Bare Escentuals • buxom lash • Mascara

rated 4.0(457 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ET3638 on 6/30/2011 2:34:00 AM more reviews by ET3638

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I was honestly looking for a waterproof volumizing mascara, and to my dismay, a lot of the waterproof mascaras were a total let down. So I resorted to just getting plain old mascara. I've tried a TON of mascaras in my life time. I've got very short, sparse and thin asian eyelashes and I'm a slave and sucker for anything that'll make my lashes longer and more volumized.


After doing a bit of research, I decided to pick up this little gem. This mascara promises that all my lashes will be revealed, and that it'll lengthen and not clump, plus volumizes lashes up to 300%. This mascara sounded like a dream. Too bad it was kind of a let down. It did lengthen my lashes, though probably not as much as this mascara promises. As for volume? Almost non-existent. I guess my expectations for this mascara was just way too high because I had imagined myself having very dramatic lashes. This made a very good everyday-go-to-work kind of mascara. Gave my lashes enough oomph, but not so much that it seems like I've got bedroom/dolly eyes (which would be inappropriate for work!).


The reason why I gave this mascara such a high rating is because of it's "other" property. Because it's been infused with antioxidants, it made my lashes actually GROW longer. I use this in conjunction with Tarte's MultiplEYE primer and my lashes have never been so full and long before in my life. I'm pretty sure it was this mascara that made my lashes grow longer, because I had been using the primer long before I bought this mascara, and the primer never made my lashes long, it just made my lashes grow in areas that I never had lashes before (like the outer corner of my eyes). I am also a huge fan of the bristle/wand. I love the rubbery material of the wand as well as the shape of the wand. I've never had any problems applying mascara to my lashes and I have NEVER had any issues with clumping either. This wand glides over every single lash and evenly distributes the perfect amount of mascara (for an everyday-go-to-work kind of look) without ever weighing down my lashes or clumping them. Love that my lashes feel soft instead of all stiff and crunchy. Does not flake or smudge throughout the day (and I have terribly oily lids) and is easily removed with soap and water or eye makeup remover. Easily one of the best mascaras I've ever purchased in my life. Will repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 salllyyx3 on 6/29/2011 2:29:00 PM more reviews by salllyyx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My HG. I love this mascara, it gives an awesome natural volume without weighing down or clumping your lashes. The formula is on the drier side, but not too dry! Its perfect for holding my curl while making them fuller & longer. Ive repurchased this mascara about 3x already and will continue!

A quick tip for application:
+ DONT apply the first coat from your eyelash root to the tip! This will only weigh down your lahes.
+ Your lashes are naturally thicker at the root, so you should start by applying mascara to your tips to make them appear thicker
+ Then apply your last coat from root to tip to complete your look!

I use this method for all my mascaras and I always get beautiful, clump-free results!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DarkCircIes on 6/29/2011 12:19:00 PM more reviews by DarkCircIes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is not made for my Asian lashes -period-

The formula is wet, so wet that it makes my lashes droopy. I've tried many methods and approximately one month of trying it. No matter what I do, my lashes is droopy towards the end of the day if not during mid-day.

I like the way it applied, the brush give lashes a clean separation and the staying power is great with no flaking and smudging (especially its not waterproof) but the droopy lashes look just make me wanna stay away from it forever.

For US$18, it's consider cheaper than most of high end mascara. But it's not comparable to let's say Lancome Hypnose that gives a more dramatic POW.

