Revlon ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013]

3.8

4466 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (7.3%) Inactive Ingredients: Aqua/Water (Water), Cyclomethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, SD Alcohol 40B, PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone, Nylon 12, Tribehenin, Isododecane, Polyisobutene, Sodium Chloride, Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Bisabolol, Serica (Silk Powder), Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Malva Sylvestris Flower Extract (Mallow), Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract (Lily), Lactobacillus/Eridictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract, Alumina, Polydimethylsiloxane/Polymethysilesquioxane Copolymer, Ethylene Brassylate, Methicone, Trisiloxane, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain (+/-): Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499)


on 6/17/2011 12:08:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

First of all, I love Colorstay foundation and have used it for several years. It looks good with great coverage, and stays on like wallpaper! Especially useful in the summer.
BUT it is critical to use the right moisturizer beforehand. I tried using an oil-free moisturizer, and it looked dry and cakey. I switched to another (Garnier Skin Renew SPF 28), and mixed some in with the Colorstay. It looks perfect.
Another important thing to remember is to let this dry! It may take 5 minutes, while you empty the dishwasher or do some quick sit-ups.
I too wish they had this in a tube, it would make it easier to travel with.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 6/17/2011 11:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am 31 and need more coverage than I did in my 20's, but while more coverage is great for masking blotchiness/sun spots, more coverage can also look cakey and settle into fine lines/wrinkles, thus making you look older. I do not have this problem with Revlon ColorStay foundation. It gives medium coverage, but looks SO natural. It doesn't look cakey or settle into fine lines/wrinkles, and it FEELS light on the skin (I hate the feeling of a heavy foundation that feels like a mask over your skin). I bought the one for Normal/Dry skin and it doesn't look oily or too dewy (I tend to like a matte look) and doesn't make me break out. It includes an SPF, and it lasts through the day.



I would probably continue to buy it if it was $30 and sold at Sephora (it's better than the Makeup Forever foundation i bought because I read that's what Kim Kardashian wears---since she always looks airbrushed, I thought I'd give it a try, but it looked too dry and cakey and emphasized my fine lines that are creeping in). I've also tried NARS and Lancome (both of which I didn't like), and MAC (studiofix and face and body) and Clinique (both of these brands were good, but not my absolute faves), and Laura Mercier tinted foundation which I LOVED, but it no longer offers enough coverage now that I am in my 30's. I am so happy I tried Revlon Colorstay (thanks to the reviews on here)...it's perfect and I recommend it to all my friends. The fact that it's affordable is just a great bonus.


Also, for those who don't know this, CVS lets you return it within 60 days if you find the color you chose isn't right for you---they don't have testers in the store, so it's a giant crapshoot when trying to figure out which color will work for you initially.


on 6/17/2011 10:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've used this product a few times and i like it. It gives good coverage and stays on for a long period of time. Not sure about the "sparkle" people are talking about, i dont see it. And as far as the packing, ya it could be better, but you can work with it. All you need to do is get a q-tip and take out as much as you need and put it on your hand, simple as that. And the price is only $10 at walmart, not sure where everybody else is getting it from. This product with a translucent or pressed powder over it will make u stay looking great all day :)


on 6/17/2011 6:15:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i just want to start by saying $37.00?! are you kidding me?! that is just a ridiculous price for a drugstore foundation. so anyway, i decided to finally try this out after all the hype ive heard about this. pro's: great colour selection. con's: it contains SPARKLES. (i wasnt aware about the sparkles as there was no mention of any in any review ive read), doesnt makes my skin look kinda gritty? no pump, odd scent, overpriced, overrated.


on 6/16/2011 12:11:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Never really understood the hype about this product, I bought the type for dry skin and it made my skin look so much more dry.
Although from far away it looked impressive, upclose was a different story, just looked caked on and I only used a small amount.
hmm didnt like this product.


on 6/16/2011 8:28:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

I am very impressed with this foundation! Especially since I finally found the perfect color for my skin tone. I've got the foundation for oily/combination skin in rich ginger.



Pro's: great coverage, looks natural, oil free and matte, feels nice and light on the skin, doesn't look cakey, very affordable.



Con: the only con I can think of right now is that the bottle doesn't have a pump but that does not stop me from giving it 5 lippies. Don't believe the BS of people who like to complain about everything, it's a very decent foundation. Good value for money!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/16/2011 4:12:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have oily skin and normally wear Max factor lasting performance which is good but I thought this may be better. I started wearing make up when I was about 13 or 14 and "Max factor lasting performance" was one I started using in the first few years and after ALL the foundations I have tried I have always gone back to it.
Anyway I have now also tried Revlon colourstay for oily skin and I was sadly disappointed, I was shiny again in 2 hours! I was expecting great things but this was a backwards step for me....."Max factor lasting performance" is definitely better then this one for oily skin but Im still in search for the perfect foundation :)


on 6/15/2011 3:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I do not have many HG products but my HG list can never be complete without this foundation. I have been using this product for more than 8 years now and have gone through many-many bottles. When i was younger , i had much oily skin , darker and prone to acne. this foundation held up through school, bus, sports, everything. I used to blot (2-3 times a day) and used a setting powder. Over the years, my skin has gotten more combination/oily and i dont need to blot/use a setting powder.

the foundation is a thick, medium-to-full coverage which has a good shade selection for a drugstore foundation. I have used true-beige/rich tan/golden caramel shades in combination/oily skin ( i am NC40-44).
When the weather is hot, i tend to sheer it out with a damp sponge/stippling brush. I have applied this foundation with my fingers and it works just as fine. The foundation can be cakey when applied with a heavy hand.
The foundation has a tendency to dry before you are done blending. I usually do parts of my face at a time so this has not been an issue for me.
the foundation has a small SPF so it might give a white cast when photographed with a flash. For day-today wear, I usually use a sunscreen with a higher SPF as my base.
The prices have increased over the years and i feel for a drugstore foundation it is on the pricey side. Having said this, i feel the quality is comparable to MAC Studio products , Estee Lauder double wear or Lancome. Also, a bottle can last me for more than 6-8 months as a little goes a long way.
the foundation comes in a glass bottle and no pump - i am not a fan of this. it makes traveling with it difficult . it also exposes the product to dry-out faster and the germs from our hands. i try to use clean fingers/brush/sponge to get to the product.

this foundation does have alcohol and parabens -but it does not irritate my skin.
I use a mild cleanser and wash my face for 2-3 mins to get all the makeup off my face. I have slept with makeup on more number of times than i would like to admit - but i have not had any breakouts the next morning with this foundation.

Overall, i absolutely love this foundation. i discovered it when i was not so much into makeup. i have used so many foundations since and I still use this foundation as a scale to rate the newer ones.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/15/2011 3:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am asian and have very oily skin. This product provided great coverage but it oxidated on my nose(oiliest part of my face) after a few hours even after i blotted a few times.

also it made my pores look really large and noticeable, which was something i do not experience with my favorite liquid foundation (which i regret straying from)

i had high hopes :( returned it !


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

this is one of the best foundations i have used compared to others i have tried but i still don't love it. it makes me look very unnatual in the sun and in photos. it makes me shiney straight away pretty much and i used the one for oily skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top