Lancome • Hypnose Drama • Mascara

rated 3.2(437 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleRussianDoll on 12/15/2011 8:36:00 PM more reviews by LittleRussianDoll

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried the normal and waterproof version of this. The normal one made my curled lashes wilt so its a no for me. The waterproof one holds curl. It adds tons of volume, but clumps like crazy!!! Even after using an eye lash comb, lashes stuck together and looked spidery. It did do a fantastic job lengthening my short straight asian lashes though. I won't be buying this again because of the clumping. I think I prefer mascaras with plastic brushes because they don't clump as much and define more. Hypnose drama has a normal mascara brush, perhaps thats why it clumps so much?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mizzcindy on 12/13/2011 4:50:00 AM more reviews by mizzcindy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I don't say this very often, but this mascara is terrible! This... or it's me who's terrible at applying it.
I've used it in one layer, several thin layers(made it even worse), wiped the brush off before.. nothing works: it's a wet and clumpy mess.
I've tried using this with another mascara as base... pffffff
Eventually I tossed in the bin after two weeks. That was one expensive experiment, back to my Max Factor False Lash Effect

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 traceyadwl on 12/10/2011 10:32:00 PM more reviews by traceyadwl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I don't wear mascara often anymore, but I have tried dozens of brands over the years. My most recent favorite is Faux Cils by YSL, as it has consistently delivered beautiful, dark lashes without clumping. That being said, if I do decide to wear mascara, I am looking for drama! I mean, I want results: the "fake lash look" all the way...and I want them to be super black. This was my favorite choice compared to Doll Eyes (Doll Eyes was so clumpy!) This was IMO darker, more dramatic, and less clumpy when I tested both. My lashes were just pretty. I will say that when I got it home, Drama did start to clump a little due to the fibers. But I tried it with the sample Lancome lash primer and that made a whole world of difference. No clumps, just pretty eyes. Drama is a nice in-between if you're looking for a dramatic lengthening mascara with the fiber effect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 robinm on 12/10/2011 3:28:00 PM more reviews by robinm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I already love hypnose but this is just even more volume for me! Incredible how my lashes look after the cils booster xl and hypnose drama together! I get so many compliments on how incredible my lashes look and people always think I'm wearing lash extensions!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* divadenah on 12/4/2011 12:12:00 PM more reviews by divadenah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This product is Yes/No for me. Some days it is awesome and then some days it just like 'whatever'. The some days they are long, curled and volumed. then the whatever days, they are a little long and not curled. I dont have time for that...So I would not buy this again.. I prefer Mac Haute n' Naughty Lash over this. After Im done with this, I will be gettin the Haute n' Naughty Lash and its 18.00 compare to this HN being 26.00

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DriouxAnnaSky on 11/30/2011 7:24:00 AM more reviews by DriouxAnnaSky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

hello sexy, dramatic, full n long lashes! i'm not gifted in the lash department, so the effect was downright shocking! great brush, too! this is especially great over the lancome cils booster. very impressed. this was my first lancome mascara, and led to me buying the doll lash mascara and the definicils, which were also great. a little clumpy, but not in a bad way- just in a very very volumizing way. if it really bothers you then the doll lash does the same thing without the clumps.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* diamondtiara on 11/29/2011 8:29:00 PM more reviews by diamondtiara

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I went into Sephora requesting Hypnose Drama ($25) to take home and try, after wanting to purchase it for months! It wasn't until I came home and began applying my makeup for the evening that I realized I'd wound up with a tube of the waterproof version instead. Thus, this review will be on that formula only. I've been trying to find a mascara that does more than my current favorite, Bare Escentuals Flawless Definition Volumizing ($18). I like the BE formula a lot, but lately I've been wanting to see if there's anything that will give me lusher, fuller looking lashes and better curl. I stuck with Hypnose Drama WP in an attempt to do just that. I wore this for three days before returning it to Sephora.


PROS:


-- Curls my outer lashes beautifully.
-- Holds the curl all day.
- Super black formula.
-- Made my long lashes look even longer and more full than the BE one I mentioned.


CONS:


-- Taking off waterproof mascara is a lesson in patience. This one is no exception. Even with my most careful efforts to remover this with Clinique Take The Day Off remover (which has a good oily consistency and is perfect for breaking down tough eye makeup) and some cotton balls and q-tips, I still lost about 4 lashes in the process.
-- It also took me ages to remove all of this formula off of my eyes. I'm a grad student and sometimes fall into bed completely drained; taking an extra 10 minutes to take off my mascara just doesn't appeal to me!
-- My lashes felt hard and crunchy, which drove me nuts. I wear contacts, so I'm even more aware of my eyes, but really, they even LOOKED stiff. I'm looking for drama, but I want feathery lashes as well. (Maybe I'm asking for too much!)
-- While this gave me a bit more drama than my trust BE mascara, it wasn't so much to justify the $7 difference in price tags.


Overall, I would not purchase the WP version of this mascara again. I returned it today in exchange for Diorshow Black Out, and will be writing a review on that mascara in several days. I may, however, try the regular version of Hypnose Drama someday, because I did like the way it held a curl and amplified my lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lucielalaland on 11/28/2011 12:02:00 AM more reviews by lucielalaland

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a rare find in a mascara. For me, it didn't clump or flake off. I have oily lids and most mascaras give me racoon eyes. This one didn't. It also holds a cure well. Only drawback is the high price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissNRI on 11/20/2011 11:21:00 AM more reviews by MissNRI

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I received this mascara in a GWP and I like it although the formula is a bit too wet for my taste. I think the best thing about this mascara is the curved brush, which really does help to lift/curl and thicken lashes well. It does give a good amount of volume but it takes a long time to wait for the first coat to dry before putting on additional coats because of the wet formula. It is not the most buildable mascara in the world. Its staying power is good, despite the wet formula it isn't runny and doesn't flake, although it can feel a bit sticky when dry. It can really go either way with this mascara...with patience and waiting for it to dry properly it can give very thick stunning lashes, but if you try and apply too much at once you will get clumpy, stuck together lashes and smears. While I like the brush, the formula is average and it seems like I could easily find something better at the DS. I wouldn't pay full price for this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Suzyace on 11/15/2011 7:35:00 AM more reviews by Suzyace

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favourite mascara of all time. Everytime I wear it, my boyfriend tells me I look pretty! Always end up going back to it. Quite tricky to take off, so you need a good remover but overall- love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Mascara products