Revlon ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013]

3.8

4471 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (7.3%) Inactive Ingredients: Aqua/Water (Water), Cyclomethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, SD Alcohol 40B, PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone, Nylon 12, Tribehenin, Isododecane, Polyisobutene, Sodium Chloride, Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Bisabolol, Serica (Silk Powder), Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Malva Sylvestris Flower Extract (Mallow), Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract (Lily), Lactobacillus/Eridictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract, Alumina, Polydimethylsiloxane/Polymethysilesquioxane Copolymer, Ethylene Brassylate, Methicone, Trisiloxane, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain (+/-): Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499)


on 6/20/2011 5:24:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Love this product! My fav drug store foundation! Only thing I would change is for it to have a pump or be in a squeeze tube. Lasts all day!



on 6/18/2011 11:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is by far, my favorite foundation. I find it a great match for my skin tone (I'm incredibly pale), and it has great coverage. I never worry about it melting off my face, it stays put. As a matter of fact, it dries so quickly that I have to blend it in fast! I don't wear concealer underneath, this seems to cover up the angry redness pretty well by itself.


on 6/17/2011 3:51:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was almost a HG product for me. Amazing coverage and it kept me oil free throughout the day which is a HUGE deal for me since I have extremely oily skin. However after a couple of months it started to break me out really bad. A real shame since the rest of the product is so amazing.


on 6/17/2011 2:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I had heard so many great things about this here on MUA & on youtube, so I had to get it when I had a Revlon coupon! I was conflicted between the dry & oily versions, because I have very dry skin after having done a course of Accutane, yet I'm very prone to breakouts. It was winter, so I grabbed the dry skin version in the lightest shade available at my CVS (I'm very fair in fall/winter). The first time that I wore it, I was torn; it gave great matte coverage & matched my skintone, but no matter how little I used, it caked up. The first time I wore this, I accidentally slept overnight with it one because I had stayed overnight at a friend's. The next morning, I woke up with a nasty case of zits and a few cysts. I thought it was just because I had slept in my makeup, so I didn't immediately blame this foundation. So the next day when I went out, I put this on to cover my pimples- this created a vicious cycle of covering the pimples with the same foundation that was causing them. It took me 2 weeks to figure it out (I'm not the smartest in the bunch, clearly, because this was the only new product I had tried in the past few months). I googled some of the first few ingredients and, lo-and-behold, they all clog pores!! So, needless to say, I chucked this in the garbage. I'm still reeling over trying this because, 4 months later, I still have cystic breakouts & I haven't been clear a day since I used this. I have to go BACK ON ACCUTANE!!! I can't believe a foundation could do this to my skin. If I weren't so terrified of trying this again, I'd like to try the oily skin version. But I definitely won't ever touch this foundation again. Horrible for your skin- there's so many healthier options for your skin!!
Pros:
-full coverage
-matte finish
-good color match
Cons:
-cakey
-clogs pores/causes breakouts
-packaging- causes bacteria to grow, causing even more breakouts!

For someone obsessed with clear skin like me, the cons far outweigh the pros! I'm sorry to burst everyone's bubble, but no one warned me so I have to warn others so they don't make the same terrible mistake!! KEEP THIS OUT OF YOUR MAKEUP ROUTINE & KEEP YOUR SKIN CLEAR!!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2011 1:33:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this foundation, the coverage is fantastic, and it only cost me 9 dollars at Walmart! The only thing I didn't like about this foundation is that it didn't have a pump but for a few bucks that's okay. I highly recommended wearing a primer under this foundation otherwise, for me personally anyway, it can appear cakey. I got the Oily/Combination formula and it really controlled my oil throughout day, even better than my previous foundation bare minerals! I used to have powder my face almost every hour but now I only powder my face once, maybe twice a day with Revlon Colorstay. I was very surprised by the oil control considering it's a liquid foundation, and it didn't slide off my face like liquids tend to do. I got so tired of not getting the coverage I want from bare minerals and it looking cakey, but luckily I've found Revlon Colorstay and I will definitely be sticking with it. Great foundation, great price.


on 6/17/2011 12:08:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

First of all, I love Colorstay foundation and have used it for several years. It looks good with great coverage, and stays on like wallpaper! Especially useful in the summer.
BUT it is critical to use the right moisturizer beforehand. I tried using an oil-free moisturizer, and it looked dry and cakey. I switched to another (Garnier Skin Renew SPF 28), and mixed some in with the Colorstay. It looks perfect.
Another important thing to remember is to let this dry! It may take 5 minutes, while you empty the dishwasher or do some quick sit-ups.
I too wish they had this in a tube, it would make it easier to travel with.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2011 11:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am 31 and need more coverage than I did in my 20's, but while more coverage is great for masking blotchiness/sun spots, more coverage can also look cakey and settle into fine lines/wrinkles, thus making you look older. I do not have this problem with Revlon ColorStay foundation. It gives medium coverage, but looks SO natural. It doesn't look cakey or settle into fine lines/wrinkles, and it FEELS light on the skin (I hate the feeling of a heavy foundation that feels like a mask over your skin). I bought the one for Normal/Dry skin and it doesn't look oily or too dewy (I tend to like a matte look) and doesn't make me break out. It includes an SPF, and it lasts through the day.



I would probably continue to buy it if it was $30 and sold at Sephora (it's better than the Makeup Forever foundation i bought because I read that's what Kim Kardashian wears---since she always looks airbrushed, I thought I'd give it a try, but it looked too dry and cakey and emphasized my fine lines that are creeping in). I've also tried NARS and Lancome (both of which I didn't like), and MAC (studiofix and face and body) and Clinique (both of these brands were good, but not my absolute faves), and Laura Mercier tinted foundation which I LOVED, but it no longer offers enough coverage now that I am in my 30's. I am so happy I tried Revlon Colorstay (thanks to the reviews on here)...it's perfect and I recommend it to all my friends. The fact that it's affordable is just a great bonus.


Also, for those who don't know this, CVS lets you return it within 60 days if you find the color you chose isn't right for you---they don't have testers in the store, so it's a giant crapshoot when trying to figure out which color will work for you initially.


on 6/17/2011 10:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've used this product a few times and i like it. It gives good coverage and stays on for a long period of time. Not sure about the "sparkle" people are talking about, i dont see it. And as far as the packing, ya it could be better, but you can work with it. All you need to do is get a q-tip and take out as much as you need and put it on your hand, simple as that. And the price is only $10 at walmart, not sure where everybody else is getting it from. This product with a translucent or pressed powder over it will make u stay looking great all day :)


on 6/17/2011 6:15:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i just want to start by saying $37.00?! are you kidding me?! that is just a ridiculous price for a drugstore foundation. so anyway, i decided to finally try this out after all the hype ive heard about this. pro's: great colour selection. con's: it contains SPARKLES. (i wasnt aware about the sparkles as there was no mention of any in any review ive read), doesnt makes my skin look kinda gritty? no pump, odd scent, overpriced, overrated.


on 6/16/2011 12:11:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Never really understood the hype about this product, I bought the type for dry skin and it made my skin look so much more dry.
Although from far away it looked impressive, upclose was a different story, just looked caked on and I only used a small amount.
hmm didnt like this product.


Back to Top