Revlon ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013]

3.8

4482 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (7.3%) Inactive Ingredients: Aqua/Water (Water), Cyclomethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, SD Alcohol 40B, PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone, Nylon 12, Tribehenin, Isododecane, Polyisobutene, Sodium Chloride, Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Bisabolol, Serica (Silk Powder), Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Malva Sylvestris Flower Extract (Mallow), Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract (Lily), Lactobacillus/Eridictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract, Alumina, Polydimethylsiloxane/Polymethysilesquioxane Copolymer, Ethylene Brassylate, Methicone, Trisiloxane, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain (+/-): Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499)


on 6/26/2011 2:56:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

this has to be my HG foundation because I have tried over 15 foundations (drugstore+highend) & EVERY single foundation expect this one has broken me out & not just a little but BROKE me out BADD!. I have oily skin & when I apply a light coat it doesnt look cakey or thick or mask like at all, I do lightly conceal after applying my foundation, it dries to a matte finish, which i like. I hate it doesnt have even number of color ranges women of color to exist in the world & there should be more than 2 dark shades. overall great foundation at a good price (depending where you purchase) I will always buy this foundation it doesnt melt off or run in the summer on me either



on 6/24/2011 9:06:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is the foundation I always come back to, no matter which foundation I feel like trying that never lives up to what this one does for me and my very oily skin. First, the colors... In the winter I wear 150 “Buff Chamois” and in the summer I can easily get away with 300. In between, I can wear 180. Overall, the colors for me are very great, and most drugstore foundations are too pink on me. I have a very prominent yellow/olive undertone, and most foundations are not yellow enough. In the winter, it is a big problem, as most of the lighter shades come in very pink undertones or are too light or dark if they are yellow enough. The color match for my very yellow skin is great! If the shade 300 was a bit more yellow, it would be perfect! If you find this is a problem for you, try mixing a bit of another foundation with the right undertone into the Revlon Colorstay. The longevity of this foundation remains unaltered, but the color will match you better.
Now, onto coverage. What I love about this foundation is that it’s so full coverage but can easily be sheered down to a lighter coverage for summer or for when my skin is nicer. At a full coverage, it can look cakey if too much is applied because it is SO opaque and makes your skin look so flat and dead. This is the ONLY downside to the foundation—its heaviness on the skin and its tendency to cake if used too heavily. This is a foundation you can definitely feel when it’s on your face. It is not light weight, so if you are used to that, this is not for you! I rarely need to use an additional concealer for anything on my face after I’ve applied this foundation. If I do need more coverage on some spots, I just dab on more of the foundation over that spot and it conceals perfectly. Just use less overall for a lighter coverage. I do not have severe discoloration or any hyper-pigmentation, but when I need spots covered, this foundation does the job splendidly.
Because it is so full coverage, most people will find it hard to blend but once you’ve worked with it for long enough and know exactly how to apply it, I do not find this a problem at all. I work on sections of my face, not the entire thing all at once. I start with one cheek, then the other, then chin, nose, then forehead. The best brush I’ve found for this foundation is the Sigma F80 or F82 (which I actually prefer to the F80 because it can buff the foundation in and give a sheerer, more natural application while the F80 cakes it on a bit more). These brushes can soak up a lot of the product, however. I used to apply it with my fingers, and this also gives a nice application but you have to work harder with flat foundation brushes and fingers, I find. I would NOT suggest a flat foundation brush for this foundation. That may make it much harder to blend and apply. Basically as soon as you start blending this foundation on your skin, it has begun to set so moving it around additionally after the first few seconds will make it look worse. The application process is an art you have to master.
The longevity is flawless for a drugstore foundation. This is the best and most long lasting foundation out there, no questions asked. I’ve not heard of nor found a more long lasting foundation than this. I have worn it for over 12 hours and, as long as I did not touch my face much throughout the day, it will still be on the skin fairly opaquely. Other foundations slide off of my skin in a couple of hours due to its oiliness, even with a primer underneath. With a primer, this one stays put over 12 hours on my very oily skin. I powder the foundation to make it last as long as possible after I apply it. After about 5-6 hours, I have to re-powder my skin to mattify it. I powder additionally throughout the rest of the day after the first hours of wear, but that keeps it looking flawless for a very long time. The oil in my face does come through the foundation, but that is nothing some powder cannot fix to keep the foundation looking full coverage for the rest of the day. It does not easily wear away. This longevity is unmatched by any drugstore foundation I’ve seen out on the market so far and is the main reason I use this.
The smell used to be very strong but I’ve noticed in the newer bottles I have of it (and I have gone through several bottles) that the smell is not as prominent anymore. The foundation does not irritate my skin, but not many things do. Everyone wishes that it came in a pump form, but I do not mind the bottle very much because the product performs so beautifully. You just have to be careful not to pour out too much (which is something I oftentimes end up doing, putting almost double the amount I will need on the back of my hand when applying it) and not to contaminate the bottle. I think the formula of the foundation would not perform the same way if it were to go through a pump applicator. If anything, this should have a spatula like the Rimmel Clean Finish foundation. If the bottle bothers you that much, put it in some other type of container and use it from there. That is also better if you need to mix colors to get your specific skin color with this or if you don’t want to be opening the actual bottle very often. Overall, the bottle can get messy.
The price is very fair, and you can often find coupons for Revlon products to knock off another dollar or two or buy it at Ulta with coupons. At my Walmart, it is down to around $9 which is not bad at all.
Overall, I cannot give this less than 5 stars because this is my Holy Grail foundation. I have sampled Clinique foundations before, trying to find something better or at least a higher end dupe for it, and none of them stayed on my skin for more than 2 hours. This is better than all of the ones I have ever tried and I can imagine I will continue to reach for this foundation for a long time to come.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/24/2011 3:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I do NOT like this foundation. The first con, is that it doesn't have a pump, which is very annoying and not practical. The foundation emphasized my pores, and all the lines on my face. It doesn't even give you a glow, it made my face look stripped and completely dry. It's not very easy to blend in, and it just didn't work for me. Plus, it was expensive.


