Yves Saint Laurent Teint Touche Eclat Foundation

4.0

309 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Dimethicone, PEG-10, Dimethicone, Sorbitol, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Dimethicone/Polglycerin-3 Crosspolymer, Sodium Chloride,, Phenoxyethanol, Caprytyl Glycol, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Ethylhexylgycerin, Fragrance, Aluminum Hydroxide, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Dipropylene Glycol, Isotridecyl Isononanoate. May contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Bismuth Oxychloride.


on 5/30/2013 3:55:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have a love/hate relationship with this foundation. I have oily/combination skin, so I have to be careful when I buy foundation because something that's dewy will emphasis my oily T zone, but something that's matte will emphasis my dry patches.
This foundation is very moisturising - it gives a lovely natural glow at first, but I find after a few hours wear it just looks oily and shiny on my T zone, even when I use a primer and powder. This is such a shame because I cannot fault anything else! It blends beautifully onto the skin, it smells divine, and the packaging is to die for. The price is very good as well for a high end foundation, and the colour range is fantastic; it's catergorised into cool tones, warm tones, and neutrals, and with 22 shades to pick from you'll most likely find your shade. My shade is BR10 as I'm very pale and have a pink undertone.

I would recommend this for girls with drier skin as it really does make you look really healthy and glowing. I might give this another try in winter when my skin isn't so oily, so maybe it's just the time of year.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 5/30/2013 10:47:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I LOVE this foundation, before buying this foundation I was using Estee Lauder double wear which is quite heavy and doesn’t really suit hot weather. Since I have very light skin I have trouble finding foundation in my shade however this foundation is a PERFECT match to my skin. The foundation is comfortable to wear and blends in very nicely, I was worried the foundation would go melty in the sun but I was outside for about 4 hours the other day (keeping in mind its about 99F) and the foundation was still PERFECT when I got home. The foundation is quite light so I wouldn’t recommend this to acne prone skin but if your looking for a photogenic foundation that makes your skin look photoshopped this is what you’re looking for!


on 5/29/2013 7:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have very dry skin usually, around my nose and forehead so find it difficult to find a foundation.

I said to the assistant that I was looking for a foundation for my wedding (good for photos, long lasting, not breakout etc etc) and she suggested this. I believe she only suggested this because its the newest product to promote though...

Came off within 2 hours, could see my redness and slight acne scarring coming through. Awful staying power, even with a primer and/or powder.

I usually never suffer from oily skin but I could feel my skin just glowing (in a bad way) with the oil producing after about 20 minutes. May suit VERY dry skin but produced a dewy look that could reflect the sun!

Also haven't had spots for about 6 years and I've totally broken out! Definitely down to this foundation and oil producing elements of it.

Would definitely not recommend to anyone with oily skin of any kind!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 5/27/2013 12:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have been using a sample of this that the SA at Sephora gave me. I am fairly tenured when it comes to color matching. I have very fair skin with nuetral pink undertones. Even though I have pink undertones I prefer pink tone foundation. The girl matched me in B20 and sent me on my way. I have to say though, while this looked kind of scary dark for me, it applied wonderfully. I suggest getting color matched at the counter for this one. If I had chosen B10 I would have looked ghostly. (I'm nc15)

I have dry skin, it's sometimes terribly dry but with the season getting warmer it's controllable and I can wear anything. (Matte, satin, oil free, dewy etc). So as I expected it applied amazing. It's kind of like a bottle of photoshop. Some people complain of the coverage. It's great coverage if you have clear skin. I don't get many pimples or anything. If you have problem skin, eh it might work, but alternatively problem skin is usually sensitive and oil based foundations don't fare well.

I must say though, like a lot of you, this gets oily. After a couple hours without powder you could fry an egg on my face. With powder, I get about 4. Because of this it rubs off easy, doesn't really stay where it's supposed to and you can scratch it off. (Sounds gross I know). My problem is, I don't have oily skin, so this scares me. It's absolutely gorgeous, if you can get it to last. I applied it with a flat top kabuki. Very sparingly at first and then built it up. I didn't need concealer. Powder only the t zone. (Which I hardly do anymore) maybe I'm not doing it right, I'll keep working with it I guess! In the plus, it didn't irritate my skin or cause bumps or pimples. The only foundation that's happened from was Este Lauder Invisible! (YUCK)

Also, in my opinion this is very similar to Loreal true match Lumi on my skin. It looks much nicer at first and applies smoother, but at mid day same exact effect! Personally, at this point I would not pay $62CAD for this.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/22/2013 2:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I agree with what most people are saying about this foundation, I have been using it now for about 2 weeks and have been loving it. I didn't get a sample at first because i heard such great things about it i felt i didn't need to get one so i bought it straight away i got it for £29 (its original price) even though it breaks into the bank a little its worth the extra money, Its a great foundation its light coverage so if you have acne prone skin maybe its not for you as you're not going to get a lot of coverage out of this foundation but i think it leaves a beautiful finish on the skin i instantly noticed the healthy radiant glow it gives and how light it feels when wearing it. I would say this might not be the right foundation for a oily skin type it may just be pushing it a little it is quite oil based itself i found which is why it gives such a beautiful healthy glow so with a oily skin type it might just slip off your face i have oily to combination skin and i find throughout the day it starts getting very shiny in my T Zone but a good setting powder or setting spray will sort that out straight away i find MAC Prep&Prime works wonders with this foundation. I honestly haven't got a bad word to say about it the packaging is great you get a lot of product so you do get your money worth and its super light weight on the skin i highly recommend this foundation.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/20/2013 6:00:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

