Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4452 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 2 of 5 sophiebo88 on 6/8/2011 2:54:00 PM more reviews by sophiebo88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

this does not agree with my skin, makes me break out in spots everytime i use it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ayalalaya on 6/8/2011 1:44:00 PM more reviews by ayalalaya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product for 5 years. It has good coverage (don't really need concealer), doesn't break out my acne-prone skin, a bit water resistant (wore it while splashing in a pool). I like to apply it with a damp wedge sponge. Best I've ever used and I don't feel a need to explore other foundations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beckygor on 6/8/2011 8:42:00 AM more reviews by beckygor

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Really like this - matches skin tone well. However i do wear a green concealer underneath. Lasts all day and looksa best at the end of the day... I am 15 and have it in ivory then i follow it with a bloom bronzer for some colour :)
only downside is packaging but thats not that big of a deal
its fabulous and doesnt break me out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetkandi87 on 6/8/2011 12:50:00 AM more reviews by sweetkandi87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Hands down, the BEST drugstore foundation there is! It covers well, and stays matte nearly all day. It also applies really nice if you do one section at a time, and there are a lot of color options, so you will find a perfect match. My favorite formula is the Combo/Oily one. Stays on all day, and covers really well. I look like I have perfect skin when I wear this. This and bare minerals are the only foundations I have bought several times. Its the BEST!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ashton on 6/7/2011 10:49:00 PM more reviews by ashton

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Oh Revlon Colorstay, we've had quite a relationship! I wanted to love this foundation more than anything because I've heard nothing but good things about it.
And it IS one of the best drugstore foundations on the market. The first time I bought this foundation I got it in the wrong shade which threw me off so I didn't try it for a year later. This time around with the correct shade, I really liked it. The coverage is fantastic and it doesn't transfer onto clothing as bad as other foundations. The wide range of shades is also nice. The only thing I don't like is that it has more of a matte finish and I'm a dewey kinda gal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ilookcool on 6/7/2011 11:57:00 AM more reviews by ilookcool

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best liquid foundation I've used. It's full coverage and I don't need a concealer when I wear this. It gives a glowy finish, which I didn't find with any other foundations I've tried. It's very water resistant and stays put all day. I usually put it on with my fingers, because I found I wasted a lot of product when I use a brush or sponge.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 liacoconut on 6/7/2011 11:20:00 AM more reviews by liacoconut

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I cannot praise this foundation enough!
I am the sort of person who buys something once then tries to find something better through research and testers.
A make up artist I knew told me she always uses this foundation and seeing the result, I had to agree.
I purchased this one and never finished my Clinique foundation which I also wrote a review about.
At first it was quite difficult to apply, I used to always use my fingers of a sponge and it dries quite quickly, then I found the best way of applying it, using a brush!
I use my stippling brush and stipple it all over my face and until it's all covered, then use a setting powder. This way I don't have horrible streaks.

Now to the best part:
I have a very very VERY oily T-zone with normal/sometimes dry cheeks, I never found anything that would help it, even using anti-shine moisturisers, foundations, cleansers and powders but THIS one actually helps prevent the nasty shine!
I still get slightly oily but it doesn't show so obviously as with any other foundation. It doesn't seem to reflect the shine so that I sometimes have to touch my face to realise it needs blotting.
This I found was truly the best part of this foundation.

The coverage is great too, I can use more or less depending on how my skin looks at the time and it never broke me out.

The price is good, on the expensive side for Drug store products but infinitely cheaper than the high end products.

The only downside for me is the bottle.
It gets very messy and you can't always control exactly how much product you want. It's also not as hygenic as it could be and I'd love a pump bottle instead.
I know there are some around on ebay and I might invest in it as it would then be perfect.

I am now on my 4th bottle and I never bought any foundation this many times in a row.

Now only to find the perfect setting powder...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 allieswasteland on 6/7/2011 9:21:00 AM more reviews by allieswasteland

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I bought this foundation last year. I decided to buy it at Walmart because I knew it would be cheaper there, but unfortunately, all of the palest shades were out of stock so I purchased 150 Buff for Combo/Oily Skin anyway. When I first bought it, I didn't really know how to apply/blend foundation. I recently started working with it again and I really like it! I'm actually going to be wearing it to my prom this weekend. I'm able to blend it really well with my fingers. It has a chemically smell, but for some reason, I actually like it so it doesn't bother me. I also like how it has SPF 6. My skin for reference: pale, but getting darker as I spend more time in the sun; slightly oily but can be dry as well; suffer from redness, blemishes, breakouts, blackheads, scaring, freckles. This covers well, without making me look plasticy. Lasts all day and doesn't rub off on clothing! The reasons I wouldn't purchase this again is because I have lots tinted moisturizers I want to use up and I like to try new products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 georgiak22 on 6/7/2011 7:37:00 AM more reviews by georgiak22

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS! I've always had really bad experiences with foundations where I always buy the wrong colour (a covergirl one) or it doesnt blend well (mac studio fix) so I didn't have high expectations when I bought this but this is so nice! It blends well into my dry skin and doesn't make it look cakey or anything. Not sure how it lasts as I haven't used it for a whole day or if it breaks me out but so far I love it. Considering its a drugstore foundation its extremely expensive in Australia (I bought mine for $37) which is ridiculous! But, its still cheaper than high end products and I think its an amazing product so my new HG foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 randi2515 on 6/6/2011 11:05:00 PM more reviews by randi2515

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Love this foundation. Started using it a few weeks ago after finally giving up on Bare Minerals foundation, realizing that it caused me to break out and just overall looked bad on my skin. Since using this, my skin is much clearer. I apply with a damp sponge and cover with Maybelline Dream Matte powder. By the end of a long workday my face still looks good. I have found that I can get both sheer or full coverage, depending on how much I apply. Even after I use what seems like a lot my face has not looked cakey. Everyone is right when they say the packaging is not good, but I'm willing to get over that for a foundation as good as this one.
**Edit: After using this all summer I have come to the conclusion that YES, this foundation can appear "cakey" at times, is very hard to remove, and at the end of the day looks oily in my t-zone. Still like to use it for nights out and mixed with other foundations, however. Lowered my rating from a 5 to a 4.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products