Revlon ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013]

3.8

4473 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (7.3%) Inactive Ingredients: Aqua/Water (Water), Cyclomethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, SD Alcohol 40B, PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone, Nylon 12, Tribehenin, Isododecane, Polyisobutene, Sodium Chloride, Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Bisabolol, Serica (Silk Powder), Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Malva Sylvestris Flower Extract (Mallow), Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract (Lily), Lactobacillus/Eridictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract, Alumina, Polydimethylsiloxane/Polymethysilesquioxane Copolymer, Ethylene Brassylate, Methicone, Trisiloxane, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain (+/-): Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499)


on 6/9/2011 10:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this after all the really good reviews about it. I wanted a good liquid foundation for a reasonable price and this fits the bill. This is definitely a long lasting foundation that has pretty much full coverage. The only things I don't like about it is the fact that it doesn't have a pump (it flows out really quickly so be careful!). It also felt like I was applying paint on my face when I used my foundation brush as well. This stuff dries quickly and if you use too much of it, it may look cakey as I learned the first time I used it. There are so many colors to choose from so it's not hard to find a color that matches your skin tone.



on 6/8/2011 10:35:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very good foundation.
Has been compared to many expensive undrugstore makeup.
Buildable for that flawless look.
It really does stay on your face!
But it has no pump!
CONS: The packaging.


on 6/8/2011 2:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

this does not agree with my skin, makes me break out in spots everytime i use it


on 6/8/2011 1:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this product for 5 years. It has good coverage (don't really need concealer), doesn't break out my acne-prone skin, a bit water resistant (wore it while splashing in a pool). I like to apply it with a damp wedge sponge. Best I've ever used and I don't feel a need to explore other foundations.


on 6/8/2011 8:42:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Really like this - matches skin tone well. However i do wear a green concealer underneath. Lasts all day and looksa best at the end of the day... I am 15 and have it in ivory then i follow it with a bloom bronzer for some colour :)
only downside is packaging but thats not that big of a deal
its fabulous and doesnt break me out!


on 6/8/2011 12:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Hands down, the BEST drugstore foundation there is! It covers well, and stays matte nearly all day. It also applies really nice if you do one section at a time, and there are a lot of color options, so you will find a perfect match. My favorite formula is the Combo/Oily one. Stays on all day, and covers really well. I look like I have perfect skin when I wear this. This and bare minerals are the only foundations I have bought several times. Its the BEST!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/7/2011 10:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Oh Revlon Colorstay, we've had quite a relationship! I wanted to love this foundation more than anything because I've heard nothing but good things about it.
And it IS one of the best drugstore foundations on the market. The first time I bought this foundation I got it in the wrong shade which threw me off so I didn't try it for a year later. This time around with the correct shade, I really liked it. The coverage is fantastic and it doesn't transfer onto clothing as bad as other foundations. The wide range of shades is also nice. The only thing I don't like is that it has more of a matte finish and I'm a dewey kinda gal.


on 6/7/2011 11:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is the best liquid foundation I've used. It's full coverage and I don't need a concealer when I wear this. It gives a glowy finish, which I didn't find with any other foundations I've tried. It's very water resistant and stays put all day. I usually put it on with my fingers, because I found I wasted a lot of product when I use a brush or sponge.


on 6/7/2011 11:20:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I cannot praise this foundation enough!
I am the sort of person who buys something once then tries to find something better through research and testers.
A make up artist I knew told me she always uses this foundation and seeing the result, I had to agree.
I purchased this one and never finished my Clinique foundation which I also wrote a review about.
At first it was quite difficult to apply, I used to always use my fingers of a sponge and it dries quite quickly, then I found the best way of applying it, using a brush!
I use my stippling brush and stipple it all over my face and until it's all covered, then use a setting powder. This way I don't have horrible streaks.

Now to the best part:
I have a very very VERY oily T-zone with normal/sometimes dry cheeks, I never found anything that would help it, even using anti-shine moisturisers, foundations, cleansers and powders but THIS one actually helps prevent the nasty shine!
I still get slightly oily but it doesn't show so obviously as with any other foundation. It doesn't seem to reflect the shine so that I sometimes have to touch my face to realise it needs blotting.
This I found was truly the best part of this foundation.

The coverage is great too, I can use more or less depending on how my skin looks at the time and it never broke me out.

The price is good, on the expensive side for Drug store products but infinitely cheaper than the high end products.

The only downside for me is the bottle.
It gets very messy and you can't always control exactly how much product you want. It's also not as hygenic as it could be and I'd love a pump bottle instead.
I know there are some around on ebay and I might invest in it as it would then be perfect.

I am now on my 4th bottle and I never bought any foundation this many times in a row.

Now only to find the perfect setting powder...


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I bought this foundation last year. I decided to buy it at Walmart because I knew it would be cheaper there, but unfortunately, all of the palest shades were out of stock so I purchased 150 Buff for Combo/Oily Skin anyway. When I first bought it, I didn't really know how to apply/blend foundation. I recently started working with it again and I really like it! I'm actually going to be wearing it to my prom this weekend. I'm able to blend it really well with my fingers. It has a chemically smell, but for some reason, I actually like it so it doesn't bother me. I also like how it has SPF 6. My skin for reference: pale, but getting darker as I spend more time in the sun; slightly oily but can be dry as well; suffer from redness, blemishes, breakouts, blackheads, scaring, freckles. This covers well, without making me look plasticy. Lasts all day and doesn't rub off on clothing! The reasons I wouldn't purchase this again is because I have lots tinted moisturizers I want to use up and I like to try new products.


Back to Top