Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4438 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 bell90 on 5/13/2011 2:47:00 PM more reviews by bell90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

about my skin:
fair/medium, netural to warm undertones (slight yellow undertones)
oily and prone to break-outs

I love this foundation. I have had no problems with breakouts and love how it feels on my skin. It literally melts into my skin on application, but still provide medium/buildable coverage (I like to have less coverage in the day, but then if I go out I like to build it up a bit more - this doesn't cake or look too much when I use more coverage!).

I use the mac 187 to apply, or sometimes if I'm in a hurry I just use my fingers and this works perfectly well for the daytime! I set it with mac mineralize skinfinish in light medium and it lasts all day. At night time I do have to top up using my mac mineralize skinfinish but this is to be expected with any foundation in my case. I have used it without setting it before and still find that it lasts a long time.

A lot of people have compared it to mac studio fix fluid, I have used this foundation in the past and actually prefer the revlon one! The only issue I have, which I'm sure has been mentioned, is the bottle. It gets quite difficult to pour out when you use a lot. It would be much better with a pump. But at just over 12 it is still great value for money, especially when it is comparable to a more expensive high end brand foundation (and in my opinion better).


For reference I'm in the shade 220 neutral beige and my exact match in mac is NC20, however I like to netralise my yellow tones so use an NW20, which is why I use the 220 natural beige in colourstay as it has more pinkish undertones. It looks great on my skin and blends in well!

Would definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MizzShahira on 5/13/2011 10:31:00 AM more reviews by MizzShahira

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really, truly wanted to like this foundation.. However I am slightly disappointed that it didn't work for me. First of all the price for this foundation is certainly not cheap in Australia. Here Revlon Colorstay costs about $36, which especially for someone like me, its a lot. I decided that since there has been so many positive reviews about this foundation, I should give it a try. The first colour I bought ended up being the wrong colour for me, even though it seemed like a perfect match at the shop. So I returned it and tried finding the colour that would suit me best, however I really struggled, none of the other colours seemed to match my skin. I have pink undertones, and the ones that were pink were either too light or too dark. So I would say my first disappointment is that I couldn't find the right colour.

After choosing a colour that I thought best matched me, even though it had a bit of a yellow undertone in it, I began wearing the foundation. At first I thought wow, this is great coverage and it certainly did last all day.. The negative is that it dries so quickly and you have to blend it in super fast and that it looks cakey. No matter how little of it I wore, since I have dry skin, it really emphasized my dry patches and that sure didn't look pretty at all. However because I liked that lasting power I still used it.

Now 3 weeks after continuous use of this foundation, my dry patches have gone worse. The skin under my eyes and mouth became so dry and flaky. I went to seek my dermatologist and she said that I had dermatitis which was caused from a product I was using, either from cosmetics or skincare. I had no other additions to my skincare or any changes in my makeup, the only thing that it would come down to would be this foundation. I had to stop using it as soon as possible. After I stopped using the Colorstay and treating my dermatitis with a prescribed cream I noticed a huge difference and my dermatitis was no longer visible. I am so shattered that this foundation didn't work.. Whatever is in this that makes it stay on must be strong. Ahh well another foundation that didn't work for me.. Looks like i'm still on my search for my ultimate HG foundation!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 scrim on 5/12/2011 9:56:00 AM more reviews by scrim

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I love love love this foundation. I have been using colourstay for 3 and a half years now and have not found a better or even close match. it lasts me all day, and I dont need a primer or finish spray. I love how it's full coverage and it's the purfect colour for my skin. the only con is that it costs $37 in Australi,. but well worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pugsrule on 5/10/2011 9:58:00 PM more reviews by pugsrule

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I have really dry skin.I have worn mineral powder for the last 2 years with very few ingredients and Ive been very happy with it.It seems every liquid foundation i have tried over the years either breaks me out or doesnt go on well..blotchy,showing all my flakies,etc.no matter how i put it on.Last summer i bought 6 diferent foundations and never really found an HG.For some reason ( Im a makeup junky) lol i gave this a try.And i love it!It goes on even,doesnt drag,I barely have to blend which is good for dry skin and looks great all day.This stuff doesnt budge,no transfer either.I have yellow undertones so finding a color match seemed hard but the two colors i use seperatly blend right into my skin..:)I will repurchase this for sure when i run out!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 coco241 on 5/10/2011 9:40:00 PM more reviews by coco241

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I don't understand why so many people love this foundation. It looked really cakey on and I just hated the way it made my skin feel. It didn't make my skin less oily either. Major letdown, will never be buying this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Hanix on 5/10/2011 7:30:00 PM more reviews by Hanix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am not a fan of liquid foundations but when I tried this product, I'm hooked! I'm down to my third bottle! It's absolutely long-wearing and stays on even in my long haul flights.I blend it with a damp wedge sponge and just set it with MAC studio fix PF and it creates a flawless,dewy finish..It does a pretty good job covering blemishes even without concealer. It would be nicer if it comes in a pump though..But I definitely recommend it for anyone looking for a foundation with staying power and full coverage.=)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lolomarie on 5/10/2011 7:22:00 PM more reviews by lolomarie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

When I saw that everyone had this product, I just had to give it a try! It's only around $7 (but I got it at the Swap Meet for $4!!)!
Pros: Full-coverage for sure
Cons: the packaging (It's really annoying it's like a cylinder tube with no pump you have to pour it out), kinda has an orangey-tint

I really liked the Revlon Colorstay because it was full coverage, but the only reason I didn't really like it after a while was because I bought the wrong shade... whoops. I probably wouldn't buy it again because of the packaging, it just wastes too much of the product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 staceisace on 5/10/2011 1:34:00 PM more reviews by staceisace

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I saw so many rave reviews about this online that I decided to try it. However, my experience with this foundation didn't get off to a very good start. I bought the normal/oily skin formula as I have normal/combination skin. This was a big mistake as I find this formula far too drying! Then I also managed to choose the wrong shade - I hate the way Boots/Superdrug have such bright lights, they make the colours look all wrong! It was a bit too dark but it would probably match me now that I've seen the sun a little! I applied this with both my fingers and the ELF powder brush. I hated the effect. Even after spending ages blending, it just didn't look even and since it's got such good coverage, the uneven-ness was so obvious! I am not normally a fan of full coverage foundations so that's probably why I wasn't able to work with this. I also found that it oxidized quite a lot on my skin (it did stay on pretty well, I'll give it that!) making the fact it was a touch dark even more obvious! I seriously dislike foundations which don't have pumps so it loses marks for packaging with me. All in all, it's a huge thumbs down - I hate the formula, the finish, the oxidising and the packaging! I will definitely not be repurchasing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GothicGal on 5/10/2011 4:32:00 AM more reviews by GothicGal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This makeup was too dark (the lightest shade) & made me look orange. It was a full coverage but I had to touch up straight away bc my skin got so shiny & oily from this. So yeah, didn't like this foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KennaB on 5/10/2011 3:55:00 AM more reviews by KennaB

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

favorite foundation. heavy coverage and very buildable. when going out for a night i usually put 2 layers on...makes me look like i have flawless skin. i just wish it would come with a pump.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products