on 6/24/2011 10:09:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is my HG foundation for 2 years. I have been looking for something not so heavy but I didn't find anything with revlon CS 's staying power. It's amazing. You can walk in the rain or sun (but you will need a SPF cream), dive, run, climb mountains and so on and your foundation will be there. When you take it off you have to take extra time to really take it off, and it contains alcohol so it might not be suitable for sensitive skin. The coverage is medium (i apply it with a damped sponge) but you can easily obtain a full coverage, just be careful not to make it cakey. In the summer I mix it with my moisturizer, apply it with my fingers and it gives me a sheer-medium coverage. Great! I checked it in the daylight and it looks really really great, I also checked it with a magnifying mirror and it does show you're wearing foundation, but I don't care :))
I hope this was useful, I do recommend it; my only complaint is the packaging on which we all agree it's awful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I always come back to this foundation because it holds up 100% when working out or sweating when it's hot. And it gets HOT out here!! Covers wonderfully, but you can always use a light moisterizer to thin it out. Simply the best drugstore brand ever!! Sometimes it even stays put when I go swimming..even if I don't mean to still have my makeup on! I have nothing negative to say about this foundation, except that its hard to come off unless you use facial wash or soap. Lasts all day. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/24/2011 5:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

WOW do I have a lot to say, brace yourself people lol....

First of all let me just start out by saying with any long lasting foundations or makeup product, you need to take proper care of your skin before and after applying makeup. Long lasting foundations tend to dry on a matte finish, so it could end up looking uneven,blotchy, and cakey. This could apply to people with any skin type. The reason is that your skin can retain a lot of build up is from dead skin, clogged pores, skin that's not hydrated/nourished enough, and makeup properly not set. I found an amazing daily skin routine which is quick, and works for any type of foundations/makeup out there.

1) MOISTURIZING- any that have nutritional factors which will repair your skin, hydrate it, and target what you need, repair. I like Kiehls and Cetaphil because it has gentle ingredients.

2) SUNSCREEN- I use both moisturizer and sunscreen in 1 bottle..with spf 50 uva/uvb protection, works for me very well * most important step whether or not you wear makeup.

3) PRIMING- I use face primers (you can use any that go with your skin, lets makeup apply even and not seep into pores,plus evens out skin tone in a way). Everday whether or not you're wearing makeup.

4) SETTING - after applying foundation, I use very little of a finely milled loose powder to seal in the liquid foundation with a sponge or powder puff. There are cheaper alternatives at the drug store. Only needed when wearing foundation and during the day to freshen up makeup.

5) FINISHING SPRAY- I use a finishing spray to blend my makeup naturally into my skin, get that airbrushed look, and get rid of that powdery feel (a definite must for long lasting foundations due to them being on the dryer side). Everday, with or without makeup because it freshens and nourishes.

