Essie • Mademoiselle • Polishes

rated 4.4(375 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bonniherself on 10/8/2013 3:14:00 AM more reviews by bonniherself

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

At last I have found my own perfect Holy Grail of sheer pinks. I've been searching for ages trying to find a sheer pink for French or American manicures or just for a subtle, ultra-subdued polished look that was "natural nails only better", and here it is. I don't even know how many sheer pinks I've tried at this point. Some were too milky, some were too white, some were too sheer, some were too opaque, some were too pink, some were too peachy... on and on. THIS polish is perfect for my skintone and the colour of my natural nailbeds. Finally!

So, the actual polish is a very sheer, very slightly milky pink, with what appears to be a very slight lavender undertone, which is probably why it looks good with my pale, cool-toned complexion (frankly, I don't believe this is going to be good for "all" skintones, any more than any other polish would or could be). I can wear two coats of this without feeling it's too milky or too opaque, and it provides just enough gloss and colour to disguise little flaws in the nail and nailbed, without hiding the nail. So it is the perfect "natural but better" that I was searching for. It's just too perfect, at least for me. :)

So, ladies with cool, fair skin, if you're looking for a sheer pink, please give this a try. After years of trying one sheer pink after another (many of which I've now given away), I'm delighted with this. We could say I'm tickled sheer pink, I suppose. ;)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* royas784 on 9/21/2013 1:39:00 AM more reviews by royas784

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Mademoiselle is a lovely, barely there pink with a gel-like finish and fool proof application. It has quickly become my go-to nude polish because I can wear it literally anywhere- out, at work, etc. It is very classy and gives you an elegant, polished look. It lasts a good amount of time since it is sheer and chips are barely noticeable. I can go a few days without chipping- I use a base coat and quick-dry top coat but imagine it's just fine on its own. I have several Essie polishes-I only purchase shades I know I will wear regularly because of the steep price (around $8). Mademoiselle is one of those shades. I love Essie nudes (I have Ballet Slippers and Adore-A-Ball as well), and reach for Mademoiselle often because it is so versatile and simple. If you're looking for something that's basically a cross between a clear and nude polish, you can't go wrong with Mademoiselle. It's noticeable enough to look nice and elegant, but translucent and gel-like, so you can wear it out literally everywhere. Will repurchase for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 babystrange on 8/16/2013 2:28:00 PM more reviews by babystrange

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this for a French mani base and am very happy with the results. Sort of a "YNBB" beigey creamy sheer pink. My coworkers today have been asking if I got my nails done. "Naw, y'all, I did this all by myself!" I paid $8 for the bottle and am happy to pay more for an Essie than a cheaper quality polish. The polish self-levels and dries really fast with no dents (the bane of my existence). I would definitely buy again. Recommended.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 prttybrwneyez13 on 7/31/2013 2:09:00 AM more reviews by prttybrwneyez13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this polish on my nails. I was first introduced to it while at the nail salon through one of the manicurists. I go through phases where I like having matching fingers and toes, and then I'd rather have a brighter color on my toes and clear polish on my nails and on one particular day rather I felt the need to have the latter, the manicurist asked if I had tried the color before, saying that it was a popular shade and looked very natural. I've been hooked ever since. It's like a barely-there glossy pink color and I find that it makes my nails look clean and elegant. Definitely my whole grail.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* remychic on 5/31/2013 2:01:00 PM more reviews by remychic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this polish. My nails are a wreck right now so I cut them all really short and was looking for something that would be a sheer wash of color to give a finished look but not call too much attention to my nails while I wait for them to grow back out a little. I saw this shade and decided to give it a try. It is very sheer so I understand why some will not like it. It is almost like you have no color on your nails at all, just a very sheer, very pretty glow. I have been using it with OPI Nail Envy at a base and top coat and I am really loving the look. I agree with some of the other reviewers, this will be a very pretty French manicure shade. I love the look of this color and plan on always having a bottle around for when I want a pretty "no polish" look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wooedwiththistles on 5/28/2013 2:41:00 AM more reviews by wooedwiththistles

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Its pretty just not what i wanted. I've been looking for a pretty pinky peach opaque nail polish. something that looks natural but visible, sadly this is not it. this is a sheer nail polish, great if you want a french manicure but not if you want color. however the polish for what it is, is beautiful. nice and glossy unlike some other brands that leave a dull look.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BeautysWithin16 on 5/7/2013 8:47:00 PM more reviews by BeautysWithin16

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I do understand why some don't like this polish, it isn't for everyone!
I bought this knowing what the polish looked like beforehand (swatches)!
Since this polish is so lightly colored, and is more of a really light pink, i use this for a french manicure, it is perfect for a natural looking french mani, especially if you want the light pink tint! I either use it for the french mani or when i am not really wanting to paint my nails and want a natural look i go for this! Definitely recommend if you want something like i listed above, or maybe for something else, but i don't think everyone will like this, obviously.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paris525 on 5/4/2013 10:44:00 AM more reviews by paris525

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Goes on without streaking. I was really surprised at the quality of this nail polish. It complimented my deep complexion well. I'm giving myself a American manicure with Eddie's Allure on my tips and it looks fantastic.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 shaaaaaeeeee on 4/13/2013 4:19:00 PM more reviews by shaaaaaeeeee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this nail polish and it looked really pretty in the bottle but when I tried it on my nails it was rreeaallyy clear. I thought it was to expensive because the it took 4/5 coats to get the colour it looked like in the bottle. Not impressed

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rediska on 4/10/2013 10:57:00 PM more reviews by rediska

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I don't know why this is such a popular nude/MNBB colour. For me, it's not a winner because:
-application/drying time same as for coloured polishes, which is annoying. It's easier to apply a good nail treatment (like Ciate) which dries off in a second and gives that same milky shine, than do the whole 2-coats + drying time in-between that I do with Mademoiselle.
-it looks really good the first day (2 coats), but by second day it's just not as nice and neat anymore - the bits around the side edges look a bit whiter, the surface of the nail is not as smooth, and the shine is not as nice.
Meh, I'd rather do the Nails Inc South Molton street.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products