Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4436 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 stargrl3 on 5/31/2011 12:09:00 AM more reviews by stargrl3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

One of my HG foundations (the other one being the significantly more expensive MAC Pro Longwear). Both foundations are pretty similar except that the MAC one is more long-wearing (15 hours and it still looks the same as when first applied while the Colorstay starts to fade after maybe 9 hours or so) and less drying (Colorstay can give you flaky patches if you have dry skin but a good moisturizer - Aveeno or Lubriderm can eliminate that).
However the Colorstay is half the price ($20 vs $40 in Canada and I believe $15 vs $30 in the US) of Pro Longwear so it's a budget friendly option.
The packaging doesn't come with a pump so it's messy but I just buy empty airless pump bottles from eBay.
Another great thing is the color selection which covers pretty much all skin colours and skin tones. For reference I'm around NC15 in Winter and NC20 in Summer and I can wear either Buff 150 or Sand Beige 180.
I really like the coverage of this - smooth medium-full matte coverage with similar texture to higher-end foundations (doesn't have the uneven cakey look and tackiness of cheap foundations). For a flawless airbrush finish I like to apply with the Sigma F80 (or a cheap dupe in the ELF powder blush). It does dry rather fast so you have to do each section at a time or blend quickly.
I have combination skin and I got the one for Combination/Oily skin but it shouldn't matter too much and in hindsight I think I should have gotten Normal/Dry because the formula for Combination/Oily is a bit drying. I have sensitive skin with occasional acne breakouts but this hasn't broken me out at all.
I definitely recommend this foundation if you want a good coverage foundation for a low price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 acarter22 on 5/30/2011 1:30:00 PM more reviews by acarter22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love this foundation! Its very comparable to Macs Studio Fix but for a fraction of the price. I use a makeup sponge to blend it and PERFECTION every time! It also doesn't wear off right away like a lot of other drugstore foudations. One thing I did not like however, is the bottle. I wish it had a pump :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 milcha on 5/30/2011 12:10:00 AM more reviews by milcha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Best make up foundation I've ever tried! (for now). It's easy to use and it's not greasy. It blends well, long lasting, and comes with a very very affordable price. I'm satisfied with all Colorstay products! I've tried the pressed powder, foundation, concealer, blush, and eyeliner...they're all pretty good and cheap! I'm not saying it's the most perfect foundationn, I'm sure there's better product out there, but I don't have a lot of money and this thing is really affordable and has a good quality.
Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Brittnee91 on 5/29/2011 11:43:00 PM more reviews by Brittnee91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Gross! Gross! Gross! I thought I would love this stuff, because I am a complete YouTube beauty guru junkie... I'd watched a number of video responses/reviews for this product and figured I would give it a go. It made me feel like I was wearing ten thousand pounds of makeup. So disgusting. I don't recommend at ALL,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Roses05 on 5/29/2011 4:12:00 PM more reviews by Roses05

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

-I like this foundation but i don't love it.
Pro's:
Great coverage
Stay's on
inexpensive
spf protection

Con's
doesn't blend well
not many color selection.
too light in color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dvdfjojo on 5/29/2011 11:40:00 AM more reviews by dvdfjojo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Wish there was a 4.5 in overall rating because this foundation is 'nearly HG'.

The coverage is wonderful, the finish is wonderful, the price to quality ration is great and it's just a brilliant daily foundation. The only thing I would change is for it to have a pump dispenser so I don't get it everywhere.

The one with softflex seems to give a slightly nicer finish compared to the version without it.

Great stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Prophet on 5/28/2011 6:49:00 PM more reviews by Prophet

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have pretty bad acne scarring. And with just one coat of this foundation it's covered up. It doesn't clog my pores or make me break out. It applies easily and it's not hard to blend. It comes in many colours to suit a lot of skin tones. It's like a better and cheaper version of MAC Studio Fix Fluid without the orange under tone. With that said, it is pretty pricy for a drugstore foundation ($20) but it's worth it. This is my everyday foundation. I usually wear it for about 6 hours. I've worn it longer and it hold up nicely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jellybaby5 on 5/28/2011 4:03:00 PM more reviews by jellybaby5

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

It smells like paint, it broke me out, it's cakey, and very hard to remove.
:(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pastel26 on 5/28/2011 2:26:00 PM more reviews by pastel26

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great foundation! I have used it on and off for several years. I use the oily/combo skin foundation in Buff. ( Im an NW20 in Mac) This has great coverage, and a really nice finish. It controls oil pretty good too. For me, the only downside to this foundation is the smell and the packaging! ( Has no pump) But otherwise, this is one of the best drugstore foundations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mjensen1 on 5/27/2011 9:32:00 PM more reviews by mjensen1

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love my revlon colorstay, it's the first liquid foundation I've used in a long time. When I first got it I applied it with a MAC 187 brush and it just seemed like too much make up was on my face, I like my natural skin to show through. So I bought an ELF foundation brush and I used very little sometimes mixing it with some moisturizer and I love it. The medium coverage is great and it matches my skin well. The one really bad thing about this product would have to be the packaging, I wish they would have made a pump that releases the perfect amt because it's quite hard to control how much foundation comes out of the bottle. Overall, I would purchase this product again..hopefully by that time Revlon will have new packaging!
XOX,
Mj

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products