Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4446 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 niki0315 on 6/3/2011 5:01:00 AM more reviews by niki0315

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

love it. I bought a Normal/Dry in 250 fresh beige which matches my NC25-30 skin beautifully. This shade is yellow tone so it won't give me an orange look.Be aware some shade in this series tend to be more orange base. It went on smooth, super easy to blend with fingers, which not too many foundation can do so well on my super dry skin. The coverage was medium to me. I still need concealer to cover the red acne spot. It turned into velvet texture on face after applying so I don't need to use lot of powder that may make my skin look too dry. Nice drugstore foundation.

p.s I had Normal/Oil in 300 golden beige which I wasn't like too much because it looks dry on my face. And #300 in Normal/Oil seems slightly lighter than the shade #250 Dry/Normal

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jcq on 6/3/2011 3:00:00 AM more reviews by jcq

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I bought this product cos a lot of rave comments about it as the best drugstore foundation. I chose shade ivory, oil/combi skin.

pro : gives flawless looking skin, longlasting, has medium-heavy coverage, has many shades
cons : doesn't help much with oil control. feels way too heavy for daily use, maybe for evening time.
oh, blending with fingers would cause super cake face, using brush/sponge is a must.
Last, I blame revlon for the'glue like' smell and the silly bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Hancocsp on 6/2/2011 11:16:00 PM more reviews by Hancocsp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this foundation, I use to use Mac studio fix foundation-which I did really like but now that I am a poor college student I needed to find a more reasonable foundation and I had heard this is similar, and I am happy and pleased with the way this looks on my skin. Use it with a stippling brush and it looks pretty and even. Good product for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nekura on 6/1/2011 11:38:00 PM more reviews by Nekura

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Due the humidity of the summer I'm running into a lot of problems finding a stayput foundation due to my extreme oily skin and hot weather so I decided to finally pick up a bottle 10 YEARS later since I first tried it because I'm still hearing a lot of raves on this old gem these days. I'm pleasantly surprised with the results now. Yes, the foundation has a few kinks here and there however with the proper application it applies and sets like a dream much better than many foundations out there that cost 5x as much. It wears well over the day without "melting" off. Instead of looking greasy and cakey throughout the day, it just looks very natural. No need to touch up my face with a powder during the summer almost every hour!! The key to this foundation though is application. It works best applying with warmth of fingers or with the use of a damp sponge. Apply in sheer layers and build coverage...do not cake this on or it will enhance every (dry/patchy) flaw on your face. It doesn't well with brushes because of the quick drying time nor does it work well with a dry sponge as it'll just eat this foundation up since it's very liquidy (dampness prevents this and allows it to blend better). The finish while matte, isn't too flat either. For a more dewy finish, I'd suggest a light setting spray. Color options are wide and the undertones aren't too strange (not too orange/pink like most drugstore foundations)... I just wish Revlon would make these with a pump. Quite disappointed a decade later it's packaged nearly the same... but overall I'm glad I looked back into this product a decade later as it provides coverage and can withstand summer heat without breaking the bank.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ixora100 on 6/1/2011 1:34:00 PM more reviews by ixora100

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product after reading a lot of reviews, here's my take on it.

If you're looking for not too expensive foundation with staying power you should give this a try. However, as some others have mentioned, it can be tricky to apply, as it dries very fast and also very matte. (Which is good for me,) because I tend to have a very oily T-Zone.)

I found that applying it with a primer and a makeup brush helps with the application. Although it's kinda of streaky at first, if you buff it in with your brush it looks totally flawless. I also use a bit of liquid highlighter on the cheekbones, so that my skin doesn't look to flat out matte.

I tried it on a hot and humid day, it has stayed put for more then 8 hours. Which is a very good record for me, as usually after 4 hours, my foundation is mostly melted.

I also agree with previous reviewers, the packaging sucks. I wish it came with a pump, because trying to pour it onto the back of my hand is a messy endeavor. I always end up using up too much product.

So overall, I would probably buy this product again, since it's cheap and stays put and I pretty much figured out how to apply it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 DeeRoss on 5/31/2011 11:44:00 PM more reviews by DeeRoss

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been searching, reading & googling the best and long lasting foundation in the market, my top 3 is revlon colorstay, double wear estee lauder and lancome teint idole. I dont care of the price as long as i got an excellent result which is long last and not appear cakey on my skin. I've been trying this 3 at the counter and i can say that 3 of them are equally in a good range and depends on your skin texture. I finally choose double wear, estee lauder because, revlon is too dry for me if i put on extra moisturizer my my TZone will appear shining and the lancome teint idole is just a nice texture but it doesnt cover my pigment at all. So you might want to consider double wear, trust me....i love it so much! It gives me good coverage and long last for almost 15 hours, and surprisingly no marks at all on your white collar.

Love - from Malaysia

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 AlisonL32 on 5/31/2011 11:00:00 PM more reviews by AlisonL32

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I read, and read thousands of reviews on this foundation. i had been thinking about buying it for ages, and i finally did! it is HORRIBLE! i was so dissapointed and i spent $50 (New Zealand dollars) on it! It was so thick and cakey, and very very matte. it dried really really fast on my face so it was very hard to blend. it did last all day, but it weared out on random patches on my face (like around my mouth) and looked horrible! i noticed early in the morning at school, so i had to go around for the whole day looking all cakey and patchy before i could finally go home and take it off! VERY dissapointing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 auiyee on 5/31/2011 6:22:00 PM more reviews by auiyee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Because of the great reviews not only from regular people but known MUAs themselves, I decided to splurge on this make up. I bought it for 925php (i think) in Buff.

I was pretty excited to use this product because of all the reviews. I have oily skin and I was hoping against hope that this wouldn't melt off at the end of the day.

PROS:
-It has amazing staying power. I just blot with an oil blotting paper and touch up with a face powder and I'm all good.

CONS:
-IT BREAKS ME OUT. I don't even know where to begin at this point because I hate this foundation so much right now. The breakouts didn't start immediately though so I was still confused as to what was causing all the flare-ups. It was only after I realized that the only thing I changed with my face was my foundation did I realize that this was the culprit. Within a month, it gave me FIVE HUMONGOUS CYSTIC ACNE plus a few bumps here and there.
EDIT: AS OF NOW, I STILL SUFFER FROM THE FLARE UPS BROUGHT ABOUT BY THIS FOUNDATION. I REGRET EVER PURCHASING IT.
-It dries my skin in other areas and makes my skin oilier in some. I expected this foundation to stop my skin from being an oil slick but it just made it...WEIRDER. I suddenly had dry patches all over my chin and my upper lips but my cheeks and my T-zone looked like someone poured oil on them.
-NO PUMP.
-THE SMELL IS SO UGH.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rachelhorrigan on 5/31/2011 2:00:00 PM more reviews by rachelhorrigan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Before I used this foundation I hated liquid foundations! This foundation not only replaced all my mousse and compact foundations but became a HG foundation. So much better then any MAC ones I have tried. Great coverage, brilliant price and it lasts all day! Totally recommend this product!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 earthgirl26 on 5/31/2011 1:32:00 PM more reviews by earthgirl26

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have very dry skin, so I picked up the Normal/Dry in 150 Buff. This stuff really does stay put, but unfortunately for me, in all the wrong places. By the end of the day it gets under my dry skin and makes it look like its peeling and my skin appears more dry that it actually is. Not too impressed, but I gave it a shot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products