Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Discontinued and Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4430 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 jellybaby5 on 5/28/2011 4:03:00 PM more reviews by jellybaby5

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

It smells like paint, it broke me out, it's cakey, and very hard to remove.
:(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pastel26 on 5/28/2011 2:26:00 PM more reviews by pastel26

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great foundation! I have used it on and off for several years. I use the oily/combo skin foundation in Buff. ( Im an NW20 in Mac) This has great coverage, and a really nice finish. It controls oil pretty good too. For me, the only downside to this foundation is the smell and the packaging! ( Has no pump) But otherwise, this is one of the best drugstore foundations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mjensen1 on 5/27/2011 9:32:00 PM more reviews by mjensen1

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love my revlon colorstay, it's the first liquid foundation I've used in a long time. When I first got it I applied it with a MAC 187 brush and it just seemed like too much make up was on my face, I like my natural skin to show through. So I bought an ELF foundation brush and I used very little sometimes mixing it with some moisturizer and I love it. The medium coverage is great and it matches my skin well. The one really bad thing about this product would have to be the packaging, I wish they would have made a pump that releases the perfect amt because it's quite hard to control how much foundation comes out of the bottle. Overall, I would purchase this product again..hopefully by that time Revlon will have new packaging!
XOX,
Mj

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 farahana on 5/27/2011 10:37:00 AM more reviews by farahana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I started using this foundation about 2 years ago when I change my foundation from L'oral True Match and Rimmel Long Lasting.
I bought the one for the Combination/Oily skin in Toast.
First of all I am disappointed that this is packed in a bottle without a pump. This foundation also has almost like a 'alcohol' smell, which quite strong, but it is not bothering me. I have a lot of blemishes so I usually use this foundation for full coverage. This foundation totally give the coverage I needed. Just a little bit of product can cover my whole face. Using too much of this might lead to caking, so have to be careful about that. The shade also match me well. The consistency, not too thick and not too runny. For me, it was much much better than the L'oreal true match I use before. However, I would say both of the foundation is in the same level. As far as I know this foundation never give breakout, and it does not irritate my skin. It stay long enough although I never take note how many hours was that. For a drugstore foundation I guess it is really good and definitely a 'steal'. However, now I am trying out high end brand foundation, but this foundation is still GOOD!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 poldanser on 5/26/2011 9:51:00 AM more reviews by poldanser

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i love all of the colorstay range, this is lovely and they have a vast selection of shade. However i didn't like the pour bottle. would have rather prefered if they put in a pump like the plain colorstay one (the one that didn't have soft flex). however i have used both and really really like it. the one with softflex is probably what i would call medium coverage, would definitely repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smushyellowman on 5/25/2011 10:01:00 PM more reviews by smushyellowman

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have normal/oily skin and this product stays on all day! I lasted me all day when I was sweating in the sun and sweating while dancing at night. It also makes my skin fantastic in photo, even in harsh lighting. Overall, it really makes my skin look fresh, even and smooth. The coverage is probably medium/heavy, so I have to use it sparingly. I have really red skin and some acne scars, and this covers it pretty well. The only con is that it is hard to blend into skin. The trick is to stipple it in with a sponge (i use the beautyblender) not smooth it on with a brush. Really great for the price. Even mymom prefers this $11 product to her Bobbi Brown foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DaisyFields on 5/25/2011 4:55:00 PM more reviews by DaisyFields

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really love this! My first foundation was the Bobbi Brown at Sephora for $45. It was a nice foundation, but I needed more coverage to hide some little acne scars on my cheeks. I have heard great reviews about this, and it is only $11 for me to buy.
I was glad I got this. It covered up my all of my problem areas. I have combination skin, but it can be drier so I just got the normal to dry kind in Fresh Beige. It matched my skin tone perfectly, lasted all day, no dry patches, non oily, flawless finish, covers up acne scars, no breakouts. Everyone in my family tried it, and we all have different skin tones and types from acne prone and sensitive, to oily, and dry, but it really looked great on all of us. I don't mind the bottle. All that matters to me is that the foundation works good. If you are going to complain about not having a pump, then don't buy it. Also apply it on one area at a time, because it might be a little hard to blend when you put it all over at the same time. Overall I like it a lot, and I probably would buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 melanirae on 5/25/2011 2:39:00 PM more reviews by melanirae

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I started using the oil-free/combo skin version when I was 23. I'm now 36 and have switched to the normal/dry version. It's the only foundation I've tried that covers without looking caked on. I usually apply with a damp sponge and dab it on (instead of spreading it). I've tried lots of other foundations (MAC, Elizabeth Arden, Perscriptives, Dior) and NONE have been as consistent as this.

I have subtype 1 rosacea (redness-no bumps) and this covers it. If I want a more dewy look I just add a bit of moisturizer and mix it in my palm.

It never breaks me out (I still get breakouts every once in a while).

The only bad thing is I live in Sweden and it's not sold here. I have to have friends send it over from the US! :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 loveshack529 on 5/24/2011 4:43:00 PM more reviews by loveshack529

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first time using drugstore foundation, as I am usually purchasing MAC or Dior. This Foundation works pretty well. It does dry fast so you would need to work quickly. I use the normal/dry skin. I find applying the foundation with a stippling brush gives a natural finish. I usually start with face primer (I use MAC Prep + Prime), Concealer (Optional), Revlon ColorStay Foundation, Powder (MAC Mineralize Skin Finish), Blush/Bronzer (Optional) and finish with a setting mist (MAC Fix +).

I know that sounds like a lot of work. But I find if you wear foundation, you will need all the "layers" to make your skin look radiant.

This foundation lasts all day. I used it when I visited Miami, and my face did not melt.

The only thing I can do without is the screw cover. It would be nice if they had a pump version. The smell also is kind of "chemically"? It doesn't bother me as I find it fades upon application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cmhwi on 5/24/2011 1:19:00 AM more reviews by cmhwi

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Heavy, cakey, hard to blend even when using moisturizer. Suffocates my pores and very difficult to remove. Hate the screw cap too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products