Bare Escentuals BareMinerals Foundation

3.4

380 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/24/2007 11:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

Why oh why didn't I buy this stuff years ago when I saw it on TV? I've had a love/hate relationship with foundations since I first attempted to cover up breakouts at age 12. Nothing worked and if it did work - it looked so obvious that I was covering something up. I'd given up on actually doing anything but toning down the little shine I had and had only really worn pressed powder as a base for years.

And then I got a little mad money and headed to Sephora...well I had to visit both Calgary locations before I could find my colour (apparently there are alot of Calgarians needing the light kit).

It was love at first buff. I love how it covers everything without being noticeable. I don't have as many breakouts as I have had in the past, but this covers what I do have and looks so natural. What's more - I had a bad skin infection on my face this summer that left me with alot of pigmentation scars...and this stuff covers them too. I am so happy with the entire kit!

I am now a bare minerals convert and look forward to many happy years with my new favourite makeup!



Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm really let down by this hyped up product as well as their phone customer service. I ordered this product online and cancelled, and the kit was given as a gift not knowing the customer service agent was sending it to her own home. Now that's funny ! And I purchased in a store and was very excited. I've been a long time wearer of FF, DermB and Mac and I really wanted something to cover some of my scars and be more natural looking. This is the only thing good I can say this product did for me. After wearing BE for 3 days straight I noticed pimples, now I haven't seen those in so long LOL. Just my luck and the natural look didn't last nor did the oily spots in my t-zone after using the MV didn't help as well. This is not my HG, I'm still in search of. Have ordered two sample from different stores be looking out for those review.


on 11/15/2007 12:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought the starter kit at the local Sephora thinking that I was going to love Bare Minerals, as I used this a couple of years ago and loved it. I guess that my skin has changed since then because this stuff made my face so itchy. I found out on this website that it was the Bismuth in it that was probably causing my face to itch, and I was so upset that this didn't work with my skin. I still gave it a couple more tries, but it didn't work. I would apply it in the morning, go to class, and then start scrratching at my face. I really wish that I had gone onto mua before I went on an impulse buy at Sephora, but I learned from my mistake. The colors didn't really match my yellow toned asian skin anyway. I think that I was trying to fool myself thinking that this was going to work for me. I was glad to check the Sephora reciept because after two weeks of having this Bare Escentuals kit, I returned it and got my $65.00 back. The sales person who did the return told me that the reason my face was itchy was probably the brushes in the kit. Its too bad that she doesn't know that mua exists and that I know the real reason behind the itchiness! I now use Everyday Minerals and I absolutly love it!!!!!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/14/2007 12:50:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product did not work very well on my skin type. Although I love the idea of applying natural make-up on my face, I found that Bare Escentuals did not work well on my dry skin, even after moisturizing and applying a primer I could still see the powder. The other complain that I have about Bare Escentuals is that application can be quite a mess, however this is not a bad product, if they came out with a product geared toward dry skin I would definetly try it again as they have a great selection of colors and their cosmetics are free of chemicals.


on 11/7/2007 12:29:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have tried and tried to like this product but it does nothing for me. It settles in my pores and makes them more prominent. Also, I always feel like I have something heavy on my face when I've used it. I would much rather use a liquid. I know it says it is natural but from everything I have read on this product, it is no more natural than anything else out there. If you are over 40 and have large pores, chances are you will not be able to use this product. This is definitely one of those products either you love it or you hate it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/6/2007 1:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is the best makeup I've ever tried. Most other makeup either looks too cakey or slides right off. When I have bare minerals on, it looks the most natural and I rarely ever have to touch it up, which is ideal because I am lazy. I have sensitive combination skin and bare minerals does not irritate me. For those of you who were unsuccessful with Bare Minerals, I would suggest you try it again (unless it irritates your skin) or have somebody at the Bare Escentuals store, ULTA or Sephora show you how to use it(and watch how they apply it on you). All makeup is not for everybody, but Bare Escentuals works for me and my lifestyle.


on 10/30/2007 1:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Yuk...I don't care for this at all. Made my combo skin shiny and my pores look huge. Also made my face itch.
I know some Ladies have had fantastic results, and thats great. I guess what bothers me is that it is advertised as being a makeup for every skin from dry to oily, when obviously from the reviews is not the case. Stay away from this stuff if you have any oily skin problems. This stuff is also way too messy and time consuming, my daughter loves it , but not the mess and wishes it was in a pressed powder form.


on 10/20/2007 12:48:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have been looking for a good foundation for a long time and got tired of spending money on foundations that don't work for me, so I went to Bare Escentuals counter to have them match the foundation to my skin tone and to see how this product worked. Well I was very disappointed with BE, this foundation made my pores look bigger and did not look natural on me at all and didn't cover my acne blimishes, plus this foundation started making my skin blotching within 30 minutes, and made my skin itch. I'm not sure why most users give this foundation a high ranking, I thought it was terrible. As a side note my sister-in-law went with me the same day to have her face done too and she didn't like it all.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/16/2007 3:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This makeup caused me dermatitis all over my face. It was pretty scary having my face covered (also on my neck) with a rash/bumps and itching. I am on prescription med. from my dermatologist. It is very misleading that this company states that this product is especially good for those with sensitive skin and skin conditions such as rosacea, and their claim that the product is free of skin irritants is just not true (as I have experienced). I am a living example of this and if you search the internet you will find many women have experienced allergic and other skin conditions resulting from the use of this make up. I do not recommend, but then again you can try it and risk it. For me it is not worth it. I have no prior history of skin conditions, nor allergic reactions to makeups or face lotions.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/16/2007 11:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was fully aware of the hit or miss rep this product was received. When the BE tour hit my local sephora this past summer, I decided I had to try it. I've been using the medium beige, mineral veil for a few months now and generally I do like it. No other foundation has made me skin feel so natural...like I'm not wearing any at all! I normally use the concealer brush to dab into the tub before applying the foundation. My skin can actually breathe for once. I have combination skin, and it didn't make me break out at all. Not once since I've started using it. The only thing is that it is sooooo inconvenient and messy! I really need something more on the go that provides flawless coverage. Another complaint is that it settles into your pores quite easily. Based on feel, this product is the best, but based on convenience and look, it's so-so.


Back to Top