Revlon ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013]

3.8

4483 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (7.3%) Inactive Ingredients: Aqua/Water (Water), Cyclomethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, SD Alcohol 40B, PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone, Nylon 12, Tribehenin, Isododecane, Polyisobutene, Sodium Chloride, Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Bisabolol, Serica (Silk Powder), Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Malva Sylvestris Flower Extract (Mallow), Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract (Lily), Lactobacillus/Eridictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract, Alumina, Polydimethylsiloxane/Polymethysilesquioxane Copolymer, Ethylene Brassylate, Methicone, Trisiloxane, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain (+/-): Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499)


on 6/20/2011 12:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For $35 this product is way way to expensive, revlon seem to think they are of "higher end" brands and they most certainly are not. I got it on sale for $17, i dont mind paying that.

the foundation itself is really nice, i found it had a satin finish for me many people say it's matte. It doesnt not at all resemble mac studio fix fluid as sooo many people say it does!

pro's - nice finish, nice coverage.
con's - needs a pump, need more colour selection, extremely over-priced!



on 6/20/2011 7:38:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

The price is average/normal as far as drugstore foundations go, nothing too expensive. I usually can get this at my local Target for 10 bucks.


Ok so i've tried this foundation in 'DRY TO NORMAL SKIN' and also tried this in 'COMBINATION/OILY SKIN'.
Let me tell you, there is a HUGE difference. My original one I tried by accident was the one for Combo/Oily Skin people (I have normal to dry skin), I didn't even notice till I was almost done with the bottle... Now did you read that correctly? Till I was almost done with the bottle, meaning it worked out well for me. In fact it worked out amazing, like no other drugstore foundation make up I had tried. It didn't make me look cakey nor dryish, it didn't grease me up and it stayed put for the whole day. I loved loved LOVED it, even though it was for Oily/Combo skin people which I wasn't, it worked out perfect for my skin. And even though it would give me the occasional extra pimple, but I find it doesn't give me any problems as long as I wash it off every night if I don't I do see a new pimple or more the next morning. This make up works amazing besides that. I did however see how it could not work out for Oily skin people, I figured anyone who was the slightest bit oily would not like it because applying it, it was moisturizing as hell. Yes it dried on me, but that's because I have normal skin and/or sometimes dry. I couldn't imagine though how the hell it would dry on Oily skin (even though it was for oily skin)... I can see how it wouldn't satisfy them... It didn't bother me though because it had nothing to do with me but I had thought about it and how it must've sucked for those who found this to be true and confusing.



Now onto the dry/normal skin foundation. These past recent days I thought hey summer is coming so my skin is going to be very drying. So I figured it would be best to switch to normal/dry one and I even thought it might out work out better since it is MY skin type. The thought of it looking even better excited me. So I purchased it.
Ok so the first NEGATIVE was when I walked in the store and noticed that the Buff for Normal/Dry skin was a darker shade (noticeably darker) than the Buff for Combo/Oily Skin. I had to get it though because the lightest shade next to it was just frikkin PALE and i'm not pale especially now that were in the summer.
So that was confusing and irritating but I got over it not too long after.
Right off the bat when I applied it on my face the next day it wasn't moisturizing at all.... I was sooo confused because this was for DRY skin WTH?! The liquid dried very fast on my skin and was hard to blend with my fingers. It didn't cover that well either. It went on pretty thick.
Whatever though I hadn't gave up on it yet..
I spent a whole day in that make up and my skin did NOT look good at all. It didn't have that flawless look whatsoever and the make up was soooo was VISIBLE. I hated it and I had no idea that it would be nowhere near as good as the Combo/Oily one. I took it back the next day and exchanged (with hassle b/c Target now has a stricter policy on returning makeup) it for the Oily/Combo one.



It seems as though to me anyway that the dry/normal skin one, was not moisturizing which would work best for Oily/Combo skin.
The oily/combo skin is VERY moisturizing and probably would work best for dry to normal skin.
Yes it doesn't make sense. I know, I'm the one who had to experience this the hard way.

I give 5 lippies to the Revlon Colorstay for Oily/Combo Skin, 4 for best packaging quality b/c yes it could use a pump, and yes I would repurchase as I always have for Oily/Combo Skin but NEVER EVER for Dry/Normal Skin.




1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/20/2011 5:24:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Love this product! My fav drug store foundation! Only thing I would change is for it to have a pump or be in a squeeze tube. Lasts all day!


on 6/18/2011 11:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is by far, my favorite foundation. I find it a great match for my skin tone (I'm incredibly pale), and it has great coverage. I never worry about it melting off my face, it stays put. As a matter of fact, it dries so quickly that I have to blend it in fast! I don't wear concealer underneath, this seems to cover up the angry redness pretty well by itself.


on 6/17/2011 3:51:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was almost a HG product for me. Amazing coverage and it kept me oil free throughout the day which is a HUGE deal for me since I have extremely oily skin. However after a couple of months it started to break me out really bad. A real shame since the rest of the product is so amazing.


