Revlon ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013]

3.8

4470 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (7.3%) Inactive Ingredients: Aqua/Water (Water), Cyclomethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, SD Alcohol 40B, PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone, Nylon 12, Tribehenin, Isododecane, Polyisobutene, Sodium Chloride, Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Bisabolol, Serica (Silk Powder), Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Malva Sylvestris Flower Extract (Mallow), Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract (Lily), Lactobacillus/Eridictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract, Alumina, Polydimethylsiloxane/Polymethysilesquioxane Copolymer, Ethylene Brassylate, Methicone, Trisiloxane, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain (+/-): Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499)


on 5/25/2011 2:39:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I started using the oil-free/combo skin version when I was 23. I'm now 36 and have switched to the normal/dry version. It's the only foundation I've tried that covers without looking caked on. I usually apply with a damp sponge and dab it on (instead of spreading it). I've tried lots of other foundations (MAC, Elizabeth Arden, Perscriptives, Dior) and NONE have been as consistent as this.

I have subtype 1 rosacea (redness-no bumps) and this covers it. If I want a more dewy look I just add a bit of moisturizer and mix it in my palm.

It never breaks me out (I still get breakouts every once in a while).

The only bad thing is I live in Sweden and it's not sold here. I have to have friends send it over from the US! :(



on 5/24/2011 4:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my first time using drugstore foundation, as I am usually purchasing MAC or Dior. This Foundation works pretty well. It does dry fast so you would need to work quickly. I use the normal/dry skin. I find applying the foundation with a stippling brush gives a natural finish. I usually start with face primer (I use MAC Prep + Prime), Concealer (Optional), Revlon ColorStay Foundation, Powder (MAC Mineralize Skin Finish), Blush/Bronzer (Optional) and finish with a setting mist (MAC Fix +).

I know that sounds like a lot of work. But I find if you wear foundation, you will need all the "layers" to make your skin look radiant.

This foundation lasts all day. I used it when I visited Miami, and my face did not melt.

The only thing I can do without is the screw cover. It would be nice if they had a pump version. The smell also is kind of "chemically"? It doesn't bother me as I find it fades upon application.


on 5/24/2011 1:19:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Heavy, cakey, hard to blend even when using moisturizer. Suffocates my pores and very difficult to remove. Hate the screw cap too.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm reviewing Revlon Colorstay for Combination/Oily Skin in 110 Ivory.

I've been using this product for ages, despite its many flaws. First of all, the packaging is ridiculous. C'mon, Revlon, I refuse to believe you cannot afford a pump! Second, the smell is a bit annoying, but it goes away in a jiffy. Third, I'm pretty sure this makes me break out - but this isn't a huge deal since I don't use foundation on a daily basis. When I do use this, I know I'll be using Vichy Anti-Imperfection Concentrate or a similar product the next morning.


Onto its good features: it mattifies my skin and it does lasts for a while, specially if you use a blotting powder (as for me, I use UD De-Slick), whilst not making you feel gross (I apply it with my fingers - if I'm in a hurry - or a foundation blush and, either way, use a sponge to remove the excess so I don't end up with a shiny face and foundation on my fine lines). Yay! Plus, 110 Ivory is a perfect match to my skin color (I'm pale with pink undertones - pretty much like Christina Hendricks) and the foundation itself is pretty unexpensive, even though it gives medium to full coverage (which is exactly what I need sometimes). I adore it, but I wouldn't recommend it to (1) people with sensitive skin who use foundation on a daily basis, (2) people with mature skin, since the product can enhance fine lines and wrinkles and (3) people who are looking for a foundation that will give you a natural look.


on 5/23/2011 3:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

This is an amazing product considering the amount of money you are spending on it. I would rate it better than the Mac foundations I have tried. It is a very full coverage foundation. I find that I don't need an concealer when I wear this because it is pretty thick. That being said, it doesn't look very natural. When you are up close people can definitely tell you are wearing makeup. Also, the formula is quick drying so you have to dab a little on to your hand and work quickly to spread it around the intended area. You also have to use some heavy duty makeup remover to get this off. It doesn't come off with regular soap and water. The upside to this is that you don't need a primer or any blotting powder. It sticks to your skin like no other and keeps it from looking oily. I have the version for oily/combo skin. I never need to use any blotting powders.

