Everyday Minerals • Matte Foundation • Powder

rated 3.8(378 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 rockexrolloh on 6/9/2008 11:08:00 PM more reviews by rockexrolloh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to love EM foundation but I just couldn't do it. I use their concealers (which I love) but the foundation just did not work for me. I got a bunch of samples in each finish and didn't care for any of them. I have a horrible time trying to find foundations to match my pale/cool skintone but I was impressed that EM foundation matched. However, when I put it on, my face felt & looked chalky and heavy. I tried a darker shade but it didn't help. I decided to wear it anyway but it didn't last at all! It was starting to rub off after a few hours of classes, in which I was just sitting at a table.
But I do think it's great that EM offers the samples at such a great price and offers a wide range of shades.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luloo on 6/8/2008 1:27:00 PM more reviews by luloo

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This formula is the second driest formula offered by EM. It would be good for people with combo to oily skin. I have combo skin, and I feel it is a little bit too drying for my dry areas, but it works well in my oily areas. I had the idea of dusting this in my oily areas and using one of the moister formulas (Semi-matte or Original Glo) in my dry areas.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* punkrockzoie on 6/2/2008 10:57:00 PM more reviews by punkrockzoie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used this about a year ago, but recently I've been using Sally Hansen's Carmindy mineral-type powder foundation and I prefer it over EM's mineral foundation.
the EM foundation I had was supposedly matte, but it did absolutely no such thing to my skin. It gave me a dewy "glow" which I know most people prefer but since I have extremely oily skin, I prefer the 100% matte look. The Carmindy powder gives me about a 98% matte finish, without making my skin look dry which is excellent. My advice is to not bother dealing with shipping and handling and the extra costs, and just go to Ulta or some nearby store and pick up Carmindy's foundation instead. Price-wise, I paid $10 for EM plus S&H, which I don't remember the price of. For Carmindy, I got a really good deal. $13 dollar regular price, BOGO half-off at Ulta, plus a manufacturer's coupon of $3, plus an Ulta coupon of "Spend $10 get $3.50 off" with a grand total of about $13 dollars for two, making it $7 each.
Oh, and the coverage is light, which is less than what I was looking for. Overall, don't bother with the hassle and extra expense. Go try Carmindy, or any other mineral foundation for that matter, because EM is simply ordinary.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GeekChick on 6/2/2008 2:56:00 PM more reviews by GeekChick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this because I was excited to find a mineral foundation that came in a pale color and a matte texture. While their lightest color (I think it was called Fair? It's been about two years since I tried it) was a fairly close match for my skin (though a bit too cool for me), the foundation turned ORANGE after only a few hours on my very oily skin! Plus the coverage was pretty poor even for a mineral foundation.

Overall I cannot recommend this product for oily or combo skin. It might work for dry skin, but how many people with dry skin want a matte foundation?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mef1430 on 6/2/2008 7:30:00 AM more reviews by mef1430

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I only tried the sample that the company sent me. I did like the color selection that they provided, but the coverage did not cover enough for me; it covered well at first, but after a few hours it seemed like it just disappeared. Also,I could feel like there was makeup on my face. I thought mineral makeup was supposed to feel like it was not there? I have oily skin and I guess it is just too oily because after a few hours of wearing this, I was very shiny! I am disappointed that another mineral makeup did not work for me. I do have large pores and acne scars that I want to find a foundation that would help cover them, but I guess it would have to be a miracle potion to help it! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 EternalKudra on 5/31/2008 5:25:00 AM more reviews by EternalKudra

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Why did I wait so long before trying this formula of EM? I was afraid that matte would be a bit too dry and powdery looking for my normal-to-oily but dehydrated from treatments skin. But it's really not a flat matte, it's nice and creamy without being shiny...I find that when my skin does get a tad oily with it on, it looks more like the amount of glow the semi-matte starts out with. It minimizes my pores and evens texture better than the semi-matte, and doesn't feel any heavier or chalky. And it has an even softer look when spritzed with water. I do have some dry, flaky patches on my skin, and I do have to moisturize well before applying this, but really no more than I had to with semi-matte. After over a year of loving EM but feeling like each formula was just not quite perfect, I've finally found the one that's perfect for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TiaR on 5/30/2008 1:24:00 AM more reviews by TiaR

