Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4439 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 ashton on 6/7/2011 10:49:00 PM more reviews by ashton

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Oh Revlon Colorstay, we've had quite a relationship! I wanted to love this foundation more than anything because I've heard nothing but good things about it.
And it IS one of the best drugstore foundations on the market. The first time I bought this foundation I got it in the wrong shade which threw me off so I didn't try it for a year later. This time around with the correct shade, I really liked it. The coverage is fantastic and it doesn't transfer onto clothing as bad as other foundations. The wide range of shades is also nice. The only thing I don't like is that it has more of a matte finish and I'm a dewey kinda gal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ilookcool on 6/7/2011 11:57:00 AM more reviews by ilookcool

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best liquid foundation I've used. It's full coverage and I don't need a concealer when I wear this. It gives a glowy finish, which I didn't find with any other foundations I've tried. It's very water resistant and stays put all day. I usually put it on with my fingers, because I found I wasted a lot of product when I use a brush or sponge.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 liacoconut on 6/7/2011 11:20:00 AM more reviews by liacoconut

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I cannot praise this foundation enough!
I am the sort of person who buys something once then tries to find something better through research and testers.
A make up artist I knew told me she always uses this foundation and seeing the result, I had to agree.
I purchased this one and never finished my Clinique foundation which I also wrote a review about.
At first it was quite difficult to apply, I used to always use my fingers of a sponge and it dries quite quickly, then I found the best way of applying it, using a brush!
I use my stippling brush and stipple it all over my face and until it's all covered, then use a setting powder. This way I don't have horrible streaks.

Now to the best part:
I have a very very VERY oily T-zone with normal/sometimes dry cheeks, I never found anything that would help it, even using anti-shine moisturisers, foundations, cleansers and powders but THIS one actually helps prevent the nasty shine!
I still get slightly oily but it doesn't show so obviously as with any other foundation. It doesn't seem to reflect the shine so that I sometimes have to touch my face to realise it needs blotting.
This I found was truly the best part of this foundation.

The coverage is great too, I can use more or less depending on how my skin looks at the time and it never broke me out.

The price is good, on the expensive side for Drug store products but infinitely cheaper than the high end products.

The only downside for me is the bottle.
It gets very messy and you can't always control exactly how much product you want. It's also not as hygenic as it could be and I'd love a pump bottle instead.
I know there are some around on ebay and I might invest in it as it would then be perfect.

I am now on my 4th bottle and I never bought any foundation this many times in a row.

Now only to find the perfect setting powder...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 allieswasteland on 6/7/2011 9:21:00 AM more reviews by allieswasteland

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I bought this foundation last year. I decided to buy it at Walmart because I knew it would be cheaper there, but unfortunately, all of the palest shades were out of stock so I purchased 150 Buff for Combo/Oily Skin anyway. When I first bought it, I didn't really know how to apply/blend foundation. I recently started working with it again and I really like it! I'm actually going to be wearing it to my prom this weekend. I'm able to blend it really well with my fingers. It has a chemically smell, but for some reason, I actually like it so it doesn't bother me. I also like how it has SPF 6. My skin for reference: pale, but getting darker as I spend more time in the sun; slightly oily but can be dry as well; suffer from redness, blemishes, breakouts, blackheads, scaring, freckles. This covers well, without making me look plasticy. Lasts all day and doesn't rub off on clothing! The reasons I wouldn't purchase this again is because I have lots tinted moisturizers I want to use up and I like to try new products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 georgiak22 on 6/7/2011 7:37:00 AM more reviews by georgiak22

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS! I've always had really bad experiences with foundations where I always buy the wrong colour (a covergirl one) or it doesnt blend well (mac studio fix) so I didn't have high expectations when I bought this but this is so nice! It blends well into my dry skin and doesn't make it look cakey or anything. Not sure how it lasts as I haven't used it for a whole day or if it breaks me out but so far I love it. Considering its a drugstore foundation its extremely expensive in Australia (I bought mine for $37) which is ridiculous! But, its still cheaper than high end products and I think its an amazing product so my new HG foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 randi2515 on 6/6/2011 11:05:00 PM more reviews by randi2515