I prefer my Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua foundation to this, but that costs $45, this costs around $10. Hence, this is more of an "I would like to look nice but I don't need to go all out" type of foundation.


on 5/22/2011 10:04:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

So I purchased this a couple of months ago. 1st of all the packaging. Revlon, the middle ages are over. Pump please? The glass jar is workable but not the best. The smell is very plasticy. Smells like your car is getting spray painted. I definitely can't use this everyday bcs I will break out. But either way this is HG material. When combined with the beautyblender: Wow, it gives a beautiful airbrush finish! I have Soft Nude and matches perfectly. I use this only to go out but not on a regular basis. Price is not the worst, especially when you get it @ Walmart. There are other drugstore foundations that are more expensive and totally not worth it. All in all, I love, love, love it!!!


on 5/22/2011 5:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I personally love this foundation. I have oily/acne prone skin and some scarring on my cheeks. This foundation is the only drugstore brand foundation zi have found that gives me great coverage and keeps my skin looking matte for hours, which ks amazing for skin like mine. I have had no problems with it breaking me out and it doesn't appear cakey on my face (I put it on with a stippling brush) I am not a huge fan of the heavy packaging, but for me, personally, the pros definitely out-weigh the cons!


on 5/22/2011 1:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I didn't like this foundation!
I have the version for oily skin!
The foundation has full coverage but it looks like a mask! It's very powdery!


on 5/21/2011 10:59:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm 17, and with an oily/acne prone skin is extremely hard to find the right make up. If my skin doesn't agree with a product, it will break out seriously bad. I tried with the Almay TLC, Maybelline Dream Mate, even Clinique`s acne solutions...well, BIG ZITS.
Since day 1 I tried the Colorstay (#250) my skin loved it. I know it's not natural coverage, but the coverage is awesome for my acne marks.
The only bad thing: the bottle.
Otherwise this foundation is the best thing that could happened to my skin :D


on 5/21/2011 10:16:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a review for the Combination/ Oily version.

Oh dear. Well, I did a lot of research on this foundation. It seemed like it would be perfect for me: I am young with oily skin (though thankfully pretty clear) which makes make-up melt like butter in no time. Tonnes of sites recommended a matte, heavy-coverage foundation such as Colorstay as the best for oily skin, so naturally I picked up a bottle to see what the fuss was about.

Texture/ finish: thick, matte, heavy, fake-looking on me. The girls in the pics look flawless though, so I guess it's just each to their own!

What I think worked against me was Colorstay's thick coverage; to me it looked and felt unnatural and the thick texture usually made it a pain to work with on rushed mornings. I would have overlooked the unpleasant paint smell if it were not for the fact that this foundation does not work for me and the lack of a pump!

Yes, it's water-resistant to a degree; I wore this swimming in a lake once and it was still on, but a little patchy/ streaky. BUT, it just looked fake and icky. I also got my regular oily breakthrough (such an ugly shine) which made my face a shining beacon of grease, so this did not control the oil for me. I think it's becaue it was so smothering that my skin fought against it. I didn't powder over this foundation because it looked cakey and disgusting. I've tried it as a concealer, too, and that was all right but not much better. This as liquid contour (my shade is way too dark for me now) just won't work either - it ends up like stripes under my cheekbones because it's so difficult to blend.

If you want to try this foundation, go for it! By trying this I realised that I'm actually after light, virtually undetectable coverage that evens out skin tone, controls oiliness but still looks great; I'm still searching. I'd recommend to use this with fingers because that might help with the product's viscosity (trust me, it's thick stuff). When I used my gorgeous foundation brush to apply this foundation, it got terribly congested and took me eons to get it clean again.

Also, it's just personal preference but I believe that you should use a lighter foundation all over and cover problem areas with a heavy coverage foundation/ CONCEAL. I too mistook foundation for concealer, though my philosphy has changed.

Oh, and to those that are worried about breakouts: just thoroughly cleanse. Either do a double or use some toner. A lot of breakouts are probably caused by make-up residue lurking in pores, so be good to yourself and give your face a proper, thorough wash.

To summarise after this essay:
Price: 3. I paid around £10.99 for it, but the price in the UK has since gone up to £12.49, so I think it's pretty expensive for the results I got and the overall quality.

Packaging quality: 2. Liked the glass bottle, though a little heavy and inconvenient for travel. However, the lack of pump inevitably means wastage - no matter how careful you are - and it's just scrimping when Revlon can definitely afford to put one in!

I will not repurchase.


Back to Top