Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4435 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 ladylina on 5/16/2011 10:12:00 AM more reviews by ladylina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I actually bought this product from reading the reviews on here and I love it!
I have dark skin and I found my match perfectly and it stays on all day and even into the night. My complaints are that it should come with a pump and the smell. If you are looking for something inexpensive and that will hold up throughout the day without touching up you got it here.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stephaniejadexo on 5/16/2011 8:42:00 AM more reviews by stephaniejadexo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have really oily skin and this foundation prevents me from getting oil during the day. It comes in a great range of colors, its full coverage and inexpensive. I think it is one of the best foundations out there. It dries with a matte finish and doesnt leave your skin feeling sticky. If you have oily skin i recommend this. I have been using it for years and i will keep buying it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 machiivalentine on 5/16/2011 1:06:00 AM more reviews by machiivalentine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I use the Combo/Oily formula in 300 Golden Beige and it's a perfect match for me. The color in the bottle is lighter than what it actually looks like. Just a warning. I love using this for nights or when I do my costuming, and it photographs like a dream. (You can see how here http://bit.ly/k1jmfZ) I have major acne scarring on my cheeks, and this foundation covers them amazingly. (For a reference, I set it with MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural) It's really not an every day foundation, but I love pulling it out on special occasions. I've had people ask me what it is when I'm wearing it, and they're so suprised to learn it's a drugstore foundation. I'm almost tempted not to tell them and have it be my own little secret! ;) lol My only complaint is the fact it doesn't have a pump. I feel like if it did, this foundation would be perfection!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 gorgeousgretchen on 5/15/2011 8:59:00 PM more reviews by gorgeousgretchen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

POSITIVE
-reasonably priced $9.99 @ my local Target
-dries quickly and sets very matte with powder
-provides medium to nearly full coverage
-controls oil longer than other foundations
-lasts 6-8 hours with setting powder
-pleasant scent


NEGATIVE
-no pump
-110 Ivory is still too dark for my pale skin/oxidizes
-transfers onto boyfriend's clothing with setting powder
-feels heavy/can look cakey

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NativeHeart on 5/14/2011 9:04:00 PM more reviews by NativeHeart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have used all different foundations and could never seem to find a color that fit me. After trying this one it worked for me. It lasts all day. Only thing is that it creases. And I wish that it came with a pump, because I am always wasting product. What I am going to do is to buy a bottle with a pump and put the foundation in there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 makeupphd on 5/14/2011 4:44:00 PM more reviews by makeupphd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been wanting to buy this for a while but was holding off to finish my bare essentuals (in medium tan). before dropping another $25+ on that or another high-end foundation I decided to finally give this a try...got the 320/ 'true beige' shade and it's an excellent match for my NC37 skin! I pour some product on the back of my hand and apply with a MAC 187 skunk brush that I spritz with the MAC fix+ spray...it looks great! smooth (since I apply some aquafore ointment on very dry patches, like around my nose, before applying the foundation) and matte, which is a finish I really like on my combo skin. Also, since i use the fix+ I get a light coverage finish which I prefer since I dont have many problem areas to cover- however, if you like heavier coverage, its totally buildable. it's quite long lasting and hard to come off, so when you want to wash if off make sure to rinse several times (when I want to clean the back of my hand after application, it takes several washes w soap!)...this stuff is great and extremely affordable- i dont see any reason to go out and buy another more expensive foundation anymore. My sking tends to be very clear, but I'll update in case this causes any breakouts.
UPDATE: Yup, about 2 weeks of regular use led to breakouts! and itchiness right after application. I'd still recommend if you need the long lasting coverage at an affordable price. but not for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Zumbii on 5/13/2011 4:55:00 PM more reviews by Zumbii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I probably have one of the worst skin quality of just about anyone I know. I am a constant sufferer of cystic acne (which if anyone has ever had them, you know they are extremely painful, red and super hard to get rid of).

I can get stressed out easily, which does not help my skin in the least.

I purchased this product a while back, and have had to repurchase three different shades because I cannot match my skin tone (even when I was 'matched' at a drug store by a so-call professional).

I find that any shade I get, it is either too pink or far too yellow. I cannot for the life of me match my skin tone, and probably will not be able to ever match it with this product since I am extremely pale and in between a pink and yellow undertone.

I have severe scarring on my cheeks from years of excessive acne, and I find this product does not cover the scars as much as I'd like. Even with a concealer, I find I have to apply a crap load of concealer to cover my blemishes.

It is also very hot and humid where I live, and the foundation does not seem to stay on my skin.