Buxom is a good everyday mascara. But hey! if Covergirl lash blast can give me good staying power, good dramatic lashes, good formula at $6. Why do I want to pay $18 for droopy lashes?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissBrittanyM on 6/29/2011 11:44:00 AM more reviews by MissBrittanyM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got this as a freebie from Sephora. I don't have to try the full-size to know I will never repurchase... the product and brush are the same. This mascara gives me no volume or definition and flakes on me. I had to layer at least 3 coats to notice it at all, and that just made it clump of course.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 breakfastattiffanys11 on 6/25/2011 5:14:00 PM more reviews by breakfastattiffanys11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of the best mascaras I have ever used. This makes my lashes so long that I get mascara marks on my brow bone! My lashes are long to begin with, but this mascara volumizes, lengthens, and thickens without flaking or giving you spider-lashes. I got the mini-size for free from Sephora using my beauty points and the mini-size has lasted me very long. I will definitely have to buy the full sized when I run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vintagepinupgirl on 6/20/2011 8:14:00 PM more reviews by vintagepinupgirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love this mascara. It's the best high end mascara, by far (in my humble experience). I just hate the cost! Ugh, that's my sticking point. Other than that, it makes for great lashes which I get compliments and comments on all the time. I just wish it'd go down in price a bit!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* baldymonster on 6/20/2011 6:40:00 PM more reviews by baldymonster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really, really love the brush on this mascara. The mascara itself is nice but what really makes me nerdgasm is the brush. It's so perfect. I have pretty long lashes so I'm always super concerned about mascaras giving me spiderleg lashes. You know what I'm talking about. Ick. With this brush, that possibility isn't even a blip on my radar. I could apply this mascara in the dark and not be worried about spiderlegging it up. The brush just combs out the lashes so well, and it's really easy to control the amount of lengthening you want.
As for the product, I've never had any flakes or melting issues or anything like that. The only problem I've noticed isn't really much of a problem: it's a little too wet for the first week or so of use. Easy solution, right? Just wait a bit. Also, it's black. Like, *really* black. That's a plus for some, but I wish Bare Escentuals made a more natural-looking brown-black version. Now THAT would be my HG mascara.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mommyholly on 6/19/2011 2:15:00 PM more reviews by mommyholly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This was my first purchase from Sephora ever. Great basic mascara. Gives enough umph to make them look pretty and polished. If your looking for something that offers lots of drama though dont choose Buxom. But if you just want an everyday mascara thats gentle on the eyes, then totally buy this. I cant speak for how well it holds a curl, because my lashes are stick straight and ive never found a Mascara (HE or DS) thats been able to hold them, and Ive tried ALOT!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DuchessofGrapes on 6/13/2011 7:40:00 PM more reviews by DuchessofGrapes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My favorite mascara! While DiorShow Blackout comes in at a close second and No. 7's 360 is my everyday choice, this is definitely something I purchase when I want to treat myself. I love the brush. It doesn't clump, it separates my lashes as well and making them uber thick, and it seems to be cleaner as well. While I normally go through mascara every 3-4 months, I can use this one for up to 6 and still have some leftover. I don't use it after 6 months even if there is some left because of my OCD regarding eye makeup cleanliness, but I can definitely say they are generous with the product. I can see this being really good for someone who likes lots of layers of mascara. I'm not a huge fan of Bare Escentuals, but this mascara (and Buxom as a whole) are wonderful. I've gone through 3 of the black and 2 of the blue (which is beautiful!) and totally plan on going through more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Meaninc on 6/13/2011 7:10:00 AM more reviews by Meaninc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Red, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a nice lightweight mascara. I made the mistake of trying the Amplified Busom Lash first and boy was that a big mistake. I like this one better. I am always intimidated by black mascaras....I prefer either soft black or black-brown shades. This one looked intimidating, but when I applied it with the super feather weight brush I loved how I looked. I don't really know about the volumizing factor of this mascara, but I do think it defines lashes and makes my eyes stand out. The brush allos for perfect seperation of my lashes. I also like that it is lightweight and doesn't irritate my skin. My allergies change in the summertime and I find that I have allergic reactions to most eye makeup....except BE because they use natural ingredients. I love BE, especially the new Buxom line. I took off one lippie because it still cannot compare to my HG, Max Factor Lash Perfection since it doesn't add much volume to my lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Mascara products