6) CLEANSING- afterwards when I want to take off my makeup I use a cleanser with a spin brush to deep clean my skin/pores. You will be surprised at how much more makeup is left on your face after manually washing it off with your hands.

7) EXFOLIATE!!!- this is the main reason makeup can look cakey and uneven on the skin. I prefer and recommend a mild AHA than a manual scrub, manual scrubs still leaves dead skin and residue on the face and can be a bit abrasive and scratch the skin; whereas a mild AHA takes away every last bit of dead skin and is moisturizing, plus the added benefit of leaving it on to moisturize your skin over night! The Walgreens brand is my favorite and CHEAP! works great. start from 8% and work ur way up. 5 times a week.

6)NOURISHING OILS- I massage these into my skin for 2-5 min. You can literally feel the gunk in your pores coming out of your face on your hands! I alternate between Jojoba oil, Coconut oil, Almond oil, or Vitamin E oil...any type of nourishing oil will help. 2 times a week.

ANYWAYS enough blabbing lol. I needed a long lasting foundation for work (I'm a freelance professional MUA to make a living while attending med school..lol..go figure!), so I went and bought the Estee Lauder Double Wear foundation which I discovered. Great quality, long lasting, and doesn't smell odd. However it's $40 a bottle and for me who uses foundation every single day, you can just imagine how often I needed to purchase it!

After doing my research by asking around and browsing the web, I came a across the suggestion of Revlon Colorstay Liquid Foundation. I never really liked Revlon as my go to brand at the drug stores, but decided to give it a try.

Let me just tell you it was the BEST decision I made for my makeup!!! Not only does it work exactly the same full coverage as the Double Wear, it costs ONLY 1/4 the price!!!!! What a bargain. Not to mention the many varieties of colors. It lasts all day through any type of temperature or humidity. I don't mind the smell at all like some people mentioned, because it fades away. It looks like your 2nd skin as it is applied and gives a nice clean matte finish. To get that flawless finish I use a damp sponge or a dense flat top face brush to apply and just stipple away. Awesome quality for the price. LOVE LOVE LOVE this product for everyday wear. Now I only use my Estee Lauder on special occasions (when I want to feel fancy....loll). Will definitely repurchase again!

So that sums up my makeup advice, sorry for the long essay review, but I just wanted to share my little knowledge of preparations and makeup for those who would find this information useful. I strongly believe that it is essential for anyone and everyone to use at least 1 if not all of the following steps above. Note: that this the method which works amazingly for me from the countless hours of researching and buying many different products to actually come to this conclusion, so you could use/substitute any product that applies to you. My skin has never looked so glowing, healthy, clear, and vibrant. Before I would always wonder why my makeup didn't look right they way I wanted, so I would always switch brands. Little did I know that I had to do a complete over haul on my skincare routine. Btw the key is not to apply too much or build up your foundation, because a quarter sized drop amount should be sufficient enough, if not then u should think of why you would need more and target those areas by other means than over applying foundation or powder. Lets face it, no matter how expensive or great quality your makeup is, if your skin is poorly maintained or unhealthy, the makeup will not look well polished, flawless or fix the problem areas as in intended to. Remember with healthy skin, you don't have to wear as much makeup and can most likely make any type of makeup work. Hope t

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

i hate hate hate this foundation
i thought it was awful
it looks gross and cakey, doesn't give the coverage i was hoping for, smells like poison, i will never repurchase


on 6/23/2011 11:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i have repurchased this foundation over and over again.Its the best drugstore foundation and better than some high end ones like MAC.The coverage is very buildable and it wont look cakey.My skin is very dry and this never sucked any remaining moisture my skin had.it lasted me the entire day and many times i even slept in it and still had it in the morning.But idid have to use blotting papers here and there.And the best part is you wont get any on your boyfriends white tee.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2011 8:18:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Been using this foundation for years. I've used more lower end and high end brands and this one is still up at the very top for me. It's simply the best.


on 6/23/2011 11:50:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Really love this foundation!!! I have been using Dior Forever for the past 4 years but somehow for the last 6 months I wasn't that content with it any more, started to dry my skin on the cheeks and got extremely oily and shiny in the t-zone. This foundation however does not, it stays put all day and it gives a wonderful powdery and matte finsh but not dry or masklike, really like what I see in the mirror ;-) If you want a really good foundation at a bargain price then go for this one, I think it will beat any highend product, and that is something from someone who always though fondation was the only thing that had to be expensive to be really good!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top