Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4452 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahhjosephinee on 6/4/2011 10:29:00 PM more reviews by sarahhjosephinee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this daily for over a week now and I just love it!
It gives great coverage but isn't suffocating, and looks fresh all day. Definite repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 87PersianPrincess on 6/4/2011 10:21:00 PM more reviews by 87PersianPrincess

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product on recommendation since I have oily skin and I prefer liquid foundation. Usually anything new I use on my skin there is a little period of a week or so where it freaks out and gets new pimples and then goes back to being normal, not at all with this product. No breakouts and I actually feel like it helped.

LOVE

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katrinateee on 6/4/2011 8:49:00 PM more reviews by katrinateee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE this foundation. Definitely the best drug store foundation I've ever used, and is just as good as many department store foundations. My skin always looks dewy and fresh, but still gives amazing coverage. I have very dry skin naturally and many foundations cake and flake...but this does not. I 100% recommend this for people with dry skin, just remember to moisturize before. And use a good primer. I recommend non-silicone based. Something creamy.
I apply with my fingers, which I find its best. You have more control (since it dries quickly) and of course your fingers warm the product. Also, its much easier to blend with your fingers, because brushes and sponges don't hold the product as well, so it tends to just glob up on your face.

I've tried many foundations. Plus, I'm sort of a sob when it comes to makeup, sticking mostly to department stores. But no matter what else I try, I always come back to this. And I ALWAYS get amazing complements on my skin when I wear this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 estherellen on 6/4/2011 3:28:00 PM more reviews by estherellen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Great coverage, lasts all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Silvialee on 6/4/2011 9:57:00 AM more reviews by Silvialee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I can understand why people are giving bad reviews on this product and I can agree that the application is actually really really hard. I've been using this product now for 2 months and have still be fidling with the application. I've tried a foundation brush, fingers and stipling brush and find that none for me will give me a really even flawless application. But what I have realized is that a little bit of finishing powder will provide the flawless finish you're looking for because it evens the whole thing out and gets rid of streaks. The foundation itself provides great coverage, (I don't have to use concealer) If I wanted a more natural look I just mix it with a bit of moisterizer and apply it like a tinted moisterizer and it works great. The only con is that right now I am between colors and am really suprised that the next shade down from 150 buff is 180 sand beige which is really really dark for me

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CandeeCane07 on 6/4/2011 6:36:00 AM more reviews by CandeeCane07

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Is there more than one type of revlon colorstay?!?

Well I live in Hong Kong, and they sell revlon colourstay in HK drugstores... but the packaging seems different to the US/UK versions?

*first of all mine comes with a pump with a lid on top

PROS
packaging - has a pump
spf

CONS
lack of colour range- They only had 4 colours- and the darkest one was too light for me
-,-. and honestly i'm a NC37 in mac
-According to makeupalley, youtube and anyother beauty related things.. theres a seperate formula for both oily and dry skin... one in HK doesnt and neither does it say on the bottle
Foundation is SO CAKEY- I've used a good moisturizer and it STILL applies cakeuy
Smell - REALLY strong smell of paint

Well thats a waste of my HKD110.. But I think the formula of this revlon colorstay is different to the ones in the US :(

Would I buy the product again?
NO. But I'd really like to try the original revlon colorstay


** and I really doubt the foundation was "fake" or anything cause it was selling everywhere in legal HK drugstores in the REVLON section

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 niki0315 on 6/3/2011 5:01:00 AM more reviews by niki0315

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

love it. I bought a Normal/Dry in 250 fresh beige which matches my NC25-30 skin beautifully. This shade is yellow tone so it won't give me an orange look.Be aware some shade in this series tend to be more orange base. It went on smooth, super easy to blend with fingers, which not too many foundation can do so well on my super dry skin. The coverage was medium to me. I still need concealer to cover the red acne spot. It turned into velvet texture on face after applying so I don't need to use lot of powder that may make my skin look too dry. Nice drugstore foundation.

p.s I had Normal/Oil in 300 golden beige which I wasn't like too much because it looks dry on my face. And #300 in Normal/Oil seems slightly lighter than the shade #250 Dry/Normal

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jcq on 6/3/2011 3:00:00 AM more reviews by jcq

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I bought this product cos a lot of rave comments about it as the best drugstore foundation. I chose shade ivory, oil/combi skin.

pro : gives flawless looking skin, longlasting, has medium-heavy coverage, has many shades
cons : doesn't help much with oil control. feels way too heavy for daily use, maybe for evening time.
oh, blending with fingers would cause super cake face, using brush/sponge is a must.
Last, I blame revlon for the'glue like' smell and the silly bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Hancocsp on 6/2/2011 11:16:00 PM more reviews by Hancocsp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this foundation, I use to use Mac studio fix foundation-which I did really like but now that I am a poor college student I needed to find a more reasonable foundation and I had heard this is similar, and I am happy and pleased with the way this looks on my skin. Use it with a stippling brush and it looks pretty and even. Good product for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nekura on 6/1/2011 11:38:00 PM more reviews by Nekura

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Due the humidity of the summer I'm running into a lot of problems finding a stayput foundation due to my extreme oily skin and hot weather so I decided to finally pick up a bottle 10 YEARS later since I first tried it because I'm still hearing a lot of raves on this old gem these days. I'm pleasantly surprised with the results now. Yes, the foundation has a few kinks here and there however with the proper application it applies and sets like a dream much better than many foundations out there that cost 5x as much. It wears well over the day without "melting" off. Instead of looking greasy and cakey throughout the day, it just looks very natural. No need to touch up my face with a powder during the summer almost every hour!! The key to this foundation though is application. It works best applying with warmth of fingers or with the use of a damp sponge. Apply in sheer layers and build coverage...do not cake this on or it will enhance every (dry/patchy) flaw on your face. It doesn't well with brushes because of the quick drying time nor does it work well with a dry sponge as it'll just eat this foundation up since it's very liquidy (dampness prevents this and allows it to blend better). The finish while matte, isn't too flat either. For a more dewy finish, I'd suggest a light setting spray. Color options are wide and the undertones aren't too strange (not too orange/pink like most drugstore foundations)... I just wish Revlon would make these with a pump. Quite disappointed a decade later it's packaged nearly the same... but overall I'm glad I looked back into this product a decade later as it provides coverage and can withstand summer heat without breaking the bank.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products