Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4441 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 3 of 5 DeeRoss on 5/31/2011 11:44:00 PM more reviews by DeeRoss

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been searching, reading & googling the best and long lasting foundation in the market, my top 3 is revlon colorstay, double wear estee lauder and lancome teint idole. I dont care of the price as long as i got an excellent result which is long last and not appear cakey on my skin. I've been trying this 3 at the counter and i can say that 3 of them are equally in a good range and depends on your skin texture. I finally choose double wear, estee lauder because, revlon is too dry for me if i put on extra moisturizer my my TZone will appear shining and the lancome teint idole is just a nice texture but it doesnt cover my pigment at all. So you might want to consider double wear, trust me....i love it so much! It gives me good coverage and long last for almost 15 hours, and surprisingly no marks at all on your white collar.

Love - from Malaysia

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 AlisonL32 on 5/31/2011 11:00:00 PM more reviews by AlisonL32

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I read, and read thousands of reviews on this foundation. i had been thinking about buying it for ages, and i finally did! it is HORRIBLE! i was so dissapointed and i spent $50 (New Zealand dollars) on it! It was so thick and cakey, and very very matte. it dried really really fast on my face so it was very hard to blend. it did last all day, but it weared out on random patches on my face (like around my mouth) and looked horrible! i noticed early in the morning at school, so i had to go around for the whole day looking all cakey and patchy before i could finally go home and take it off! VERY dissapointing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 auiyee on 5/31/2011 6:22:00 PM more reviews by auiyee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Because of the great reviews not only from regular people but known MUAs themselves, I decided to splurge on this make up. I bought it for 925php (i think) in Buff.

I was pretty excited to use this product because of all the reviews. I have oily skin and I was hoping against hope that this wouldn't melt off at the end of the day.

PROS:
-It has amazing staying power. I just blot with an oil blotting paper and touch up with a face powder and I'm all good.

CONS:
-IT BREAKS ME OUT. I don't even know where to begin at this point because I hate this foundation so much right now. The breakouts didn't start immediately though so I was still confused as to what was causing all the flare-ups. It was only after I realized that the only thing I changed with my face was my foundation did I realize that this was the culprit. Within a month, it gave me FIVE HUMONGOUS CYSTIC ACNE plus a few bumps here and there.
EDIT: AS OF NOW, I STILL SUFFER FROM THE FLARE UPS BROUGHT ABOUT BY THIS FOUNDATION. I REGRET EVER PURCHASING IT.
-It dries my skin in other areas and makes my skin oilier in some. I expected this foundation to stop my skin from being an oil slick but it just made it...WEIRDER. I suddenly had dry patches all over my chin and my upper lips but my cheeks and my T-zone looked like someone poured oil on them.
-NO PUMP.
-THE SMELL IS SO UGH.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rachelhorrigan on 5/31/2011 2:00:00 PM more reviews by rachelhorrigan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Before I used this foundation I hated liquid foundations! This foundation not only replaced all my mousse and compact foundations but became a HG foundation. So much better then any MAC ones I have tried. Great coverage, brilliant price and it lasts all day! Totally recommend this product!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 earthgirl26 on 5/31/2011 1:32:00 PM more reviews by earthgirl26

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have very dry skin, so I picked up the Normal/Dry in 150 Buff. This stuff really does stay put, but unfortunately for me, in all the wrong places. By the end of the day it gets under my dry skin and makes it look like its peeling and my skin appears more dry that it actually is. Not too impressed, but I gave it a shot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stargrl3 on 5/31/2011 12:09:00 AM more reviews by stargrl3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

One of my HG foundations (the other one being the significantly more expensive MAC Pro Longwear). Both foundations are pretty similar except that the MAC one is more long-wearing (15 hours and it still looks the same as when first applied while the Colorstay starts to fade after maybe 9 hours or so) and less drying (Colorstay can give you flaky patches if you have dry skin but a good moisturizer - Aveeno or Lubriderm can eliminate that).
However the Colorstay is half the price ($20 vs $40 in Canada and I believe $15 vs $30 in the US) of Pro Longwear so it's a budget friendly option.
The packaging doesn't come with a pump so it's messy but I just buy empty airless pump bottles from eBay.
Another great thing is the color selection which covers pretty much all skin colours and skin tones. For reference I'm around NC15 in Winter and NC20 in Summer and I can wear either Buff 150 or Sand Beige 180.
I really like the coverage of this - smooth medium-full matte coverage with similar texture to higher-end foundations (doesn't have the uneven cakey look and tackiness of cheap foundations). For a flawless airbrush finish I like to apply with the Sigma F80 (or a cheap dupe in the ELF powder blush). It does dry rather fast so you have to do each section at a time or blend quickly.
I have combination skin and I got the one for Combination/Oily skin but it shouldn't matter too much and in hindsight I think I should have gotten Normal/Dry because the formula for Combination/Oily is a bit drying. I have sensitive skin with occasional acne breakouts but this hasn't broken me out at all.
I definitely recommend this foundation if you want a good coverage foundation for a low price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 acarter22 on 5/30/2011 1:30:00 PM more reviews by acarter22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love this foundation! Its very comparable to Macs Studio Fix but for a fraction of the price. I use a makeup sponge to blend it and PERFECTION every time! It also doesn't wear off right away like a lot of other drugstore foudations. One thing I did not like however, is the bottle. I wish it had a pump :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 milcha on 5/30/2011 12:10:00 AM more reviews by milcha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Best make up foundation I've ever tried! (for now). It's easy to use and it's not greasy. It blends well, long lasting, and comes with a very very affordable price. I'm satisfied with all Colorstay products! I've tried the pressed powder, foundation, concealer, blush, and eyeliner...they're all pretty good and cheap! I'm not saying it's the most perfect foundationn, I'm sure there's better product out there, but I don't have a lot of money and this thing is really affordable and has a good quality.
Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Brittnee91 on 5/29/2011 11:43:00 PM more reviews by Brittnee91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Gross! Gross! Gross! I thought I would love this stuff, because I am a complete YouTube beauty guru junkie... I'd watched a number of video responses/reviews for this product and figured I would give it a go. It made me feel like I was wearing ten thousand pounds of makeup. So disgusting. I don't recommend at ALL,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Roses05 on 5/29/2011 4:12:00 PM more reviews by Roses05

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

-I like this foundation but i don't love it.
Pro's:
Great coverage
Stay's on
inexpensive
spf protection

Con's
doesn't blend well
not many color selection.
too light in color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products