Bare Escentuals • buxom lash • Mascara

rated 4.0(460 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 xfhxcsx on 7/18/2011 5:15:00 PM more reviews by xfhxcsx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Definitely a good mascara, it certainly separates your lashes, and makes them seem very long. I really like this mascara, and I love the different type of wand it has. I wish it did a little more for thickening the lashes though, it does a pretty good job of that, but probably not good enough for the price they charge for it. The only reason I wouldn't repurchase this is because of the price, and I believe that drugstore mascaras are usually just as good as high end mascara, but often about a third of the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 llumi on 7/7/2011 12:35:00 AM more reviews by llumi

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I got this as a freebie so it may have been sitting for a while and I got a bad tube. I've heard such awesome reviews about this mascara that I hate that it didn't work well for me. The brush is AWESOME. It's got a unique design that really does get all the lashes. The mascara formula is UGH. It is clumpy no matter what I do, it stings and smears. Totally had spider lashes. Now, I did wash the brush and use it with another brand and had spectacular results. So... if you wanna spend the cash just for the wand do it. But I wouldn't waste money if you wanted to try the formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 moosue on 7/5/2011 1:53:00 AM more reviews by moosue

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Let me preface this by saying I have naturally very long, fairly thick lashes. As a rule, I don't buy high end mascara because of it's short shelf life and because most drug store mascaras do a decent job of defining my lashes.
I got this as part of a set though, and I do really like it. I agree with other reviews that it doesn't volumize as much as I'd like, but it does a lovely job separating lashes and coating them. Clumps are a non-issue with this formula, but I feel like I have to go over the same spot quite a few times to get the look I want.
What I really like about this is that it's scentless. Some cheap mascaras (I'm looking at you, Covergirl LashBlast) have a really nasty chemical smell to them, and this doesn't have that.
For the most part I like all mascaras just fine and the only things that are dealbreakers are flaking and clumping. This does neither of those, and I like it and would recommend it. That said, I wouldn't buy it again at $18 because I don't feel like it does anything that I can't get from say, L'Oreal Voluminous at half the price.
ETA: This migrates underneath my eyes. The formula greatly improves over time (my lashes look great with this now that it's thickened up with use), but I have raccoon eyes within 3 hours of putting this on. Not good at all, so I'm reducing a star. I still would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 disorderly on 7/2/2011 11:39:00 AM more reviews by disorderly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Not a bad mascara at all.. It gave good length, didn't clump, and made my lashes well-defined and pretty. I wish it gave a little more volume though, because I like my lashes to look really thick. I liked the wand, and the formula's pretty wet.. I'm going back to my HG Diorshow Blackout though because it gives way more intense volume, but this stuff wasn't bad and I'm glad I tried it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ET3638 on 6/30/2011 2:34:00 AM more reviews by ET3638

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I was honestly looking for a waterproof volumizing mascara, and to my dismay, a lot of the waterproof mascaras were a total let down. So I resorted to just getting plain old mascara. I've tried a TON of mascaras in my life time. I've got very short, sparse and thin asian eyelashes and I'm a slave and sucker for anything that'll make my lashes longer and more volumized.


After doing a bit of research, I decided to pick up this little gem. This mascara promises that all my lashes will be revealed, and that it'll lengthen and not clump, plus volumizes lashes up to 300%. This mascara sounded like a dream. Too bad it was kind of a let down. It did lengthen my lashes, though probably not as much as this mascara promises. As for volume? Almost non-existent. I guess my expectations for this mascara was just way too high because I had imagined myself having very dramatic lashes. This made a very good everyday-go-to-work kind of mascara. Gave my lashes enough oomph, but not so much that it seems like I've got bedroom/dolly eyes (which would be inappropriate for work!).


The reason why I gave this mascara such a high rating is because of it's "other" property. Because it's been infused with antioxidants, it made my lashes actually GROW longer. I use this in conjunction with Tarte's MultiplEYE primer and my lashes have never been so full and long before in my life. I'm pretty sure it was this mascara that made my lashes grow longer, because I had been using the primer long before I bought this mascara, and the primer never made my lashes long, it just made my lashes grow in areas that I never had lashes before (like the outer corner of my eyes). I am also a huge fan of the bristle/wand. I love the rubbery material of the wand as well as the shape of the wand. I've never had any problems applying mascara to my lashes and I have NEVER had any issues with clumping either. This wand glides over every single lash and evenly distributes the perfect amount of mascara (for an everyday-go-to-work kind of look) without ever weighing down my lashes or clumping them. Love that my lashes feel soft instead of all stiff and crunchy. Does not flake or smudge throughout the day (and I have terribly oily lids) and is easily removed with soap and water or eye makeup remover. Easily one of the best mascaras I've ever purchased in my life. Will repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 salllyyx3 on 6/29/2011 2:29:00 PM more reviews by salllyyx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My HG. I love this mascara, it gives an awesome natural volume without weighing down or clumping your lashes. The formula is on the drier side, but not too dry! Its perfect for holding my curl while making them fuller & longer. Ive repurchased this mascara about 3x already and will continue!

A quick tip for application:
+ DONT apply the first coat from your eyelash root to the tip! This will only weigh down your lahes.
+ Your lashes are naturally thicker at the root, so you should start by applying mascara to your tips to make them appear thicker
+ Then apply your last coat from root to tip to complete your look!

I use this method for all my mascaras and I always get beautiful, clump-free results!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DarkCircIes on 6/29/2011 12:19:00 PM more reviews by DarkCircIes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is not made for my Asian lashes -period-

The formula is wet, so wet that it makes my lashes droopy. I've tried many methods and approximately one month of trying it. No matter what I do, my lashes is droopy towards the end of the day if not during mid-day.

I like the way it applied, the brush give lashes a clean separation and the staying power is great with no flaking and smudging (especially its not waterproof) but the droopy lashes look just make me wanna stay away from it forever.

For US$18, it's consider cheaper than most of high end mascara. But it's not comparable to let's say Lancome Hypnose that gives a more dramatic POW.

Buxom is a good everyday mascara. But hey! if Covergirl lash blast can give me good staying power, good dramatic lashes, good formula at $6. Why do I want to pay $18 for droopy lashes?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissBrittanyM on 6/29/2011 11:44:00 AM more reviews by MissBrittanyM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got this as a freebie from Sephora. I don't have to try the full-size to know I will never repurchase... the product and brush are the same. This mascara gives me no volume or definition and flakes on me. I had to layer at least 3 coats to notice it at all, and that just made it clump of course.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 breakfastattiffanys11 on 6/25/2011 5:14:00 PM more reviews by breakfastattiffanys11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of the best mascaras I have ever used. This makes my lashes so long that I get mascara marks on my brow bone! My lashes are long to begin with, but this mascara volumizes, lengthens, and thickens without flaking or giving you spider-lashes. I got the mini-size for free from Sephora using my beauty points and the mini-size has lasted me very long. I will definitely have to buy the full sized when I run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vintagepinupgirl on 6/20/2011 8:14:00 PM more reviews by vintagepinupgirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love this mascara. It's the best high end mascara, by far (in my humble experience). I just hate the cost! Ugh, that's my sticking point. Other than that, it makes for great lashes which I get compliments and comments on all the time. I just wish it'd go down in price a bit!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Mascara products