, sexy, and signature. Give it a try!


on 9/8/2005 10:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Not necessarily one of my top 10, but definitely a considerable improvement compared to the original.


on 7/5/2005 1:45:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Thankyou calvin klein for making a lighter version of this classic. It really is lovley. Anybody he found that they loved obsession but got too cloying...this one will be your answer. :)


on 6/29/2005 8:44:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got this as a present and i didn't like it. Not something I would buy again.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1370 Reviews
Chance
959 Reviews
No.5
943 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
139 Reviews
Si
43 Reviews


Back to Top