Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation SPF 15

3.8

449 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Skin Foundation SPF 15 – (Active ingredients: Octinoxate 7.50% and Titanium Dioxide 1.00%) Water, Methyl Trimethicone, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Isononyl Isononanoate, Glycerin, Pentylene Glycol, Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl dimethicone, HDI/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Talc, Boron Nitride, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Stearic Acid, Palmitic Acid, Dimethicone, Lecithin, Aluminum Dimyristate, Tocopherol, Myristic Acid, Silica, Magnesim Ascorbyl Phosphate, Sodium Chloride, Sodium Citrate, Sorbic Acid, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol. May contain: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499).


on 6/9/2011 8:55:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my summer HG foundation and the nars sheer glow is my winter HG foundation. Since Hong Kong is hot and humid in the summer, I don't like to pile up so much makeup to work. Although, many reviewers who reviewed the skin foundation as light weight sheer coverage, it's aim is too look natural but not full coverage. I have acne prone combination sensitive skin so I'm pretty much picky on what I put on my face. I do have a lot of acne scarring and redness but I'm not shy about it. I always feel that to look like you have flawless skin is to wear foundation that shows you're natural skin and only conceal where is needed. Before I brought this foundation, I went to the Chanel counter as I heard such good things about the vitalumiere aqua but the MA was not helpful at all since I feel that she didn't want to serve or help me at all so I just walked out. But then I walked to the Bobbi brown counter and the MA was very welcoming and I asked about the long lasting foundation which she had tried on me and it was a little hard to blend and she recommended the skin foundation. She had commented that I don't have oily skin when she looked closer at my face and that I was prone to breakout due to the wrong products I've used. Bingo! She guessed what I've been through and the fact that even though she was working for BB, she didn't try to hard sell me but just help me in what I just came to look for. In general, I really like the BB's customer service since I did brought the long wear eyeshadows and the gel liners which I really love.

Overall, I really do like this foundation as it even out my skintone and I look healthy. My manager at work even commented that my skin looks moisturized not oily and he couldn't describe it. If you have blemishes, redness and acne scarring, all you need is just a concealer. For reference, I did try other foundations from MAC, makeup forever, laura mercier and the list goes on but this just simply really feels like skin and not made up. Another good thing about it, is that it's got SPF 15 and is all I needed since I work indoors and a pump where my nars sheer glow didn't have.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 6/6/2011 2:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

There should be a "REVAMP" listed for this product as Bobbi Brown company quietly changed the quality and color ranges of this foundation.

My old reviews were rave, 5 Star reviews, as the older version was highly pigmented liquid that was light as moisturizer and covered like a dream! Used to cover all redness and under-eye darkness and lasted all day. Something about it just made my skin radiant and beautiful, like new air-brushed skin.

Bobbi Brown's answer to the reviews on the original product was to thicken up the consistency-like they do with those cheap drug-store foundations that have all that extra goo you're not sure of. The color ranges are changed and contain less pigmentation. It was crazy because I was smart and saved an old bottle of my old (beloved) skin foundation after a summer tan...switched over to the Oil Free to test that one out, then after that ran out I tried to go back to Skin Foundation in my original shade. I tried it out and wondered why my skin looked so muddy and lackluster?? I compared the bottle to the older bottle in the "same" shade and found that they were completely different, which was very irritating! I tried on the older version and saw that it was a million times better than the new version, then immediately went back to Nordstrom's to return it.

*New version is low-pigmented, low-coverage, oily looking/skin drying. Not good.

So disappointed in Bobbi Brown and their "revamp" marketing scheme which hooks consumers with quality products and then changes them to cheaper useless products that confuse the consumer and faithful customers. This also happened with their eye-brightener pots as well which used to be an HG desert island product as well. If they continue to do this I will refuse to shop Bobbi Brown for good. Here's to hoping they don't "revamp" the eye brighteners and cream concealers as well :(

