Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4450 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 MeghAshley on 5/17/2011 3:08:00 PM more reviews by MeghAshley

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is pretty expensive for it being from the drugstore, but it's of very high quality so I feel it is worth having.
PROS:
- Has excellent coverage (Medium-Full)
- Wide range of shades to match almost every skintone
- Extremely long wearing
- Non-transferable
- Looks flawless in photographs

CONS:
- A bit on the expensive side
- The packaging (wish it had a pump so it wouldn't be so messy)
- I wish I had gotten the normal/dry because I found the oily/combo to be a bit too drying on my combo skin.

Overall, a great foundation that I feel everyone should try :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SurinaIsabelle on 5/17/2011 2:38:00 PM more reviews by SurinaIsabelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Colorstay Foundation > Combination/Oily Skin
Pros: Incredibly long-lasting and non-transferable
Cons: Turns a slightly darker/orange shade once it oxidises; application is rather difficult as it sets almost immediately (I highly recommend using a make-up sponge); it is very drying - whilst this is a plus for those with oily skin, I recommend using the Normal/Dry version if you have combination skin.

Overall: It was the durability, coverage and transfer-resistance that attracted me to this foundation, and it fulfils all these qualities. My only qualm is that I found the Combination/Oily Skin version too drying on my combination skin, so perhaps the Normal/Dry version will be much better - I see HG potential!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emjar on 5/17/2011 2:38:00 PM more reviews by emjar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've been using Revlon Colorstay for a year now. This is with out a doubt the best drugstore foundation, and I've heard so from many other people. The coverage is medium to full and it wears amazingly. It doesn't melt off and disappear through out the day. I find that I don't wear this one as much in the summer time because it is a full on foundation and it doesn't feel as light on your skin. I have normal/dry skin and the dry formula works well. I find this foundation is matte enough that I don't need a setting powder with it. I have one con and that is the color range. There are more than enough colors for everyone, but I find myself having to mix the Sand Beige and Buff together to get a perfect match. Personally, I like to apply it with my fingers. I'm still using it and I plan on continuing to use it for awhile. With the $10 price tag, you won't regret trying it out.

**Edited 2/17/13**
Changing my rating from 4 to 5 lippies due to experimenting with other foundations and always going back to Revlon Colorstay. I'm one of those people that doesn't really see the purpose of buying a Chanel foundation for everyday use, especially as foundations go quick for me. I really love this stuff. It lasts forever, gives great coverage, is very inexpensive, doesn't break me out, and now that I've been fake tanning, I've found a perfect color match. Flawless foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jaguayanflawer on 5/17/2011 12:48:00 PM more reviews by jaguayanflawer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Not yet my HG foundation, but pretty close... it's the one that lasts the longest before I become sort of a shiny shiny disco ball. I found a pretty close skin tone match, so I'm pretty happy with it. Nevertheless, it does need a pump cause it's not that easy to get it out. A bit pricey for a d/s foundation, but not as expensive as h/e ones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 EmilyCronex on 5/17/2011 12:03:00 PM more reviews by EmilyCronex

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This was an expensive foundation for the drugstore, I found that it was cheaper at my Target though. I used this a lot through out the winter, but I wouldn't use it during the summer. The only big drawback about this product is that it doesn't have a pump so getting the foundation out can be a bit messy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ladylina on 5/16/2011 10:12:00 AM more reviews by ladylina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I actually bought this product from reading the reviews on here and I love it!
I have dark skin and I found my match perfectly and it stays on all day and even into the night. My complaints are that it should come with a pump and the smell. If you are looking for something inexpensive and that will hold up throughout the day without touching up you got it here.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stephaniejadexo on 5/16/2011 8:42:00 AM more reviews by stephaniejadexo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have really oily skin and this foundation prevents me from getting oil during the day. It comes in a great range of colors, its full coverage and inexpensive. I think it is one of the best foundations out there. It dries with a matte finish and doesnt leave your skin feeling sticky. If you have oily skin i recommend this. I have been using it for years and i will keep buying it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 machiivalentine on 5/16/2011 1:06:00 AM more reviews by machiivalentine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I use the Combo/Oily formula in 300 Golden Beige and it's a perfect match for me. The color in the bottle is lighter than what it actually looks like. Just a warning. I love using this for nights or when I do my costuming, and it photographs like a dream. (You can see how here http://bit.ly/k1jmfZ) I have major acne scarring on my cheeks, and this foundation covers them amazingly. (For a reference, I set it with MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural) It's really not an every day foundation, but I love pulling it out on special occasions. I've had people ask me what it is when I'm wearing it, and they're so suprised to learn it's a drugstore foundation. I'm almost tempted not to tell them and have it be my own little secret! ;) lol My only complaint is the fact it doesn't have a pump. I feel like if it did, this foundation would be perfection!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 gorgeousgretchen on 5/15/2011 8:59:00 PM more reviews by gorgeousgretchen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

POSITIVE
-reasonably priced $9.99 @ my local Target
-dries quickly and sets very matte with powder
-provides medium to nearly full coverage
-controls oil longer than other foundations
-lasts 6-8 hours with setting powder
-pleasant scent


NEGATIVE
-no pump
-110 Ivory is still too dark for my pale skin/oxidizes
-transfers onto boyfriend's clothing with setting powder
-feels heavy/can look cakey

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NativeHeart on 5/14/2011 9:04:00 PM more reviews by NativeHeart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have used all different foundations and could never seem to find a color that fit me. After trying this one it worked for me. It lasts all day. Only thing is that it creases. And I wish that it came with a pump, because I am always wasting product. What I am going to do is to buy a bottle with a pump and put the foundation in there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products