Bare Escentuals • bare Minerals Foundation #2/#3 & Mineral Veil • Powder

rated 3.4(375 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 jillianne821 on 11/6/2007 1:28:00 AM more reviews by jillianne821

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is the best makeup I've ever tried. Most other makeup either looks too cakey or slides right off. When I have bare minerals on, it looks the most natural and I rarely ever have to touch it up, which is ideal because I am lazy. I have sensitive combination skin and bare minerals does not irritate me. For those of you who were unsuccessful with Bare Minerals, I would suggest you try it again (unless it irritates your skin) or have somebody at the Bare Escentuals store, ULTA or Sephora show you how to use it(and watch how they apply it on you). All makeup is not for everybody, but Bare Escentuals works for me and my lifestyle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 vintagerose42 on 10/30/2007 1:01:00 PM more reviews by vintagerose42

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Yuk...I don't care for this at all. Made my combo skin shiny and my pores look huge. Also made my face itch.
I know some Ladies have had fantastic results, and thats great. I guess what bothers me is that it is advertised as being a makeup for every skin from dry to oily, when obviously from the reviews is not the case. Stay away from this stuff if you have any oily skin problems. This stuff is also way too messy and time consuming, my daughter loves it , but not the mess and wishes it was in a pressed powder form.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tlmartinez on 10/20/2007 12:48:00 PM more reviews by tlmartinez

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been looking for a good foundation for a long time and got tired of spending money on foundations that don't work for me, so I went to Bare Escentuals counter to have them match the foundation to my skin tone and to see how this product worked. Well I was very disappointed with BE, this foundation made my pores look bigger and did not look natural on me at all and didn't cover my acne blimishes, plus this foundation started making my skin blotching within 30 minutes, and made my skin itch. I'm not sure why most users give this foundation a high ranking, I thought it was terrible. As a side note my sister-in-law went with me the same day to have her face done too and she didn't like it all.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cherrywhiz on 10/16/2007 3:43:00 PM more reviews by cherrywhiz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This makeup caused me dermatitis all over my face. It was pretty scary having my face covered (also on my neck) with a rash/bumps and itching. I am on prescription med. from my dermatologist. It is very misleading that this company states that this product is especially good for those with sensitive skin and skin conditions such as rosacea, and their claim that the product is free of skin irritants is just not true (as I have experienced). I am a living example of this and if you search the internet you will find many women have experienced allergic and other skin conditions resulting from the use of this make up. I do not recommend, but then again you can try it and risk it. For me it is not worth it. I have no prior history of skin conditions, nor allergic reactions to makeups or face lotions.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amesrh on 10/16/2007 11:30:00 AM more reviews by amesrh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was fully aware of the hit or miss rep this product was received. When the BE tour hit my local sephora this past summer, I decided I had to try it. I've been using the medium beige, mineral veil for a few months now and generally I do like it. No other foundation has made me skin feel so natural...like I'm not wearing any at all! I normally use the concealer brush to dab into the tub before applying the foundation. My skin can actually breathe for once. I have combination skin, and it didn't make me break out at all. Not once since I've started using it. The only thing is that it is sooooo inconvenient and messy! I really need something more on the go that provides flawless coverage. Another complaint is that it settles into your pores quite easily. Based on feel, this product is the best, but based on convenience and look, it's so-so.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sueshine1974 on 10/13/2007 10:28:00 PM more reviews by sueshine1974

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I was surprised to see how many people hate this product. I haven't used foundation/makeup for very long (cheap/poor student life), but started to in the last few years to cover up the grey circles and discoloration that's starting to happen in my thirties (especially over winter). I don't think it's too bad, and in fact, really like how it works for me. I don't need heavy coverage because I've got a pretty good complexion, I'm not acne prone but I do have very dry skin. I find the product easy to apply and makes getting ready in the morning easier for me because it's so straightforward. (I do question whether that last layer of the mineral veil is really doing anything, though - I find it hard to tell). I was a little concerned after I went to a makeup consultation yesterday and the lady told me how incredibly dry the skin on my face was, so I worried that the pure use of powder with BE is causing even more dryness. I decided to try a liquid makup from Chanel (vitalumiere), and then applied the BE makeup (including the mineral veil) on top, and for the first time ever, felt I saw a huge difference to how my skin looked - exsquisite! And I felt the addition of a moisturizing makeup layer felt really good. My warnings about the BE - yes it's a little messy when you travel and the containers get jiggled around. The cream that came in the started kit was horrible and made both me and my friend who bought at the same time break out in a rash. I think the brushes are nice, personally. Again, I haven't bought enough differnt makeups to know if this is worth the price. I might try another brand when this kit runs out just to see if there's something else that's a better price, but for now I really like it. I really don't find it as horrible as everyone says it is!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 zelda234 on 10/12/2007 9:29:00 AM more reviews by zelda234