UPDATE 2014:
It seems they went back to the old formula?? I have been using this again with multiple re-purchases in several shades and it is working very well. I don't recall if it is as good as the initial launch formula but this is the only foundation that looks nice on me so we are back to 5-stars :)!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/5/2011 3:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bobbi Brown's Skin Foundation is extremely light weight and is also extremely sheer, unfortunately for me. I over estimated the lack of flaws my face had upon trying this foundation and concluded that my face needed far more coverage than what Skin could ever dish out...in short, if you've got near-perfect skin, give this a shot! If not, the coverage lacks. Another unfortunate discovery is that this foundation didn't sink in for me. It idly sat atop my skin stubbornly not wanting to adhere. Le sigh. Aside from the foundation's unfortunate events, BB's colour selection is SPOT ON! With ALL their foundation's bases of yellow pigment, there is no doubt that you will find a perfect match. I'm 3.5 Warm Beige and I've never found a more perfect match. Ding ding ding! We've a winner(for color match, yes, but coverage and adherance, no)!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/4/2011 11:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

I have been trying out this foundation for over a month now and while there are some good points it just does not work for me. It does provide a nice even finish but only if your skin is not on the dry side. Even with a good moisturizer I found it really enhanced the drier patches on my skin. It also did nothing for when I had some red blemishes so I would say the coverage is lackluster for acne. Also at times it really felt cakey and heavy on my skin. I definitely would not buy again.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

www.roseannebeauty.com
The foundation comes in a pump bottle which is convenient and doesn't waste too much excess product. The product itself is surprisingly watery and thin, not like most foundations I've tried. At first pump, it seems like it wouldn't provide any coverage, thinner than a tinted moisturiser but you'll be surprised! The best way to use this would probably be a paddle brush if you need the coverage, if not a good clean stippling brush does a good job in blending everything together because it's such a thin consistency.
The coverage is pretty good. Despite it's watery makeup, it does a great job covering everything - for sure a medium to high coverage foundation which is cool because you get the feeling that you aren't wearing much for cool coverage.
But, set with a powder, it looks pretty flawless. But even then, it's not that flawless.
Honestly, this isn't one of my favourite foundations. It doesn't last as long as I'd like and it oils up too fast and not in the most graceful manner. However, the 'technology' involved in making such a blend-able foundation go on with such coverage should be applauded so I clap, but I don't clap for long when it starts to fade off. At 75 AUD, it was really quite expensive and it's not something I would repurchase again.
www.roseannebeauty.com

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/27/2011 6:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Pros:This looks so pretty on the skin. makes the skin look smooth and dewy. Lovely color range for my skin tone. Medium coverage. very natural looking

Cons: Make my skin very dry and patchy at the end of the day :( Wish it didn`t cause this is HG stuff. Not very long lasting but not too bad either. Lasts about 6-7 H. on my skin.


on 5/19/2011 5:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I purchase this solely to use for daytime wear as I rather lightweight coverage. Prior purchasing this I relied on medium-full coverage foundations as my skin was not completely great at the time. Not being use to light coverage I hated it at first however grew to love it especially looking after my skin much better. This is now my HG foundation! It sits so well on my skin, it gives me a natural yet lightweight coverage, lasts quite well, wears away evenly & I've even received compliments on how great my skin looks with it on, even though my skin isnt perfect! Super happy.


on 5/14/2011 12:01:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is the first BB product I tried. I heard about BB before but never really tried the products. I went to the website, saw the ad for this foundation and thought I'd try it. I was really impressed with the range of foundation shades for brown skin.

I have normal/dry skin. I went to sephora got a sample of 7 Almond. It was a little to light for my skin color but I loved the finish and feel of the product. Went back to Sephora, got a sample of 7.5 Warm Walnut and 8 Walnut. 7.5 is PERFECT! I love the finish of this makeup so much I don't use setting/finishing powder with this. Instead I use MUFE Mist & Fix. As summer approaches, I may use a light setting powder(MUFE HD) on my forehead and nose.

My sample ran out after a few days and I'm going to purchase this foundation as alternative to my HG MUFE F&B when I want more than a medium coverage. .


on 5/13/2011 1:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After hearing all the good reviews for this foundation, i went out and purchased this. I usually wear Warm Sand but it was far too light for me in this foundation. I wish i was warned to buy this a shade darker then it might look more natural.

If you are looking for a long lasting foundation then this is not the one for you. I looked in the mirror after 3 hours to see that the foundation had worn off. My skin looked super dull!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Wow! Just a great lightweight sheer foundation that evens out skintone. I really liked the texture of this, very silky and easy to blend. So far, wear has been about average -- by afternoon I might want a touchup if I have a meeting but otherwise it's good for the day. I love the shade selection and found that the warm sand fit my fair to medium skin just fine. The fact that it has SPF is also a plus!


Back to Top