Lancome • Hypnose Drama • Mascara

rated 3.2(454 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 dakota2010 on 2/6/2012 3:32:00 PM more reviews by dakota2010

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I cannot believe how bad this mascara is for the price. It is really thick and does not apply very well. I like the design of the tube, but not what is inside.
My lashes are very sparse and this clumped them together, and made me look horrible. One coat and I had to remove it.
Will not be buying in the future...thank goodness I go this in a swap...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nick18 on 2/2/2012 8:29:00 PM more reviews by nick18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I use to love this mascara when I first got it, I thought it was my HG but then after a while of using it I got bored with it and really didnt seem that great anymore. I will say its been the best mascara Ive tried so far and I have tried almost all mascaras high or low end. BUT Im looking for the perfect lashes. This did give good length and pretty good thickness. I wouldnt say it was super dramatic like it seems to be advertised but it was pretty close. I dont use this anymore because Ive been trying to find a better one but I would recommend this out of any mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pmonga on 1/31/2012 1:04:00 PM more reviews by pmonga

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a hyped mascara with the Kardashians being fans of Lancome Hypnose and whatnot, so I thought I'd give it a try. Turned out to not only be a dud, but one of the most clumpy, unpleasant, and difficult mascaras I've ever had to work with. It gets disgustingly thick, clumpy, and goopy within WEEKS of opening :( and application is a mess with clumps of mascara everywhere + it clumps lashes together. Totally returned to Sephora.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 reinventingMe on 1/29/2012 1:02:00 AM more reviews by reinventingMe

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara did not give me volume. It made my lashes Extremely clumpy. I tried separating them with a metal eyelash comb and the mascara flaked. The brush gooped clumps of mascara on it. I could not make it work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 serialspender on 1/27/2012 3:30:00 PM more reviews by serialspender

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

DISGUSTING, CLUMPY and CHEAP looking!

This is the worst mascara I have ever used, Ive used cheap drugstore brands that have a better finish than this. It is extremely difficult to apply without clumping and also being a very dry formula it flakes all over the place.

I might aswell have burnt 20 as this just made my eyelashes brittle and spidery ....was too bad to even give away and ended up going in the bin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iqaganda on 1/27/2012 1:13:00 AM more reviews by iqaganda

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love the formula because it is true to its word that it gives you huge volume, but the wand sucks. It is so big, the "S" shape makes it even harder to control and it smudges everywhere while applying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blacklikemyheart on 1/22/2012 4:20:00 PM more reviews by blacklikemyheart

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Love this mascara because I like a lot of lash. However, I do feel that a tube of this dries out more quickly than some other mascaras.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TiaDGB on 1/19/2012 5:27:00 PM more reviews by TiaDGB

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Hm, I have not reviewed any Lancome products yet, so let's start with Hypnose Drama :) This product has its good and bad points, but I would not purchase the full size (I received a sample in a GWP). Overall it's all right and I don't have a problem using it, but it's far from my HG or to go mascara.


PROS
-It does seem to provide decent volume and length. Nothing amazing, but better than a lot of mascaras that I've owned.


CONS
-The brush shape is weird. It's a wavy shape with wiry bristles. Apparently it's wavy because you're supposed to rotate the brush as you work it through your lashes, but who's really going to do that? I tried it and it made absolutely no difference anyway. I mean I don't have a HUGE problem with this brush, but I would have preferred a more standard one. This is just another example of makeup companies running out of ideas so they market something totally pointless as extraordinary.
-It clumps. BAD. I usually go through my lashes with a clean, disposable mascara wand after applying this. Otherwise it will look like I have about three huge lashes.
-I don't really like the consistency. I find it wet and goopy and it doesn't seem to pick up evenly on the brush.


The lasting power is pretty average. It doesn't flake or smudge terribly, but it won't last for eons either. Just typical of a non-waterproof mascara. Overall, this mascara is all right but I will not repurchase. If anything, I'd stick with the regular Hypnose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luvtek on 1/17/2012 6:38:00 PM more reviews by luvtek

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So glad I received this as a gift w/purchase or I would've never discovered it. It is THE BEST mascara I've ever used. No effort, goes on easy and can build and build to desired amount of volume & length w/o any mess! Just bought my 1st full-size after the 3 month rule and will more than likely stick with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mllemustard on 1/10/2012 8:58:00 PM more reviews by mllemustard

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I rarely want to spend this much on mascara-- I usually make do with whatever comes as a gift with purchase-- but I think I will actually buy a tube of Hypnose Drama.

Maybe it's my skin looking really good these days, but I put the Hypnose Drama on this morning and realized that I didn't need any other makeup. No makeup. Just the mascara. At some point I put on Burt's Bees Red Dahlia lip balm, but there's not much color there. If I looked this good at a black-tie function, I'd be happy.

So, maybe I'm just having a really good day, but if the Hypnose Drama keeps this up, I'll unfortunately be spending $25 a tube every 3 months or so. Sigh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Mascara products