Bare Escentuals • buxom lash • Mascara

rated 4.0(466 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 bindagee on 8/1/2011 12:34:00 PM more reviews by bindagee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

the wand gets a little gooped up so i constantly am wiping the side of the wand on the tube! I do like the coverage of lashes, though. And the style of the wand does provide length evenly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tiffabee on 7/30/2011 9:22:00 PM more reviews by tiffabee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I first tried buxom in Sephora's Lash stash and it automatically was one of my favorites. I now own a full sized one and I love it! I have short, thin and pin straight lashes which are quite annoying to make pretty.With buxom I curl my lashes extra well and then apply one coat evenly to lengthen. Then I go over my lashes with the tip of the brush which contains excess goop to darken, darken and darken. Then I smooth everything over with one last coat to even it out and to get rid of any clumps! My lashes look amazing!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cbhanna21 on 7/29/2011 11:55:00 PM more reviews by cbhanna21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

When i first saw the brush, i was like "OMG I NEED THIS." I judge a mascara based on brushes. Little did i know, this was not a waterproof mascara. if you have straight lashes like i do, DO NOT GET IT. all it does is make my lashes fall back into place after i've curled it.

another thing about the brush is that even though it looks friggen awesome and looks like it will separate really well, the tip of the brush, for some reason, catches A LOT of mascara. it's hard to avoid the tip from touching my lashes so when in the middle of applying, a random CLUMP of mascara would just land on my lashes, ruining it. when i try to swear the excess mascara back into the bottle, it just made a huge mess (plus, it's a waste because all that excess mascara hangs around the top of the bottle and dries up there.)

oh yea, and it stings like hell.my tears ruined my make up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 phoebemarch on 7/29/2011 10:20:00 PM more reviews by phoebemarch

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I first got this mascara as a 100 point perk at Sephora and instantly fell in love! The brush is completely unique, and you can tell from the quality of the fibers that the mascara itself isn't going to clump. Not only does this mascara lengthen and volumize each and every lash, it also lasts FOREVER. My sample size lasted me about six months before it really started to dry out. Although at $19 the price is pretty steep, I find it completely worth it for a mascara that isn't comparable to any other drugstore one I've tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrs2xclothing on 7/26/2011 9:41:00 PM more reviews by mrs2xclothing

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other, Curly   Eyes: Other    

This is my all time favorite mascara and I think I've tried most every brand. I have long lashes and I've found that many mascaras make them look long but the Buxom makes them look thick; as close to false lashes that I've found. Plus it doesn't leave glumps of mascara on my lashes. I've used this for quite some type including their black and their blue colors and I don't have any plans to ever switch. I'd never tried a blue before and was curious as to how it would look. When you pull the applicator out, the color is a bit shocking, but after applying it, I didn't notice that it was really blue; just a bit lighter than the black that I normally use, plus this lighter color makes my eyeshadow stand out more so sometimes I use the blue and sometimes the black.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Chabli on 7/20/2011 12:38:00 PM more reviews by Chabli

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I don't know. The woman who sits next to me and has gorgeous eyelashes swears by this. Ran out and bought it, made MY lashes appear sparse and spider-leggy.

I have no luck with mascaras. Back to L'oreal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xfhxcsx on 7/18/2011 5:15:00 PM more reviews by xfhxcsx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Definitely a good mascara, it certainly separates your lashes, and makes them seem very long. I really like this mascara, and I love the different type of wand it has. I wish it did a little more for thickening the lashes though, it does a pretty good job of that, but probably not good enough for the price they charge for it. The only reason I wouldn't repurchase this is because of the price, and I believe that drugstore mascaras are usually just as good as high end mascara, but often about a third of the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 llumi on 7/7/2011 12:35:00 AM more reviews by llumi

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I got this as a freebie so it may have been sitting for a while and I got a bad tube. I've heard such awesome reviews about this mascara that I hate that it didn't work well for me. The brush is AWESOME. It's got a unique design that really does get all the lashes. The mascara formula is UGH. It is clumpy no matter what I do, it stings and smears. Totally had spider lashes. Now, I did wash the brush and use it with another brand and had spectacular results. So... if you wanna spend the cash just for the wand do it. But I wouldn't waste money if you wanted to try the formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 moosue on 7/5/2011 1:53:00 AM more reviews by moosue

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Let me preface this by saying I have naturally very long, fairly thick lashes. As a rule, I don't buy high end mascara because of it's short shelf life and because most drug store mascaras do a decent job of defining my lashes.
I got this as part of a set though, and I do really like it. I agree with other reviews that it doesn't volumize as much as I'd like, but it does a lovely job separating lashes and coating them. Clumps are a non-issue with this formula, but I feel like I have to go over the same spot quite a few times to get the look I want.
What I really like about this is that it's scentless. Some cheap mascaras (I'm looking at you, Covergirl LashBlast) have a really nasty chemical smell to them, and this doesn't have that.
For the most part I like all mascaras just fine and the only things that are dealbreakers are flaking and clumping. This does neither of those, and I like it and would recommend it. That said, I wouldn't buy it again at $18 because I don't feel like it does anything that I can't get from say, L'Oreal Voluminous at half the price.
ETA: This migrates underneath my eyes. The formula greatly improves over time (my lashes look great with this now that it's thickened up with use), but I have raccoon eyes within 3 hours of putting this on. Not good at all, so I'm reducing a star. I still would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 disorderly on 7/2/2011 11:39:00 AM more reviews by disorderly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Not a bad mascara at all.. It gave good length, didn't clump, and made my lashes well-defined and pretty. I wish it gave a little more volume though, because I like my lashes to look really thick. I liked the wand, and the formula's pretty wet.. I'm going back to my HG Diorshow Blackout though because it gives way more intense volume, but this stuff wasn't bad and I'm glad I tried it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Mascara products