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

After some superstar shopping i decided to purchase BE amongst many other products....What is it all the rage about this product? For me it did nothing but settle in my pores, fine lines, etc. I do like the idea of all natural but my counter top is a mess now, powder everywhere. ickyy.....It did nothing but make my pores look bigger and it looked fake. Sorry BE but this is going back.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 eschudlich on 10/12/2007 12:41:00 AM more reviews by eschudlich

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

well, after using BE foundation for nearly 4 years i just stopped last week and my skin has not looked so clear in a LONG TIME thanks to you guys! i had really bumpy, clogged pores-particulary on either side of my mouth (all the places i was heavily using BM to cover the spots i got from trying to get rid of the bumps!) i switced cleansers, moisturizers, etc i dont know how many times and to no avail, my skin kept getting worse and worse and more and more congested. i NEVER thought in a million years it could be my foundation because its minerals and good for my skin, right? i would wash my face, go to bed and the bumps on my face would be smaller in the am, still there but not as pronounced. by the end of a full day of several applications of BM the bumps were REALLY noticeable but like i said i never thought it was the BM, even after a good long process of eliminating certain products, etc i still could not believe it was the BM, thought didn't even cross my mind! i read the reviews for BM on a lark last week and realized that clogged pores and even redness/itchiness was fairly common from using BM. about 2 months ago my mom bought BM and it turned her face red and itchy, i told her no way could it be the BM! again, its suppossed to be good for your skin-apparently not for everyone. in a matter of 4 days my face is completely clog free-i cant believe it. i asked the SA at sephora the other day if they had a lot of BM returns, and her response was, "its our best selling foundation." not exactly the question i asked her...jim jones "sold" alot of kool-aid at jonestown but that didnt mean it was good for everyone! lol! since they started selling BM at sephora i have NEVER seen any SA try any other foundation on ANYONE other than BM and i'm there like 1x a week every week! from the reviews here, it seems like BM agrees with about 50% of the people who try it. if you are breaking out or experiencing clogged pores and using BM, DO NOT assume that it can't be the BM foundation/concealor--contains bismuth (seems to be the culprit...) if it wasn't for makeup alley i probably would have continued using BM and trying every skincare product on the market to clear my skin only to upset it even more. this is my first review-i have like a gazillion other products i'd like to give my 2 cents on but really wanted to post this ASAP. i know this review is pretty redundant but i really wanted to make it very clear how brainwashed i was by BM marketing and maybe convince someone else if they are having skin problems it MAY be the BM. BTW-- i have switched to LM TM and am LOVING it! also now using her SC and loose powder-GREAT stuff and no clogged pores.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 teeirons on 10/3/2007 9:57:00 AM more reviews by teeirons

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I had heard nothing but good things about bare minerals, so I decided to give it a try. I've always used mac foundation or mary kay, but believe it or not I never look like I have a lot of makeup on, but it always covered my freckles. I bought the starter kit of bare minerals and I have to say I HATE it. My forehead is broken out and my chin and my chin NEVER breaks out. My cheeks always look ruddy. I just never have that finished look I used to with the other two foundations. I'm using it up with the help of my stepdaughter and then never again. I do have to say I do like the mineral veil, it feels good when you apply it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mcardle on 9/28/2007 1:59:00 PM more reviews by mcardle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

BE is wonderful! I love it. You only need a little bit and get great coverage. I have pale skin with redness on the cheeks and chin and occasional monthly breakouts. This is comfortable on my skin and doesn't come off until I wash it off. Lasts all day with no touch ups.

I've been using BE for about 3 years and have yet to have bad results! Love it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Powder products