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Love this foundation. Started using it a few weeks ago after finally giving up on Bare Minerals foundation, realizing that it caused me to break out and just overall looked bad on my skin. Since using this, my skin is much clearer. I apply with a damp sponge and cover with Maybelline Dream Matte powder. By the end of a long workday my face still looks good. I have found that I can get both sheer or full coverage, depending on how much I apply. Even after I use what seems like a lot my face has not looked cakey. Everyone is right when they say the packaging is not good, but I'm willing to get over that for a foundation as good as this one.
**Edit: After using this all summer I have come to the conclusion that YES, this foundation can appear "cakey" at times, is very hard to remove, and at the end of the day looks oily in my t-zone. Still like to use it for nights out and mixed with other foundations, however. Lowered my rating from a 5 to a 4.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 moosue on 6/6/2011 11:01:00 PM more reviews by moosue

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Overall, I adore this product, as you can see from the 5 star rating. That said, there are a couple of gripes to get out of the way:
-it smells like paint, but happily the scent doesn't last long.
-it's quite gloopy and thick compared to other liquid foundations I've used. This is neither here nor there, just an observation really.
-there's no pump, which is a minor pain. Also, the lid feels really cheap, although the bottle is a standard, nice glass bottle.
-it's a little expensive for a drug store product at $20 CDN per bottle

That said, this stuff is one of the best foundations I've tried. I love this for summer because it's long wearing and can stand up to humidity and oil. I apply it with a damp sponge and have no problems with blending or cakiness. It stays put all day, even if you sweat. Just blot yourself dry, add some powder, and you're good to go again. Furthermore, it actually comes in a shade light enough for me!!! In MAC, NW15 is just a tad dark for me but is workable. Revlon Colorstay in Ivory is a perfect match for my fair, cool skin. Many, many drug store brands do not carry shades light enough for my skin. The coverage is medium so you can still see things like moles and freckles, but things like red patches are covered. I will repurchase. Love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 katty81690 on 6/6/2011 11:22:00 AM more reviews by katty81690

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation, it's very light and it takes place of my MAC tinted moisturizer! I have the lightest shade (sad to say, haha) and it is exactly the same color as my skin.

How I apply this is I literally put a dime-size amount on the back of my hand and blow on it to spread it around to make it a very thin layer and stipple it on my face with a stippling brush...I don't put too much on because I don't need it and it ends up looking caky, but that seems to be the problem with all sorts of liquid makeup.

The only problem I have with the packaging, which is very simple, is that it spills EVERYWHERE if I shake the bottle or don't set it upright after using it. The bottle I am currently using has foundation all over it due to it leaking after putting the cap back on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jaybeee00 on 6/6/2011 6:58:00 AM more reviews by jaybeee00

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, i don't know why every one is complaining about the smell, because I LOVE THE SMELL! This is my HG foundation. Especially because living in Australia means i may more than double of what American's would pay for MAC, i cannot afford most high end products. Colorstay is still expensive for me, i bought it for $32 from Kmart, however, it is the best full coverage foundation i own. Those who say it is cakey are not applying it properly (you should be applying with a brush and/or damp sponge). Will definatley repurchase, i use this on all my clients.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tricyclesinskirts on 6/6/2011 12:54:00 AM more reviews by tricyclesinskirts

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love drugstore products. My stash is littered with items i'd rank among my favorites that cost but a few dollars--WnW shadows, prestige eyeliners, max factor mascara, Milani blushes.

But seriously, I hate this foundation so much. It turned me off of liquid foundations for a good year and half, (until my recent foray to MAC face and body,) I hate it that much. First of all, NW20 isnt an easy match, and it looks so awful in sunlight--and go ahead and forget about the harshness of flourescents. It looks like a straight-up mask, extremely thick and unnatural (even when applied with a duo-fibre brush, beauty blender, or SK flat top brush, the best applicators for foundation I have to offer in my arsenal.)

And it 100% without a doubt broke me out, on my forehead and cheeks, where my skin normally behaves itself. I will happily go to the drugstore for mascara, lipgloss, and various other cosmetics, but for items like foundation and concealer that require an exact color match?

I guess I'm a bit snobby.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products