First I got a sample for this foundation because of it's steep price, the sample is very generous and could last a good 7 to 10 days. I have to admit I didn't like it at first, it was a lot more matte than expected, my skin was in a bad place with some dry patches. As my skin got a little better and it went on sale, I purchased it (24 GB pounds). I know love it! I apply with a brush and a little goes along way. I echo what previous reviewers said, your skin but better, way better! Pretty perfect. The make up blends in beautifully. I now have the lightest shade and despite being a little tanned it just blends in and is quite forgiving. It makes my skin look illuminated but not by the use of glitters but some magic thing. The formula is very light on my skin, not at all like wearing make up. It has a nice smell that goes away quickly. The instructions that come with it tell you to use a pump, but I find you need much less. You can layer it quite well if you want to go for round 2.

I have used it for about a week now and have not broken out or gotten clogged pores. Seems like I'll keep repurchasing should I run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/17/2013 9:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation looks absolutely beautiful on. That is, until after an hour or so and then your t-zone is crazy shine. Being on the dry skin side, I don't usually have a huge t-zone oil issue, but this definitely made me shiny. I also felt like I was wearing a mask - regardless of the application technique. Beauty blender sponge, brush, fingers -- I still felt like I was wearing a mask. Not a huge fan.


on 5/17/2013 5:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Oook. Like many, I have a love hate relationship with this. Immediately after application, I look flawless. I mean glowing, radiant...medium coverage AND it passed what I call the boyfriend test (when he doesn't know I've done anything differently and still comments) and in this case he was sitting next to me and said, "your skin today...what's going on. You have a glow". Well- fabulous. Except that this bad boy fadessss. Quickly, and I have dry skin. I have a weird habit of layering foundations, so I will apply my Kat Von D as per usual and just top it off with this (with a beauty blender) for the perfect finish-- but then, when it inevitably fades, my trusty Kat Von D is still there. So just for that purpose, no, it is not worth the $55 at least to me. It is too similar to Loreal True Match Lumi for the price.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 5/14/2013 5:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this foundation not long time ago in shade BD20, it has yellow undertone, so im really happy with the shade. When I apply it on my skin, it feels very comfortable and creamy, I love the pump. It is really easy to use this pump. It doesnt get clogged if I dont use it for longer time.
The foundation blends to my skin very quickly and very well. It looks like I am wearing no foundation. The finish is really really natural. Not too glowy and not too matte. If you are looking for something very natural, but covering well, I think this could be a good choice. It covered red spots and some small acne very well. The effect of foundation was very healthy looking skin, but not shimmery.
I used to apply it with fingers, but I tried also the foundation brush recently and I can say that it looks better when i use the brush. One pump is enough for creating very natural looking but covering layer on the skin.
It is moisturizing and nourishing drier skin and it is very good also in the colder weather. It doesnt give me any dry sports on my skin and it has very very good lasting power. Some foundations really disappear from the skin after some hours. This one stays on the skin well all day, but I need some touchups in my T-zone especially in the summer.
It has no parabens, it doesnt feel like it contains too much alcohol and i think it is not irritating the sensitive skin. I think I will repurchase this foundation because it doesnt break me out, it has good staying power and the main reason is that i didnt have any allergic reaction on my skin. I can recommend it to girls with drier and sensitive skin who look for medium coverage which is not too matte. I wouldnt recommed it for those who want to reach perfect matte porcelain doll look. I hope this review was helpful for you.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2013 7:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is an amazing foundation for someone who wants a very natural, glowing finish to their skin. I have normal-oily skin and the staying power is decent. I would recommend this if you already have good skin but want skin that close to perfection because if you happen to wear it for the entire day, it won't be so noticeable if it begins to fade. The thing I love most about this foundation is that it's essentially fool proof; it's difficult to make this foundation look cakey and mask like. I hate foundation that erases all the contours of my face and makes it looks obvious I'm wearing foundation; that's totally not flattering and very unnatural. With other foundation I really need to contour and blush in order to bring life back to my face, but with Teint Touche Eclat, I find that I can forego all that.

Recap: Highly recommend for people with decent skin (only because if it fades, it's not obvious), and not of the extremes (very dry/very oily).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Foundations, Powders, and Tinted Moisturizers: MAC, YSL, Bobbi Brown, Laura Mercier, ETC by Crystal DivaLevy

Foundation Review: Laura Mercier, Dior, YSL by Cathies Ensemble



Back to Top