Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4441 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 5/20/2011 4:47:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is actually my first foundation. I've been lucky enough to just use tinted moisturizer. (i loovee tarte smooth operator in agent 14). But lately, I've been Breaking out really bad and I needed something with medium-full coverage. Didn't want to dish out $$$ for high end foundations because I rarely use it. Heard that Revlon colorstay was the best of drugstore foundations, so I knew i had to try it out. I wear 'rich tan' in the combo/oily formula and I have the one WItHOUT the softflex. Loovveeeeee it!

Color blended really well with my skin. Made my pimples on forehead easier to conceal. I applied my olay hydrating moisturizer and then sephora's smoothing primer before I used my fingers to blend. Foundation does set fast but I tend to apply my makeup fast so that wasn't a problem for me. Hate the smell (really does smell like paint) but thank god it disappears after it sets. Wish it came with a pump but i really don't mind the packaging. I set foundation with NYC's smooth skin loose powder in naturally beige.

Def will repurchase if I ever so run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ttzeng on 5/20/2011 3:49:00 AM more reviews by ttzeng

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I haven't used any high-end foundations before, but I was impressed with the quality of this drugstore product. I'm not a huge fan of Revlon, but this foundation gave even, full coverage, and has a faint sweet scent. It looks normal indoors, but my face looks a tad bit lighter than the rest of my body when I'm out in the sun. Overall though, I thought this was a great find.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 andersonk1987 on 5/19/2011 7:53:00 PM more reviews by andersonk1987

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Love it! Stays on my face without sliding off. I don't have problems with a white cast since my face is slightly pale to begin with. I love applying this foundation to one side of my face and then standing back and looking at how gorgeous it looks (compared to the other side haha!) I have oily skin so it doesn't last all day....but nothing ever does. Anyways, I don't use this much in the summer (I use Teint Miracle from Lancome because it's lighter) but once winter rolls around again (or a cool summer night) I will use again and again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dipndotts on 5/19/2011 2:39:00 PM more reviews by dipndotts

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I do like the coverage. My skin is dry and it doesn't emphasize that (I have the version for dry skin). The color is pretty much an exact match. But I'm not sure if I'd buy this product again. I don't like that it doesn't have a pump - I feel so unsanitary always reaching into the bottle to get the product out. I apply this with my Sonia Kashuk flat-top brush and it looks pretty good. I'm pleased, but that's not to say I won't look elsewhere in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HollyOfTheValley on 5/19/2011 11:56:00 AM more reviews by HollyOfTheValley

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation in the the normal/dry version, color nude, mixed with a bit of color ivory (depending on the time of year) is for me a nice, full-coverage, semi-natural finish look. I do not like the smell (glue-like for a lot of foundations these days) and I do not like that it is without a pump! It is such a basic feature that is missing otherwise I'd give this five stars for this price range. I have since tried many other department store brands, but I can't say they outperform by much. I realize now to make this look even better I have to work on skin care to get my skin moisture up. I tried the expensive brands thinking this was too dry but I think it's my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vickydc829 on 5/19/2011 10:36:00 AM more reviews by vickydc829

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Black    

I've been using Revlon Colorstay Foundation for the longest time because it provides good coverage and lasts for long hours.Only problem is that it's too heavy on my face and I had zits and blackheads from using it so I stopped and switched to another foundation with a lighter formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 afontenot89 on 5/18/2011 4:10:00 PM more reviews by afontenot89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ahhhhh-mazingggg;) i really like this foundation. It covers really well. i have fair skin and i deal with redness like no ones business! lol. this foundation makes my skin look flawless. It can look cakey if you use too much, if you didnt blend it properly or if you use to much setting powder.
How I apply:
after i moisturize and prime my face i get some product on my finger and apply it to my face ( a few swipes on my cheeks, forehead, chin, and nose) and then i buff it all in my my sigma 187 brush(duo fiber) then i take a little more product and blend it down my neck so everything looks even, then i take a dry cosmetic sponge and gently dap it on my face to absorb the excess. then i apply my bare minerals mineral viel and i set everything with mac fix plus and WA-LA a flawless face:)
i use the combo/oily formula in the shade150 buff.

the only bummer is the packaging =/ but who really cares how it comes out as long as it looks great;) i purchased mine at walgreens
walgreens and cvs have the best sales haha:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thea06 on 5/18/2011 8:22:00 AM more reviews by thea06

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i just bought a bottle the other day..it was in sand beige..which is a bit lighter than my skin tone..but it was the most yellowish shade for that certain product..that why i got it...the first time i used it...i was so freaked out co'z it was so pale for me and i was afraid that it would turn ashy...but it didn't...the sales lady said that the color selection for colorstay were very light because oily people tend to be more acidic and foundation turns darker after a few hours when applied to acidic skin....i only used a really tiny amount and it was great..it lasted the whole day and and it covered up my acne marks...my officemate even complimented my skin...she said it look really fresh and she didn't even think that i was wearing a foundation...the only con about it is that after a few hours i feel like it got a bit oily and a few small pimples erupted..though do love the coverage..and maybe i'd use it in some occasions...co'z i do feel that this isn't really your everyday foundation...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 apricotcloud on 5/18/2011 7:37:00 AM more reviews by apricotcloud

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Just thought I would add another review because my first one was for the original Colorstay (before they messed around with the formulation) - the below posts are right, it is COMPLETELY different. What was once a 'stay on all day/night' foundation is just not any more. Even when I put it on in the morning, I have to put so much more on because it just is not as good coverage. A real shame. I have switched to Mac Studio Finish concealer and am much happier

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 d0rkothee on 5/17/2011 10:00:00 PM more reviews by d0rkothee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not a big fan of liquid foundation because it feels thick and cakey. The colorstay foundation is a fairly thick foundation on its own and dries fairly quickly when applying it to your face. What I like to do is mix a small drop of the foundation with a small drop of moisturizer and it's the best consistency and almost looks airbrushed.

I have combination skin, so I must always use primer before applying any sort of foundation to my face. If I use the colorstay foundation (oily/combination formula), my T zone area gets oily instantly. So, if you have oily skin, I recommend a primer.

Overall, this foundation is great for the price. It's lasting power is quite great. There is a large selection of colors to choose from.

The con of this is the packaging. Its not sanitary because its just a bottle with a cap that you unscrew. You would almost always pour out more product that you need and you would end up pouring back the liquid in the bottle. If only they made it with a pump.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products