Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4438 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 hello2belle on 5/23/2011 3:03:00 AM more reviews by hello2belle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

This is an amazing product considering the amount of money you are spending on it. I would rate it better than the Mac foundations I have tried. It is a very full coverage foundation. I find that I don't need an concealer when I wear this because it is pretty thick. That being said, it doesn't look very natural. When you are up close people can definitely tell you are wearing makeup. Also, the formula is quick drying so you have to dab a little on to your hand and work quickly to spread it around the intended area. You also have to use some heavy duty makeup remover to get this off. It doesn't come off with regular soap and water. The upside to this is that you don't need a primer or any blotting powder. It sticks to your skin like no other and keeps it from looking oily. I have the version for oily/combo skin. I never need to use any blotting powders.

I prefer my Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua foundation to this, but that costs $45, this costs around $10. Hence, this is more of an "I would like to look nice but I don't need to go all out" type of foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinkhart on 5/22/2011 10:04:00 AM more reviews by pinkhart

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

So I purchased this a couple of months ago. 1st of all the packaging. Revlon, the middle ages are over. Pump please? The glass jar is workable but not the best. The smell is very plasticy. Smells like your car is getting spray painted. I definitely can't use this everyday bcs I will break out. But either way this is HG material. When combined with the beautyblender: Wow, it gives a beautiful airbrush finish! I have Soft Nude and matches perfectly. I use this only to go out but not on a regular basis. Price is not the worst, especially when you get it @ Walmart. There are other drugstore foundations that are more expensive and totally not worth it. All in all, I love, love, love it!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LeahM426 on 5/22/2011 5:45:00 AM more reviews by LeahM426

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I personally love this foundation. I have oily/acne prone skin and some scarring on my cheeks. This foundation is the only drugstore brand foundation zi have found that gives me great coverage and keeps my skin looking matte for hours, which ks amazing for skin like mine. I have had no problems with it breaking me out and it doesn't appear cakey on my face (I put it on with a stippling brush) I am not a huge fan of the heavy packaging, but for me, personally, the pros definitely out-weigh the cons!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 auroratoma on 5/22/2011 1:38:00 AM more reviews by auroratoma

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't like this foundation!
I have the version for oily skin!
The foundation has full coverage but it looks like a mask! It's very powdery!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ashley00 on 5/21/2011 10:59:00 PM more reviews by Ashley00

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm 17, and with an oily/acne prone skin is extremely hard to find the right make up. If my skin doesn't agree with a product, it will break out seriously bad. I tried with the Almay TLC, Maybelline Dream Mate, even Clinique`s acne solutions...well, BIG ZITS.
Since day 1 I tried the Colorstay (#250) my skin loved it. I know it's not natural coverage, but the coverage is awesome for my acne marks.
The only bad thing: the bottle.
Otherwise this foundation is the best thing that could happened to my skin :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 purpleswirl on 5/21/2011 10:16:00 AM more reviews by purpleswirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a review for the Combination/ Oily version.

Oh dear. Well, I did a lot of research on this foundation. It seemed like it would be perfect for me: I am young with oily skin (though thankfully pretty clear) which makes make-up melt like butter in no time. Tonnes of sites recommended a matte, heavy-coverage foundation such as Colorstay as the best for oily skin, so naturally I picked up a bottle to see what the fuss was about.

Texture/ finish: thick, matte, heavy, fake-looking on me. The girls in the pics look flawless though, so I guess it's just each to their own!

What I think worked against me was Colorstay's thick coverage; to me it looked and felt unnatural and the thick texture usually made it a pain to work with on rushed mornings. I would have overlooked the unpleasant paint smell if it were not for the fact that this foundation does not work for me and the lack of a pump!

Yes, it's water-resistant to a degree; I wore this swimming in a lake once and it was still on, but a little patchy/ streaky. BUT, it just looked fake and icky. I also got my regular oily breakthrough (such an ugly shine) which made my face a shining beacon of grease, so this did not control the oil for me. I think it's becaue it was so smothering that my skin fought against it. I didn't powder over this foundation because it looked cakey and disgusting. I've tried it as a concealer, too, and that was all right but not much better. This as liquid contour (my shade is way too dark for me now) just won't work either - it ends up like stripes under my cheekbones because it's so difficult to blend.

