Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4451 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 paradox13 on 6/15/2011 3:39:00 PM more reviews by paradox13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I do not have many HG products but my HG list can never be complete without this foundation. I have been using this product for more than 8 years now and have gone through many-many bottles. When i was younger , i had much oily skin , darker and prone to acne. this foundation held up through school, bus, sports, everything. I used to blot (2-3 times a day) and used a setting powder. Over the years, my skin has gotten more combination/oily and i dont need to blot/use a setting powder.

the foundation is a thick, medium-to-full coverage which has a good shade selection for a drugstore foundation. I have used true-beige/rich tan/golden caramel shades in combination/oily skin ( i am NC40-44).
When the weather is hot, i tend to sheer it out with a damp sponge/stippling brush. I have applied this foundation with my fingers and it works just as fine. The foundation can be cakey when applied with a heavy hand.
The foundation has a tendency to dry before you are done blending. I usually do parts of my face at a time so this has not been an issue for me.
the foundation has a small SPF so it might give a white cast when photographed with a flash. For day-today wear, I usually use a sunscreen with a higher SPF as my base.
The prices have increased over the years and i feel for a drugstore foundation it is on the pricey side. Having said this, i feel the quality is comparable to MAC Studio products , Estee Lauder double wear or Lancome. Also, a bottle can last me for more than 6-8 months as a little goes a long way.
the foundation comes in a glass bottle and no pump - i am not a fan of this. it makes traveling with it difficult . it also exposes the product to dry-out faster and the germs from our hands. i try to use clean fingers/brush/sponge to get to the product.

this foundation does have alcohol and parabens -but it does not irritate my skin.
I use a mild cleanser and wash my face for 2-3 mins to get all the makeup off my face. I have slept with makeup on more number of times than i would like to admit - but i have not had any breakouts the next morning with this foundation.

Overall, i absolutely love this foundation. i discovered it when i was not so much into makeup. i have used so many foundations since and I still use this foundation as a scale to rate the newer ones.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Casablanca2 on 6/15/2011 3:19:00 AM more reviews by Casablanca2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am asian and have very oily skin. This product provided great coverage but it oxidated on my nose(oiliest part of my face) after a few hours even after i blotted a few times.

also it made my pores look really large and noticeable, which was something i do not experience with my favorite liquid foundation (which i regret straying from)

i had high hopes :( returned it !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JessMolesworth on 6/15/2011 12:31:00 AM more reviews by JessMolesworth

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

this is one of the best foundations i have used compared to others i have tried but i still don't love it. it makes me look very unnatual in the sun and in photos. it makes me shiney straight away pretty much and i used the one for oily skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alanaaguilera on 6/13/2011 11:24:00 PM more reviews by alanaaguilera

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really do think that there's more positive to say about this product than negative. At first when I bought this I was really unexperienced with applying liquid foundation. Now I've gotten used to everything and I'm actually very good now! I find that when I use this, using a sponge isn't good at all. If anything, when you use it, it'll come out looking really cakey and obvious. So now I use a foundation brush. Nothing super fancy at all...I use the Essence of Beauty brush set from CVS. The application looks flawless and you can't see anything underneath. My skin has improved over the past half a year because I've been on treatments for my acne prone skin. Back to when my skin was a problem for me, I found it best to put on concealer first and then apply the foundation afterwards. One thing that works best for the foundation is applying loose powder over it. I use L'Oreal Hydra perfect in translucent on my t-zone. All of these in combination makes my skin look fresh for almost the entire day. I really would recommend this! If your skin is problematic, it's best to use the oily/combo skin version.

