Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Foundation [DISCONTINUED]

3.6

2291 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Mica, talc, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Phenyl, Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimenthicone Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Cyclohexacyloxane, Methylisothiazolinone, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Silver Oxide, Propylene, Carbonate, Parfum (fragrance), Methylparaben, Fagus Sylvatica Extract (Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract), Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, [+/- CI 77891 )titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 6/21/2009 7:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this during my vacation in Hollywood, CA. The Sephora chick matched my shade perfectly. I like it. the only thing I'm not too sure about is rather this broke me out or a new cleanser I bought at the same time broke me out in the forehead. I want to love it, but for right now I'm not sure...And its sOoOOOo expensive! $40! but when I'm on vacation, I become a big spender...lol...I got home with this and I was think "I must be out of my mind!" this was the first high end foudation I bought. I don't know if I'll buy this again...



on 6/21/2009 2:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I loved the color match I found. Its always hard to find a foundation that matches my olive skin tone. I don't have oily skin but this foundation make my face look oily.I had to re-apply translucent powder through out the day. I would try it again in the winter because I really liked the color


on 6/20/2009 11:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this foundation in usually a NC40/42/and during the summer 43 i had to always mix foundations to get the right shade, specially during the summer! in MUFE i'm exactly 153 PERFECT MATCH! the coverage is heaven and best of all it does not make me break out like the MAC foundations, i am so glad i tried this foundation! it makes my face dewy, i just love it! ♥

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/20/2009 7:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

HD is the first liquid foundaton I've worn in over 3 years and has become my HG liquid foundation. It gives full coverage yet is super light and breathable and my skin still shows through. Part of the reason I stopped wearing liquid foundation was how it felt on my skin. Although it transfers a little more than my mineral foundation, HD feels like I'm wearing nothing at all. It is so light! The finish is more of a satin matte in my opinion. I can get a matte finish if I apply a mattifying powder like MUFE Super Matte but on its own or with a light dusting of a softer setting powder like Becca Fine Loose Powder. I would not call this a matte foundation and I'm not sure how well it would work for oily or combo skin, especially in warmer weather. It lasts all day and doesn't get cakey or pool although, as I mentioned, it's not a transfer-resistant foundation. This stuff will get on your phone!


Despite the full range of shades, I ended up buying two different shades to mix. The first shade I tried was #120, which ended up being too peach and dark for my NC25 skin. Maybe I'm not even an NC25? I don't know. I'm Asian with light-medium skin that has an odd yellow and olive undertone thing going on so it's very hard for me to find foundation or concealers that have just enough yellow and no peach or pink. #118 was lighter than #120 but #118 has just a touch of pink, which is a big no-no for me. #117 has enough yellow but a little too light and #123 has a touch of olive but was way too dark and yellow so I ended up mixing one part #123 with two parts #117 for the perfect shade. There is absolutely no difference between my custom-mixed shade and the skin around my ears or neck at all. I know this sounds incredibly expensive (it is!) and a lot of trouble, but trust me ladies, I'm used to this. I've had to mix my foundations and concealers so often over the years that I now budget for two shades whenever I buy anything new. #120 was a close match and looked flawless in dim lighting but outside in bright sunlight, I couldn't ignore the peachy caste to my skin. #120 will probably be a good match for a darker NC 25.


Anyway, this is definitely one of my best beauty discoveries in the last 3 years and I will repurchase if I ever run out before this stuff goes bad since I don't wear liquid foundation that often and remember, I have 2 bottles to work with. It seems that there is some dispute regarding "proper application" of this foundation but I wouldn't know what's proper and what's not. I apply with my MAC 187 only because I prefer applying liquid foundation with my 187. For me, the 187 is simply the easiest method. This foundation dries fast so you need to work fast before it dries because once it does, you will not be able to blend it out very easily. I have not tried using a foundation brush or sponges or my fingers because that's not how I like to apply liquid foundation. If you don't like the 187 or don't want to use it or can't afford it, just do whatever you need to do to get the results you want. Oh yes, and I agree with everyone: the pump is terrible. It's very hard to control how much product is released with this kind of pump.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.


on 6/20/2009 2:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I gave this 2 lippies bc the color 173 amber was a really god match for me however that's where the happiness comes to a speeding halt as i started to see the dewy look become a deep fried look within a matter of an hour after putting it on. I always use primer and powder so the foundation clearly wasn't for me. I think this will be perfect for drier skin types but for oily girls like me and with summer approaching tomorrow big hell to the NO!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2009 12:20:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I got a sample of this from Sephora before plunking down $40 for the full size. This is too greasy for summer wear in Philadelphia - like the previous reviewer, it just slid off my oily face. I usually wear BE which works a lot better with my oil and the humidity. I do plan to try it again in the winter when my skin gets a little drier. It did look good when I first put it on and would probably work well for ladies with less oily skin.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/16/2009 10:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bought this stuff after using Bare Es. for 6 months or so. My skin is combo prone to breakouts...this stuff did not stay on my skin and I used the primer. It greased off my nose in a couple hours, esp. being in the hot/humid wheather in TX. Maybe if you live somewhere with less humidity it will work for you. The color was not right either. Overpriced as well, did not like the pump. Returned it.


on 6/15/2009 8:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Best liquid foundation I've used so far! It looks great on camera hence the HD :) Up close it can look a bit cakey but it could be because I'm hasty in putting on foundation. But I have noticed if I use a fix spray like the MAC Fix+ stippled on with 187 on top it it sets in alot more and looks great! Coverage is medium-high, spreads really easily. It does dry out pretty fast so apply faster! Alot of shades to choose from I'm sure it'll be easy to find a good match for just about anyone. Overall, I'm VERY satisfied and do not regret dropping the $40 on this baby. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/15/2009 7:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Great color match and didn't break me out. It made me very oily and slid off my face within 4 hours of application. Even when layering, it offered very little coverage over acne spots and scars. Very disappointed since it is marketed as a great foundation with medium to full coverage foundation.


on 6/14/2009 9:17:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Best foundation I've used so far. My skin has had a lot of imperfections and scars and this foundation masks all of that beautifully. Also, it looks great on camera, hence the "high def" right? I have acne prone skin so I haven't really tried drugstore/cheaper foundations because I'm scared of breaking out. I wish this was a bit cheaper or if there was something like it with a more reasonable price.
*EDIT*
It recently started to make me break out so I changed my foundation to Revlon Colorstay and the breakouts stopped... :( I love the coverage and finish but since I can't use it, it's no use for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top