If you want to try this foundation, go for it! By trying this I realised that I'm actually after light, virtually undetectable coverage that evens out skin tone, controls oiliness but still looks great; I'm still searching. I'd recommend to use this with fingers because that might help with the product's viscosity (trust me, it's thick stuff). When I used my gorgeous foundation brush to apply this foundation, it got terribly congested and took me eons to get it clean again.

Also, it's just personal preference but I believe that you should use a lighter foundation all over and cover problem areas with a heavy coverage foundation/ CONCEAL. I too mistook foundation for concealer, though my philosphy has changed.

Oh, and to those that are worried about breakouts: just thoroughly cleanse. Either do a double or use some toner. A lot of breakouts are probably caused by make-up residue lurking in pores, so be good to yourself and give your face a proper, thorough wash.

To summarise after this essay:
Price: 3. I paid around 10.99 for it, but the price in the UK has since gone up to 12.49, so I think it's pretty expensive for the results I got and the overall quality.

Packaging quality: 2. Liked the glass bottle, though a little heavy and inconvenient for travel. However, the lack of pump inevitably means wastage - no matter how careful you are - and it's just scrimping when Revlon can definitely afford to put one in!

I will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gnikole2003 on 5/20/2011 5:18:00 PM more reviews by gnikole2003

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this is a great liquid foundation which gives me a full coverage when its needed .ive been through a bad acne period for about 3 years due to climate change when i moved in UK , and this foundation saved me . now i have about 6months since i am acne free and i dont use it as much as i go for something lighter . my only problem with this foundation was that it was caking up a little a bit around my nose area , as i have an extreme combination skin type - very oily on forehead and nose , but extremely dry on my cheeks and on the sides of my nose . i have tried the both options - combo/oily and normal/dry , but imo they performed same . overall a good foundation on a budget and i will still purchase when needed . best way for me to apply it was with a damp sponge as it does set quite fast .the biggest issue ive had with this foundation is the packaging ,many times i choosed a different foundation just because i was in a hurry and couldnt be bothered to sit there and pour the foundation slowly .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 5/20/2011 4:47:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is actually my first foundation. I've been lucky enough to just use tinted moisturizer. (i loovee tarte smooth operator in agent 14). But lately, I've been Breaking out really bad and I needed something with medium-full coverage. Didn't want to dish out $$$ for high end foundations because I rarely use it. Heard that Revlon colorstay was the best of drugstore foundations, so I knew i had to try it out. I wear 'rich tan' in the combo/oily formula and I have the one WItHOUT the softflex. Loovveeeeee it!

Color blended really well with my skin. Made my pimples on forehead easier to conceal. I applied my olay hydrating moisturizer and then sephora's smoothing primer before I used my fingers to blend. Foundation does set fast but I tend to apply my makeup fast so that wasn't a problem for me. Hate the smell (really does smell like paint) but thank god it disappears after it sets. Wish it came with a pump but i really don't mind the packaging. I set foundation with NYC's smooth skin loose powder in naturally beige.

Def will repurchase if I ever so run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ttzeng on 5/20/2011 3:49:00 AM more reviews by ttzeng

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I haven't used any high-end foundations before, but I was impressed with the quality of this drugstore product. I'm not a huge fan of Revlon, but this foundation gave even, full coverage, and has a faint sweet scent. It looks normal indoors, but my face looks a tad bit lighter than the rest of my body when I'm out in the sun. Overall though, I thought this was a great find.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 andersonk1987 on 5/19/2011 7:53:00 PM more reviews by andersonk1987

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Love it! Stays on my face without sliding off. I don't have problems with a white cast since my face is slightly pale to begin with. I love applying this foundation to one side of my face and then standing back and looking at how gorgeous it looks (compared to the other side haha!) I have oily skin so it doesn't last all day....but nothing ever does. Anyways, I don't use this much in the summer (I use Teint Miracle from Lancome because it's lighter) but once winter rolls around again (or a cool summer night) I will use again and again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products