Bare Escentuals BareMinerals Foundation

3.4

378 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/15/2007 12:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought the starter kit at the local Sephora thinking that I was going to love Bare Minerals, as I used this a couple of years ago and loved it. I guess that my skin has changed since then because this stuff made my face so itchy. I found out on this website that it was the Bismuth in it that was probably causing my face to itch, and I was so upset that this didn't work with my skin. I still gave it a couple more tries, but it didn't work. I would apply it in the morning, go to class, and then start scrratching at my face. I really wish that I had gone onto mua before I went on an impulse buy at Sephora, but I learned from my mistake. The colors didn't really match my yellow toned asian skin anyway. I think that I was trying to fool myself thinking that this was going to work for me. I was glad to check the Sephora reciept because after two weeks of having this Bare Escentuals kit, I returned it and got my $65.00 back. The sales person who did the return told me that the reason my face was itchy was probably the brushes in the kit. Its too bad that she doesn't know that mua exists and that I know the real reason behind the itchiness! I now use Everyday Minerals and I absolutly love it!!!!!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 11/14/2007 12:50:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product did not work very well on my skin type. Although I love the idea of applying natural make-up on my face, I found that Bare Escentuals did not work well on my dry skin, even after moisturizing and applying a primer I could still see the powder. The other complain that I have about Bare Escentuals is that application can be quite a mess, however this is not a bad product, if they came out with a product geared toward dry skin I would definetly try it again as they have a great selection of colors and their cosmetics are free of chemicals.


on 11/7/2007 12:29:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have tried and tried to like this product but it does nothing for me. It settles in my pores and makes them more prominent. Also, I always feel like I have something heavy on my face when I've used it. I would much rather use a liquid. I know it says it is natural but from everything I have read on this product, it is no more natural than anything else out there. If you are over 40 and have large pores, chances are you will not be able to use this product. This is definitely one of those products either you love it or you hate it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/6/2007 1:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is the best makeup I've ever tried. Most other makeup either looks too cakey or slides right off. When I have bare minerals on, it looks the most natural and I rarely ever have to touch it up, which is ideal because I am lazy. I have sensitive combination skin and bare minerals does not irritate me. For those of you who were unsuccessful with Bare Minerals, I would suggest you try it again (unless it irritates your skin) or have somebody at the Bare Escentuals store, ULTA or Sephora show you how to use it(and watch how they apply it on you). All makeup is not for everybody, but Bare Escentuals works for me and my lifestyle.


on 10/30/2007 1:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Yuk...I don't care for this at all. Made my combo skin shiny and my pores look huge. Also made my face itch.
I know some Ladies have had fantastic results, and thats great. I guess what bothers me is that it is advertised as being a makeup for every skin from dry to oily, when obviously from the reviews is not the case. Stay away from this stuff if you have any oily skin problems. This stuff is also way too messy and time consuming, my daughter loves it , but not the mess and wishes it was in a pressed powder form.


on 10/20/2007 12:48:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have been looking for a good foundation for a long time and got tired of spending money on foundations that don't work for me, so I went to Bare Escentuals counter to have them match the foundation to my skin tone and to see how this product worked. Well I was very disappointed with BE, this foundation made my pores look bigger and did not look natural on me at all and didn't cover my acne blimishes, plus this foundation started making my skin blotching within 30 minutes, and made my skin itch. I'm not sure why most users give this foundation a high ranking, I thought it was terrible. As a side note my sister-in-law went with me the same day to have her face done too and she didn't like it all.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/16/2007 3:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This makeup caused me dermatitis all over my face. It was pretty scary having my face covered (also on my neck) with a rash/bumps and itching. I am on prescription med. from my dermatologist. It is very misleading that this company states that this product is especially good for those with sensitive skin and skin conditions such as rosacea, and their claim that the product is free of skin irritants is just not true (as I have experienced). I am a living example of this and if you search the internet you will find many women have experienced allergic and other skin conditions resulting from the use of this make up. I do not recommend, but then again you can try it and risk it. For me it is not worth it. I have no prior history of skin conditions, nor allergic reactions to makeups or face lotions.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/16/2007 11:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was fully aware of the hit or miss rep this product was received. When the BE tour hit my local sephora this past summer, I decided I had to try it. I've been using the medium beige, mineral veil for a few months now and generally I do like it. No other foundation has made me skin feel so natural...like I'm not wearing any at all! I normally use the concealer brush to dab into the tub before applying the foundation. My skin can actually breathe for once. I have combination skin, and it didn't make me break out at all. Not once since I've started using it. The only thing is that it is sooooo inconvenient and messy! I really need something more on the go that provides flawless coverage. Another complaint is that it settles into your pores quite easily. Based on feel, this product is the best, but based on convenience and look, it's so-so.


on 10/13/2007 10:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was surprised to see how many people hate this product. I haven't used foundation/makeup for very long (cheap/poor student life), but started to in the last few years to cover up the grey circles and discoloration that's starting to happen in my thirties (especially over winter). I don't think it's too bad, and in fact, really like how it works for me. I don't need heavy coverage because I've got a pretty good complexion, I'm not acne prone but I do have very dry skin. I find the product easy to apply and makes getting ready in the morning easier for me because it's so straightforward. (I do question whether that last layer of the mineral veil is really doing anything, though - I find it hard to tell). I was a little concerned after I went to a makeup consultation yesterday and the lady told me how incredibly dry the skin on my face was, so I worried that the pure use of powder with BE is causing even more dryness. I decided to try a liquid makup from Chanel (vitalumiere), and then applied the BE makeup (including the mineral veil) on top, and for the first time ever, felt I saw a huge difference to how my skin looked - exsquisite! And I felt the addition of a moisturizing makeup layer felt really good. My warnings about the BE - yes it's a little messy when you travel and the containers get jiggled around. The cream that came in the started kit was horrible and made both me and my friend who bought at the same time break out in a rash. I think the brushes are nice, personally. Again, I haven't bought enough differnt makeups to know if this is worth the price. I might try another brand when this kit runs out just to see if there's something else that's a better price, but for now I really like it. I really don't find it as horrible as everyone says it is!!


on 10/12/2007 9:29:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

After some superstar shopping i decided to purchase BE amongst many other products....What is it all the rage about this product? For me it did nothing but settle in my pores, fine lines, etc. I do like the idea of all natural but my counter top is a mess now, powder everywhere. ickyy.....It did nothing but make my pores look bigger and it looked fake. Sorry BE but this is going back.


Back to Top