Revlon ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013]

3.8

4481 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (7.3%) Inactive Ingredients: Aqua/Water (Water), Cyclomethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, SD Alcohol 40B, PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone, Nylon 12, Tribehenin, Isododecane, Polyisobutene, Sodium Chloride, Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Bisabolol, Serica (Silk Powder), Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Malva Sylvestris Flower Extract (Mallow), Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract (Lily), Lactobacillus/Eridictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract, Alumina, Polydimethylsiloxane/Polymethysilesquioxane Copolymer, Ethylene Brassylate, Methicone, Trisiloxane, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain (+/-): Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499)


on 6/16/2011 8:28:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

I am very impressed with this foundation! Especially since I finally found the perfect color for my skin tone. I've got the foundation for oily/combination skin in rich ginger.



Pro's: great coverage, looks natural, oil free and matte, feels nice and light on the skin, doesn't look cakey, very affordable.



Con: the only con I can think of right now is that the bottle doesn't have a pump but that does not stop me from giving it 5 lippies. Don't believe the BS of people who like to complain about everything, it's a very decent foundation. Good value for money!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 6/16/2011 4:12:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have oily skin and normally wear Max factor lasting performance which is good but I thought this may be better. I started wearing make up when I was about 13 or 14 and "Max factor lasting performance" was one I started using in the first few years and after ALL the foundations I have tried I have always gone back to it.
Anyway I have now also tried Revlon colourstay for oily skin and I was sadly disappointed, I was shiny again in 2 hours! I was expecting great things but this was a backwards step for me....."Max factor lasting performance" is definitely better then this one for oily skin but Im still in search for the perfect foundation :)


on 6/15/2011 3:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I do not have many HG products but my HG list can never be complete without this foundation. I have been using this product for more than 8 years now and have gone through many-many bottles. When i was younger , i had much oily skin , darker and prone to acne. this foundation held up through school, bus, sports, everything. I used to blot (2-3 times a day) and used a setting powder. Over the years, my skin has gotten more combination/oily and i dont need to blot/use a setting powder.

the foundation is a thick, medium-to-full coverage which has a good shade selection for a drugstore foundation. I have used true-beige/rich tan/golden caramel shades in combination/oily skin ( i am NC40-44).
When the weather is hot, i tend to sheer it out with a damp sponge/stippling brush. I have applied this foundation with my fingers and it works just as fine. The foundation can be cakey when applied with a heavy hand.
The foundation has a tendency to dry before you are done blending. I usually do parts of my face at a time so this has not been an issue for me.
the foundation has a small SPF so it might give a white cast when photographed with a flash. For day-today wear, I usually use a sunscreen with a higher SPF as my base.
The prices have increased over the years and i feel for a drugstore foundation it is on the pricey side. Having said this, i feel the quality is comparable to MAC Studio products , Estee Lauder double wear or Lancome. Also, a bottle can last me for more than 6-8 months as a little goes a long way.
the foundation comes in a glass bottle and no pump - i am not a fan of this. it makes traveling with it difficult . it also exposes the product to dry-out faster and the germs from our hands. i try to use clean fingers/brush/sponge to get to the product.

this foundation does have alcohol and parabens -but it does not irritate my skin.
I use a mild cleanser and wash my face for 2-3 mins to get all the makeup off my face. I have slept with makeup on more number of times than i would like to admit - but i have not had any breakouts the next morning with this foundation.

Overall, i absolutely love this foundation. i discovered it when i was not so much into makeup. i have used so many foundations since and I still use this foundation as a scale to rate the newer ones.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/15/2011 3:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am asian and have very oily skin. This product provided great coverage but it oxidated on my nose(oiliest part of my face) after a few hours even after i blotted a few times.

also it made my pores look really large and noticeable, which was something i do not experience with my favorite liquid foundation (which i regret straying from)

i had high hopes :( returned it !


