Calvin Klein • Sheer Obsession EDP • Fragrances

rated 4.2(59 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 Mishel63 on 4/28/2006 5:19:00 PM more reviews by Mishel63

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Oy oy oy! I so was delighted to find Sheer Obsession at Marshalls today. The box was open already and when nobody looked I gave it a little spritz. (I never know if I am allowed to do that there). MISTAKE! The bigger my expectations were -- the bigger the disappointment was! I could not believe how it turned so terribly on my skin.
It smelled so bad on me, I could not wait to wash it off. It might have been an old bottle, or one that was not stored properly and has gone bad, I don't know. It was so horrid that I could not detect ANY of the notes like vanilla, spices, amber, musk.
To me it smelled very dry, like thick powder with a scent quality of Raid spray. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Goddess_Dreams on 2/17/2006 3:33:00 PM more reviews by Goddess_Dreams

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Personally I cannot compare this to the original - I have never worn it... But I can say, that this fragrance can very well stand on its own! In my opinion it is not a light fragrance as I've seen it described. I see it as both soft yet powerful; sexy and passionate! There is something quite inviting about it :) I love the way it opens up and caresses your skin with its soft feathered wings - reminds me of a dove in flight :) And then it sharpens up just ever so slightly and it starts to uncoil and unfurl in a most wonderful transformation of musk, and amber.... The incense mentioned is not a headache inducing type of experience either, it just mellowly comes for the ride on the doves wings and carries with it wonderful adventures :) EDIT: 06/22/2006 Ooops did I speak too soon? Hmm I wonder what it is then that's making me nauseous whenever I wear this these days? Last time I sprayed some on was about 2 months ago and now again same thing... Maybe this is just a winter/cold weather scent for me... (taking one lippie off...)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* josiecat on 12/16/2005 10:03:00 PM more reviews by josiecat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a lovely, sexy scent and it's light enough to wear anytime. It is exactly what the name implies - a sheer version of the classic fragrance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tammij on 12/1/2005 4:05:00 PM more reviews by tammij

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    


I love this! Great everyday scent for Spring/Summer. It gets rave reviews and you like smelling yourself. I'm stocking up now, since I've just read it's going to be discontinued. Don't know why... I like this much better than the original or the new Obession Night.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* boourns on 9/25/2005 1:45:00 AM more reviews by boourns

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Ahhh, Calvin Klein. In high school, I loved CK Be (the rumour was that it smelled like Gin and Tonic, but being 15, most of us were more familiar with the smell of Molson than G&T). A couple of years later, I moved on to Obsession, which I liked and was often complimented on, but I always felt like it was a bit too strong. So when the sheer version came out, I snapped it up and looooooved it. That was a couple of summers ago now, and I never used up the bottle. As far as I can tell, the fragrance hasn't turned... it smells the same as I remember... except now it seems boring. It just seems completely average: Average scent, average packaging, average price for what it is. PLUS, there's nothing unique about this... it seems to smell the same on everybody. Once at a bar, I was dancing with a guy and he asked if I was wearing Obsession. I said yeah (sheer or not, Obsession is Obsession is Obsession...) and asked how he knew. His response? "Every girl I know wears Obsession." STRIKE! It's kind of unfortunate, because I used to love this one... but now it's just blah.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ang5els on 9/17/2005 9:36:00 AM more reviews by ang5els

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I, too, am disappointed that Sheer Obsession will soon be discontinued. Why is this trend continuing? It bugs me.
Sheer Obsession is a gorgeous scent although the lasting power is not great on me. I do find it very similar to SuLang Cashmere (which I adore) but there is a slightly chemical/perfumy quality in Sheer Obsession that Casmere lacks. Still, I love it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 starling14 on 9/16/2005 8:44:00 AM more reviews by starling14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Hi all, I am part of the brand team for Sheer Obsession -- thanks to all those who have taken the time to try and review it! Esp. those who liked it :) I just wanted to give you a heads-up that unfortunately Sheer Obsession is going to be discontinued in the next year, so if you like it, stock up now! However we now have a new flanker called Obsession Night that is a fantastic scent as well. Night is a gourmand floriental with a touch of chypre -- very modern, sexy, and signature. Give it a try!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* auras on 9/8/2005 10:21:00 PM more reviews by auras

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Not necessarily one of my top 10, but definitely a considerable improvement compared to the original.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maxxx on 7/5/2005 1:45:00 PM more reviews by maxxx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Thankyou calvin klein for making a lighter version of this classic. It really is lovley. Anybody he found that they loved obsession but got too cloying...this one will be your answer. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 silje230990 on 6/29/2005 8:44:00 AM more reviews by silje230990

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I got this as a present and i didn't like it. Not something I would buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Calvin Klein products

More Fragrances products