Revlon ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013]

3.8

4471 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (7.3%) Inactive Ingredients: Aqua/Water (Water), Cyclomethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, SD Alcohol 40B, PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone, Nylon 12, Tribehenin, Isododecane, Polyisobutene, Sodium Chloride, Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Bisabolol, Serica (Silk Powder), Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Malva Sylvestris Flower Extract (Mallow), Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract (Lily), Lactobacillus/Eridictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract, Alumina, Polydimethylsiloxane/Polymethysilesquioxane Copolymer, Ethylene Brassylate, Methicone, Trisiloxane, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain (+/-): Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499)


on 6/22/2011 11:31:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This foundation felt disgusting on my skin. I swear I tried every makeup brush I own to make this go on easier but nothing worked, I think its because it starts to set so fast it becomes streaky. I am very fair skinned and their lightest shade made my face look very dirty and sort of orange when it set on my skin. I would not buy this again, the price is a little ridiculous for a drugstore brand, I would rather spend a little extra money and get a higher end foundation that I will actually like.



on 6/22/2011 8:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

THIS FOUNDATION BROKE ME OUT! Im not gona lie this foundation had great coverage and it was long lasting. I didnt have to touch up for about 5 hours into the day. When i first applied it it did leave an oily residue so setting it with translucent powder was a must. Unfortunately, for me it broke me out within about 3 or 4 days of using it. It wasnt even little pimples it was like cystic acne pimples. It was all over my chin area and all of my forehead. Overall, this foundation was a horrible experience for me and I will definetly not repurchase.


on 6/22/2011 5:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Maybe I don't like liquid foundations overall, because I just didn't like this product all that much. I can see how people who prefer a perfect canvas would like this foundation. It goes on really smooth and the finish is nice - not too matte nor dewy. It felt heavy on my face and it was hard for me to remove with cleanser, which indicates that it probably lasts well. Overall, I don't like heavy liquid foundations so I won't be keeping this.

In addition, I did not like the packaging! I was super careful to not pour too much since other reviews mentioned this, but it came out quickly anyways. However, the packaging is sturdy, so pouring aside, it's not bad.


It costs $12.99 at RiteAid drugstores and it's occasionally on sale (I got mine 40% off). I am somewhere around NC 43 and NC 45 (tan Asian skin) and I bought Golden Caramel in the Oily/Combo formula, which was a perfect match in sunlight.


on 6/22/2011 12:09:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Ok if you've read my other posts you will know that I am A) ULTRA picky B) acne prone C) hard to match D) a bit of a makeup snob/junkie...so here is my review.

I friggin LOVE this stuff. It stays in place all day (I have combo/oily skin and kiss my kids all day), covers everything so that I don't need concealer and looks fresh all day. It doesn't separate, streak etc. but it does get on my cell phone (hate that but all makeup does this, there's no getting around it, even oily skin without makeup is going to do that). No breakouts and I'm very sensitive and break out easily. The colour match is PERFECT. This is the first makeup I've ever got that doesn't look ashy, yellow, orange etc. it just blends in. I'm pale and I use the oily/combo version in "buff".

My only con is I don't love the glass bottle as I prefer a squeeze tube. The smell is foul but you quickly get used to it or maybe it's when it's brand new cuz I don't even notice it a few weeks later. It's also tricky to apply. I use a flocked sponge and I don't need much and it goes on amazing. Others use a makeup brush which I haven't tried yet. You also need a good makeup remover too.

As for the staying power? GREAT! I am a busy mom and I kiss my kids all day (sorry but I can't help myself with them) which usually leaves me with little makeup on. I usually reapply my makeup at about 5:30pm if we're going out somewhere but in the last two weeks using this I don't have to. I don't wear setting powder either! It helps my blush stay on too. I'm going to branch out and try the other colorstay products now.

Anyways sorry for a long post but this stuff is FABULOUS! Can't believe I didn't try this sooner as I would have saved a ton of money, time and frustration. I'm going to throw my other stuff out now. What's the point as I've been consistently loving this now for two weeks since I bought it. :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/21/2011 5:30:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

In my search for HG foundation, this seems to be the closest I can get, especially in the hot TX summer. It has buildable-to full coverage, and lasts all day. It can dry kind of quickly, and seems to blend best with my fingers. I will add that anytime I use THAT much coverage, my face seems "flat" or something like that. I have found that using Revlon Spa Illuminator gives the fresher, more dewy look! I will continue to buy this unless or until I find somehting better, I actually have a spare bottle already!
Coudn't give it five lippies, because I HATE the glass bottle, would be better in a pump or squeeze plastic.


on 6/21/2011 4:36:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This is the only foundation I have ever used, but I have to say that I do love this stuff. While the lack of a pump is quite annoying, the product itself is wonderful with coverage. I am in the color Ivory and use the combo/oily. Some say it is hard to apply this foundation, but I have found the best way to apply it is with a damp facial sponge, blotting the color on and building up the coverage where needed. The dampness of the sponge helps make the foundation not dry so quickly and the blotting prevents obvious streaking.
However, I feel the best way to use this foundation, is by mixing this with a penny sized amount of your daily moisturizer. I use Aveeno's Positively Radiant Moisturizer, and absolutely love the combination of the two. When I mix them, I can easily apply the foundation with my hands without it looking streaky, and it doesn't look cakey because the moisturizer thins the product out and prevents it from drying in places too quickly before you can blend them. I am a teenager and find that doing this is quick and easy for when I am on the go. I don't need to use concealer because the coverage this foundation provides is plenty, even when it is thinned out with my moisturizer. The moisturizer I use also helps to give a dewy look because it has brightening properties in it.
This foundation lasts all day for me when I set it with a powder (I use BareEscentuals mineral veil...I swear by that stuff)

