Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2178 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lfrueh on 1/30/2009 11:39:00 AM more reviews by lfrueh

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

It's just too mask-like for me irl. I guess if you need a lot of coverage and have oily-ish skin it's a good thing to try, but I can only get it to work mixing it with a lighter texture liquid, or I might try making a TM out of it. It does look good in pictures, though, I must say. Very smoooooooth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pinkpirate on 1/30/2009 10:09:00 AM more reviews by pinkpirate

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Great coverage and the shade I got was a perfect match for my skintone! It didn't look too heavy on me and didn't look "makeupy", so I really liked that. Very nice consistency. The packaging, especially the pump, is a fantastic touch.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nica4588 on 1/28/2009 8:03:00 PM more reviews by nica4588

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I absolutely love the coverage this foundation gives. It was recommended to me due to my combination skin but I find that sometimes it makes me a bit oily, particularly in the T-zone (my problem spot). I don't use primer so I wonder if it has anything to do with that. The price is a little steep but I must admit that one pump covers a whole face and goes quite a long ways!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LMfanatic on 1/28/2009 7:54:00 PM more reviews by LMfanatic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to like this, but it broke me out so bad, even within a day of using it. Returned this and the primer. Also, it made me incredibly oily - I love MUFE Face & Body, Mat Velvet +, and the Duo Mat Powder foundation so I was disappointed when this didn't work. But I guess 3 out of 4 foundations isn't bad :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LauraM on 1/28/2009 7:53:00 PM more reviews by LauraM

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The coverage on me was so-so, but it a zit or two started to pop up. Luckily I stopped using it and returned it before my face fully broke out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 alana4321 on 1/28/2009 7:48:00 PM more reviews by alana4321

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I had seen a lot of great reviews for this product and I definitely fell for the "high definition" marketing. The display that allows you to match your skin tone to the women in the photos to find your shade number was a great idea, especially since MUFE's number system is pretty confusing. I'm NC15, and the woman in the 117 photo seemed to be my closest match...she seemed slightly darker than me, but the two lighter shades were pink toned. I then made the mistake of buying the foundation before looking at it on my skin outside of the store lighting...I got home and discovered that it was way too yellow for me! In my opinion, 117 is not the same shade as the woman in the display photo. My other issue with the foundation is that the coverage was too thick for me, I don't like my face to look like a mask.

Summary:

Cons:
- Shade 117 is too yellow for my NC15 skin (neutral leaning to warm toned)
- Coverage is too cakey and unnatural (in my opinion)

Pros:
-Packaging is plastic and has a pump

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 weemansmum on 1/27/2009 9:24:00 PM more reviews by weemansmum

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is great for HD camera, print and film work. That's why it was developed and if used for that purpose its fabulous. Great coverage, easy to work with, great under lights, and if applied properly its everything you want for a shoot, but why would anyone want to use this for everyday use? The whole line is fabulous and while it's not something I would suggest wearing everyday to work or th egrocery store, it's exactly what you should be wearing if you are planning on being in front of the camera.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* trisheee on 1/26/2009 7:35:00 PM more reviews by trisheee

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was surprised that this product didn't get a higher rating. I've been searching for years for the perfect foundation and I've found it in this one! I love that it goes on like silk and covers everything without looking cakey. It just disappears and leaves your face looking fresh and smooth all day! I use it with the HD loose powder and get a flawlwess finish.Never too powdery. Since I started wearing this I've gotten a lot of compliments on my skin. It doesn't settle into the lines either... I'm 47. I'll never try anything else! Just wish it was a little more affordable. It's pricey but so worth it to me. I use it daily and the foundation lasted almost 5 months. I still have tons of the loose powder and purchased them at the same time. Ask Sephora for a sample and see for yourself how wonderful this foundation is! And be sure to try it with the loose powder.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yybshzl on 1/24/2009 2:59:00 AM more reviews by yybshzl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I am a NC 30 in MAC (in the summer), and I got number 123 of this foundation. I LOVE IT!! It makes my skin looks so smooth. I only need to touch up my chin, where I have acnes on, after I put the foundation on for 6 hours. I have very acne-prone skin and never feel irritated when this foundation is on my face.

Foundations I have used:
BE, Everyday Minerals, Revlon Color-stay, Clinique, Bobbi Brown, etc..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 drawingdami on 1/20/2009 11:37:00 PM more reviews by drawingdami

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have very blotchy, scarred, acne prone skin, but it is also very dry and flaky. This makeup covers all of my scars very nicely and lasts most of the day. It has not broken me out, and my face doesn't look dry or caked. I also really like the pump dispenser, although I wish it disbursed a little less each pump. I also tried the primer, and while it does help to hold the foundation, it makes the foundation too orange for my skintone. Otherwise, I am very, very pleased with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products