Cover Girl • Outlast Lipstain - 430 Coy Coral • Lips

rated 3.7(23 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Judy0924 on 8/17/2009 3:26:00 PM more reviews by Judy0924

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Love the coral color on my complexion. I have medium brown hair, brown eyes and med skin tone. With a bit of a summer tan, it looks great and gives me just the right pop of color I was looking for. My only negative is that it can be a bit drying on my lips. I outline my lips and fill in with the stain. Then I top it off with a gloss--sheer or even a light one like Milani's or Mac's. The color stays and stays and brightens up my face. I don't wear a lot of makeup so lipstick and mascara are my essentials.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kochou on 8/17/2009 2:54:00 PM more reviews by kochou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

i quite like this. the color is a lovely shade of red that's not too overwhelming. i have tan/olive skin and it's just right for me. i agree with other reviewers that a little bit of gloss will make it all the better, but the one draw back of that is it negates the "outlast" ability of the lip stain. matte by itself it lasts longer than with a touch of gloss.
i would repurchase this and recommend it for anyone who wants a subtle red color for their lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blushie on 8/10/2009 6:09:00 AM more reviews by blushie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I quite like this lipstain...when I swatched it on my hand, it was the colour I've been looking for for ages. On my pale, cool skin, it looks like I'm wearing a red lipstick, but is much more subtle and soft than a true red. It looks especially pretty with some gloss over the top.

I quite like the smell...it reminds me of being a kid, I think an ice-block brand I used to eat used the same scent in their rasberry flavour ice lolly. I'm not too keen on the felt tip, only because the colour drains out of it when you tip it up to do your top lip, which can result in the colour being patchy and weak on the top lip. I sort of have to hold it at a weird angle to stop that happening. You do need to smudge it around a bit with a finger too, or something along those lines, or it *can* look like you just coloured your lips in with a texta as some people have complained about. The actual stain isn't as long lasting as some other stains I've tried, but it does hold up through a snack or maybe a few drinks...not through a whole meal though.

Pretty good considering the price, and the colour range is good too...although some colours didn't stay true to their name when swatched, so play around. I happen to love this colour, it suits me nicely and I would have paid more for it (maybe sans the dodgy felt-tip though..cute it theory, but not so good in reality).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rosemen on 5/12/2009 7:31:00 PM more reviews by rosemen

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Coral is my signature color so I always take notice when cosmetics companies release any lip product with coral in its name. After checking my trusty MUA reviews before I buy any beauty product, the mixed reviews of this color did discourage me a bit. However, knowing that I was planning to use this lipstain as a base more than by itself, I plunged in and bought it during a BOGO sale at RiteAid.


While I do agree with those who found the color by itself off-putting when first applied, the beauty in this product is how wonderfully it layers with other lip products that have a coral hue to them. I line and fill my lips with the Outlast Lipstain as I would a lip liner. After waiting a few seconds, I then dab with the second product. So far, my favorite combination is with Revlon ColorStay Mineral Lipglaze in Everlasting Blush, giving me the perfect everyday summer coral lips that I have been looking forówith extra staying power to boot. Plus, it's always a treat when you create a custom color for yourself.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hillari520 on 5/6/2009 10:07:00 PM more reviews by hillari520

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Ok even though yes its not the best. It really isn't the worst. I've tried benetint,mark, and stela, so I have had my fare share of dried lips and no color. This is more moisturizing and the colors are good not great but good, and they do last 4 to 5 hours which is better than nothing. I like it I would buy it again and have told my friend about it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lexieberry on 5/5/2009 9:01:00 PM more reviews by Lexieberry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Cover Girl really made a great product with 'Coy Coral'. It is a vivid shade of orange/raspberry coral in a matte finish~it's a lip stain. My only gripe with it is the marker format. It takes a little practice to achieve an even product on the lips, but once you got it, it looks amazing. I layer Cliniques Impossibly Glossy 'Grape Sorbet' over Coy Coral, and Oh my, it looks so fresh and vibrant!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rmalley2 on 3/26/2009 12:29:00 AM more reviews by rmalley2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really love this product line; easy to apply, long lasting and economical. I understand why this color doesn't work for many people. It is very vibrant and that might not be the look you're seeking. But I think the color works well with many skin tones and can brighten up a look. I like a simple look with a pop of color and this really works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetsmell on 3/2/2009 2:53:00 AM more reviews by sweetsmell

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Firstly, thank you to kmbirkel for the VERY detailed review of the entire shade range for these. It's so difficult to tell what the colors will actually be based solely on the packaging, so that was a great help. That being said, the minute I saw the swatch and description of 430 Coy Coral, I had a feeling it would be for me. I am super, super pale and love bright lipcolors to offset my fair coloring. This is a very bright and pigmented pinky-coral color (leaning more towards orange than pink), no question. If you're looking for a light flush/stain, this is not the shade for you. Applied even lightly, it is very similar to the recent MAC Dame Edna "Coral Polyp" lipstick. For me, I love it; I also love the look of the stain - matte and lightweight, like you're not wearing lipstick but somehow have this amazing color to your lips. If you are someone who enjoys a bright bold color (again, think MAC Coral Polyp, Lady Danger, Morange, etc.) then I definitely recommend you look at this one. I also enjoy the longevity of the Outlast lipstain; while it does not last through a major meal, it does last through just about everything else, and the wear is very comfortable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 soccerchick3339 on 2/24/2009 9:15:00 PM more reviews by soccerchick3339

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

Put on by itself, this is a terrible red color. But over chapstick this actually give a nice flush of color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ac67 on 2/21/2009 9:48:00 PM more reviews by ac67

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't like the marker looking packaging...
And the color's a little too strong for me~
I didn't expect it to be so bright and overwhelming -_-
But if I put on another colorless product underneath and use it, it seems to make the color less intense and wearable...
I'll probably try another color that may suit me better~

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Lips products