Everyday Minerals • Matte Foundation • Powder

rated 3.8(383 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 beckie511 on 7/2/2008 11:56:00 PM more reviews by beckie511

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have oily acne prone skin, and I am a light/medium neutral skin tone.... I had an extremely hard time finding a right match for my skin! I ordered many many samples of foundation colors and everything either made me look ghostly pale, was too dark so looked like a mask, or was somewhere in between and gave me an unattractive grayish cast. With all of the color options they give you would think you would at least find one that matches, but nay is the case with me. Besides that, the formula itself sort of sits on my skin after I put it on, and appears what can only be described as (broken up)... meaning very obvious foundation patches on my face...ew. Not so impressed with this one despite the rave reviews... although I love the bronzer, it gives great color when used properly... Alima is the best mineral foundation I've found thus far and has MUCH better color selections, as in closer to the actual color of human skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jhadiq on 6/29/2008 7:06:00 AM more reviews by jhadiq

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am working through my sample kit now, which included the matte, intensive, and semi-matte formulas. I have discovered that these powders will darken/oxidize on my oily skin, making it a lot more difficult to get a good match than one woud think. The fact that there is such variance is a huge downside to me. Also, I found that this formulation settles into my pores and makes them more noticeable. If a powder foundation is going to make me switch from MAC Studio Fix or MSF natural, it has to look at least as good when covering my pores and matching my skintone. Unfortunately, this product so far is falling way short. I plan to keep trying to make this work for me, but unfortunately, I don't think EDM is right for me and my oily skin. I am guessing all the great reviews are coming from people who don't have problem skin like I do.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 violoniste on 6/28/2008 8:14:00 PM more reviews by violoniste

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am very happy with this product. After trying about 4 different sample kits, I finally found my shade: Golden Medium Olive. My face is redder and darker than my neck, which is a light/medium buttery yellow color. I definitely did not consider my coloring "medium;" so for those of you who are ordering sample kits, do not be afraid to think outside the box. :)

Anyway, I find that this shade balances the redness in my face nicely. I barely see any olive in it; but maybe that is because whatever trace green element is there is neutralizing the red in my skin, resulting in a perfectly natural color. Since I absolutely adore using lovely blushes, I am pleased that this gives me a nice canvas on which pretty blushes show through, instead of just layering them onto my own ruddy cheeks. It feels light and the color stays true throughout the day. I have to blot several times, but my skin is very, very oily. I don't see this as a fault of the product at all. No breakouts from this whatsoever.

Only cons:
~ It can look a little chalky if I apply with a heavy hand.
~ The color is completely different in the intensive formula (much darker). I prefer the matte and the semi-matte formulas.
~ I do prefer the texture of Lumiere's cashmere foundations; they are more finely milled, silky (placebo effect? hmm), and luxurious feeling. However, the color selection isn't as perfect as EM. In Lumiere, I wear light/medium warm or medium warm (depending on how tan I am); luckily (for me), Lumiere's warm shades are more yellow than peach. I wish she would make olive shades...

These days I go back and forth between the EM and the Lumiere. If EM had the texture and cute black-on-white packaging of Lumiere, it would be HG; if Lumiere's formula came in the exact shade I wear in EM, it would be HG. For now, I am very pleased with each. For the (inexpensive) luxury of having clear, natural-looking skin, I'll take what I can get!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stef27 on 6/13/2008 5:42:00 PM more reviews by stef27

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is the only MMU so far that I have liked. BE and others have bismuth oxycloride which is a cheap filler and irritates my skin. Also, a lot of the other brands look shiny on my skin. I don't need shiny skin, it's oily enough on it's own. I still have to use the blotter sheets halfway through the day because I still get oily, but for the price this makeup is really good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 andrea4126 on 6/9/2008 11:31:00 PM more reviews by andrea4126

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I did like this product better that Bare Minerals, but really that's not saying much. It didn't irritate my sensative skin which was surprising but it looked very unnatural. I even blended multiple colors to match my skin and it still looked odd. I also got shiny after wearing this for only an hour....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rockexrolloh on 6/9/2008 11:08:00 PM more reviews by rockexrolloh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to love EM foundation but I just couldn't do it. I use their concealers (which I love) but the foundation just did not work for me. I got a bunch of samples in each finish and didn't care for any of them. I have a horrible time trying to find foundations to match my pale/cool skintone but I was impressed that EM foundation matched. However, when I put it on, my face felt & looked chalky and heavy. I tried a darker shade but it didn't help. I decided to wear it anyway but it didn't last at all! It was starting to rub off after a few hours of classes, in which I was just sitting at a table.
But I do think it's great that EM offers the samples at such a great price and offers a wide range of shades.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luloo on 6/8/2008 1:27:00 PM more reviews by luloo

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This formula is the second driest formula offered by EM. It would be good for people with combo to oily skin. I have combo skin, and I feel it is a little bit too drying for my dry areas, but it works well in my oily areas. I had the idea of dusting this in my oily areas and using one of the moister formulas (Semi-matte or Original Glo) in my dry areas.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* punkrockzoie on 6/2/2008 10:57:00 PM more reviews by punkrockzoie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used this about a year ago, but recently I've been using Sally Hansen's Carmindy mineral-type powder foundation and I prefer it over EM's mineral foundation.
the EM foundation I had was supposedly matte, but it did absolutely no such thing to my skin. It gave me a dewy "glow" which I know most people prefer but since I have extremely oily skin, I prefer the 100% matte look. The Carmindy powder gives me about a 98% matte finish, without making my skin look dry which is excellent. My advice is to not bother dealing with shipping and handling and the extra costs, and just go to Ulta or some nearby store and pick up Carmindy's foundation instead. Price-wise, I paid $10 for EM plus S&H, which I don't remember the price of. For Carmindy, I got a really good deal. $13 dollar regular price, BOGO half-off at Ulta, plus a manufacturer's coupon of $3, plus an Ulta coupon of "Spend $10 get $3.50 off" with a grand total of about $13 dollars for two, making it $7 each.
Oh, and the coverage is light, which is less than what I was looking for. Overall, don't bother with the hassle and extra expense. Go try Carmindy, or any other mineral foundation for that matter, because EM is simply ordinary.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GeekChick on 6/2/2008 2:56:00 PM more reviews by GeekChick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this because I was excited to find a mineral foundation that came in a pale color and a matte texture. While their lightest color (I think it was called Fair? It's been about two years since I tried it) was a fairly close match for my skin (though a bit too cool for me), the foundation turned ORANGE after only a few hours on my very oily skin! Plus the coverage was pretty poor even for a mineral foundation.

Overall I cannot recommend this product for oily or combo skin. It might work for dry skin, but how many people with dry skin want a matte foundation?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mef1430 on 6/2/2008 7:30:00 AM more reviews by mef1430

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I only tried the sample that the company sent me. I did like the color selection that they provided, but the coverage did not cover enough for me; it covered well at first, but after a few hours it seemed like it just disappeared. Also,I could feel like there was makeup on my face. I thought mineral makeup was supposed to feel like it was not there? I have oily skin and I guess it is just too oily because after a few hours of wearing this, I was very shiny! I am disappointed that another mineral makeup did not work for me. I do have large pores and acne scars that I want to find a foundation that would help cover them, but I guess it would have to be a miracle potion to help it! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Everyday Minerals products

More Powder products