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Alright, so here's the deal. I have oily skin, a few zits here and there, under eye circles, and some acne scars. This covers great at first, but wow, it is so hard for me to find a color match. Too yellow, too pink, too green--honestly I'm quite irritated with it and the shipping price to Canada is four dollars. I might order one more sample kit but I am nearly done with this stuff; the olives were okay on me, but they still didn't seem right. Anyways, I was using medium olive and it looks alright on me for three hours...but wow, if i touch my face at all it just get shifted and comes off. The oil makes it really shiny too and it seems obvious that I'm wearing foundation...not to mention if my boyfriend kisses me it likes to magically disappear and it's gross when he wants to touch my face and it's all oily. He likes Estee Lauder "Double Wear" on me a lot more, and so do I; I hate the fact that mineral makeup doesn't seem to work too well for me, since I love the idea of softer ingredients on my skin. I'll just keep using my organic ecco bella concealer with double wear and I think I'll be happy enough. : ) Hopefully there will be better formulas of mineral makeup in the future.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maitai215 on 5/27/2008 10:34:00 PM more reviews by maitai215

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been wearing this faithfully for over 2 yrs since I've discovered this brand via MUA. Before that I thought I would turn away from full coverage cream liquid foundation for full coverage. But now thanks to EDM, I can just swirl, tap, and buff into happiness and even skin!
I have ordered several sample kits and several full size kits (I usually get the 6 full items for $32 kit) I have purchased full size kits at least 3 times, that's how much I like this product! I think a kit of 3 foundations, 2 powders and 1 concealer can last me more than a yr.
I am rather careless with it cuz it's loose powder and hence rather messy in the sink, but I don't care! For the price of about $6 for 8gram size jars (the cost per jar if you get the 6 item kit), you get enough foundation to last you for at least 6 months. I am a medium colored Asian, and have tried Winged Butter, Golden Medium and Beige Neutral and they all look the same on the skin! So not sure if the differences are only apparent when densely packed into the jar, cuz on the skin the color variations are not perceptable to me or my friends. I have not been so bold to try to wear a different color on each side of my face however.
I use lavendar powder as a neutralizing base for special occasions (if I have time for the extra step) and multi-purpose concealer for covering up dark spots, zits and under eye circles. I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 b_u_t_girl on 5/26/2008 11:55:00 PM more reviews by b_u_t_girl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After not liking the Intensive formula to much (see my review on that) I decided to try this one. It's ok and I don't have the "oily" issue I had with the Intensive formula. Coverage doesn't last me all day; I have the additional expense of buying all of the various concealers from EDM (can you say more profit for them?) since the Matte foundation on it's own doesn't do such a good job of covering.


Needless to say, as far as foundations, I have completely given up on EDM. I have found another mineral foundation that is so much better & far more superior for my skin.


Maybe someday EDM will listen to their customers and revamp all four of their formulas, instead of pretending that they are superior to those "infomercial" brands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vandael on 5/20/2008 8:26:00 PM more reviews by vandael

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE IN A JAR. Albeit, not the most aesthetically pleasing, attractive jar... this doesn't discount the quality of the product inside. I am amazed at the selection of colors and finishes EM offers, and am continually mixing and matching to create new looks. But my all-time favorite faithful is Matte. It provides medium coverage and oil control. It will always be my base for finish mixtures. While I do have combo skin, I still desire a slightly dewy look. To accomplish this, I create a 1:4 mix of Olive Medium (Original Glo) to Golden Medium (Matte). The matte formula still holds up well, yet allows Original Glo to give me that bit of radiance. Nothing beats EM's versatility!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Everyday Minerals products

More Powder products