on 6/17/2011 2:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I had heard so many great things about this here on MUA & on youtube, so I had to get it when I had a Revlon coupon! I was conflicted between the dry & oily versions, because I have very dry skin after having done a course of Accutane, yet I'm very prone to breakouts. It was winter, so I grabbed the dry skin version in the lightest shade available at my CVS (I'm very fair in fall/winter). The first time that I wore it, I was torn; it gave great matte coverage & matched my skintone, but no matter how little I used, it caked up. The first time I wore this, I accidentally slept overnight with it one because I had stayed overnight at a friend's. The next morning, I woke up with a nasty case of zits and a few cysts. I thought it was just because I had slept in my makeup, so I didn't immediately blame this foundation. So the next day when I went out, I put this on to cover my pimples- this created a vicious cycle of covering the pimples with the same foundation that was causing them. It took me 2 weeks to figure it out (I'm not the smartest in the bunch, clearly, because this was the only new product I had tried in the past few months). I googled some of the first few ingredients and, lo-and-behold, they all clog pores!! So, needless to say, I chucked this in the garbage. I'm still reeling over trying this because, 4 months later, I still have cystic breakouts & I haven't been clear a day since I used this. I have to go BACK ON ACCUTANE!!! I can't believe a foundation could do this to my skin. If I weren't so terrified of trying this again, I'd like to try the oily skin version. But I definitely won't ever touch this foundation again. Horrible for your skin- there's so many healthier options for your skin!!
Pros:
-full coverage
-matte finish
-good color match
Cons:
-cakey
-clogs pores/causes breakouts
-packaging- causes bacteria to grow, causing even more breakouts!

For someone obsessed with clear skin like me, the cons far outweigh the pros! I'm sorry to burst everyone's bubble, but no one warned me so I have to warn others so they don't make the same terrible mistake!! KEEP THIS OUT OF YOUR MAKEUP ROUTINE & KEEP YOUR SKIN CLEAR!!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2011 1:33:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this foundation, the coverage is fantastic, and it only cost me 9 dollars at Walmart! The only thing I didn't like about this foundation is that it didn't have a pump but for a few bucks that's okay. I highly recommended wearing a primer under this foundation otherwise, for me personally anyway, it can appear cakey. I got the Oily/Combination formula and it really controlled my oil throughout day, even better than my previous foundation bare minerals! I used to have powder my face almost every hour but now I only powder my face once, maybe twice a day with Revlon Colorstay. I was very surprised by the oil control considering it's a liquid foundation, and it didn't slide off my face like liquids tend to do. I got so tired of not getting the coverage I want from bare minerals and it looking cakey, but luckily I've found Revlon Colorstay and I will definitely be sticking with it. Great foundation, great price.


on 6/17/2011 12:08:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

First of all, I love Colorstay foundation and have used it for several years. It looks good with great coverage, and stays on like wallpaper! Especially useful in the summer.
BUT it is critical to use the right moisturizer beforehand. I tried using an oil-free moisturizer, and it looked dry and cakey. I switched to another (Garnier Skin Renew SPF 28), and mixed some in with the Colorstay. It looks perfect.
Another important thing to remember is to let this dry! It may take 5 minutes, while you empty the dishwasher or do some quick sit-ups.
I too wish they had this in a tube, it would make it easier to travel with.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2011 11:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am 31 and need more coverage than I did in my 20's, but while more coverage is great for masking blotchiness/sun spots, more coverage can also look cakey and settle into fine lines/wrinkles, thus making you look older. I do not have this problem with Revlon ColorStay foundation. It gives medium coverage, but looks SO natural. It doesn't look cakey or settle into fine lines/wrinkles, and it FEELS light on the skin (I hate the feeling of a heavy foundation that feels like a mask over your skin). I bought the one for Normal/Dry skin and it doesn't look oily or too dewy (I tend to like a matte look) and doesn't make me break out. It includes an SPF, and it lasts through the day.



I would probably continue to buy it if it was $30 and sold at Sephora (it's better than the Makeup Forever foundation i bought because I read that's what Kim Kardashian wears---since she always looks airbrushed, I thought I'd give it a try, but it looked too dry and cakey and emphasized my fine lines that are creeping in). I've also tried NARS and Lancome (both of which I didn't like), and MAC (studiofix and face and body) and Clinique (both of these brands were good, but not my absolute faves), and Laura Mercier tinted foundation which I LOVED, but it no longer offers enough coverage now that I am in my 30's. I am so happy I tried Revlon Colorstay (thanks to the reviews on here)...it's perfect and I recommend it to all my friends. The fact that it's affordable is just a great bonus.


Also, for those who don't know this, CVS lets you return it within 60 days if you find the color you chose isn't right for you---they don't have testers in the store, so it's a giant crapshoot when trying to figure out which color will work for you initially.


on 6/17/2011 10:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've used this product a few times and i like it. It gives good coverage and stays on for a long period of time. Not sure about the "sparkle" people are talking about, i dont see it. And as far as the packing, ya it could be better, but you can work with it. All you need to do is get a q-tip and take out as much as you need and put it on your hand, simple as that. And the price is only $10 at walmart, not sure where everybody else is getting it from. This product with a translucent or pressed powder over it will make u stay looking great all day :)


Back to Top