Now the only problem I have with it is that it doesn't match my skin tone as much as I want it to. So I have to mix Fresh Beige and Nude, but honestly besides that, this is definitely my HG foundation and I don't plan on switching!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 soyeon0930 on 6/13/2011 11:06:00 PM more reviews by soyeon0930

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This broke me out like crazzzzzzzy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SariaWind on 6/13/2011 10:01:00 PM more reviews by SariaWind

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I actually love this foundation! It lasts a very longtime, so it keeps its word on that. It applies very smoothly and blends very well. The only problem i've had with this, is that you need to blend very quickly, otherwise it will dry. I wish though the packaging was a tad better, and came with a pump, since I tend to pour alot of product on my hand, and don't use most of it. Overall I love this foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautifuldreamer324 on 6/13/2011 8:56:00 PM more reviews by beautifuldreamer324

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Wish this came with a pump. A lot of product gets wasted! Aside from the packaging, I am extremely impressed with this foundation, and I really like it. I never looked twice about this in the drugstore, but I've heard such rave reviews on youtube, I decided to pick this up. I am impressed. This didn't cake up AT ALL and applied so smoothly! This is fuller coverage than what I'm used to. This doesn't feel heavy at all and lasts all day. I've tried the MAC Pro Longwear foundation, and it felt heavy by the end of the day. I think this is a way better foundation than the MAC Pro Longwear. This is easily accessible at Walmart, Target, & Drugstores and the price is decent. I have this in 330, and I may pick up 350 to try as well. My face didn't get oily at all, and usually it gets oily by mid day in the summer. I have the one for combo/oily skin.

*this hasn't irritated my skin (& my skin is sensitive), and I'm loving the flawless, weightless coverage. I don't get oily throughout the day with this on, and it doesn't melt off in hot weather! they should make this with a pump though!*

update 7/6/11: I can't rave enough about this foundation! I'm loving the coverage. I have a few cystic acne blemishes right now on my chin, and this is the only thing that covers them (with some MAC Studio Careblend Powder over top). Such a flawless, yet natural finish. Absolutely loving the color match 330 (I'm NC40 in MAC Studio Fix Fluid). This held up all day long from the moment I did my makeup for work at 8:30am, and it's not 9:30pm and it still looks flawless and fresh (held up in the heat & humidity...even during a walk outside). This works well with controlling oil (I have this in the Combo/Oily version). I just still wish this had a pump like the photoready. This is a great drugstore find.

update 10/1/11-- this used to be HG status for me. i havent used it in a while i usually use mac pro longwear, but i decided to try this again today. coverage is absolutely flawless but not even a few hrs into wearing it i got 2 huge red blemishes on my cheek! i feel like this foundation broke me out, which is ashame because i used to have no issue with it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lauwen on 6/13/2011 1:30:00 AM more reviews by lauwen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm iffy about this so far. I just bought it yesterday and I don't know how I feel about the tiny glitters. They're really small but I just feel uncomfortable about anything with glitter. Staying power is great. The glitter can transfer to your hand though. Blending is sort of hard. I used a sponge so a brush makes more sense. Make sure you get the right shade because flash photography (at least in my case) made my face a bit lighter esp with the glitter

I'm planning to use this for a dance so I hope it stays and the photos come out okay

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fihe on 6/12/2011 8:04:00 PM more reviews by fihe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Revlon Colorstay is AWESOME! I use the kind for combo/oily skin, in the shade Buff. I hate that the bottle doesn't have a pump, which makes it quite hard to get the right amount, but I put it in my own pump bottle. now I can easily control how much I use! now, this foundation is full coverage and dries quickly, so make sure you spray your foundation brush with water and apply to sections of your face at a time. and blend well! also, this is the ONLY foundation I've ever used that has ever survived 90+ heat all day without melting off. I don't use it every day, but rather I like to save it for occasions where I need my foundation to last all day. also make sure you wash your face very well when you remove it. one time I tested out this foundation on my arm and took a shower, and it was still there! :O finally, some people have expressed complaints over the smell, but I like it. smells like clay or something.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Laroosh on 6/12/2011 7:35:00 PM more reviews by Laroosh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is an amazing foundation !!
I use the one for combo/oily skin.
It gives FULL coverage, so make sure you BLEND this into your skin !
Love the available shades and love the longevity.
Only con is that it needs a pump !!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products