Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4464 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 megan801 on 6/17/2011 10:34:00 AM more reviews by megan801

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this product a few times and i like it. It gives good coverage and stays on for a long period of time. Not sure about the "sparkle" people are talking about, i dont see it. And as far as the packing, ya it could be better, but you can work with it. All you need to do is get a q-tip and take out as much as you need and put it on your hand, simple as that. And the price is only $10 at walmart, not sure where everybody else is getting it from. This product with a translucent or pressed powder over it will make u stay looking great all day :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 marshakate on 6/17/2011 6:15:00 AM more reviews by marshakate

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i just want to start by saying $37.00?! are you kidding me?! that is just a ridiculous price for a drugstore foundation. so anyway, i decided to finally try this out after all the hype ive heard about this. pro's: great colour selection. con's: it contains SPARKLES. (i wasnt aware about the sparkles as there was no mention of any in any review ive read), doesnt makes my skin look kinda gritty? no pump, odd scent, overpriced, overrated.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lau94 on 6/16/2011 12:11:00 PM more reviews by lau94

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Never really understood the hype about this product, I bought the type for dry skin and it made my skin look so much more dry.
Although from far away it looked impressive, upclose was a different story, just looked caked on and I only used a small amount.
hmm didnt like this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sunday1966 on 6/16/2011 8:28:00 AM more reviews by sunday1966

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I am very impressed with this foundation! Especially since I finally found the perfect color for my skin tone. I've got the foundation for oily/combination skin in rich ginger.



Pro's: great coverage, looks natural, oil free and matte, feels nice and light on the skin, doesn't look cakey, very affordable.



Con: the only con I can think of right now is that the bottle doesn't have a pump but that does not stop me from giving it 5 lippies. Don't believe the BS of people who like to complain about everything, it's a very decent foundation. Good value for money!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nicolac7 on 6/16/2011 4:12:00 AM more reviews by nicolac7

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have oily skin and normally wear Max factor lasting performance which is good but I thought this may be better. I started wearing make up when I was about 13 or 14 and "Max factor lasting performance" was one I started using in the first few years and after ALL the foundations I have tried I have always gone back to it.
Anyway I have now also tried Revlon colourstay for oily skin and I was sadly disappointed, I was shiny again in 2 hours! I was expecting great things but this was a backwards step for me....."Max factor lasting performance" is definitely better then this one for oily skin but Im still in search for the perfect foundation :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paradox13 on 6/15/2011 3:39:00 PM more reviews by paradox13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I do not have many HG products but my HG list can never be complete without this foundation. I have been using this product for more than 8 years now and have gone through many-many bottles. When i was younger , i had much oily skin , darker and prone to acne. this foundation held up through school, bus, sports, everything. I used to blot (2-3 times a day) and used a setting powder. Over the years, my skin has gotten more combination/oily and i dont need to blot/use a setting powder.

the foundation is a thick, medium-to-full coverage which has a good shade selection for a drugstore foundation. I have used true-beige/rich tan/golden caramel shades in combination/oily skin ( i am NC40-44).
When the weather is hot, i tend to sheer it out with a damp sponge/stippling brush. I have applied this foundation with my fingers and it works just as fine. The foundation can be cakey when applied with a heavy hand.
The foundation has a tendency to dry before you are done blending. I usually do parts of my face at a time so this has not been an issue for me.
the foundation has a small SPF so it might give a white cast when photographed with a flash. For day-today wear, I usually use a sunscreen with a higher SPF as my base.
The prices have increased over the years and i feel for a drugstore foundation it is on the pricey side. Having said this, i feel the quality is comparable to MAC Studio products , Estee Lauder double wear or Lancome. Also, a bottle can last me for more than 6-8 months as a little goes a long way.
the foundation comes in a glass bottle and no pump - i am not a fan of this. it makes traveling with it difficult . it also exposes the product to dry-out faster and the germs from our hands. i try to use clean fingers/brush/sponge to get to the product.

this foundation does have alcohol and parabens -but it does not irritate my skin.
I use a mild cleanser and wash my face for 2-3 mins to get all the makeup off my face. I have slept with makeup on more number of times than i would like to admit - but i have not had any breakouts the next morning with this foundation.

Overall, i absolutely love this foundation. i discovered it when i was not so much into makeup. i have used so many foundations since and I still use this foundation as a scale to rate the newer ones.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Casablanca2 on 6/15/2011 3:19:00 AM more reviews by Casablanca2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am asian and have very oily skin. This product provided great coverage but it oxidated on my nose(oiliest part of my face) after a few hours even after i blotted a few times.

also it made my pores look really large and noticeable, which was something i do not experience with my favorite liquid foundation (which i regret straying from)

i had high hopes :( returned it !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JessMolesworth on 6/15/2011 12:31:00 AM more reviews by JessMolesworth

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

this is one of the best foundations i have used compared to others i have tried but i still don't love it. it makes me look very unnatual in the sun and in photos. it makes me shiney straight away pretty much and i used the one for oily skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alanaaguilera on 6/13/2011 11:24:00 PM more reviews by alanaaguilera

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really do think that there's more positive to say about this product than negative. At first when I bought this I was really unexperienced with applying liquid foundation. Now I've gotten used to everything and I'm actually very good now! I find that when I use this, using a sponge isn't good at all. If anything, when you use it, it'll come out looking really cakey and obvious. So now I use a foundation brush. Nothing super fancy at all...I use the Essence of Beauty brush set from CVS. The application looks flawless and you can't see anything underneath. My skin has improved over the past half a year because I've been on treatments for my acne prone skin. Back to when my skin was a problem for me, I found it best to put on concealer first and then apply the foundation afterwards. One thing that works best for the foundation is applying loose powder over it. I use L'Oreal Hydra perfect in translucent on my t-zone. All of these in combination makes my skin look fresh for almost the entire day. I really would recommend this! If your skin is problematic, it's best to use the oily/combo skin version.

Now the only problem I have with it is that it doesn't match my skin tone as much as I want it to. So I have to mix Fresh Beige and Nude, but honestly besides that, this is definitely my HG foundation and I don't plan on switching!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 soyeon0930 on 6/13/2011 11:06:00 PM more reviews by soyeon0930

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This broke me out like crazzzzzzzy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products