Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4434 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 randi2515 on 6/6/2011 11:05:00 PM more reviews by randi2515

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Love this foundation. Started using it a few weeks ago after finally giving up on Bare Minerals foundation, realizing that it caused me to break out and just overall looked bad on my skin. Since using this, my skin is much clearer. I apply with a damp sponge and cover with Maybelline Dream Matte powder. By the end of a long workday my face still looks good. I have found that I can get both sheer or full coverage, depending on how much I apply. Even after I use what seems like a lot my face has not looked cakey. Everyone is right when they say the packaging is not good, but I'm willing to get over that for a foundation as good as this one.
**Edit: After using this all summer I have come to the conclusion that YES, this foundation can appear "cakey" at times, is very hard to remove, and at the end of the day looks oily in my t-zone. Still like to use it for nights out and mixed with other foundations, however. Lowered my rating from a 5 to a 4.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 moosue on 6/6/2011 11:01:00 PM more reviews by moosue

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Overall, I adore this product, as you can see from the 5 star rating. That said, there are a couple of gripes to get out of the way:
-it smells like paint, but happily the scent doesn't last long.
-it's quite gloopy and thick compared to other liquid foundations I've used. This is neither here nor there, just an observation really.
-there's no pump, which is a minor pain. Also, the lid feels really cheap, although the bottle is a standard, nice glass bottle.
-it's a little expensive for a drug store product at $20 CDN per bottle

That said, this stuff is one of the best foundations I've tried. I love this for summer because it's long wearing and can stand up to humidity and oil. I apply it with a damp sponge and have no problems with blending or cakiness. It stays put all day, even if you sweat. Just blot yourself dry, add some powder, and you're good to go again. Furthermore, it actually comes in a shade light enough for me!!! In MAC, NW15 is just a tad dark for me but is workable. Revlon Colorstay in Ivory is a perfect match for my fair, cool skin. Many, many drug store brands do not carry shades light enough for my skin. The coverage is medium so you can still see things like moles and freckles, but things like red patches are covered. I will repurchase. Love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 katty81690 on 6/6/2011 11:22:00 AM more reviews by katty81690

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation, it's very light and it takes place of my MAC tinted moisturizer! I have the lightest shade (sad to say, haha) and it is exactly the same color as my skin.

How I apply this is I literally put a dime-size amount on the back of my hand and blow on it to spread it around to make it a very thin layer and stipple it on my face with a stippling brush...I don't put too much on because I don't need it and it ends up looking caky, but that seems to be the problem with all sorts of liquid makeup.

The only problem I have with the packaging, which is very simple, is that it spills EVERYWHERE if I shake the bottle or don't set it upright after using it. The bottle I am currently using has foundation all over it due to it leaking after putting the cap back on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jaybeee00 on 6/6/2011 6:58:00 AM more reviews by jaybeee00

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, i don't know why every one is complaining about the smell, because I LOVE THE SMELL! This is my HG foundation. Especially because living in Australia means i may more than double of what American's would pay for MAC, i cannot afford most high end products. Colorstay is still expensive for me, i bought it for $32 from Kmart, however, it is the best full coverage foundation i own. Those who say it is cakey are not applying it properly (you should be applying with a brush and/or damp sponge). Will definatley repurchase, i use this on all my clients.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tricyclesinskirts on 6/6/2011 12:54:00 AM more reviews by tricyclesinskirts

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love drugstore products. My stash is littered with items i'd rank among my favorites that cost but a few dollars--WnW shadows, prestige eyeliners, max factor mascara, Milani blushes.

But seriously, I hate this foundation so much. It turned me off of liquid foundations for a good year and half, (until my recent foray to MAC face and body,) I hate it that much. First of all, NW20 isnt an easy match, and it looks so awful in sunlight--and go ahead and forget about the harshness of flourescents. It looks like a straight-up mask, extremely thick and unnatural (even when applied with a duo-fibre brush, beauty blender, or SK flat top brush, the best applicators for foundation I have to offer in my arsenal.)

And it 100% without a doubt broke me out, on my forehead and cheeks, where my skin normally behaves itself. I will happily go to the drugstore for mascara, lipgloss, and various other cosmetics, but for items like foundation and concealer that require an exact color match?

I guess I'm a bit snobby.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wcygena on 6/6/2011 12:37:00 AM more reviews by wcygena

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

Tried the foundation out, and this is by far the best drugstore foundation ever. I have pretty dry skin, and a bit sensitive, got this 2 days ago in ivory (with softflex SPF15). I put this on for around 9 hours, overall the coverage is quite good. I set the foundation with my BE mineral veil, and reapplied it throughout the day for once. The colorstay did cover my redness but my dry patches on the tip of my nose show up. Well, every drugstore foundation just didn't do good on my dry patches issue.
Found a solution to due with this, and hope this may help some of those who have dry skin like me. I put vaseline on my dry patches after the moisturizers being absorbed. And just slightly dap a bit of primer (fewer than other area of my face), which I use loreal magic perfecting base. I will definitely repurchase this product as I love the medium coverage of it and the color really matches my skin tone perfectly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lecherrysodaa on 6/5/2011 9:36:00 PM more reviews by Lecherrysodaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I LOVE THIS FOUNDATION SO MUCH!!!

So I'll try to keep it short...

- Amazing coverage (buildable without cakiness)
- TONS of shades
- I have a very oily skin and this fights it like a gladiator hunk :)
- Cheap!!

Im an NC42 and use Golden caramel. I really recommend at least trying it :) My Holy grail of foundations is Estee Lauder Double Wear... but this is an amazing everyday foundation (really fighting for HG material)

And NO I don't think is like Studio Fix Fluid, that stuff is just terrible

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ilovemakeups on 6/5/2011 7:57:00 PM more reviews by Ilovemakeups

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This has good coverage and a nice matte finish..it's my fall back when I run out of my clinique or mac foundations..sometimes i switch to this one even when I have them...definetly needs a primer underneath..I like to pair it worth loreal studio secret #2 skin tone corrector underneath

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 decemberbaby03 on 6/5/2011 7:27:00 PM more reviews by decemberbaby03

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty great foundation. I've been wearing "Buff" for several years now. Not a big fan of the price though. Sometimes I can get it at Walgreens buy-one-get-one half-off sales. I don't recommend the accompanying powder though. Way too matte & makes you look pasty. I put CoverGirl Loose Powder over it and it looks great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Blondie7777 on 6/5/2011 3:47:00 PM more reviews by Blondie7777

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this product for prom last month. I like the coverage it gives and it doesn't give me that feeling that I'm wearing foundation. It goes on smoothly and doesn't feel or look cakey as some drugstore foundations do. My only complaint is the packaging. It's hard to get the product out without spilling it all over. If it had a pump it would be so much easier to use.

Overall I really like the coverage this foundation gives and I will probably be purchasing it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products