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

this is one of the best foundations i have used compared to others i have tried but i still don't love it. it makes me look very unnatual in the sun and in photos. it makes me shiney straight away pretty much and i used the one for oily skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/13/2011 11:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really do think that there's more positive to say about this product than negative. At first when I bought this I was really unexperienced with applying liquid foundation. Now I've gotten used to everything and I'm actually very good now! I find that when I use this, using a sponge isn't good at all. If anything, when you use it, it'll come out looking really cakey and obvious. So now I use a foundation brush. Nothing super fancy at all...I use the Essence of Beauty brush set from CVS. The application looks flawless and you can't see anything underneath. My skin has improved over the past half a year because I've been on treatments for my acne prone skin. Back to when my skin was a problem for me, I found it best to put on concealer first and then apply the foundation afterwards. One thing that works best for the foundation is applying loose powder over it. I use L'Oreal Hydra perfect in translucent on my t-zone. All of these in combination makes my skin look fresh for almost the entire day. I really would recommend this! If your skin is problematic, it's best to use the oily/combo skin version.

Now the only problem I have with it is that it doesn't match my skin tone as much as I want it to. So I have to mix Fresh Beige and Nude, but honestly besides that, this is definitely my HG foundation and I don't plan on switching!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/13/2011 11:06:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This broke me out like crazzzzzzzy.


on 6/13/2011 10:01:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

I actually love this foundation! It lasts a very longtime, so it keeps its word on that. It applies very smoothly and blends very well. The only problem i've had with this, is that you need to blend very quickly, otherwise it will dry. I wish though the packaging was a tad better, and came with a pump, since I tend to pour alot of product on my hand, and don't use most of it. Overall I love this foundation!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Wish this came with a pump. A lot of product gets wasted! Aside from the packaging, I am extremely impressed with this foundation, and I really like it. I never looked twice about this in the drugstore, but I've heard such rave reviews on youtube, I decided to pick this up. I am impressed. This didn't cake up AT ALL and applied so smoothly! This is fuller coverage than what I'm used to. This doesn't feel heavy at all and lasts all day. I've tried the MAC Pro Longwear foundation, and it felt heavy by the end of the day. I think this is a way better foundation than the MAC Pro Longwear. This is easily accessible at Walmart, Target, & Drugstores and the price is decent. I have this in 330, and I may pick up 350 to try as well. My face didn't get oily at all, and usually it gets oily by mid day in the summer. I have the one for combo/oily skin.

*this hasn't irritated my skin (& my skin is sensitive), and I'm loving the flawless, weightless coverage. I don't get oily throughout the day with this on, and it doesn't melt off in hot weather! they should make this with a pump though!*

update 7/6/11: I can't rave enough about this foundation! I'm loving the coverage. I have a few cystic acne blemishes right now on my chin, and this is the only thing that covers them (with some MAC Studio Careblend Powder over top). Such a flawless, yet natural finish. Absolutely loving the color match 330 (I'm NC40 in MAC Studio Fix Fluid). This held up all day long from the moment I did my makeup for work at 8:30am, and it's not 9:30pm and it still looks flawless and fresh (held up in the heat & humidity...even during a walk outside). This works well with controlling oil (I have this in the Combo/Oily version). I just still wish this had a pump like the photoready. This is a great drugstore find.

update 10/1/11-- this used to be HG status for me. i havent used it in a while i usually use mac pro longwear, but i decided to try this again today. coverage is absolutely flawless but not even a few hrs into wearing it i got 2 huge red blemishes on my cheek! i feel like this foundation broke me out, which is ashame because i used to have no issue with it


on 6/13/2011 1:30:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm iffy about this so far. I just bought it yesterday and I don't know how I feel about the tiny glitters. They're really small but I just feel uncomfortable about anything with glitter. Staying power is great. The glitter can transfer to your hand though. Blending is sort of hard. I used a sponge so a brush makes more sense. Make sure you get the right shade because flash photography (at least in my case) made my face a bit lighter esp with the glitter

I'm planning to use this for a dance so I hope it stays and the photos come out okay


Back to Top