Pros:
-The coverage is medium, and if you don't have a lot to cover you can end up with a very flawless look (If you're lucky enough to find a match)
- It dries quickly and fairly matte
- You can use a wet sponge to delay the drying so it's easier to work with
- With a damp sponge, blending is very easy.
- Lasts longer than most foundations (even against LITTLE oil)

Cons:
- The foundation does not have a full enough coverage for extreme acne and acne scarring (even with a concealer)
- Apply a lot of this foundation to COVER these blemishes will leave you with a gross, cakey, and finger-print hazard finish. (touching your face will leave an imprint, or rubbing your face on something will leave a smudge)
- Creases HORRIBLY in fine lines and wrinkles
- Dries darker than what it is in the bottle
- Does not hold up against oil nearly as well as it says it does (especially in humid weather)
- If your complexion is in between yellow and pink undertones, you will have a serious problem with finding the right shade
- After five hours, if you have very oily skin, the foundation will just slide off (just like any other foundation you buy)
- Has a high amount of transfer (kissing hazard)
- Does not give a natural finish - looks like you're wearing makeup
- Dries out my skin horribly- to the point that it flakes and peels
- Brings attention to dry skin - makes it look horrible
- Makes pores look larger
- Breaks me out something horrible.

Verdict:
Considering I have very oily skin and bad scaring, this is currently the only product that does a half-decent job that I can afford, but if I had the funds and knew where to get proper products, I would never repurchase this.

This product would be ideal for someone who has slight acne/discolouration and slight oil, but not someone who has an extremely oily face and sever acne/discolouration. This product is also not good for someone with sensitive skin because it will break you out and dry you out. I would also not suggest this to older women who have an abundance of fine line and wrinkles, because it will glob up in these and make them more noticeable.

I would not recommend this product, but unfortunately have no other choice but to keep using it until I find something better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bell90 on 5/13/2011 2:47:00 PM more reviews by bell90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

about my skin:
fair/medium, netural to warm undertones (slight yellow undertones)
oily and prone to break-outs

I love this foundation. I have had no problems with breakouts and love how it feels on my skin. It literally melts into my skin on application, but still provide medium/buildable coverage (I like to have less coverage in the day, but then if I go out I like to build it up a bit more - this doesn't cake or look too much when I use more coverage!).

I use the mac 187 to apply, or sometimes if I'm in a hurry I just use my fingers and this works perfectly well for the daytime! I set it with mac mineralize skinfinish in light medium and it lasts all day. At night time I do have to top up using my mac mineralize skinfinish but this is to be expected with any foundation in my case. I have used it without setting it before and still find that it lasts a long time.

A lot of people have compared it to mac studio fix fluid, I have used this foundation in the past and actually prefer the revlon one! The only issue I have, which I'm sure has been mentioned, is the bottle. It gets quite difficult to pour out when you use a lot. It would be much better with a pump. But at just over 12 it is still great value for money, especially when it is comparable to a more expensive high end brand foundation (and in my opinion better).


For reference I'm in the shade 220 neutral beige and my exact match in mac is NC20, however I like to netralise my yellow tones so use an NW20, which is why I use the 220 natural beige in colourstay as it has more pinkish undertones. It looks great on my skin and blends in well!

Would definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MizzShahira on 5/13/2011 10:31:00 AM more reviews by MizzShahira

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really, truly wanted to like this foundation.. However I am slightly disappointed that it didn't work for me. First of all the price for this foundation is certainly not cheap in Australia. Here Revlon Colorstay costs about $36, which especially for someone like me, its a lot. I decided that since there has been so many positive reviews about this foundation, I should give it a try. The first colour I bought ended up being the wrong colour for me, even though it seemed like a perfect match at the shop. So I returned it and tried finding the colour that would suit me best, however I really struggled, none of the other colours seemed to match my skin. I have pink undertones, and the ones that were pink were either too light or too dark. So I would say my first disappointment is that I couldn't find the right colour.

After choosing a colour that I thought best matched me, even though it had a bit of a yellow undertone in it, I began wearing the foundation. At first I thought wow, this is great coverage and it certainly did last all day.. The negative is that it dries so quickly and you have to blend it in super fast and that it looks cakey. No matter how little of it I wore, since I have dry skin, it really emphasized my dry patches and that sure didn't look pretty at all. However because I liked that lasting power I still used it.

Now 3 weeks after continuous use of this foundation, my dry patches have gone worse. The skin under my eyes and mouth became so dry and flaky. I went to seek my dermatologist and she said that I had dermatitis which was caused from a product I was using, either from cosmetics or skincare. I had no other additions to my skincare or any changes in my makeup, the only thing that it would come down to would be this foundation. I had to stop using it as soon as possible. After I stopped using the Colorstay and treating my dermatitis with a prescribed cream I noticed a huge difference and my dermatitis was no longer visible. I am so shattered that this foundation didn't work.. Whatever is in this that makes it stay on must be strong. Ahh well another foundation that didn't work for me.. Looks like i'm still on my search for my ultimate HG foundation!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 scrim on 5/12/2011 9:56:00 AM more reviews by scrim

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I love love love this foundation. I have been using colourstay for 3 and a half years now and have not found a better or even close match. it lasts me all day, and I dont need a primer or finish spray. I love how it's full coverage and it's the purfect colour for my skin. the only con is that it costs $37 in Australi,. but well worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products