This is the only foundation I trust.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/20/2011 3:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have used this product several times before. The one for Dry/Combo skin blends best.The coverage and stay put power is great.However, there is something in this that makes me breakout : ( So I went back to the L'oreal 16 hour wear which does not so that. No I have to try and get make face cleared up.My skin was blemish free before. If you have sensitive skin be cautious.


on 6/20/2011 1:03:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I used to use this foundation about 2 years ago, around the same time that I started to get acne. For the time I was using it, I liked the staying power and how well it covered my spots. However, I've only recently realized that it was the actual cause of these spots. My face cleared up as soon as I stopped using this but I just assumed it was just my acne treatment finally working, when I started to use it again a couple of months ago, the spots returned. Whilst this foundation is cheaper than my studio fix powder, in no way is it worth suffering horrible breakouts that take months to recover from. I would not but again.
On another note, does anyone know if Revlon have altered the formula of the oily/combination version because here in the UK the label no longer features Softflex. I prefer the finish of the Softflex version compared with whatever is in the latest bottle I bought.


on 6/20/2011 12:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For $35 this product is way way to expensive, revlon seem to think they are of "higher end" brands and they most certainly are not. I got it on sale for $17, i dont mind paying that.

the foundation itself is really nice, i found it had a satin finish for me many people say it's matte. It doesnt not at all resemble mac studio fix fluid as sooo many people say it does!

pro's - nice finish, nice coverage.
con's - needs a pump, need more colour selection, extremely over-priced!


on 6/20/2011 7:38:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

The price is average/normal as far as drugstore foundations go, nothing too expensive. I usually can get this at my local Target for 10 bucks.


Ok so i've tried this foundation in 'DRY TO NORMAL SKIN' and also tried this in 'COMBINATION/OILY SKIN'.
Let me tell you, there is a HUGE difference. My original one I tried by accident was the one for Combo/Oily Skin people (I have normal to dry skin), I didn't even notice till I was almost done with the bottle... Now did you read that correctly? Till I was almost done with the bottle, meaning it worked out well for me. In fact it worked out amazing, like no other drugstore foundation make up I had tried. It didn't make me look cakey nor dryish, it didn't grease me up and it stayed put for the whole day. I loved loved LOVED it, even though it was for Oily/Combo skin people which I wasn't, it worked out perfect for my skin. And even though it would give me the occasional extra pimple, but I find it doesn't give me any problems as long as I wash it off every night if I don't I do see a new pimple or more the next morning. This make up works amazing besides that. I did however see how it could not work out for Oily skin people, I figured anyone who was the slightest bit oily would not like it because applying it, it was moisturizing as hell. Yes it dried on me, but that's because I have normal skin and/or sometimes dry. I couldn't imagine though how the hell it would dry on Oily skin (even though it was for oily skin)... I can see how it wouldn't satisfy them... It didn't bother me though because it had nothing to do with me but I had thought about it and how it must've sucked for those who found this to be true and confusing.



Now onto the dry/normal skin foundation. These past recent days I thought hey summer is coming so my skin is going to be very drying. So I figured it would be best to switch to normal/dry one and I even thought it might out work out better since it is MY skin type. The thought of it looking even better excited me. So I purchased it.
Ok so the first NEGATIVE was when I walked in the store and noticed that the Buff for Normal/Dry skin was a darker shade (noticeably darker) than the Buff for Combo/Oily Skin. I had to get it though because the lightest shade next to it was just frikkin PALE and i'm not pale especially now that were in the summer.
So that was confusing and irritating but I got over it not too long after.
Right off the bat when I applied it on my face the next day it wasn't moisturizing at all.... I was sooo confused because this was for DRY skin WTH?! The liquid dried very fast on my skin and was hard to blend with my fingers. It didn't cover that well either. It went on pretty thick.
Whatever though I hadn't gave up on it yet..
I spent a whole day in that make up and my skin did NOT look good at all. It didn't have that flawless look whatsoever and the make up was soooo was VISIBLE. I hated it and I had no idea that it would be nowhere near as good as the Combo/Oily one. I took it back the next day and exchanged (with hassle b/c Target now has a stricter policy on returning makeup) it for the Oily/Combo one.



It seems as though to me anyway that the dry/normal skin one, was not moisturizing which would work best for Oily/Combo skin.
The oily/combo skin is VERY moisturizing and probably would work best for dry to normal skin.
Yes it doesn't make sense. I know, I'm the one who had to experience this the hard way.

I give 5 lippies to the Revlon Colorstay for Oily/Combo Skin, 4 for best packaging quality b/c yes it could use a pump, and yes I would repurchase as I always have for Oily/Combo Skin but NEVER EVER for Dry/Normal Skin.




1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top