Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4451 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 jaybeee00 on 6/6/2011 6:58:00 AM more reviews by jaybeee00

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, i don't know why every one is complaining about the smell, because I LOVE THE SMELL! This is my HG foundation. Especially because living in Australia means i may more than double of what American's would pay for MAC, i cannot afford most high end products. Colorstay is still expensive for me, i bought it for $32 from Kmart, however, it is the best full coverage foundation i own. Those who say it is cakey are not applying it properly (you should be applying with a brush and/or damp sponge). Will definatley repurchase, i use this on all my clients.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tricyclesinskirts on 6/6/2011 12:54:00 AM more reviews by tricyclesinskirts

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love drugstore products. My stash is littered with items i'd rank among my favorites that cost but a few dollars--WnW shadows, prestige eyeliners, max factor mascara, Milani blushes.

But seriously, I hate this foundation so much. It turned me off of liquid foundations for a good year and half, (until my recent foray to MAC face and body,) I hate it that much. First of all, NW20 isnt an easy match, and it looks so awful in sunlight--and go ahead and forget about the harshness of flourescents. It looks like a straight-up mask, extremely thick and unnatural (even when applied with a duo-fibre brush, beauty blender, or SK flat top brush, the best applicators for foundation I have to offer in my arsenal.)

And it 100% without a doubt broke me out, on my forehead and cheeks, where my skin normally behaves itself. I will happily go to the drugstore for mascara, lipgloss, and various other cosmetics, but for items like foundation and concealer that require an exact color match?

I guess I'm a bit snobby.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wcygena on 6/6/2011 12:37:00 AM more reviews by wcygena

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

Tried the foundation out, and this is by far the best drugstore foundation ever. I have pretty dry skin, and a bit sensitive, got this 2 days ago in ivory (with softflex SPF15). I put this on for around 9 hours, overall the coverage is quite good. I set the foundation with my BE mineral veil, and reapplied it throughout the day for once. The colorstay did cover my redness but my dry patches on the tip of my nose show up. Well, every drugstore foundation just didn't do good on my dry patches issue.
Found a solution to due with this, and hope this may help some of those who have dry skin like me. I put vaseline on my dry patches after the moisturizers being absorbed. And just slightly dap a bit of primer (fewer than other area of my face), which I use loreal magic perfecting base. I will definitely repurchase this product as I love the medium coverage of it and the color really matches my skin tone perfectly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lecherrysodaa on 6/5/2011 9:36:00 PM more reviews by Lecherrysodaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I LOVE THIS FOUNDATION SO MUCH!!!

So I'll try to keep it short...

- Amazing coverage (buildable without cakiness)
- TONS of shades
- I have a very oily skin and this fights it like a gladiator hunk :)
- Cheap!!

Im an NC42 and use Golden caramel. I really recommend at least trying it :) My Holy grail of foundations is Estee Lauder Double Wear... but this is an amazing everyday foundation (really fighting for HG material)

And NO I don't think is like Studio Fix Fluid, that stuff is just terrible

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ilovemakeups on 6/5/2011 7:57:00 PM more reviews by Ilovemakeups

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This has good coverage and a nice matte finish..it's my fall back when I run out of my clinique or mac foundations..sometimes i switch to this one even when I have them...definetly needs a primer underneath..I like to pair it worth loreal studio secret #2 skin tone corrector underneath

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 decemberbaby03 on 6/5/2011 7:27:00 PM more reviews by decemberbaby03

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty great foundation. I've been wearing "Buff" for several years now. Not a big fan of the price though. Sometimes I can get it at Walgreens buy-one-get-one half-off sales. I don't recommend the accompanying powder though. Way too matte & makes you look pasty. I put CoverGirl Loose Powder over it and it looks great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Blondie7777 on 6/5/2011 3:47:00 PM more reviews by Blondie7777

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this product for prom last month. I like the coverage it gives and it doesn't give me that feeling that I'm wearing foundation. It goes on smoothly and doesn't feel or look cakey as some drugstore foundations do. My only complaint is the packaging. It's hard to get the product out without spilling it all over. If it had a pump it would be so much easier to use.

Overall I really like the coverage this foundation gives and I will probably be purchasing it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* realpeak on 6/5/2011 1:33:00 PM more reviews by realpeak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Green    

I happen to think this is a good quality DS foundation. It gives a matte finish, lasts on my skin all day/night long without primer or powder to set, doesn't fade or melt off even in warm weather, gives medium coverage or you can sheer it out by mixing with moisturizer, isn't too expensive. Downsides are that the matte finish can make your face look quite flat unless you add some highlight or something ontop, it can be drying if you don't moisturize well before or have dry skin, it smells like alcohol, it can look cakey if you apply too much, packaging is awful, colour selection doesn't cater to yellow tones, breaks me out if worn more than twice a week. This is a must-have if I'm going to be out for over 9 hours during the day as it just stays in place and controls oil like nothing else. Not an every-day type of foundation for me but good for nights out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mayazee on 6/5/2011 12:44:00 AM more reviews by mayazee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't what is wrong with you people for wanting to buy this product again! What kind of a dumbass makes a product with the most difficult application? Also, I can't find my shade in this foundation (I'm a NC 35-37). Warm Golden is too light for me while Golden Beige is a little better but still lighter. This stuff is also a pain to take off your face. It says Colorstay and it really means because it stays on all my brushes even after 20 minutes of vigourous rubbing. It's hard to get it off your fingers too, so don't use your fingers to apply it. Use a sponge and you will be happier! Also, what kind of a dumbass doesn't put a damn pump on a "Colorstay (stays on clothes, fingers, brushes, etc.)" foundation? I should do a "What kind of a dumbass..." segment on here. That was kind of fun. Lol :P But I seriously want to find the person that made this product and burn them alive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahhjosephinee on 6/4/2011 10:29:00 PM more reviews by sarahhjosephinee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this daily for over a week now and I just love it!
It gives great coverage but isn't suffocating, and looks fresh all day. Definite repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products