Revlon ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013]

3.8

4468 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (7.3%) Inactive Ingredients: Aqua/Water (Water), Cyclomethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, SD Alcohol 40B, PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone, Nylon 12, Tribehenin, Isododecane, Polyisobutene, Sodium Chloride, Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Bisabolol, Serica (Silk Powder), Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Malva Sylvestris Flower Extract (Mallow), Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract (Lily), Lactobacillus/Eridictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract, Alumina, Polydimethylsiloxane/Polymethysilesquioxane Copolymer, Ethylene Brassylate, Methicone, Trisiloxane, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain (+/-): Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499)


on 5/20/2011 3:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I haven't used any high-end foundations before, but I was impressed with the quality of this drugstore product. I'm not a huge fan of Revlon, but this foundation gave even, full coverage, and has a faint sweet scent. It looks normal indoors, but my face looks a tad bit lighter than the rest of my body when I'm out in the sun. Overall though, I thought this was a great find.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Love it! Stays on my face without sliding off. I don't have problems with a white cast since my face is slightly pale to begin with. I love applying this foundation to one side of my face and then standing back and looking at how gorgeous it looks (compared to the other side haha!) I have oily skin so it doesn't last all day....but nothing ever does. Anyways, I don't use this much in the summer (I use Teint Miracle from Lancome because it's lighter) but once winter rolls around again (or a cool summer night) I will use again and again!


on 5/19/2011 2:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I do like the coverage. My skin is dry and it doesn't emphasize that (I have the version for dry skin). The color is pretty much an exact match. But I'm not sure if I'd buy this product again. I don't like that it doesn't have a pump - I feel so unsanitary always reaching into the bottle to get the product out. I apply this with my Sonia Kashuk flat-top brush and it looks pretty good. I'm pleased, but that's not to say I won't look elsewhere in the future.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This foundation in the the normal/dry version, color nude, mixed with a bit of color ivory (depending on the time of year) is for me a nice, full-coverage, semi-natural finish look. I do not like the smell (glue-like for a lot of foundations these days) and I do not like that it is without a pump! It is such a basic feature that is missing otherwise I'd give this five stars for this price range. I have since tried many other department store brands, but I can't say they outperform by much. I realize now to make this look even better I have to work on skin care to get my skin moisture up. I tried the expensive brands thinking this was too dry but I think it's my skin.


on 5/19/2011 10:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've been using Revlon Colorstay Foundation for the longest time because it provides good coverage and lasts for long hours.Only problem is that it's too heavy on my face and I had zits and blackheads from using it so I stopped and switched to another foundation with a lighter formula.


on 5/18/2011 4:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ahhhhh-mazingggg;) i really like this foundation. It covers really well. i have fair skin and i deal with redness like no ones business! lol. this foundation makes my skin look flawless. It can look cakey if you use too much, if you didnt blend it properly or if you use to much setting powder.
How I apply:
after i moisturize and prime my face i get some product on my finger and apply it to my face ( a few swipes on my cheeks, forehead, chin, and nose) and then i buff it all in my my sigma 187 brush(duo fiber) then i take a little more product and blend it down my neck so everything looks even, then i take a dry cosmetic sponge and gently dap it on my face to absorb the excess. then i apply my bare minerals mineral viel and i set everything with mac fix plus and WA-LA a flawless face:)
i use the combo/oily formula in the shade150 buff.

the only bummer is the packaging =/ but who really cares how it comes out as long as it looks great;) i purchased mine at walgreens
walgreens and cvs have the best sales haha:)


on 5/18/2011 8:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i just bought a bottle the other day..it was in sand beige..which is a bit lighter than my skin tone..but it was the most yellowish shade for that certain product..that why i got it...the first time i used it...i was so freaked out co'z it was so pale for me and i was afraid that it would turn ashy...but it didn't...the sales lady said that the color selection for colorstay were very light because oily people tend to be more acidic and foundation turns darker after a few hours when applied to acidic skin....i only used a really tiny amount and it was great..it lasted the whole day and and it covered up my acne marks...my officemate even complimented my skin...she said it look really fresh and she didn't even think that i was wearing a foundation...the only con about it is that after a few hours i feel like it got a bit oily and a few small pimples erupted..though do love the coverage..and maybe i'd use it in some occasions...co'z i do feel that this isn't really your everyday foundation...


on 5/18/2011 7:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Just thought I would add another review because my first one was for the original Colorstay (before they messed around with the formulation) - the below posts are right, it is COMPLETELY different. What was once a 'stay on all day/night' foundation is just not any more. Even when I put it on in the morning, I have to put so much more on because it just is not as good coverage. A real shame. I have switched to Mac Studio Finish concealer and am much happier


on 5/17/2011 10:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not a big fan of liquid foundation because it feels thick and cakey. The colorstay foundation is a fairly thick foundation on its own and dries fairly quickly when applying it to your face. What I like to do is mix a small drop of the foundation with a small drop of moisturizer and it's the best consistency and almost looks airbrushed.

I have combination skin, so I must always use primer before applying any sort of foundation to my face. If I use the colorstay foundation (oily/combination formula), my T zone area gets oily instantly. So, if you have oily skin, I recommend a primer.

Overall, this foundation is great for the price. It's lasting power is quite great. There is a large selection of colors to choose from.

The con of this is the packaging. Its not sanitary because its just a bottle with a cap that you unscrew. You would almost always pour out more product that you need and you would end up pouring back the liquid in the bottle. If only they made it with a pump.


on 5/17/2011 6:29:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I received this new in a swap. I got it in Buff which is my perfect color. I tried it out today for the first time and I'm already in love. The one I have is for combo/oily I believe. I applied this at 7:15 am and by 3:30 pm it still looked amazing! It looked like I had just applied it. I didn't even apply any powder over it in the morning, and I usually have to do touch ups every few hours, but I didn't with this. This is what I have been looking for in a foundation for quite a long time. The only cons are that I maybe applied too much since if you looked close you could tell there was kind of a lot on my face and also the packaging isn't the best. However, I don't mind these two things at all. I just pour a little on the back of my hand and dip my ELF Flat Top brush in it and blend away. With a steady hand you can control how much you apply and pour out of the bottle. I will be buying this whenever I run out. I just love it. It is around the 13 dollar range which kept me from buying it, but I think it is worth it. I would rather have a 13 dollar product that I never have to worry about or touch up than my usual 8 to 9 dollar product that I have to touch up every few hours. Overall this is a great product and my face wasn't oily all day!


Back to Top